Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Check your receipt before take away driver leaves!!!

• 06-07-2011 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

Had food delivered about 20 minutes ago for me and the housemate, driver arrives and says it's €13.90, that's grand, it's only when I look at the receipt a few minutes later that I see that total cost (including delivery) is €13.30!

So that poxbottle driver decided to add on his own enforced tip.

I advise all of you to in future check the receipt in the bag before paying up to the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

In fairness, I don't think he did it deliberately.
    Surely he'd be aware you might look at the receipt.
    And he'd screw you for more than 60 cents!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

If I was enforcing my own tip I'd go a little higher than 60c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Thread title needs more exclamation points!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i always ask how much it is when i order and i make sure i have the exact amount when the driver arrives.
    they get a flat wage and free food so the greedy fuckers arent getting a tip from me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

60 cents!! Fúcking hell! I hope you have left the internet and you are now chasing up the street Terminator stylee. If not, go around there tomorrow and burn the kip, the 60 cents will pay for the repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Paying someone to come to your house and deliver you a meal.. such luxury

/tucks into another plate of spuds and buttermilk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Tight-Arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

In fairness, I don't think he did it deliberately.
    Surely he'd be aware you might look at the receipt.
    And he'd screw you for more than 60 cents!

If he managed to bleed 60c from each customer that would make him a nice few shillings over the week I reckon.

Maybe he didn't do it deliberately but I'm putting this out there so other folk in AH don't have their fast food drivers swindle them "not deliberately",

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I grow my own potatoes

In fairness, between the two of you ye spent €6.65 each...what did ye get, a bag of chicken balls each?

Come on, you got someone to deliver that.....I can see how 60c means alot to ya.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Ring up the takeaway now and complain:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I grow my own potatoes

Can you grow pizzas too?

60 cents!! Fúcking hell! I hope you have left the internet and you are now chasing up the street Terminator stylee. If not, go around there tomorrow and burn the kip, the 60 cents will pay for the repairs.

This is the exact same logic that let pubs in Temple Bar charge more than other places, sure you'd be stingy not to pay it, it's only 60c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Can you grow pizzas too?
    I only have a small garden:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Can you grow pizzas too?

They're annoying they can't be grown in one piece yet

In fairness, between the two of you ye spent €6.65 each...what did ye get, a bag of chicken balls each?

Come on, you got someone to deliver that.....I can see how 60c means alot to ya.

Hang on a minute, this delivery agent is getting paid a wage, and I'm fairly sure their tips aren't taxed, if I or anyone else chooses to pay them a tip then that's up to me / them, not up to the person delivering the stuff.

Maybe the driver made a genuine mistake, maybe they didn't, but the point of the thread was to get folk to check their receipt before the delivery agent left their doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Kizzonian

maybe it was dark and he read 9 instead of 3...lol u must not have to most exciting life if ur hoping onto boards.ie to complain about 60 cents haha

Kizzonian wrote: »
    maybe it was dark and he read 9 instead of 3...lol u must not have to most exciting life if ur hoping onto boards.ie to complain about 60 cents haha

its 60 cent

I posted this thread to try and help folk not be ripped off, it may be only 60c but it all adds up ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

First world problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

It seems like a genuine mistake. 13:30, 13:90, who knows maybe he had two deliveries in the car and the other one was for 13:90, so it could be likely there is a happy customer out there who just got 60 c off their delivery order. That customer could have tipped him the 60 cents.

Take away delivery drivers generally work for 5 euro an hour and 1:50 per delivery. Drive their own car, buy their own petrol, and have to maintain their car and service more than majority of others out there.

Anyone who comes to my door gets a tip. It's how we were raised. The coalman, the milkman, and the postman every Christmas and especially take away drivers. The man just fed you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Hang on a minute, this delivery agent is getting paid a wage, and I'm fairly sure their tips aren't taxed, if I or anyone else chooses to pay them a tip then that's up to me / them, not up to the person delivering the stuff.

Maybe the driver made a genuine mistake, maybe they didn't, but the point of the thread was to get folk to check their receipt before the delivery agent left their doorstep.

or else maybe he thought your mean and decided ha, maybe once I will get something off this fella.

I posted this thread to try and help folk not be ripped off, it may be only 60c but it all adds up ya know?

exactly. if you were 60 cent short the driver wouldnt give you the food

padma wrote: »
    or else maybe he thought your mean and decided ha, maybe once I will get something off this fella.

Yep, clearly the best approach to take when you want to get future tips from a client :)

But maybe this is one of those clients who lives far away from the store and it's a delivery that costs him petrol money more than he will receive from the pizza owner. And he knows this customer and is peed off with never getting a tip.

Just wondering, if you dropped 60c on the street would you pick it up or leave it there?

OP, how will you sleep tonight?

But maybe this is one of those clients who lives far away from the store and it's a delivery that costs him petrol money more than he will receive from the pizza owner. And he knows this customer and is peed off with never getting a tip.

You'll find that most take aways include additional charges if the delivery is outside a set range from their location, and this is very clearly stated on their brochure / menu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

He was probably just collecting the VAT.

OP, how will you sleep tonight?

In fairness, it's gonna be hard going, will try to meditate for a bit and see how that goes, knowing my luck I'll lose another 60c during it then stay awake all night worrying about it.

You'll find that most take aways include additional charges if the delivery is outside a set range from their location, and this is very clearly stated on their brochure / menu.

You will find that most take away's couldnt give a toss about their delivery men and see delivery as an extra profit to themselves. This is very true, you may not believe it but it is true. And most of the big pizza chains do not have a delivery charge, but their prices are higher due to their branding and marketing of a well known brand.

I don't doubt what you say is true, but what I'm saying is that it reflects badly on all delivery drivers if something like this was done intentionally, I know folk say it's only 60c but that's not the point. The chap may have made a mistake but my cynical nature will make me suspect all of them being crooked now :(

ah yeah maybe i was harsh with my comment but i think he cud of made a mistake maybe but im not him and i wasnt there so i dunno im just guessing

its 60 cent

well done columbo. i hope ur mothers proud of u.

In fairness, it's gonna be hard going, will try to meditate for a bit and see how that goes, knowing my luck I'll lose another 60c during it then stay awake all night worrying about it.

Rest easy, the take away driver is finished his shift.
    His night of wrong doings is over...for now.

I don't doubt what you say is true, but what I'm saying is that it reflects badly on all delivery drivers if something like this was done intentionally, I know folk say it's only 60c but that's not the point. The chap may have made a mistake but my cynical nature will make me suspect all of them being crooked now :(

I'm with ya I was teasing a bit, though it could have been a genuine mistake, no driver would risk his job for 60 cent. My local pizza delivery is always to my door in 20 minutes. One of them said to me one night in conversation when I met him in a pub. It's because they know I tip 3 quid. They even bring me extra dips cos they know I like the garlic dips and from time to time throw in a dessert. This is the drivers, not the instore staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

I bet he's away out on the lash now with the money. Like said above, ask what the price is when placing your order.

That's just my 60cents

I'd advise against jonjo the MISER'S advice on the first page. It could lead to a chap losing his job for a mistake he made.

theboss80 wrote: »
    I bet he's away out on the lash now with the money. Like said above, ask what the price is when placing your order.

That's just my 60cents

You're talking cents there :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I used to do fast-food deliveries and I bloody hated it, people looked at you like like you were scum and a few locals started calling me Norm,L-O ******-L.

After a few weeks I got to know the regular slobs who had their 'dinner' delivered, some always had the correct payment for me and others would ask.

For the ones that asked me how much, I would always round up, say €12.10 to €12.90 and if not given the correct change and they hand me a ten and a five I would say "hang on, I left my change in the car" They then might look at the distance from their door to my car and more often then not they'd tell me to just keep the change, thus making almost €3 profit in one deceitful move.

I used to to fast-food deliveries and I bloody hated it, people looked at you like like you were scum and a few locals started calling me Norm,L-O ******-L.

After a few weeks I got to know the regular slobs who had their 'dinner' delivered, some always had the correct payment for me and others would ask.

For the ones that asked me how much, I would always round up, say €12.10 to €12.90 and if not given the correct change and they hand me a ten and a five I would say "hang on, I left my change in the car" They then might look at the distance from their door to my car and more often then not they'd tell me to just keep the change, thus making almost €3 profit in one deceitful move.

Thats a deceitful tactic, pain in the arse though when they wait for you to come from your car with the change. It's all about time? is it not?

well done columbo. i hope ur mothers proud of u.

just one more thing....

a tip: txt speak isnt liked here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Had food delivered about 20 minutes ago for me and the housemate, driver arrives and says it's €13.90, that's grand, it's only when I look at the receipt a few minutes later that I see that total cost (including delivery) is €13.30!

So that poxbottle driver decided to add on his own enforced tip.

I advise all of you to in future check the receipt in the bag before paying up to the driver.
    what did yee order, 2 battered hostages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I don't believe in tipping delivery guys so I usually know exactly how much I owe when I order and have it exact for them.
    Still OP it's hardly the next watchdog topic :P

Thats a deceitful tactic, pain in the arse though when they wait for you to come from your car with the change. It's all about time? is it not?

Exactly, no one likes waiting at the door, in Winter, with their dinner going cold.

And if they do wait for their change I take as long as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

digme wrote: »
    what did yee order, 2 battered hostages?
    *Facepalm*

*Facepalm*

How's the missus?

Ask yore ma

Caitlinn wrote: »
    Seriously dude? You decided to start a thread over 60 cent? maybe you need to start other pursuits!
    The OP already said it was'nt the 60 cent it was the principal and he's right, as someone else said if he was short 60 cent he would'nt get the food.