Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roscomon vs. Mayo - Connacht Football Final 2011

• 12-07-2011 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭

I think it's about time to have a proper thread for the match so let's kick off the discussion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I can't see this match being used for other purposes, no sir ee bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

No disrespect to the Mayo fans but it would be better to see the underdog Roscommon win this, the joyful scenes in front of the home Hyde park crowd would be something else especially after the hospital issues & the beating they received 2 years ago however TBH i really can't see Mayo beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

No disrespect to the Mayo fans but it would be better to see the underdog Roscommon win this, the joyful scenes in front of the home Hyde park crowd would be something else especially after the hospital issues & the beating they received 2 years ago however TBH i really can't see Mayo beaten.

Not if ya live in a Mayo town being bordered by two Roscommon areas:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Sir Vival

Hopefully the day stays dry for it. I think a narrow win for mayo is in store. Roscommon have no real play-maker like mayo have in Dillon. Having said that Kilbride will take some watching, i've been impressed by Feeney at full-back for Mayo though.

The minor game beforehand should be a cracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Whitehorse

Hard one to call. If MAYO sort out their free taking they should just about get over the line. Most of the top teams have a free taker getting up to 6-8 points a game on a gud day. I can see Shine getting this amount . If MAYO don't then I think Ross will retain the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Not if ya live in a Mayo town being bordered by two Roscommon areas:pac:
    My point was from a neutral point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Sir Vival wrote: »
    Hopefully the day stays dry for it. I think a narrow win for mayo is in store. Roscommon have no real play-maker like mayo have in Dillon. Having said that Kilbride will take some watching, i've been impressed by Feeney at full-back for Mayo though.

The minor game beforehand should be a cracker

If Finneran continues the form he's been in for the past twelve months it's only a case of him breaking the ball to Cathal Cregg or dumping it in long to Shine or Kilbride and the ball will be in the hands of players able to do serious damage.

We have plenty of play-makers if we can compete in the middle of field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

its wrong that the hospital is closed but when it comes to football all that stuff goes out the window when we beat galway in tuam 2 yrs ago there was nothing better that beating them in there own back garden.

naughto wrote: »
    its wrong that the hospital is closed but when it comes to football all that stuff goes out the window when we beat galway in tuam 2 yrs ago there was nothing better that beating them in there own back garden.

The only thing I think it's done is add even more spice to what already looks like it'll be a great atmosphere and occasion.

If nothing else, I hope both teams can showcase the best of Connacht football and that both find their way to the quarter-finals whatever happens Sunday. It's high time Connacht teams made an impact outside of the province in the championship and that involves dumping one of the top six or seven teams in the country out of race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Hon Sh'common!

Anyone know if the minor match will be live on RTE player? Won't be able to make it but would like to see the tribesmen lift their first Connacht MFC title in 4 (? - 2007 last iirc) years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

no the minor match won't be on rte player, they only show matches that are going out live on tv, you can tune into shannonside at 12pm for some unbiased willie hegarty http://www.shannonside.ie/

speaking of that last galway minor win, i really hope there is a strong ref on sunday, some of the decisions he gave galway that day still baffle me 4 years later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Both Teams unchanged from their last games:
    ROSCOMMON: 1 Geoffrey Claffey, 2 Seán McDermott, 3 Niall Carty, 4 Stephen Ormsby, 5 David Keenan, 6 Peter Domican (captain), 7 Donal Ward, 8 Michael Finneran, 9 Karol Mannion, 10 Senan O'Grady, 11 Kevin Higgins, 12 Cathal Cregg, 13 Conor Devaney, 14 Senan Kilbride, 15 Donal Shine.

MAYO: 1 Robert Hennelly, 2 Keith Higgins, 3 Alan Feeney, 4 Tom Cunniffe, 5 Richie Feeney, 6 Donal Vaughan, 7 Trevor Mortimer, 8 Aidan O'Shea, 9 Seamus O'Shea, 10 Kevin McLoughlin, 11 Alan Dillon (captain), 12 Andy Moran, 13 Cillian O'Connor, 14 Alan Freeman, 15 Jason Doherty.

i thought mcgarrity would start midfield for sure and one of the o sheas to go in to the forward line

mcgarrity took no part in training over the weekend and didn't play in the a vs b game in mchale on sunday so there was no chance of him starting

rossie1977 wrote: »
    mcgarrity took no part in training over the weekend and didn't play in the a vs b game in mchale on sunday so there was no chance of him starting
    if he makes the same impact he did against galway when he comes on then ill be happy,in saying that the two osheas brothers did very well last time out the kept helping each out ,and played very well off each other.

no hype around castlebar at all which is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Is it true Enda Kenny is intending going to the game?

Daysha wrote: »

yes and the original plan was to give him a guard of honour on the pitch before meeting the players, frank feehan is also guaranteed to be there as my brother saw him at all the league games even the roscommon vs kilkenny league game earlier this year, i travelled up an down the country with frank in 2003 when we had that long run in the qualifiers, franks not going to miss a match of this size

there is a massive protest planned for sunday, both sides of the road from caseys garage up to the hospital starting at 11.30am so things could get really ugly, i really hope one or two fools don't ruin the game by throwing stuff on the pitch or trying to get to kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

He usually does Daysha, was a competent footballer back in the day.

But he'd be insane to go there. If he does Roscommon will either win or lose a bad tempered affair with red cards galore.

He usually does Daysha, was a competent footballer back in the day.

But he'd be insane to go there. If he does Roscommon will either win or lose a bad tempered affair with red cards galore.

I don't think the whole hospital issue is going to effect the way either team plays and certainly not to the extent there'll end up being red cards. Roscommon and Mayo very rarely get men sent off. The match itself will be a cauldron, but for entirely different reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

I have it on the qt that any funny business means the game will be cancelled and switched to Galway for the following Sunday. I cant see the hospital action commitee risking such negative press, likely they will protest outside if anyone does anything it will just be some header with a few too many pints on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I have it on the qt that any funny business means the game will be cancelled and switched to Galway for the following Sunday. I cant see the hospital action commitee risking such negative press, likely they will protest outside if anyone does anything it will just be some header with a few too many pints on him.

it is the Connacht Council that is staging and running this game, not Roscommon GAA.
    so they provide the security, ticketing, programmes etc while the stewards are provided locally.

so, who's fault will it be if there is trouble??
    The Connacht Council - because they have invited Enda to attend, and if they had any sense and if Enda had some cop on he would stay at home and let the players concentrate on the football.

and there is a huge protest planned from the town centre up to the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Define "funny business".

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    it is the Connacht Council that is staging and running this game, not Roscommon GAA.
    so they provide the security, ticketing, programmes etc while the stewards are provided locally.

so, who's fault will it be if there is trouble??
    The Connacht Council - because they have invited Enda to attend, and if they had any sense and if Enda had some cop on he would stay at home and let the players concentrate on the football.

and there is a huge protest planned from the town centre up to the ground

The GAA are quite firm on there independence from political matters when they want to and this will be one of those occasions.

You cant blame the Connacht Council if people cause some kind of scene it will NOT be an acceptable excuse before the judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

This is the best Roscommon side since 1980.The protest could get ugly as heads from another party will take this opportunity to cause as much mayhem as possible.If the liar attends there will be trouble in the ground ,that is for sure.Lets hope there is no trouble and Roscommon show the country how good they really are.

Define "funny business".

Staging a sit in charging onto the pitch with banners who know the fact is the GAA will not want anything upsetting the sponsors etc and TV coverage.

Therefore if there is disruption expect it to be announced over the tannoy that it is off.

However I dont expect it will happen because I cant see the hospital action people wanting to do that.

sting60 wrote: »
    This is the best Roscommon side since 1980.The protest could get ugly as heads from another party will take this opportunity to cause as much mayhem as possible.If the liar attends there will be trouble in the ground ,that is for sure.Lets hope there is no trouble and Roscommon show the country how good they really are.

I disagree I think there will be no ructions because people have more cop on than there being given credit for. The only incidents will the the usual eejits who cause bother at matches, under the cover naturally of the hospital row but the actual hospital people will in my view not want to hurt there campaign by having mayhem in the stand etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Ah Jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,796 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

connacht council would love an excuse to not have to go to the hyde with connacht finals......both Mayo and Galway are up to the elders in debt and would love to keep it all to themselves.....Prenty in particular would love to have all finals in castlebar and has threatened no more games to the hyde if there is any trouble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

The proposed protests are against Enda Kenny TD not the teams playing - moving the game to Salthill would be utterly rediculous!!!! Isn't the whole basis of Kenny's health policy that it is no problem for Roscommon people to get to Galway when they mid way through a stroke or a heart attack - I think they could manage to make the journey for a protest if necessary:rolleyes::rolleyes:. Anyway the concerns are OTT - Roscommon people will do nothing to disrupt the game.

Back to the real issue - Roscommon have a very solid team at the moment. The performance against Leitrim was a very complete team performance - the half forwards fell back to shore up defence, all the forwards scored, midfield did really well, when they gave away stupid ball they didn't let the heads drop but won it back. I know Leitrim were poor but Roscommon are coming on nicely. Cathal Cregg is a great play maker, Senan Kilbride is one of the best forwards in the country and a great free taker as well as Shine. Finneran is a serious midfielder. Enda Kenny (the Ross one:D) is a great option on the bench and I hope he makes an appearance at some stage, (and not just to give the media a chance to make witty comments:)). But mainly its a fairly solid team. Mayo looked very impressive against Galway but Galway were very poor in the second half. Really looking forward to this one!!

The Ross minors are playing at 12 so I won't be able to help out with the protest outside, but there is nothing wrong with a protest once it is well behaved and well marshalled. I remember another Mayo man who wasn't popular in Ross - at the Under 21 final against Mayo a few days after Maughans departure I remember a helicopter coming in to land near the Hyde. We were joking that it might be Maughan and someone said he would need a tank not a helicopter!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

who is the "liar" you refer to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

wow sierra wrote: »
    The proposed protests are against Enda Kenny TD not the teams playing - moving the game to Salthill would be utterly rediculous!!!! Isn't the whole basis of Kenny's health policy that it is no problem for Roscommon people to get to Galway when they mid way through a stroke or a heart attack - I think they could manage to make the journey for a protest if necessary:rolleyes::rolleyes:. Anyway the concerns are OTT - Roscommon people will do nothing to disrupt the game.

Back to the real issue - Roscommon have a very solid team at the moment. The performance against Leitrim was a very complete team performance - the half forwards fell back to shore up defence, all the forwards scored, midfield did really well, when they gave away stupid ball they didn't let the heads drop but won it back. I know Leitrim were poor but Roscommon are coming on nicely. Cathal Cregg is a great play maker, Senan Kilbride is one of the best forwards in the country and a great free taker as well as Shine. Finneran is a serious midfielder. Enda Kenny (the Ross one:D) is a great option on the bench and I hope he makes an appearance at some stage, (and not just to give the media a chance to make witty comments:)). But mainly its a fairly solid team. Mayo looked very impressive against Galway but Galway were very poor in the second half. Really looking forward to this one!!

The Ross minors are playing at 12 so I won't be able to help out with the protest outside, but there is nothing wrong with a protest once it is well behaved and well marshalled. I remember another Mayo man who wasn't popular in Ross - at the Under 21 final against Mayo a few days after Maughans departure I remember a helicopter coming in to land near the Hyde. We were joking that it might be Maughan and someone said he would need a tank not a helicopter!!!

Did they really???

I was very unimpressed by Mayo in the semi-final. They were better than Galway, but weren't that good at all, I thought. Galway were utterly awful and Mayo really weren't much better. Their first half display was rubbish...they did improve to be deserved winners but overall it wasn't an impressive performance.

They'll probably up it for the final but Roscommon look pretty good and have 2 excellent scoring forwards alongside players like Cregg and I think they'll win this unless Mayo improve an awful lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

I have it on the qt that any funny business means the game will be cancelled and switched to Galway for the following Sunday.
    There would have to be serious crowd trouble for a game to be cancelled and switched to a later date,not going to happen
    This is the best Roscommon side since 1980
    team from 90/91 were much better.they threw the game away against meath in '91.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Did they really???

I was very unimpressed by Mayo in the semi-final. They were better than Galway, but weren't that good at all, I thought. Galway were utterly awful and Mayo really weren't much better. Their first half display was rubbish...they did improve to be deserved winners but overall it wasn't an impressive performance.

They'll probably up it for the final but Roscommon look pretty good and have 2 excellent scoring forwards alongside players like Cregg and I think they'll win this unless Mayo improve an awful lot.

we have two 2 excellent scoring forwards as well in dillon and freeman or back line is very good with higgns and feeney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Have to admit I only saw the second half of the Galway/Mayo game so hopefully they are as poor as ye say;) Bring it on:D

yabadabado wrote: »
    team from 90/91 were much better.they threw the game away against meath in '91.

Agreed, the late 80's to early 90's team made six consecutive Connacht finals, including back-to-back Connacht titles in '90 and '91.

I'd agree with the sentiment this is easily the most potential-laiden Roscommon team in many, many years though. Their story isn't writen yet and that's what makes it so exciting right now. These are mostly 22/23 year olds, with alot of development still to do, but no matter what happens in this match the dark days of the county team being flung about like a rag doll is finally coming to an end.

And lads, there's zero chance of the HAC or anyone else staging anything political during the match, no matter who is there. The county team is about the only thing people in Roscommon care about on the same level as the hospital issue and most everyone will behave when it comes game time. The whole situation is being blown out of proportion here. I can't wait for the hilarity when we throw Enda Kenny on from the bench and it's announced over the PA system, though!

This is the best Roscommon side since 1980.

and you base this on what exactly?? that roscommon team in any other era would have won an all-ireland, just unlucky they came upon the greatest team to ever play the game (kerrys four in a row), this roscommon team have yet to beat either mayo or galway, that roscommon team beat mayo 3-13 to 0-08 in the connaught final and followed that up by scoring 2-20 in the all-ireland semi final against a very strong armagh team

in my years following roscommon it goes like this
    1. 1989-1991 team, tony mac is the finest footballer i have ever seen play for roscommon in person, duggan in 1991 just couldn't miss, killoran and newton were a powerhouse pair in midfield, the likes of des newton, pat doorey, mattie reilly in defence, gay in goal, that was a fine team
    2.1998-2001 team, really talented bunch of individuals, frankie, the lohans, grehan, o'neill, fergal himself, so unlucky in 1998 to not beat galway, came back again in 2001 and beat both galway and mayo (and those were strong galway and mayo teams, galway had lost previous all-ireland final and obviously would win the upcoming one, mayo were league champions), i remember watching strong kerry, dublin and tyrone teams beaten in the hyde back in those days in the league

will will see where this current team ranks 5 years down the line, its way to early to start comparing them to the 2 teams i mentioned above let alone the 1980 team

wow sierra wrote: »
    Have to admit I only saw the second half of the Galway/Mayo game so hopefully they are as poor as ye say;) Bring it on:D

i was there in castlebar and mayo were awful in the first half but in the second they outscored galway 1-8 to 0-01, you wouldn't recognise it was the same team given the performances in both halves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pjmn

Personally I think it's probably too tight to call who will win this one - could make a case for either team based on some of the individual players - as a Rossie I hope we shade it - don't fancy having to meet either Tyrone or Armagh (think they'll come through) through the back door.

pjmn wrote: »
    Personally I think it's probably too tight to call who will win this one - could make a case for either team based on some of the individual players - as a Rossie I hope we shade it - don't fancy having to meet either Tyrone or Armagh (think they'll come through) through the back door.

I fancy it alot more given the losers have an extra week to recover, and outside of drawing Limerick/Waterford it's probably the best draw you could have hope for.

Armagh have been up and down all championship so it's hard to figure out where the needle is on that team but Tyrone are a team that don't have the aura they had for so much of the last decade, they're still a good team but that's entirely the point - they're 'only' a good team now and the Connacht losers should be able to make a real game of it whoever they play. A victory over Tyrone particularly would give the Connacht loser huge momentum going into a quarter-final so the chance to do something is there if they can take it.

if its a draw will there be xtra time or a replay in castlebar??

replay in castlebar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PennyLane88

Daysha wrote: »

He'd be wise not to imo, not with the way he lied his through the Roscommon hospital saga. I know its nothing to do with the match, but its a hot topic atm, people are angry about it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Anyone get their tickets for the Connaught final? No sign of them in the post today.

the clubs are giving them out this evening as far as i know so i should have mine tomorrow:D:D

whats the odds on enda kenny making all the headlines come monday morning, the roscommon enda kenny that is :p its surely written on sunday or all days that he is to score the winning point/goal or give away a last minute penalty by which mayo win

what is the enda kenny footballer like is he any good??

not bad, he is the reserve midfielder, not very tall but built like a brickhouse ala francie grehan

it be all over by the time they give him a run so;)

I suppose you're right, without a free-taker Mayo will be thinking about testing the quality of the local bathroom fixtures rather than the game by the time Enda makes his appearance. ;)

Syferus wrote: »
    I suppose you're right, without a free-taker Mayo will be thinking about testing the quality of the local bathroom fixtures rather than the game by the time Enda makes his appearance. ;)
    no i think u got me wrong it will be the rossies who will be in the showers playing with them selfs and the real men of connaught who will walk tall out of the ground