Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Hide behind the post

82 Km with 1,100 Metres Climbing ... Avg 25km

Enniscorthy - Kiltealy - Borris - Myshall - MT LEINSTER VIA CORRUBUT GAP - Kiltealy - Enniscorthy

Was going well over last few weeks on Climbs having been up Seskin Hill (Carrick-on-Suir) and Mt Leinster (from Bunclody) .... but failed on Corrubut :-( had to jump off for a bit 200m shy of the top.... cursing myself now looking back .... took the shine off what was otherwise lovely morning out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Did the 115km Rathoath GAA spin. Much needed warm up from home to the GAA club was needed - it was about 2 degrees when I set off this morning. After a while my hands went numb, so that was grand and then the sun came out which brought them back from the dead.

All in all a lovely day out - fair play to Rathoath GAA for a well organised event with nice grub. Managed an average over what was 153km on the bike today at 31.2kph, so happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,241 ✭✭✭✭dahat

[url] https://www.strava.com/activities/555237922[/url]

First spin with the main group today, some nice climbing on roads i have not been on before, Mama Rd & Wooded Section of Mahon Falls.

Set off with no leg warmers as it was nice on town but by god i was pretty cold for alot of the journey, wont make that mistake avaint.

Really enjoyable spin with a sound bunch of lads.

A Carrick Wheelers cyclist got pretty banged up with an incident with a car (details sketchy). Hope he gets back on the bike soon...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 331 ✭✭roverrules

cython wrote: »
    Taxi driver was 100% wrong there!! I'd say either he went on the offensive knowing this and trying to scare you/convince you that you were wrong, or he was equally shocked by the incident and the fact that he missed seeing you, and was being ultra defensive. The latter gives him some benefit of the doubt, but unfortunately it would not surprise me if the former was actually the case.

Simply put, by rights the taxi should not be pulling in to stop in the cycle lane (as it is designated by a solid line as I recall), but realistically taxis think their signs allow them to pull in anywhere. However, in any case of pulling across/changing lanes, the vehicle changing lanes must yield to traffic in the other lane, and only undertake the manoeuvre when the lane is clear. The main gotcha for a cyclist even remotely similar to what you are describing is that if a vehicle is indicating to turn left and there is a reasonable expectation of them completing the turn before a cyclist would be past them on the left, then the cyclist should not pass, but I'm not convinced this applies here with it being a case of pulling into the cycle lane, and no left turn to be taken.

I'd echo what Weepsie said about telling them you are reporting them, and by all means follow through if they continue to be belligerent. If you even have the taxi number from the roof, then the driver check app will help you check out more details if they won't cooperate.

Not having seen it I won't comment on the actual incident, however, it is worth pointing out that the SI does also prohibit overtaking on the left when passengers are alighting/boarding, so even if the driver had stopped outside of the cyclelane, it would seem to influence if you were allowed to pass on the left even in a cyclelane.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Working all weekend with little opportunity to get out, but managed to sneak out for an hour after a late dinner. In retrospect, Kilmashogue lane was not the ideal choice after a big Sunday roast, but pleased enough to get to the top to catch sunset. Average speed: somewhere between dead slow and stop kph, kms covered: feck all, oxygen consumed:lots

384193.JPG

384194.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Pepijn89

Rode 28km every day from last Sunday to Friday (commuting), not the most long & difficult route but since I hadn't been on a bicycle in about 2 years and NEVER rode in Ireland (I lived in Holland before) it was still more than enough of a challenge.

Did some more cycling yesterday and today just because I enjoyed it so much last week, just about 20km each day. Looking at better bikes, better equipment, and a good way to track my progress now! I'm sure you'll see me around the boards a lot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭dunworth1

Did my longest cycle this year so far today 82km from limerick to Ballybunion
    Lots of climbing (500m+) which I'm not used to at all struggled a bit near the end but managed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Still bloody chilly out there, decided a jersey with buff and gloves would be enough. It was only just; and I felt I was a lot faster to keep my temperature up! It's nearly May ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

Got my bike back with new shoes (Continental GP's) and went for a spin yesterday, just under 50Kms in 1hr 57. mapmyride didnt record so i was a bit pissed off when I got back with nothing recorded. Sore for a while yesterday but happy to be back in the saddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Nice spin yesterday over to the Hill of Tara yesterday. 68km in 2:20. It was far from warm though, first spin without the arm and leg warmers and probably should have worn them.
    Smashed my PR on the hill, nearly 30 seconds better than my previous. Very happy with that. https://www.strava.com/activities/555166054

Weepsie wrote: »
    Need to work on my warming up and getting up to pace, always hate the first 5-10 km it seems

I had exactly the same today. Cycled to work 31km, took a bit longer than you I have to say, but the first 10 or so were no fun at all. Would it help to do some warming up before getting on the bike, or should I simply start off a little more slowly, basically do warming up on the bike?

Pepijn89 wrote: »
    I had exactly the same today. Cycled to work 31km, took a bit longer than you I have to say, but the first 10 or so were no fun at all. Would it help to do some warming up before getting on the bike, or should I simply start off a little more slowly, basically do warming up on the bike?
    I have a similar distance to commute and I have found the best way to get warm on a bike is to get the heart going, I also wear a swimming cap under the cycle helmet rather than a woolen beanie, better fit and your head doesnt feel like its boiling!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Cycling on the rock road this morning as usual, stopped at a set of lights that controls a busy junction. Traffic was trying to filter right (heading towards blackrock) and there's the usual morning frustrations of drivers doing ridiculous things.

Myself and a few other cyclists stopped at lights and zooming by (relatively speaking) is a woman on a high nelly, with a hi-viz, with no helmet, with "Be cautious, Pregnant Cyclist" on the ****ing back of it.

she did the same at the next 2 sets of lights (both busy junctions) i'm sorry but never mind if you get hit and you die (and the impact on the driver) but can you imagine the horror or hitting a pregnant woman and being potentially responsible for ending 2 lives?

I'm sorry but what a complete and utter **** (and yes i did tell her that her cycling behaviour was completely terrible)

Cycling on the rock road this morning as usual, stopped at a set of lights that controls a busy junction. Traffic was trying to filter right (heading towards blackrock) and there's the usual morning frustrations of drivers doing ridiculous things.

Myself and a few other cyclists stopped at lights and zooming by (relatively speaking) is a woman on a high nelly, with a hi-viz, with no helmet, with "Be cautious, Pregnant Cyclist" on the ****ing back of it.

she did the same at the next 2 sets of lights (both busy junctions) i'm sorry but never mind if you get hit and you die (and the impact on the driver) but can you imagine the horror or hitting a pregnant woman and being potentially responsible for ending 2 lives?

I'm sorry but what a complete and utter **** (and yes i did tell her that her cycling behaviour was completely terrible)

I think you might be overreacting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Morning commute after 6 weeks abroad. Looked at weather app, -4, looked outside, sunny, looked at weather app, - 4 ... "Nah, couldn't be, I'll be grand without the extra jacket and head gear". I wasn't. Christ.

Still, after a break, was very nice to get out and on the bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

Cycled from sutton to bray and back out over howth. About 80km in total. Winds en route back were a b1tch until hitting the north side again. And like the earlier poster mentioned, I was bemused watching some woman on her bike just gliding through red lights... natural selection at work.

Morning commute after 6 weeks abroad. Looked at weather app, -4, looked outside, sunny, looked at weather app, - 4 ... "Nah, couldn't be, I'll be grand without the extra jacket and head gear". I wasn't. Christ.

it is a tad nippy out there this morning, bet you froze the townhalls of yereself this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Bloggsie wrote: »

it is a tad nippy out there this morning, bet you froze the townhalls of yereself this morning
    The ears, the ears... was begging for the lights to stay red so the wind wouldn't chop them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭The Cycling pianist

Nearly ran down some Spanish exchange student this morning. Her sunglasses and headphones meant she didn't see my loud shouty high viz jacket, and when she eventually noticed me, did a little stop-start-stop thing in the middle of the road. Ended up crossing over the white line to pass her. Gob****e.

Oh, and to everyone complaining about the cold, it was balmy this morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭dunworth1

Did the 83km cycle back to limerick from ballybunion this morning. Took me 4hr 30mins a half hour longer than it took me to get there

Spent most of the time fighting the wind wrecked tired now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,467 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Oh, and to everyone complaining about the cold, it was balmy this morning!
    Balmy enough for hailstones!

Generally don't mind them as they just bounce off. I was hit by a few near Kilcock today and thought at least it's not raining... Then it rained for a little bit between Trim and Batterstown, but it didn't last long. The sun was out again and I didn't notice the big black cloud heading my direction until I was near Ratoath.

From Ratoath to the other side of the M2 I was pelted with sugar cube sized hailstones. They came down thick and fast, covering the road, bouncing off me and the bike, causing cars to slow and light up. Bib shorts were no protection against the painful little feckers.

The roads changed from stones to slush to water fairly quickly. The sun came out, my fingers thawed, the wind kept blowing.

Balmy enough for hailstones!

Generally don't mind them as they just bounce off. I was hit by a few near Kilcock today and thought at least it's not raining... Then it rained for a little bit between Trim and Batterstown, but it didn't last long. The sun was out again and I didn't notice the big black cloud heading my direction until I was near Ratoath.

From Ratoath to the other side of the M2 I was pelted with sugar cube sized hailstones. They came down thick and fast, covering the road, bouncing off me and the bike, causing cars to slow and light up. Bib shorts were no protection against the painful little feckers.

The roads changed from stones to slush to water fairly quickly. The sun came out, my fingers thawed, the wind kept blowing.
    ahh shure tis April, if ye dont like the weather keep pedalling and it'll change in 25 mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Only 25 km as time was tight, but t'was a hard 35k! Wind was brutal whichever way I was going. Hail storm was fun! Got a puncture (rear). Only saw 6 other cyclists out and 5 of them were women! One group of 3 all in matching bright jackets and another couple together 5 mins later, all around Ballyboughal.
    Got a bit lost getting home but getting to know some of the lanes now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Went for a spin across the city on the way home. Put some music on to keep me going, got snared singing 'we built this city' at the top of my voice down by the point depot.
    Brutal wind out there which also made it a bit chilly despite pushing hard

Had to borrow a bike as mine broke down yesterday, recorded first Strava ride on it, averaged just over 20kph in 12km.

We all have to start somewhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Only 25 km as time was tight, but t'was a hard 35k! Wind was brutal whichever way I was going. Hail storm was fun! Got a puncture (rear). Only saw 6 other cyclists out and 5 of them were women! One group of 3 all in matching bright jackets and another couple together 5 mins later, all around Ballyboughal.
    Got a bit lost getting home but getting to know some of the lanes now

That 25k was really hard, if it was in fact 35k! :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,271 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Bitter cold this morning. Average of 0 degrees but it was the wind chill that got me.

Minus 1 this morning with frost on the fields. Hardly any wind and I had decent gloves and earphones to keep warm though so it was grand. Hot shower at the office may have helped a lot too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Holidays in Fuengirola for the week. Got a bike today at lunch and hit the road. I didn't intend to go mad, I'm hoping to get a good spin tomorrow morning. I headed up to Mijas. I underestimated the change in temperature from 4degrres at home to 24 here. Probably shouldn't have had lunch just before I left either. Tough going!!!
    I took a wrong turn and ended up a couple of km away out in the middle of nowhere.

When I got back to Mijas I was feeling a bit better so I headed up to the TV mast. Christ it's a tough bitch of a climb. 5km @10%. I made it up, though it was torture at times. It's a fairly even gradient most of the way so you can get a rhythm going but you also get virtually no respite either. I have an 11-32 on my own bike, the hire bike is a 11-28. I almost never use the 32 but I'd have given a kidney for it towards the top today.

The decent was interesting. Good smooth surface mostly but a few hairpin bends with 200m certain death plummets behind a barrier which seemed just the right height to catapult a cyclist over. Fun though ;)

42km, 1400m
    https://www.strava.com/activities/558297018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

daily commute from Tallaght to Baggot St was ended prematurely in Templeogue village today! cycling past the Maxol when some oul codger decides not to indicate or check his mirrors and takes a sharp left into the petrol station , creasing me in the process.......bike in Hollinsgsworth getting repaired, a swollen arm for my troubles so not too bad overall.

In fairness he was a decent chap and gave me a lift into work, the most awkward hour of my life, what do you talk about in that scenario???

I can understand why he hit me , it was the longest hour of my life and he was the worst driver ever lol, almost did the same to a girl on the SCR and seemed completely oblivious to other road users!