Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Post Meath Cycle

• 05-07-2011 5:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭

Pretty sure I'm gona give the long version of this a shot in a few weeks. One thing i've been looking for but can't find is a route profile. Any idea where I can get one? They have a pdf map on the page but it's impossible to guess hills. I looked on a couple of GPS sites but couldn't find any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

g0g wrote: »
    Pretty sure I'm gona give the long version of this a shot in a few weeks. One thing i've been looking for but can't find is a route profile. Any idea where I can get one? They have a pdf map on the page but it's impossible to guess hills. I looked on a couple of GPS sites but couldn't find any.

I usually find if I search google for the name of the event and ridewithgps, it comes up with someones data from the previous year, in this case our very own cheguedara!

http://ridewithgps.com/trips/74409

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

Are there many on here doing this? Thinking of giving it a go, how does it compare to the wicklow 200? (obviously flatter.... in terms of organisation and numbers taking part)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

I'm doing this, the 160k hopefully, but if the weather is the same as the W100 I'll do the 100k, you can decide on the day!

Anyway, received this email yesterday with further route info:

A Chara,

Further to previous correspondence regarding your entry for the 160km Royal Challenge as part of the An Post Meath Heritage Cycle Tour 2011.
    I wish to notify you that route map, including route elevation, is also available to view on Map My Ride at the following link:
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/40250244

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I'm going. Only doing the 100Km as it's my first event. Don't really know what to expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Closing date for this is 14th of July so if your not registered yet better get your arse in gear !

Looks like they accept late entries but it costs an extra 10 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

Folks, just wondering what the route is like for the 100km option? I did the ROK a few weeks back and found it fairly manageable but the description on the Meath cycle site is throwing me off a bit "for the very experienced, the very fit" .....

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/40114358

doesn't look too bad to me. This will be my first time on an organized event and my first time going this distance so I'll just be taking my time and trying to enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

If you managed the R.O.K., you'll have no bother doing the 100k in Meath.
    There are two climbs, Tara, which is nothing like either of the climbs in Kerry, and Slane, which is short and sharp.
    Enjoy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,826 ✭✭✭g0g

Random question. Got my confirmation email this week. If I read it right you register on the morning before settihng off and at that stage they give you your jersey and goody bag!? WTF are you meant to do with them at this stage? I would have though it'd make more sense to give people whatever gels/bars at the start and a jersey at the end! Do most people just return to their cars or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

Random question. Got my confirmation email this week. If I read it right you register on the morning before settihng off and at that stage they give you your jersey and goody bag!? WTF are you meant to do with them at this stage? I would have though it'd make more sense to give people whatever gels/bars at the start and a jersey at the end! Do most people just return to their cars or what?

YEP!!! Because it is good etiquette to get there early for sign on, and retrieval of goodie bags etc, so you have time to go back to the car with it, and also get a bit of a warm up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭nophd08

You could always wear it...:D I think big queue's formed last year at finish for whatever they were handing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Am doing this as my first ever sportive. Can anybody tell me what type of jerseys they hand out? Are they proper cycling jerseys, or are they like the low quality t shirts you get when you do running events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

nophd08 wrote: »
    You could always wear it...:D I think big queue's formed last year at finish for whatever they were handing out.

The trick there is to finish before everyone else that way u avoid the queue ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

I mailed them to ask about this and they said that if you sign on the night before you'll get the goody bag and jersey then. Since we're cycling down on the morning that means two trips, if the weather's good might even cycle to signon! A mere 360km for the weekend, what could go wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭DeviantD

Signed up for the 100K today and paid the late reg fee. :mad:.
    It reads on the website that the 100k starts at 9.30am, do you have to wait till then or can you go early.
    Are there any boards cyclists meeting up for the 100k that i could join in with??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

Perhaps you were on a different page but the one I found has a MapMyRide link after the PDF link

Route Page
    http://www.meathsports.ie/cycle-tour/routes/160km-royal-challenge.html

MapMyRide link
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/40250244

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

Inquitus wrote: »
    I usually find if I search google for the name of the event and ridewithgps, it comes up with someones data from the previous year, in this case our very own cheguedara!

http://ridewithgps.com/trips/74409

I mapped the route on ridewithgps a while back and it seems there's a few differences in the two routes.

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/472506

I mapped this out myself (prefer ridewithgps to mapmyride) based on the pdf, so corrections welcome, otherwise I'll probably be doing the wrong course :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Going to sign up for the 160km. Has anyone done it here before? What is the course like? What are the food stops like? How many should we expect to be doing the 160?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

have known i was gonna do this for a while and didn't get off my arse to register until now...stupid of me not to realise that there was a late penalty.

hopefully it'll be worth it!

160 for me will be longest yet, here's hoping some nice boardsie won't mind me hanging off their wheel for the duration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

NickDrake wrote: »
    Going to sign up for the 160km. Has anyone done it here before? What is the course like? What are the food stops like? How many should we expect to be doing the 160?

The course isn't too hard. It's isn't flat and is very lumpy around Oldcastle but there's no very hard climbs either. Tara and Loughcrew would be the 2 notable climbs but aren't that bad. Loughcrew would be hardest its relatively short but it is steep and the road surface isn't great. Personally I didn't find the food stops great last year mainly water and cake but I didn't stop at the first one. As for numbers I think slightly over a thousand did the 100km and 160km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Ant

As a Meathman, I'd intended to do this last year but an injury got in the way. I only started back cycling again in the past few weeks and when I registered for this I (ambitiously) put myself down for the 160km. Unfortunately, I've not had the opportunity to get out on as many training spins as I wanted so I'll likely end up doing the 100km route. Looking forward to it all the same.

Regarding food, I emailed the organisers and received the following response:
    At the water stops there is water, fruit, nutri-grain bars and tea/coffee.

At the food stops there are a selection of pasta salads and sandwiches (vegetarian options available), fruit slices, tea/coffee and water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Am doing this as my first ever sportive. Can anybody tell me what type of jerseys they hand out? Are they proper cycling jerseys, or are they like the low quality t shirts you get when you do running events?

Proper jersey, pretty class looking one...
    http://www.meathsports.ie/news/article/article/meath-football-stars-lend-their-support-to-the-an-post-meath-heritage-cycle-tour.html?tx_ttnews%5Byear%5D=2011&tx_ttnews%5Bmonth%5D=07&tx_ttnews%5Bday%5D=04&cHash=657796d24737cf8f2b003132fd8c0e76

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Blazing Bikers

Toying with the idea of either the 100km or the 160km....... in terms of the Ring of Kerry can anyone tell me what the 160km is like? Loved the Ring of Kerry but that could of been down to the weather!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Outdoor enthusiast

Saw the jersey they are giving out for the Meath tour on sunday - fab, its onsale in Cycleways in Dublin, can`t believe we`re getting it as part of the tour. AND the sun is going to shine!!!! Yippee, roll on the summer for just one day at least!

anyone know if you can register and pay on the day? My CC is maxed out and they wont take any other sort of card payment!!! Whats the point in having a laser card!

Edit, the feckin registrations are closed! Cant believe it I was really looking forward to this spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Outdoor enthusiast

No facility to register on the day - my brother left it late and rang through today and was told that registration was closed. due to reaching quota, no additional registrations will be taken on sunday - he`s gutted. He may do it along with me, but won`t be able to access the goody bag, jersey, food or water stops.

happygoose wrote: »
    Oh yeah that looks nice! Might spin up to collect my stuff on Saturday rather than be stuck with it all Sun morning and maybe they'll have run out of some sizes! I'm not taking chances after missing my W200 medal (which incidentally still hasn't been posted out!)

From the official site:
    What is the closing date for entries?

The closing date for entry is Thursday 14th July 2011.
    Late entries (penalties apply) for the 40k, 100k and 160k will be accepted up to 5pm on Wed 20th July 2011.
    Participants are advised NOT to send postal entries after Tuesday 19th July 2011.
    There will be NO registration facility on the weekend of the event(with the exception of the 12km Family Spin).

that'l learn me not to read!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

G rock wrote: »
    160 for me will be longest yet, here's hoping some nice boardsie won't mind me hanging off their wheel for the duration

You'll be more than fine! I reckon that the relatively flat 160 course in Meath will be easier than the Wicklow Peaks 120 we did a few weeks ago.

Daithi BC wrote: »
    You'll be more than fine! I reckon that the relatively flat 160 course in Meath will be easier than the Wicklow Peaks 120 we did a few weeks ago.

good stuff!

see you down there no doubt!

Just spun up there to save registering in the morning as I reckon it'll be a queue, plus they might have run out of jersey sizes, plus I don't wanna be lumped with a goody bag before heading off in the morning! :)

Was surprised by how many other people seem to have the same idea - was queueing about 5 mins even with 4 people giving numbers and another 2 on jerseys! Anyways as per previous posts it's a really nice jersey! The goody bag contents didn't last long - Animal Bar and cereal bar devoured as I got into the car! Mini jelly beans might survive til the morning but popcorn has no place in cycle jersey pockets! Even if I didn't cycle the event it's not bad value for € 31.50! :)

Looking forward to tomorrow but can't decide whether I could be arsed lugging a bottle of sun cream for 160km - it certainly paid off on the Wicklow Peaks cycle, so I guess it's the sensible option!

Good luck to the rest of you tomorrow!:)

meathjersey2011.jpg

Just spun up there to save registering in the morning as I reckon it'll be a queue, plus they might have run out of jersey sizes, plus I don't wanna be lumped with a goody bag before heading off in the morning! :)

Was surprised by how many other people seem to have the same idea - was queueing about 5 mins even with 4 people giving numbers and another 2 on jerseys! Anyways as per previous posts it's a really nice jersey! The goody bag contents didn't last long - Animal Bar and cereal bar devoured as I got into the car! Mini jelly beans might survive til the morning but popcorn has no place in cycle jersey pockets! Even if I didn't cycle the event it's not bad value for € 31.50! :)

Looking forward to tomorrow but can't decide whether I could be arsed lugging a bottle of sun cream for 160km - it certainly paid off on the Wicklow Peaks cycle, so I guess it's the sensible option!

Good luck to the rest of you tomorrow!:)

meathjersey2011.jpg

Keep an eye out for the lads in the Bray gear, theres a few of us going down

Anybody able to recommend somewhere in Trim to get a breakfast on Sunday morning?

G rock wrote: »
    good stuff!

see you down there no doubt!

I'll be there, but doing the 100km. My wife and brother-in-law are coming with me and doing the 40km, so didn't feel I could get them there for a half eight start when their event doesn't start until 11!

Did the 40k today, it was my first ever organised ride and I really enjoyed it. The event was well organised and the entry fee was great value. If this is the standard of the An post series then I will certainly do another. Well done to all those involved.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/101356009

Just back.
    A well organized event that went off without a hitch as far as I could see.
    That's the furthest I've done and didn't find the distance as bad as I'd imagined it would be. It helped that the weather stayed cooler too.

I did it in 3hr 26 which was an average of 29Kmh so I was happy enough with that, helped by not having to stop at any junction I came to.
    Food stop was great - loved the carrot cake - and came at just the right time for me. I wasn't too tired but getting a bit uncomfortable on the bike.
    Didn't see a single boards jersey but I'd say most were in team kit and probably on the 160 route.

Looking forward to doing another event now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭mfdc

Just home. Great event, marshalling was good and the foodstop was excellent (big wedge of cake, yeesss!) Did the 160km in a hair under 5 hours, with the trip up and back I'm at 248km for the day.

My only complaint - there was a hill about 10km before Oldcastle, the descent was steep, really narrow and had a tight left hander right at the bottom. The problem was it was covered, and I mean covered, with gravel! At least one guy in the group I was in went down, dunno how many more behind. I'd be surprised if there wasn't a serious accident there. Should have been a marshall there warning about it, or change the "Steep Descent" warning sign to mention the gravel carpet or just say "VERY SLOW Dangerous Surface/Steep Descent". Better yet, send someone out with a brush :D

Other than that, no complaints. I really enjoyed it!

mfdc wrote: »
    Just home. Great event, marshalling was good and the foodstop was excellent (big wedge of cake, yeesss!) Did the 160km in a hair under 5 hours, with the trip up and back I'm at 248km for the day.

My only complaint - there was a hill about 10km before Oldcastle, the descent was steep, really narrow and had a tight left hander right at the bottom. The problem was it was covered, and I mean covered, with gravel! At least one guy in the group I was in went down, dunno how many more behind. I'd be surprised if there wasn't a serious accident there. Should have been a marshall there warning about it, or change the "Steep Descent" warning sign to mention the gravel carpet or just say "VERY SLOW Dangerous Surface/Steep Descent". Better yet, send someone out with a brush :D

Other than that, no complaints. I really enjoyed it!

+1 on that gravel filled descent, a girl in the group I was with came down at the bend half way down, she was OK, but got a cut up elbow as a souvineer of her day, which was patched up by the medics at the foodstop, heard of at least 2 who came down there with collar bone injuries, big Thanks to that club, which the name escapes me at the moment, they were in yellow and black, for letting me sit in with them between foodstops, after I misplaced my 3 companions (whoops):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Herc

Again +1 on the gravel, especially on that particular descent and corner, quite dangerous - a few other corners quite tricky - alot of sharp turns and changing of road surface - some of the road surfaces were absolutely horrendous, punctures every few k on the side of the road, including one of my own, more than I have seen in previous events - that said, a great event, great weather and great atmosphere before, during and after, defo back next year

No major gravel patches on the 100km route, but pretty rough road surfaces in places. Apart from that, I thought it was very well organised and a good bunch out to share the workload as well.

Not the fastest time in the world, and we were nearly last, but we survived it! :) Full report to follow during the week! Was surprised by how fast the pace of everyone else was. We weren't at all that far back in W200 and more recently Wicklow Peaks. I reckon because most of my cycling is in mountains I'm better suited to that! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭chazlan

Jus completed the 100km, was my first event! Must say I was well impressed, very well organised, good shirt n better food than I thought! I didn't have to stop at one junction whole way around! Big thanks to the numerous people I hung off!!!
    http://www.trimbleoutdoors.com/ViewTrip/1228710

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Fi H

what a day :) nice cycle and a lounge on the grass with some ice cream...what more could you ask for :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Possedion

chazlan wrote: »
    Jus completed the 100km, was my first event! Must say I was well impressed, very well organised, good shirt n better food than I thought! I didn't have to stop at one junction whole way around! Big thanks to the numerous people I hung off!!!
    http://www.trimbleoutdoors.com/ViewTrip/1228710

that was good going just managed 3:50 !

great day on the bike, got in with a great group out of foodstop and we were fairly motoring all the way home, (and i'm glad to say that i was fit to help out at the front!)

think i saw zorba (?) pull up with a puncture or some other mechanical around that gravelly stretch, hope it was nothing too serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Missed out on doing the 160 because I was relegated to domestique duties today!!

The team principal (Missus Jawgap) sent out two squads - First squad comprised of myself and son no.1 to do the 40km route. Team orders were to look after him, pace him up Tara, make sure he'd plenty to drink and slap some sunscreen on him if necessary. Under no circumstances was I allowed to drop him and go hunting for glory on my own:)

Second squad (herself and son no.2) did the family spin.

All in all, a great day - excellent organisation, bit of decent food and a lovely atmosphere. The only downside (again) was the state of some of the roads we were sent up. I'd say either don't use those roads or do a bit of maintenance on the worst parts before the event.

Came back and had a well deserved beer while watching the end of the TdF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭_sheep

Really enjoyed the 100km today - we went up to do the 160 thinking it started at 9:30 but had a great day all the same. Everything looked to be organised fantasically, huge amounts of food at the stops and the marshalling was 100% dont think I had to touch the breaks at any junction .

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/101429908

Hello to the boardsie who I gave a shout to at the end close to the ice cream van - I was the "big boned" guy in the garmin gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭moggs1972

+1 again on that descent, it was downright crazy and a lot of the corners had gravel on them but overall a very well organised and enjoyable day out. did the 160 and came in on 5:25, fairly motoring for the final 30km.