Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welfare nation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Everyone that lives in this country has a pps no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

why are there so many pps numbers being issued :confused:

Because inconsiderate people dont think about others before being born. Damn kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Everyone that lives in this country has a pps no.

No wonder we're ruined. PPS no's for taxpayers only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Did you even read the article you linked to about the pps numbers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Kids are the future ruination of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I have a suspicion that people are getting more than one pps number and double claiming services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Did you even read the article you linked to about the pps numbers?
    Do'nt have time, counting my dole money...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Cue another dole bashing thread, such a good job we pay no taxes in this great little tax haven of ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

What do you imagine is wrong with lots of PPS numbers being issued? They're used for lots of transactions with the state, money in or out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I have a suspicion that, like most things, the Govt has no idea who the feck they are issueing PPS No.'s to, and the total has probably come as much of a shock to them as everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Our social welfare payments to individuals are in the bottom three of the EU17. What do you want to do OP, reduce people without jobs to poverty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Solnskaya wrote: »
    I have a suspicion that, like most things, the Govt has no idea who the feck they are issueing PPS No.'s to, and the total has probably come as much of a shock to them as everyone else.

This is what im wondering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

First dey took our jobs, then they eated our swans, now dey took our social welfare and PPS numbers. The dole needs to be lowered, the bankers and PS workers caused all this mess, spending their dole money on holidays and cocaine, Joe. Send them all home on a boat, everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

kfallon wrote: »

Was about to post that. It is well fair.

Confab wrote: »
    Our social welfare payments to individuals are in the bottom three of the EU17. What do you want to do OP, reduce people without jobs to poverty?

Yerra shur we should go a step further and euthanize all those dole scroungers, this way we can give more money to the banks. Poor sods only on a €1.1m pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

So are we going practically tax and bankrupt ourselfs to death at same time,and why are there so many pps numbers being issued :confused:

Yes.
    I'm on the dole and I would like to thank you for paying for me to get stoned and drunk every day.
    Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

Was going to post something long...
    But i've to be up early to sign on in the morning before i head to work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

sollar wrote: »
    I have a suspicion that people are getting more than one pps number and double claiming services.

Oh yeah? How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

This country seems to be getting worse,provided links instead to cut down on long article

Social welfare spend up 1.5% to 20.8bn last year
    Numbers are up for pps system-
    http://www.sbpost.ie/news/ireland/numbers-are-up-for-pps-system-56980.html

So are we going practically tax and bankrupt ourselfs to death at same time,and why are there so many pps numbers being issued :confused:

No, we're going to bankrupt and tax ourselves to death paying back the debts to Europe so that the rich bankers dont have to hand back the keys of their jags.But dont worry about that, instead start YET another thread about the ba>(R$S on welfare, and completely forget about the poor c>nt who lost thier job, thier pensions, dignity, self respect and probably are gonna lose thier houses cause the same said bankers are putting the squeeze on them but they have to live on welfare. Cool, as if they dont feel sh(te enough :rolleyes:

Boxoffrogs wrote: »
    Oh yeah? How?

Its already happening. Primetime did a show on welfare fraud a while back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

its those pesky kids i tell ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Well bear in mind that until recently the cop's, revenue's and social welfare's computer systems couldn't talk to each other, which is seriously worrying when you consider that Ireland was touting itself as one of the world hubs of IT systems lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    No, we're going to bankrupt and tax ourselves to death paying back the debts to Europe so that the rich bankers dont have to hand back the keys of their jags.But dont worry about that, instead start YET another thread about the ba>(R$S on welfare, and completely forget about the poor c>nt who lost thier job, thier pensions, dignity, self respect and probably are gonna lose thier houses cause the same said bankers are putting the squeeze on them but they have to live on welfare. Cool, as if they dont feel sh(te enough :rolleyes:
    I love you.

OP is a troll.
    Mods can find that through a quick search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If everybody that bitched about social welfare signed an affidavit saying that they will never claim social welfare for their entire lifetime no matter what happened to them, we could save billions over the next few decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The government issue PPS numbers? Have they not got more pressing matters to attend to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

stovelid wrote: »
    If everybody that bitched about social welfare signed an affidavit saying that they will never claim social welfare for their entire lifetime no matter what happened to them, we could save billions over the next few decades.

Yeah but what sickens me about this whole thing is that my dad worked from the age of 14 (he's 70 now) and never claimed the dole during that time, he took early retirement at age 63 and was advised that he was entitled to sign up for some sort of unemployment assistance and they (social welfare squad) came up with everything they could think of not to allow him have it, even though he'd paid his stamps for all those years.

What bothers me is the parasite element who assume they're entitled to all sorts as soon as they finish school, and the long term layabouts (my ex girlfriend's dad was a qualified roofer and singing teacher but stayed on the dole all through the boom, could have easily been earning a couple of grand a week but spent his time moaning about how little he got on the dole)

Its already happening. Primetime did a show on welfare fraud a while back.

I didn't catch that one, can you enlighten me as to how a person can receive multiple pps numbers?

Google it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What was the average rate of unemployment rate during the boom? 4% or something? In a country of just over 4 million. Yet everybody knew thousands and thousands and thousands of people that never ever worked.....

I know of a certain native ethnic minority who are famed for their use of Hiace Vans who have a special religious tradition to be baptised several times in different RC churches often in different counties with different alias, then when little Johnny and little Pat grows up to be the same person he can claim the dole in several different names with different PPS numbers. His parents also can claim several different childrens allowance.

A family friend of my parents is a Priest and due to the shortage of priests now he recently did a Christening in one Parish and another in a different part of the county that same day, however when he went to do the second one he found the same family, baby and parents there but under different names. Needless to say it didn't happen a second time.

Google it

In other words, you have no evidence to support your suspicions??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Scam involved of supplying fake documents like fake id for application then pps reissued under different name,latest scam was with prisoners selling or lending their pps numbers whilst incarcerated

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jail-scam-prisoners-claiming-welfare-while-behind-bars-2801166.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Confab wrote: »

yes Confab, but you get that money too easy here. Granted i have no issue with people getting social welfare after losing a job, but the system is still to easy here.

If you don't believe me, try claiming the social in Germany. It's less hassle to do the shittiest job instead.

Scam involved of supplying fake documents like fake id for application then pps reissued under different name,latest scam was with prisoners selling or lending their pps numbers whilst incarcerated

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jail-scam-prisoners-claiming-welfare-while-behind-bars-2801166.html

That article has nothing to do with multiple pps numbers.

So, apart from some story about ethnic communities having several baptismal ceremonies for the same individual and a mention of fake documentation, can you provide me any solid evidence that this is happening on any notable scale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

That article has nothing to do with multiple pps numbers.

So, apart from some story about ethnic communities having several baptismal ceremonies for the same individual and a mention of fake documentation, can you provide me any solid evidence that this is happening on any notable scale?

Prime Time Investigates reckoned that €2-€3bn in welfare was fraudulent. A figure not disputed by the top civil servant in the department, and Labour's Roisin Shorthall mooted the 10% figure.

See an excerpt.

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Prime Time Investigates reckoned that €2-€3bn in welfare was fraudulent. A figure not disputed by the top civil servant in the department, and Labour's Roisin Shorthall mooted the 10% figure.

See an excerpt.

Thanks for that, it's not what I was asking though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

If we could put a tax on dole threads we'd be out of this recession in a couple of hours

Thanks for that, it's not what I was asking though.

One of the elements of the wider episode, which I cannot find a full link to, was multiple PPS numbers being used. They cited specific examples as well as using it as one way to justify how €2-€3bn, not an insubstantial sum, is being slurped up fraudulently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Europe good
    Bankers good
    Bailout good
    Higher tax rate, property tax, water rates, all brilliant things altogether.

(long explanation why our current government, the EU and IMF are a great bunch of lads)

cordially,

Scofflaw

Needler wrote: »
    Europe good
    Bankers good
    Bailout good
    Higher tax rate, property tax, water rates, all brilliant things altogether.

(long explanation why our current government, the EU and IMF are a great bunch of lads)

cordially,

Scofflaw

But, but, but.......but you're not Scofflaw

No, but he (sorry if you're a she) is sarcastic.

Nijmegen wrote: »
    One of the elements of the wider episode, which I cannot find a full link to, was multiple PPS numbers being used. They cited specific examples as well as using it as one way to justify how €2-€3bn, not an insubstantial sum, is being slurped up fraudulently.

I'm not really disputing your point. I do think we do have a growing problem with welfare fraud. To suggest that we have large numbers of people roaming around with several identities is a little ludicrous though.

By the way, on listening to that clip, did you hear how many times 'fraud or error' was said. There are huge amounts of money wasted through administrative and clerical f*ck ups in our welfare offices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

This country seems to be getting worse,provided links instead to cut down on long article

Social welfare spend up 1.5% to 20.8bn last year
    Numbers are up for pps system-
    http://www.sbpost.ie/news/ireland/numbers-are-up-for-pps-system-56980.html

uhhh 2.2 million getting weekly dole......population is 4.45 million....what the feck is going on!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

stovelid wrote: »
    What was the average rate of unemployment rate during the boom? 4% or something? In a country of just over 4 million. Yet everybody knew thousands and thousands and thousands of people that never ever worked.....

Yeah, it was around 4 or 4.5%, but the long-term unemployment rate was only 1.3% which was around 28,400 people. Those who never worked would be a smaller number again.

http://www.cso.ie/newsevents/pr_qnhsq22007.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭raveni

Stinicker wrote: »
    A family friend of my parents is a Priest and due to the shortage of priests now he recently did a Christening in one Parish and another in a different part of the county that same day, however when he went to do the second one he found the same family, baby and parents there but under different names. Needless to say it didn't happen a second time.
    Word doesn't half get around, I heard about that happening, would have loved to have seen the looks on their faces when they were caught out. God knows how extensive that scam is/was, only for pure chance/small country they would never have been caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Cut the dole, cut the minimum wage and cut most of the taxes that are burdening small businesses. There will be more jobs in the long term and people will be more eager to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 peaders yard

Ah sure thats the way its going and its no wonder when you look at all them nigerians in the country. Sure there getting free houses, free cars and the lot of it. Sure isnt that coming out of our pockets, shockin stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

^^ :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Stinicker wrote: »
    a special religious tradition to be baptised several times in different RC churches often in different counties with different alias.

Serious Answer: WTF do the SW offices accept baptism certs as ID :confused:

AH answer: Theyre missing a trick. They could try a few Protestant churches as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Cut the dole, cut the minimum wage and cut most of the taxes that are burdening small businesses. There will be more jobs in the long term and people will be more eager to work.

Yawn :o

You think the majority of the people on social welfare at the moment aren't eager to work? There simply aren't enough jobs for the amount of unemployed at the moment.