Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic light trick

• 04-07-2011 9:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Have tried this a few times and I think it works but it could just be coincidental timing.
    If you flash your lights a few times at a traffic light before you get to them a sensor automatically turns you light to green, in other words skipping straight to your side of the junction. Its worked early in the morning while it was quite bright out
    Anyone else heard of this or tried this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

What?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Ehh no never heard of this? Enlighten us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Haha, it's true, works with the 2nd set of lights as you come off M11/M50 Northbound at Cherrywood, if you've stopped at the red lights on the off ramp, when they go green accelerate and flash your lights at the next traffic lights 200m away and they'll turn green by the time you get to them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Or, maybe it's just the fact you drove over the sensor as you approached the junction which in turn activated the green light for you? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I find that a quick "abracadabra" on approach works for some of them too! Try it, out loud with window down. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Could it not just be that the timing of them is such that as one goes green the rest follow a few seconds later, making it seem like as you come to them they are changing for you?? Sligo town seems a lot like this, sometimes you dont need to stop for one if you arrive at the right time. But usually your sitting for a while! Dont think there's anything in this to be honest :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 brian.o.reilly

Supposedly it for guards, ambulances etc but I thought they had a magnetic thing to change lights for them. I know there are motion sensors at most lights but this seems to skip you ahead of the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Kensington wrote: »
    Or, maybe it's just the fact you drove over the sensor as you approached the junction which in turn activated the green light for you? :confused:

There's no sensor in the road, but there is one on the lights themselves, rather like the ones on security lights on houses. you know the ones.

They 'see' you coming and flick the lights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,074 ✭✭✭10-10-20

There's an emergency vehicle detection system on most traffic lights.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traffic_signal_preemption#Line-of-Sight

It looks like a camera body with a dark face. This face should filter out visible light and only allow IR light through, but in theory, it may work using the main-beams.

http://www.themirt.com/how.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 brian.o.reilly

there is one on the lights themselves, rather like the ones on security lights on houses. you know the ones.

Actually it probably just triggers those sensors earlier than usual. Either way it saves me petrol by not having to stop at the lights :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Right so we can look forwards to multiple crashes as drivers flash the lights and people step out into the road thinking they've been waved across. This'll be fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

Maybe flashing the headlights fool the sensor into thinking that a few different cars are coming in that direction and it prioritizes that group for the green...??? I'm gonna look like a total spa trying this one out....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I am skeptical about the validity of the information in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

There's no sensor in the road, but there is one on the lights themselves, rather like the ones on security lights on houses. you know the ones.

There is a sensor in the road - every, or at least almost every single traffic light has an induction loop sensor, which is a magnetic coil, in the roadway. They're typically behind the white line mind, so if you're on a secondary road late at night it might just trigger the change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The fact that your car happens to be approaching the lights everytime you flash might be a clue as to why they change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

.... sends email to Mythbusters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

cianclarke wrote: »
    There is a sensor in the road - every, or at least almost every single traffic light has an induction loop sensor, which is a magnetic coil, in the roadway. They're typically behind the white line mind, so if you're on a secondary road late at night it might just trigger the change.

On second thought I don't disagree, but I have looked at spec on lights for work and some of them have had sensors as i described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭laois hibby

i heard of this about 20 years ago in scotland and after flashing at the lights for them to change ( which didn't by the way ) was quickly stopped by the police for flashing at on coming traffic. I told him why i was flashing he just about pissed himself laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

cianclarke wrote: »
    There is a sensor in the road - every, or at least almost every single traffic light has an induction loop sensor, which is a magnetic coil, in the roadway.

It's nowhere near 'every, or at least almost every' junction and nor has it to do with how recently the junction was upgraded, it seems to depend more on the whim of the council engineer who designed the system for that junction and probably the budget for same.

For example the intersection of the new Monkstown relief road and Deansgrange Road seems to have absolutely no sensors whatsoever, it looks like it's driven by a clockwork motor in the sense that it goes through the same cycle all the time regardless of how many vehicles are waiting at each entry point and it doesn't matter if there is nobody turning right, it only shows green to traffic coming from one of the four entry points at a time even though it would make more sense (and significantly reduce waiting times) to let cars coming from opposite directions pass through at the same time when there is nobody turning right, given that there is a separate right turning lane at all four entry points.

What's even more strange is that the junction up at Deansgrange Cross is fully sensor driven and that was upgraded before the Monkstown relief road was completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

I have seen the guards doing this a few times. They come to a complete stop and then flash the roof flashers. The traffic lights turn to green. It's always been at night when there was little or no traffic. Sure why wouldn't you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I find that a quick "abracadabra" on approach works for some of them too! Try it, out loud with window down. :D

Bonus points if you stick your spare car key fob under your mouth whilst doing this, so the lights change from even further away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Now that is a load of bull. Everyone knows that you have to get the child in the backseat to blow the lights to change them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

coylemj wrote: »
    For example the intersection of the new Monkstown relief road and Deansgrange Road seems to have absolutely no sensors whatsoever

Which is strange considering the junction of the new road with Newtownpark Ave has sensors everywhere, it's like a disco in the morning with the amount of traffic light changes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

I generally use "The Force" when approaching a red light to turn it to green. Perhaps you are also Jedi but dont know it yet. I would suggest getting your Midi-chlorian counts checked as soon as you can.

I have found this to be a very informative and equally witty thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's the anti-radar CD you have hanging from the rear-view mirror that does the trick OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Have I wandered into After Hours without knowing????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

biko wrote: »
    It's the anti-radar CD you have hanging from the rear-view mirror that does the trick OP.

...nah, it's the anti-static rubbing strip hanging from the back bumper that does it......... :)

btw, EV's do have a device to change lights in their favour.......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

An angled laser pointer aimed just so... might work... :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I remember a set of traffic lights I used to go through where the sensor before them was a bit dodgy. If you just drove over it normally it didn't seem to register and if it was a t night you could be sitting there ages waiting for the lights to go green. But if you stood on the brakes going over it the extra pressure seemed to trigger it and the lights would go green straight away.

I wondered a few times if I was mad until I saw other people doing it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭roberto_98

i am fascinated by all this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

the slip road from chapelizod onto the n4 has a sensor you can activate. Pull over to the far rhs when you get to the top of the hill at the lights and voila.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Just to clarify, I was joking in my post above :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

kwalshe wrote: »
    the slip road from chapelizod onto the n4 has a sensor you can activate. Pull over to the far rhs when you get to the top of the hill at the lights and voila.....

Erm, it's a sensor, that's what they do, activate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

I've never heard of this on normal traffic lights (i.e. a light sensor) but I know from a builder that the "stop go" systems they use can have a sensor that pics up the emergency vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Don't forget there is of course a microphone to go with the camera in the lights.
    Just ask the lads to change the lights to change as the lights seem to be stuck on red.
    some of them can be quite ignoarant and ignore you, but show them who's boss and you will be motoring in no time.

*some of the mics are mounted high on the light pole, so you may need to raise your voice substantially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I find that a quick "abrakebabra" on approach works for some of them too! Try it, out loud with window down. :D

How does a greasy kebab change to lights to green?? Maybe its the lettuce??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Lol, Abrakebabra has ruined it for Abracadabra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

frag420 wrote: »
    How does a greasy kebab change to lights to green?? Maybe its the lettuce??

Green Lettuce go please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I often have to beckon drivers behind me to move up onto the sensors because my bike won't work on them. Many women drivers choose to ignore me. Most male drivers move up. Most trucks and buses try to run me over. More often than not I just run the red light if no one is around.

When I'm coming out of work the electric gates never work. What I do is put the front wheel down a pothole right on the sensor and it works then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I often have to beckon drivers behind me to move up onto the sensors because my bike won't work on them. Many women drivers choose to ignore me. Most male drivers move up. Most trucks and buses try to run me over. More often than not I just run the red light if no one is around.

When I'm coming out of work the electric gates never work. What I do is put the front wheel down a pothole right on the sensor and it works then!

Taxis often do that as a delaying stunt at places like Donnybrook church. The taxi is coming into town and turning right at the church, the taxi driver (if he's first at the lights) can simply stay behind the stop line in the right turning lane and during off-peak periods he might be waiting for a few changes of the lights before he gets a filter to turn right.

Of course the passenger doesn't notice the white box with the right arrow painted in the middle of the junction under which there are sensors to activate the filter so the taxi drivers get another few quid up on the meter!

It's also amazing the number of people intending to turn right at this junction who wait at the stop line through sheer ignorance, they wait at the stop line even though the light is solid green and there might be no traffic coming from town yet they still wait for the filter because they don't know the difference between an up pointing green arrow and a solid green light and they don't notice the white box with the right arrow in the middle of the junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

TO a degree, the OP is correct. Many traffic lights have a light sensor that detects changes in the lighting immediately before the white line and this triggers the traffic lights to change.

Typically, the sensor looks like a CCTV camera.
    You need to drive the bike right over the line of the sensor cable (typically marked by a line of pure tar).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

coylemj wrote: »
    -It's not nearly every junction.
    -The one on Monkstown relief road->Deansgrange Road has no sensors.
    -Another slightly older road has.

It's nowhere near 'every, or at least almost every' junction and nor has it to do with how recently the junction was upgraded, it seems to depend more on the whim of the council engineer who designed the system for that junction and probably the budget for same.

For example the intersection of the new Monkstown relief road and Deansgrange Road seems to have absolutely no sensors whatsoever, it looks like it's driven by a clockwork motor in the sense that it goes through the same cycle all the time regardless of how many vehicles are waiting at each entry point and it doesn't matter if there is nobody turning right, it only shows green to traffic coming from one of the four entry points at a time even though it would make more sense (and significantly reduce waiting times) to let cars coming from opposite directions pass through at the same time when there is nobody turning right, given that there is a separate right turning lane at all four entry points.

What's even more strange is that the junction up at Deansgrange Cross is fully sensor driven and that was upgraded before the Monkstown relief road was completed.
    fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

A lot of lights have an inductance loop installed in the road just before the junction. This is basically a loop of heavy wire with a low voltage current feed buried in the road and feeding back to a sensor. This loop can detect when a large metallic object ie car/van/truck passes over it . Many traffic light take their cues from these loops as to volumes approaching the junction and sequence accordingly. It may well be that you are being detected by the loop as you approach, and flashing your lights is just having a coincidental effect. I've installed a lot of inductance loops in warehouses to trigger automatic doors and gates to open when a vehicle approaches. Same system.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    A lot of lights have an inductance loop installed in the road just before the junction. This is basically a loop of heavy wire with a low voltage current feed buried in the road and feeding back to a sensor. This loop can detect when a large metallic object ie car/van/truck passes over it .
    The test for these loops is to pass a drinks can over the cable, so it doesn't necessarily have to be a large object.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

On a traffic light green means 'go' and yellow means 'yield', but on a banana it's just the opposite. Green means 'hold on,' yellow means 'go ahead,' and red means, 'where the **** did you get that banana at?'

From the might Mitch Hedburg

Victor wrote: »
    The test for these loops is to pass a drinks can over the cable, so it doesn't necessarily have to be a large object.
    Nope, has to be a large object, carsize at least, even bikes wont work, they just don't have the metallic mass and cannot cover enough of the loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭blue5

I've heard the flashing lights is for Emergency Services, I'm not convinced it always works.

As for the sensor at the traffic lights, I once had to get out at the Malahide Road / Hilton Hotel Junction to ask the guy in the car in front (a learner in fairness) to drive over the re-painted white lines to where the sensors were, to trigger the lights as we had missed 4 changes!

Nobody on the other side of the road (oncoming traffic) moved over the line either, including the taxi driver with a fare too busy chatting away to 'notice' the lights.

I'm always getting funny looks from 'fuddy-duddy ma/pa' at the lights when I drive over the line to the sensor, they seem to think I'm trying to race them or being ignorant of a pedestrian crossing which is another good few feet away.

On a side not I also refuse to let any taxi driver take me down Georges St, ever. It's nothing but a taxi rank, full from one end to the other of taxis bumping up fares. It's the worst road in Dublin City and wherever they pick you up they nearly always insist on using that road.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Nope, has to be a large object, carsize at least, even bikes wont work, they just don't have the metallic mass and cannot cover enough of the loop.
    No, the on-street ones are designed to be triggered by a bicycle. Unless you have carbon fibre wheels. :)

blue5 wrote: »
    I've heard the flashing lights is for Emergency Services, I'm not convinced it always works.

As for the sensor at the traffic lights, I once had to get out at the Malahide Road / Hilton Hotel Junction to ask the guy in the car in front (a learner in fairness) to drive over the re-painted white lines to where the sensors were, to trigger the lights as we had missed 4 changes!

Nobody on the other side of the road (oncoming traffic) moved over the line either, including the taxi driver with a fare too busy chatting away to 'notice' the lights.

I'm always getting funny looks from 'fuddy-duddy ma/pa' at the lights when I drive over the line to the sensor, they seem to think I'm trying to race them or being ignorant of a pedestrian crossing which is another good few feet away.

On a side not I also refuse to let any taxi driver take me down Georges St, ever. It's nothing but a taxi rank, full from one end to the other of taxis bumping up fares. It's the worst road in Dublin City and wherever they pick you up they nearly always insist on using that road.
    Sorry, but when I first read that, I laughed out loud, took it the wrong way altogether.:D