Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meath v Kildare 16 July 2011

• 11-07-2011 8:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭

Probably the pick of next weekends qualifiers, this will be an interesting game, Meath will want revenge after losing to Kildare in the quater-final of The Leinster Championship.

I expect only one change for Kildare, Emmet Bolton will probably come back into the team for Ollie Lyons at wing back.

This game will be televised by RTE at 6:30pm with a 7pm throw-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Craig Dowling

hopefully paddy o rourke aint at full forward for this
    hes useless there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

hes useless there

The padddy o rourke experiment hasn't worked out, time to switch things. Start Farrell and see how he does, capable of a few points in any game.

Navan is gonna be jammed 20k at least i'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Yes PT will be jammed for this game, Kildare will bring a huge crowd as usual.

Maybe the best supported team in Ireland after the Dubs?

It's a pity Graham Gerathy is injured, would have added to the game if he was playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 eastmeathroyal

kildare are not the second best supported team in ireland. you had a local derby against laois and 11,000 turned up for the game. many of them would have been from laois.

meath played galway which we have only ever played 6 times before so now big rivalry and 18,000 turned up. no more than a few hundred were from galway (mainly because their hurlers were playing cork in limerick).

so lets say laois only had 4,000 at the match that means there were 7000 from kildare. there were at least 17,000 meath fans in navan and at at the meath v louth round 1 tie there was an attendance of 20,000.

meath fans alone would sell out navan in this next round but as kildare willbe offered half the tickets thst won't happen. I'm hoping they will allow over 25,000 tickets to be sold but i hear health & safety is putting a cap on numbers which would be sad. the terrace on the side was dangerously packed for the galway game as you can see on the tv and the stand side was packed too. there was room behind each goal for maybe 2,000 or 3,000 more so hopefully they will sell enough tickets to at least make the entire place looked packed and not let health and safety officers reduce the capacity.

just back to my origional point in 2009 there were over 15,000 meath fans in navan for the roscommon qualifier and in an o'byrne cup quarter final against dublin last year there was roughly 14000 at it.

you can tell me kildare are the second best supported after dublin when you can get an atmoshere like this in january http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=STAS5JmTgww and at that game it was 90% meath fans hardly a dub in sight.

kildare are not the second best supported team in ireland. you had a local derby against laois and 11,000 turned up for the game. many of them would have been from laois.

meath played galway which we have only ever played 6 times before so now big rivalry and 18,000 turned up. no more than a few hundred were from galway (mainly because their hurlers were playing cork in limerick).

so lets say laois only had 4,000 at the match that means there were 7000 from kildare. there were at least 17,000 meath fans in navan and at at the meath v louth round 1 tie there was an attendance of 20,000.

meath fans alone would sell out navan in this next round but as kildare willbe offered half the tickets thst won't happen. I'm hoping they will allow over 25,000 tickets to be sold but i hear health & safety is putting a cap on numbers which would be sad. the terrace on the side was dangerously packed for the galway game as you can see on the tv and the stand side was packed too. there was room behind each goal for maybe 2,000 or 3,000 more so hopefully they will sell enough tickets to at least make the entire place looked packed and not let health and safety officers reduce the capacity.

just back to my origional point in 2009 there were over 15,000 meath fans in navan for the roscommon qualifier and in an o'byrne cup quarter final against dublin last year there was roughly 14000 at it.

you can tell me kildare are the second best supported after dublin when you can get an atmoshere like this in january http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=STAS5JmTgww and at that game it was 90% meath fans hardly a dub in sight.
    Do'nt be picking numbers off the top of your head, we played Meath in Newbridge in the league and there was feck all Meath supporters present, there was almost complete silence when ever they scored.

royaler83 wrote: »
    The padddy o rourke experiment hasn't worked out, time to switch things. Start Farrell and see how he does, capable of a few points in any game.

Navan is gonna be jammed 20k at least i'd say

Farrell seems to be the best choice
    say hes up for this one big time

Navan will be mental. Was at the galway game but unfortunately cant make this one. Shame as i was at the last 2 kildare games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

hes useless there
    Hopefully Paddy O' Rourke isn't starting full stop..

And I had to laugh at the suggestion at Kildare being the 2nd most supported team in Ireland. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 scandy

Colm Keyes reporting in this mornings Into that "A restriction of 20,000 has been placed on the capacity of Pairc Tailteann in Navan for Saturday night's third round qualifier between Meath and Kildare, it has been decided. The move has come about because of health and safety considerations, taking the capacity down by some 8,000. It will lead to an inevitable squeeze on tickets in both counties given the interest in the game."

If you don't have a ticket already (I do!!) then get one quick as this is going to be a sell out well before Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭a7k10rf6z8buel

I think we really need Joe Sheridan in at FF. He caused the Kildare FB all sorts of problems in last August's QF during the first half. He has all the qualities needed for FF- he's strong as a bull, can score goals and can play others in. He's also fantastic at winning primary possession which has him out at CHF. While he is great at helping out the midfield and can score long range points (sometimes), his decision making lets him down big time which often results in poor distribution. We need someone in at CHF who can keep a cooler head and play some clever ball into the full forward line. Perhaps Jamie Queeney deserves a go at CHF?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,479 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Stupid if the reports of restricting the attendance. There was 18000 (at least, I'd say there was more) on Saturday and there was plenty of room for more. Pairc Tailteann is well able to hold 25k.

Until they get rid of the grass banks they'll never let in much more than 20k due to H&S. I would say upgrading the stand would be a bigger priority, it's a mess, they should extend it to have it the full length of the pitch like portlaois.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=151487

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Why is this game not being moved, it is identical situation to the Louth - Meath match a few weeks ago.

No it's not..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 millhouse11

i really fear for meath in this one, the standard of play against galway was shoking, we went 30 mins in the second half without scoring, without doubt this is the worst meath team in living memory, kildare are far from the finished article, but in fairness are playing on a different planet than us, kildare by 8 points at least

I'd be disappointed if Meath lay down especially at home against a team that beat us twice in the last year in the cship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭itsalltrue

Hoping Kildare will do the business on Saturday, Meath haven't been the best for the last 2 years but i'm sure they have the ability to put it up to most teams in the country. I'm slightly worried going into this but hopeful we will pull through.

Whoever wins should fancy their chances of progressing to the quarter finals as both the Ulster finalists are beatable and will only have 1 week to recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

itsalltrue wrote: »
    Hoping Kildare will do the business on Saturday, Meath haven't been the best for the last 2 years but i'm sure they have the ability to put it up to most teams in the country. I'm slightly worried going into this but hopeful we will pull through.

Whoever wins should fancy their chances of progressing to the quarter finals as both the Ulster finalists are beatable and will only have 1 week to recover.

Here is how I see it petering out,

If Kildare beat Meath and Donegal beat Derry,setting up Kildare v Derry,then Kildare will more than likely be in the quarter finals.

If Derry beat Donegal and Kildare progress against Meath,I can see a very tight uncallable game ensuing.I think Kildare at this stage would have enough for Donegal so I think Kildare will reach the quarter finals.

If Meath beat Kildare and Donegal beat Derry,I can see Meath beating Derry to get to the quarter finals.If Meath beat Kildare and Derry beat Donegal,I can see Donegal coming through.

A few permutations there but I think Kildare out of the 4 teams will make it.I would have thought Meath would comfortably account for a very poor declining Galway side but that wasn't the case.Unless Meath have a huge performance in them,which they can,Kildare could be the victim of a resurging Meath team.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 319 ✭✭jamsieboy86

Be very surprised if we didn't manage to beat Meath, we wre comfortable against them in the first match. According to reports Meath weren't great against Galway while we were superb vs Laois. Home advantage counts for very little IMO, as we showed in O'Moore park last Saturday. Expect a close game for 40-50 mins with Kildare to pull away and win by 4/5 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

After being at the Meath vs Galway game on Saturday i can't see Meath beating Kildare this weekend.

Although Meath seem to play better as the underdog i feel Kildare have too much firepower upfront and should win by 3-4 points at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

blackbelt wrote: »
    Here is how I see it petering out,

If Kildare beat Meath and Donegal beat Derry,setting up Kildare v Derry,then Kildare will more than likely be in the quarter finals.

If Derry beat Donegal and Kildare progress against Meath,I can see a very tight uncallable game ensuing.I think Kildare at this stage would have enough for Donegal so I think Kildare will reach the quarter finals.

If Meath beat Kildare and Donegal beat Derry,I can see Meath beating Derry to get to the quarter finals.If Meath beat Kildare and Derry beat Donegal,I can see Donegal coming through.

A few permutations there but I think Kildare out of the 4 teams will make it.I would have thought Meath would comfortably account for a very poor declining Galway side but that wasn't the case.Unless Meath have a huge performance in them,which they can,Kildare could be the victim of a resurging Meath team.

I don't know where your poor opinion of Derry comes from. Even without Eoin Bradley, they are a formidable team and Brennan looks like he is tactially very astute. I think Kildare will beat Meath this weekend but then it's going to be a very tight match between Donegal/Derry and Kildare.

I wouldn't see Galway as declining either. They were unlucky to lose Meehan and they rejigged their side with 5 U21s for the Meath match. Over the coming years, I think they'll be back with the 2007 minor All-Ireland and 2011 U21 All-Ireland winners coming through the ranks.

Kildare's result, on the other hand, against Dublin would suggest you are over estimating their ability. Yes, they looked impressive against Laois but, if any team could be described as in decline, it's Laois. Kildare have had one tough game so far this year and lost it to a poor enough 14 man Dublin side. I wouldn't be writing off Derry or Donegal's chances against them.

Ah the team that lost to Fermanagh and Cavan in successive years in the early/mid 2000s was pretty poor.
    I'd personally be astonished if we don't at least put it up to Kildare. We're not easily beaten there (only lost twice there in the last 5 years in league and championship) and given what Kildare have done to us in the last 2 championship games, if the lads can't put in a performance this time then there's something seriously wrong with them. Still expect Kildare to beat us but not easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Can't see anything but a Kildare win here, we were unbelievably bad last Saturday.

without doubt this is the worst meath team in living memory
    Did you watch Meath at all between 2002-2006?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Kildare should have this wrapped up with 10 minutes to go. But there is something about Meath these past few years. They can go hot and cold.

When cold, like last week, they can still pull off a win.

When hot, it takes a very good team to beat them.

If Meath play well, this could be a cracker of a game. I wouldn't rule out extra time.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Be very surprised if we didn't manage to beat Meath, we wre comfortable against them in the first match. According to reports Meath weren't great against Galway while we were superb vs Laois. Home advantage counts for very little IMO, as we showed in O'Moore park last Saturday. Expect a close game for 40-50 mins with Kildare to pull away and win by 4/5 points.

Superb?!

I think this will be a lot closer than a lot on here think.
    Meath have some brilliant footballers, and are a better footballing team than Kildare, though Kildare have an Ace in Doyle and are arguably better tactically and fitter.

Home advantage does not "count for very little", it's a massive thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

No tickets left on ticketmaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

Still some left on tickets.ie, cheaper then ticketmaster too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭DRose1

Can't see anything but a Kildare win here, we were unbelievably bad last Saturday.

This.

The worst thing about Saturday is going to be the way we lose imo... I would put good money on us playing well in the first half and maybe even going in with the lead. However, there is a huge sense of inevitibility with Meath and how they perform in second halves these days...

The only glimmer of hope we have is if the likes of Cian Ward channel their inner Messi and put up 4 or 5 goals on the scoreboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

DRose1 wrote: »
    This.

The worst thing about Saturday is going to be the way we lose imo... I would put good money on us playing well in the first half and maybe even going in with the lead. However, there is a huge sense of inevitibility with Meath and how they perform in second halves these days...

The only glimmer of hope we have is if the likes of Cian Ward channel their inner Messi and put up 4 or 5 goals on the scoreboard.

Lets see..

Meath collapsed against Kildare second half in Leinster Quarter.
    Dominated Louth from start to finish in the first round qualifiers.
    Squeezed past Galway after a bad second half.

Kildare - strong second half to see off Meath
    Came back against Dublin in the last 10 minutes
    Completely annihilated Laois in the second half

Meath will really need to get out of the blocks in the first half and tighten up at the back in the second half.Kildare are used to going to away venues and digging out results reference Antrim and Derry. Its going to be a great match.

I think this will be alot closer than people think, Meath will not want to be turned over in their own back garden, the last time Kildare played in Navan they were hammered by Louth, so I think it will be very tight with Kildare's fitness carrying them through.

Kildare by 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭rpurfield

blackbelt wrote: »
    Lets see..

Meath collapsed against Kildare second half in Leinster Quarter.
    Dominated Louth from start to finish in the first round qualifiers.
    Squeezed past Galway after a bad second half.

Kildare - strong second half to see off Meath
    Came back against Dublin in the last 10 minutes
    Completely annihilated Laois in the second half

Meath will really need to get out of the blocks in the first half and tighten up at the back in the second half.Kildare are used to going to away venues and digging out results reference Antrim and Derry. Its going to be a great match.

thats a pretty spot on assessment and what ive been thinking.we need to rack up a decent lead by half time because kildare will come at us big time in the second half.my one glimmer of hope is that we can do that and bottle them up the way the dubs did even with 14 men.if ya can keep kildare well out the pitch when shooting they arent as effective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

its just been reported on the radio that there are rumours that cian ward is injured? any truth in these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

I know a woman who works for the Meath county board in PT and she said the capacity is not limited to 20k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

kc66 wrote: »
    I know a woman who works for the Meath county board in PT and she said the capacity is not limited to 20k.
    I'd be surprised at that considering it's been all over the media that the capacity for Saturday night is 20k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭snowgal

well rumours that both Doyle and Ward injured, reckon its all the usual tactics. Navan will prob go slightly over the 20000 but not much more. if anything was to happen they'd be in hugh trouble..

Well Ward seemed to pick up an injury early on last week. Also he was taken off injured against Louth so he may be out.

A word of advice to Kildare fans going on Saturday: if you get there early, I'd advise against parking in the O'Mahony's carpark next to Pairc Tailteann or on Brews Hill as it will be an absolute nightmare getting out afterwards (unless yere leaving early which I hope ye are for our sake ;)). Better off parking away from the ground and get onto the main road quicker.

Just read now that Kevin Reilly is a doubt for Saturday. That worries me a lot more than Ward's injury. Easily our best defender at the moment. We probably would have lost to Galway if it wasn't for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

Hopefully nobody is injured for this one and the two teams play their hearts out.
    But Meath have only won 3 games all season and that doesnt deserve a place in the next round..
    I say it will be tight for the first 20 mins and then Kildare will kick on and go on to win by 8-10 points.

Hopefully nobody is injured for this one and the two teams play their hearts out.
    But Meath have only won 3 games all season and that doesnt deserve a place in the next round.
    I say it will be tight for the first 20 mins and then Kildare will kick on and go on to win by 8-10 points.

Doesn't matter how many games we've won this season, what a silly comment. Whoever wins on Saturday deserves to be in the next round, not who's won more games.
    People coming out with these scorelines of Kildare winning by 10 must not have much experience of Meath in Pairc Tailteann. I've been going to Meath games for as long as I can remember and I can't remember us ever being hammered there.
    I'll have no complaints if they do hammer us but I can't see there being much more than a score between the sides at the end.

if meath get a second half performanceout of them i think they will take kildare.

wont be by much tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭rpurfield

really hope some of the meath lads were listening to off the ball tonight.eugene mc gee called us pathetic with a team lined up wrong a bad defence and over rated forwards.and then liam hayes agreed with him.now i know we have our faults but i honestly thought out defence isnt one of them they also said kildare were second only to cork at the minute and if i was a dub id be offended by that.dublin wouldve stuck about 10 points on kildare only o gara got sent off

Doyle is fine for Saturday however Hugh Lynch has hurt his knee in training tonight, he is definetly gone for Saturday.

rpurfield wrote: »
    really hope some of the meath lads were listening to off the ball tonight.eugene mc gee called us pathetic with a team lined up wrong a bad defence and over rated forwards.and then liam hayes agreed with him.now i know we have our faults but i honestly thought out defence isnt one of them they also said kildare were second only to cork at the minute and if i was a dub id be offended by that.dublin wouldve stuck about 10 points on kildare only o gara got sent off
    Yes because O'Gara was having a stormer up until he got a red card :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

If I was a Kerryman I'd be offended too. They're a v good team though and if they beat us on saturday (hopefully not) I could see them makin the semis again or better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Doyle is fine for Saturday however Hugh Lynch has hurt his knee in training tonight, he is definetly gone for Saturday.

That's a big loss. Where did you get this info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

I heard Hugh Lynch is not out as of yet. Though he is in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

where did ya hear that?? everything looked liked to behind closed doors tonight..
    surely flynn is back anyways..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Ronan Doyle

Hey Meath Fans!!!! Like to cause a bit of controversy in louth????? Im in the last 7 and i have the chance to paint a louth pub green and gold??? All i need you to do is like "Black Bull Inn" on facebook and "like" idea no. 6. It will secure the idea and cause uproar!!! Please take the time to vote! Would really appreciate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

Couldn't believe McGee's comments. If Meath are pathetic what does that make all the other teams already knocked out of the competition? He's hardly just sticking the knife in because we're not the force we once were is he? *****r.