Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most pointless job in Ireland?

• 06-07-2011 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

I go for those saps people who stand in the middle of traffic holding that utterly awful Independent Newspapers rag, the Evening Herald. Likewise for those who give out whatever paper in the morning traffic. Can they not get any better employment for their lives? Really, what is the point?

If I want to buy a "newspaper", I'll go to a shop - I'm inevitably going to end up in a shop at some stage. If I want to read a newspaper, I can usually do so online for free. Can these newspaper sellers not aspire to do something more productive with their lives? Anything?

Another pointless "job" is held by those muppets individuals who direct you where to park: I'll find my own parking space, thank you very much. It really is not that hard and moreover nothing you will do will make it any easier. I can do it without you waving me somewhere. UCD's management are awful wasters in this regard; there appears to be no end of "helpful" people telling me what I would find out a few seconds later myself: there's no parking! No wonder the place is millions of euro in debt with such pointless positions. Grrr.

/rant over. :D

What, for you, is the most pointless job in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

cordially,

Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

The Presidency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Any state paid employee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Needler wrote: »
    cordially,

Scofflaw

hehe. Cheeky fecker, aren't you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Lollipop women. these people actually enrage me at the sight of them. i mean really, you're there to what, press the button on the traffic lights, repeatedly, when someone approaches? hmmm, that's funny cause last time I checked anybody else can do the same thing! :mad::mad: tards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Trapattoni interpreter he'd be slaughtered by the english media if he couldnt speak the language at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

lollipop people

completely useless and dont even give out lollipops :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Banking Regulator.

(easy answers are easy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Willbbz

Those human signs on Henry Street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Leader of Fianna Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Logical Fallacy beat me to it. So I'm gonna say... your ma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

tv licence inspector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I know i'm going off the point but how the hell can those herald sellers even be making a tenner by standing there for 5 or 6 hours?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

clampers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The most pointless job is an unpaid ranting Boards.ie intern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Lollipop women. these people actually enrage me at the sight of them. i mean really, you're there to what, press the button on the traffic lights, repeatedly, when someone approaches? hmmm, that's funny cause last time I checked anybody else can do the same thing! :mad::mad: tards

I'm pretty sure that's a job usually done be kindly retired folk that are probably not in it for the money.

You know to make sure our kids are safe.

Big up to the Lollipop people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Any state paid employee.

I'm nearly sure that the cops and fire brigade are state paid, are you saying they are pointless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Willbbz wrote: »
    Those human signs on Henry Street

Indeed. Now that I think of it, what's the point in those fellas who just stand there all painted up and not moving? Bizarre altogether. "Art", I suppose. Mar dhea. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Bentley and Ferrari salesmen must be pretty pointless by now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

irish defence forces?

paky wrote: »
    clampers

ahh now come on , they have a point , your not allowed to be racist, anti semetic, xenophobic or hate gay people anymore , we atleast need 1 collection of people left that its ok to talk about committing genocide against them

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The most pointless job is an unpaid ranting Boards.ie intern.

But he gets a 50e dole top-up

They are volunteers so i leave em off.

Besides, someone needs to be there to herd peoples dip**** kids about the place.

Old enough to walk to school but not only enough to cross the road.

Makes sense to me!

ahh now come on , they have a point , your not allowed to be racist, anti semetic, xenophobic or hate gay people anymore , we atleast need 1 collection of people left that its ok to talk about committing genocide against them

after the clampers we still have

The IRMA (the anti-downloading crowd if you didn't know)
    Airport security
    GoSafe van operators

and many more

Needler wrote: »
    after the clampers we still have

The IRMA (the anti-downloading crowd if you didn't know)
    Airport security
    GoSafe van operators

and many more

add garda traffic core on to that list and these 8 sections http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1973/en/act/pub/0028/index.html are the only thing keeping them alive right now

They are volunteers so i leave em off.

Besides, someone needs to be there to herd peoples dip**** kids about the place.

Old enough to walk to school but not only enough to cross the road.

Makes sense to me!

they get paid for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Foreign property estate agents must be thin on the ground these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Anyone working for Vodafone customer care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Mortgage brokers. I can be told to feck off by the bank all by myself, I don't need an interpreter.

they get paid for it.

Details?

That's just too ****ing funny.

Details?

That's just too ****ing funny.

i don't really have more details. minimum wage probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Where I live they use a lolipop because there is no traffic lights at the schools, (3 schools at one place on a very busy road) without the lolipop lady, I'm sure there would be problems.

I see what you're getting at, but not all of them just stand there and press buttons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

The most pointless job in Ireland is Ray Darcy's. He was supposed to emigrate when Enda Kenny became Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Any state paid employee.

Oh yeah. All those guards, doctors, nurses, firemen, teachers, coastguards, postal workers... totally pointless. And all the people who make sure that the above people are able to do their jobs... totally pointless too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 ererer

People who work in PR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Bouncer in Coppers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Stewards in Croke Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Enda Kenny's speech writer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 McFoxy

Oh yeah. All those guards, doctors, nurses, firemen, teachers, coastguards, postal workers... totally pointless. And all the people who make sure that the above people are able to do their jobs... totally pointless too. :rolleyes:

Nicely said.

The president doesn't do much besides travel and promoting Ireland (I want her job) , I reckon they should combine the position of taoiseach and president. I guess that would make too much sense.

Currently the most pointless job: builder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭bpb101

first lady (especially if one day american politics fall to the ground and elects a women president)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Disleksic

Donie Cassidy's barber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

bpb101 wrote: »
    first lady (especially if one day american politics fall to the ground and elects a women president)

Would that not turn into the "first man"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Kojak wrote: »
    Would that not turn into the "first man"?
    First gentleman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

The president.
    Gets paid a whole load, to go about smiling and shaking hands.
    (I know our current president does a lot of charity work, but it's the job I have a problem with not her).

Anything to due with dvd's/cd's.

Anything to do with telesales.

An 'actor' in Fair City.

Then due to recession; teachers, sna's, anything around property, architecture, or construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Doctors i mean whats that all about ? mumbo jumbo if you ask me !

and while were at it archaeologist's go dig some hole's mofo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

drinkaware.ie's developer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Recruiter in the (un)civil service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭Sefirah

Clergy i.e. Professional Fairytale Distributors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Being unemployed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

batistuta9 wrote: »
    Trapattoni interpreter he'd be slaughtered by the english media if he couldnt speak the language at this stage

Because we should definitely take our cues from the english media.:rolleyes: