Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi - Please help a Social Worker Choose her New Car !

• 10-07-2011 5:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭

Hi There Folks,

Time to change my car.

I drive an 2006 Opel Astra 1.7 diesel, with 90k miles on it.

I've had it since 30k miles. I really like the car, and I service it regularly,
    and I had hoped to keep it until just before the next timing belt change was due at approx. 135-140k. (To avoid the €400 bill ;))

But it is starting to prove unreliable due to things going on it regular now e.g. alternator, water hoses, fuel hoses etc. and ends up in garages for a day or two or waiting on parts and repair. It seems there is always something going on it now every few weeks. I expect the odd thing to go, but for the last year or so, and compared to other cars I've owned, it's been getting out of hand.

At this rate, I'm also afraid a really big bill could be round the corner !
    - What are the known problems with 90k plus 1.7 CDti 2006 Astras ?

As the car is so essential for work, I need a no fuss turn key car, i.e. when I turn that key I want it to work every time !

My criteria is as follows ;

1. Must be good value for money
    2. Must be reasonably easy to sell privately next time
    3. Must be reliable
    4. Must be cheap to run, tax and insure (I do approx. 22,000 miles per year)
    5. If it's over 1.6 litre I get paid approx. €500 per year extra on a higher mileage rate, but over 1.2 litre will do.
    6. My budget is €5,500 to €8,500 top max.
    7. Image or style not important, in fact I need as an anonymous car as possible as it's much better for social work as you can imagine. I would much prefer if people don't really remember seeing my car before if I'm back in the same area a few times.
    8. I would like fairly low miles if possible, but it's not essential
    9. I like cars that are looked after and in really good condition !

I don't mind if it's petrol or diesel, e.g. diesel better fuel economy, but higher road tax, higher maintenance, etc.

Or perhaps the solution from value for money point of view is just keep the car I have ?

As you can see I've put a lot of thought into this !

Muchas Gracias Amigos !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Suzie Sue wrote: »
    Hi There Folks,

Time to change my car.

I drive an 2006 Opel Astra 1.7 diesel, with 90k miles on it.

I've had it since 30k miles. I really like the car, and I service it regularly,
    and I had hoped to keep it until just before the next timing belt change was due at approx. 135-140k. (To avoid the €400 bill ;))

But it is starting to prove unreliable due to things going on it regular now e.g. alternator, water hoses, fuel hoses etc. and ends up in garages for a day or two or waiting on parts and repair. It seems there is always something going on it now every few weeks. I expect the odd thing to go, but for the last year or so, and compared to other cars I've owned, it's been getting out of hand.

At this rate, I'm also afraid a really big bill could be round the corner !
    - What are the known problems with 90k plus 1.7 CDti 2006 Astras ?

As the car is so essential for work, I need a no fuss turn key car, i.e. when I turn that key I want it to work every time !

My criteria is as follows ;

1. Must be good value for money
    2. Must be reasonably easy to sell privately next time
    3. Must be reliable
    4. Must be cheap to run, tax and insure (I do approx. 22,000 miles per year)
    5. If it's over 1.6 litre I get paid approx. €500 per year extra on a higher mileage rate, but over 1.2 litre will do.
    6. My budget is €5,500 to €8,500 top max.
    7. Image or style not important, in fact I need as an anonymous car as possible as it's much better for social work as you can imagine. I would much prefer if people don't really remember seeing my car before if I'm back in the same area a few times.
    8. I would like fairly low miles if possible, but it's not essential
    9. I like cars that are looked after and in really good condition !

I don't mind if it's petrol or diesel, e.g. diesel better fuel economy, but higher road tax, higher maintenance, etc.

Or perhaps the solution from value for money point of view is just keep the car I have ?

As you can see I've put a lot of thought into this !

Muchas Gracias Amigos !

I bet the first reply you get is Skoda Octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Toyota corolla/Auris if you want a car that does not get noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

killwill wrote: »
    I bet the first reply you get is Skoda Octavia.

You were first to reply and you mentioned a Skoda octavia so I guess you win :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Skoda Octavia not a bad choice at all

Obligatory ancient big engine luxobarge choice:

'86 Mercedes SEL 500 5.0 litre PRNDLtronic with all the extras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Suzie Sue

mickdw wrote: »
    Toyota corolla/Auris if you want a car that does not get noticed.

A front runner to be sure, but would the mpg be ok on a 1.4 as I would loose out on the €500 per year allowance for over 1.6's and diesel ones seem overpriced ?

Needler wrote: »
    Skoda Octavia not a bad choice at all

True, but I find diesel low-medium mileage ones are asking crazy money.
    I'm also very weary of all this gimmicky extra diesel technology that has crept in.
    And I've really gone off VAG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

KIA Ceed? There's a user on here called techie selling a mint looking 1.4 petrol and it's got 3 years warranty still remaining. It's on adverts and done deal. My sister has one and it's a decent car, peppy and economical for a 1.4 too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

If you want something that you do nothing other then turn the key and drive, you need a 90's corolla or almera or something similar.

Just do a search on boards for all the issues and expense you need to hear about on modern diesels.

Maxda 6 1.8 petrol probably the most reliable car of recent years.

If you want something that you do nothing other then turn the key and drive, you need a 90's corolla or almera or something similar.

Might be hard to find a clean lowish miles one, over 1.4 / 1.6 and would be starting to look noticeable. Agree fully about modern diesels.

Again probably little bit noticeable, what's the MPG like, also heard that after 100k the petrol start to give a lot of bother as well.

EPM wrote: »
    KIA Ceed? There's a user on here called techie selling a mint looking 1.4 petrol and it's got 3 years warranty still remaining. It's on adverts and done deal. My sister has one and it's a decent car, peppy and economical for a 1.4 too.

Just don't like em.

Thanks for all the replies so far folks, I know I'm giving really tight criteria and I'm being a bit fussy, but I'm going to be spending a lot of time in this yoke !, and I want it to earn it's money !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Might be hard to find a clean lowish miles one, over 1.4 / 1.6 and would be starting to look noticeable. Agree fully about modern diesels.

Again probably little bit noticeable, what's the MPG like, also heard that after 100k the petrol start to give a lot of bother as well.

When you say noticable? Are you a CIA social worker?:P If we were suggesting you buy a Porsche or something I could understand but you won't be standing out from any crowds in any of the cars mentioned above.

Trust me, I've had a few bad experiences of this. Low profile is key.

What's the Nissan Note like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Maybe your better off with what you have? Probably just unlucky with things going. Alternatives are the focus 1.6 diesel or late golf mkiv diesel. Steer clear of the MKV , nothing but trouble, have on its 4th steering rack and its a petrol!
    ps Nissandoctor a nineties corolla wont go wrong except for the key not turning! The ignition lock on them was utter crap and needed replacing or the pins removed to allow the keys to match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I wouldnt think a nissan note is a nice car to spend your day in.
    Ford focus might be a good option. So common, no one would see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'd get the astra properly checked over and do some preventive maintenance.
    any car can throw some curbballs over the years.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'd get the astra properly checked over and do some preventive maintenance.
    any car can throw some curbballs over the years.

Thanks, I have, I am very good about maintenance and always keep a full service history, and I have a good mechanic who always gives the car a good going over for me, and I always keep thinking that must be it now, then a month or so later, some other craic starts, and I have to borrow someone else’s car until it's sorted. I don't know if my boss is going to keep being understanding about it. I've spent the guts of €800 per year on mainteance in the last two years.
    I've got this gut feeling that big bills for something like head gasket or clutch and flywheel is around the corner. That would be a real sickener.

Or perhaps reliability is a myth on all cars, do some people just pretend so they can bum about their Toyota’s and Octavia’s ?

mickdw wrote: »
    I wouldnt think a nissan note is a nice car to spend your day in.
    Ford focus might be a good option. So common, no one would see you.

I agree about the Focus, but I've had one before the astra, and feel like a change from them.

Keep the Astra, the mpg and the €500/annum you get for it being over 1.6 should more than make up for the odd day off the road, financially it's best to keep it. You could change and be unlucky with it's replacement too.

Changing the car at avoid the timing belt cost is looney me thinks, just get it done when needed unless the car is worth sfa then and you fancy playing Russian roulette with it.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Keep the Astra, the mpg and the €500/annum you get for it being over 1.6 should more than make up for the odd day off the road, financially it's best to keep it. You could change and be unlucky with it's replacement too.

I hear what you're saying there, but part of me feels like a little change too !, but I could be persuaded to keep it if the sums were right.
    Changing the car at avoid the timing belt cost is looney me thinks, just get it done when needed unless the car is worth sfa then and you fancy playing Russian roulette with it.

I don't agree at all. Timing belt change is at least €300, and a second one needs water pump etc. At 90k I'm spending €900 per year on maint. as it is, cost benefit etc. needs to be taken into account. An extra € 300 and a few other bills at 130k like clutch, shocks, pads, tyres etc. and your starting to loose out on the cost vs benefit big time.

Due to the silly money being paid for diesels, I could probably get at least 4k or more for the car at the moment, and get a good, newer low miles petrol 1.4 / 1.6 for 6.5k, that doesn't have all the diesel gimmick problems / much heavier engine, more to go wrong etc.

Sorry everyone if I'm being very testing here ! I do really appreciate all the replies and idea's. !

I am swaying towards the Toyota Corolla (if nothing else just to see if all the Toyota bumming that goes on is true), or the Nissan Note. (My guilty secret is a desire for a Fiat Panda, but the engine is too small to get a decent mileage rate at work, and trade in time it would be worth SFA)

I don't want another Opel / Ford / VAG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

Toyota Avensis is also a very reliable car and theres loads of them arounds so again not very noticeable :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Just do a search on boards for all the issues and expense you need to hear about on modern diesels.

Very reliable car but a pig on fuel, there was a recall on 04 cars for rust under the plastic thats under the rear wheel arches so be careful. Recall suggested putting metal plates in. They will do 200k miles easily throttle bodies have been known to stick.

.......... but part of me feels like a little change too !, .......................

I don't agree at all. ................

The sums to change will never be cheaper than the sums not to, inlcuding timing belt and shocks ets ;)

In my heart I know this, but I'm trying to keep it as close as possible. :)
    Thanks for all the help guys.

Amzie wrote: »
    Toyota Avensis is also a very reliable car and theres loads of them arounds so again not very noticeable :D
    What's the 1.6 like on petrol and is it more reliable than the avensis diesel ?
    Again diesels are crazy money.

I am interested in trying out a Toyota to see if all the reliability fuss is still true or gone bull like VW.
    I've heard Toyota parts and servicing is expensive ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

toyota corolla .... this look very clean ..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2242779

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I've spent the guts of €800 per year on mainteance in the last two years

€400 a year? If only! That's about what an "average" service costs me (often more!) and I have to get it done 2/3 times a year :(

I'd say something like a last-gen Focus/Mondeo or Corolla/Avensis myself - they're EVERYWHERE - although getting a dark blue/red Mondeo may get you mistaken for an unmarked squad car! :)

(O/T: Oh and is it just me or is all the "Octavia" stuff on this forum getting boring at this stage? Yea they're good cars sure, but the joke is wearing VERY thin now no?)

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

(O/T: Oh and is it just me or is all the "Octavia" stuff on this forum getting boring at this stage? Yea they're good cars sure, but the joke is wearing VERY thin now no?)

Very boring and the joke is overdone to feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Again diesels are crazy money.

I am interested in trying out a Toyota to see if all the reliability fuss is still true or gone bull like VW.
    I've heard Toyota parts and servicing is expensive ?

In fairness Sue, I dunno if anyone here can offer too much advice - you know your onions!

Have you a preference for hatch or saloon? Focus-sized or Mondeo-sized? What about a Mazda 3 - anonymous and reliable...

pburns wrote: »
    In fairness Sue, I dunno if anyone here can offer too much advice - you know your onions!

Have you a preference for hatch or saloon? Focus-sized or Mondeo-sized? What about a Mazda 3 - anonymous and reliable...

Thanks, but I never stop learning ! and several [petrol] heads are always better than one !

I really appreciate all the helpful comments so far.
    No wonder I found it hard to decide, at least everyone else seems to as well !

So far, it looks like the head will win over the heart and I might be giving the Astra another chance.

I do have a hankering for the newer type Corrolla petrol saloons.
    I also like the Nissan Note.
    (I've gone right off the over complicated diesel technology that is out there now)

Must take a couple for a test run before I decide.

Also why is Diesel fuel so darn dear, I remember when diesels came out first on mainstream cars like the Golf, diesel was almost half the price of petrol.

Diesel is such a very crude fuel compared to petrol and is much much cheaper to produce, Petrol requires so much more refining.

Grrrrrrr to all those greedy middle men. :p

Also why is Diesel fuel so darn dear, I remember when diesels came out first on mainstream cars like the Golf, diesel was almost half the price of petrol..............

Demand I suppose, go back 15 years ago and very few drove diesels, I worked for a lad about 5 years ago, he was telling me that in the 80s when he was a rep there was war when the company gave them diesels.

I ran a 1.4 new shape corolla and a 1.6 Avensis back to back. Avensis was lighter on fuel.

What mpg would the 03-08 1.6 Avensis do, are they more reliable than the diesel ones ? I like the idea of the lighter engine being easier on shocks and bearings too. I like to cruise and get a better MPG, and make all the other wear and tear stuff last much longer, so lack of acceleration is not a prob. for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Your car will be easier to sell with the timing belt done.

If i was in your shoes i'd go for a 2009/2010 golf with the newer dash i think they look great.

Demand I suppose, go back 15 years ago and very few drove diesels, I worked for a lad about 5 years ago, he was telling me that in the 80s when he was a rep there was war when the company gave them diesels.

Yep, I remember it well, my Dad was one of the first to drive diesels about here, and the neighbours used to think he was eccentric because of it, now you can't get diesel out of their heads no matter what.

sollar wrote: »
    Your car will be easier to sell with the timing belt done.

You would think so, but in my experience over the years shrewd dealers / buyers don't give you any credit for it, fsh, or factory extras, they just treat them as a bonus for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Mar4ix wrote: »
    toyota corolla .... this look very clean ..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2242779

I've fallen asleep just looking at it

Then it's perfect for me !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

Will this will you make awake ?? http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2150299

OP needs reliable car, not funny one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I drive a silver 1.6l avensis, 1. not too bad on juice, 2. super reliable, 3.not the worst thing in the world to drive and plenty of room,4. if you get one in silver there is literally thousands of them!!! i have even walked to the wrong one in shopping centres!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Mar4ix wrote: »
    Will this will you make awake ?? http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2150299

OP needs reliable car, not funny one.

You want funny car, for funny price? Here ya go: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2149449
    Granted, the direct opposite of what the OP is after.

OP, Ford Focus, 05-08, LX trim, in blue or silver. Common as muck, probably the most anonymous car in Ireland, plentiful. Here you go : http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/NT-LX-1./201122202709143/advert?channel=CARS

You want funny car, for funny price? Here ya go: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2149449
    Granted, the direct opposite of what the OP is after.

OP, Ford Focus, 05-08, LX trim, in blue or silver. Common as muck, probably the most anonymous car in Ireland, plentiful. Here you go : http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/NT-LX-1./201122202709143/advert?channel=CARS

Yep nothing blends in like a silver ford focus. The Daily Fail even published an article on it today

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2013346/A-Ford-Focus-fish-Friday-Youre-Mr-Average-Dr-Who-probably-favourite-show.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Yep nothing blends in like a silver ford focus. The Daily Fail even published an article on it today

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2013346/A-Ford-Focus-fish-Friday-Youre-Mr-Average-Dr-Who-probably-favourite-show.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

For such a common car, you would imagine they could find a picture of a silver one.

What are these like in real life experience ? For that money I could suffer a little bit of unreliability and less mpg. What tends to go on them ?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Peugeot/407/ST-COMFO/201042199913150/advert?channel=CARS

Clean 2007 1.8 Petrol with 28,000 miles for 6k

no-image-large.gif

What tends to go on them ?

Air conditioning
    Key (randomly stops working, costs 200 GBP to replace)
    Centre console screen
    Tyre pressure sensor
    Wheel bearing

Air conditioning
    Key (randomly stops working, costs 200 GBP to replace)
    Centre console screen
    Tyre pressure sensor
    Wheel bearing

Cheers for that, nothing too drastic there.

This thread makes no sense. You want to get rid of a diesel astra, do big mileage, don't want high running costs but are considering a Peugeot with a petrol engine bigger than you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

This thread makes no sense. You want to get rid of a diesel astra, do big mileage, don't want high running costs but are considering a Peugeot with a petrol engine bigger than you have
    +1.
    Its all over the place. OP asks for advice and then has information regarding said advice thats either better or just not adding up.

You asked for opinions and got them op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭krank

My understanding is that if the OP is a social worker doing house calls then she will indeed rack up a large amount of mileage during the year. That's probably why she wants a diesel. However from what I know of people doing similar work the miles are racked up by a massive amount of shortish hops and city driving which from what I read on this forum, that's a serious no no for diesels?

New Diesels with particle filters doing exclusively short hops with no open road driving will give problems. Doesn't apply in the op's case. She has the perfect car for the job - she just doesn't know it yet :-)

do the astra H's have a dmf ?