Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Putting animals out of their misery. Could you do it?

• 04-07-2011 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

First decent weekend weather wise in a long while and Pighead was determined to make the most of it. Texted a couple of Dundalk homeboys and before you could say "Sorry Miss Piggy, can't paint those windows today, meeting the lads for a road trip. Byeeeee" the three amigos were out on the open road with the sunroof down and the wind blowing through their lovely hair.

"I'm the King of the World" screamed KeithM89 as he stood up and put his head through the sunroof. "Loooooove this tune. This is Big Willy's best song ever" shouted My name is URL as Will Smith's Miami blasted out from the speakers.

Pighead didn't really care for either Keith's Leonardo Di Caprio impression nor URL's taste in music but once the lads were happy he was happy too.

"We love you Pighead" they cried in unison as they gave their best pal big happy bear hugs. Unfortunately for Pighead, he was driving at the time and the bear hugs impeded his view of the Ravensdale roads ahead.

Pushed the fcukers off just in time to see a hedgehog on his back legs looking right at Pighead with a look on his face that seemed to say "Slow the fcuk down, you're heading right for me"

Slammed on the brakes and veered to the left but it was too late. There was a thud that sounded suspiciously like the noise a car makes when it hits a hedgehog. We'd hit the poor fcuker.

There were spikes everywhere and it was only by the grace of God that Pighead didn't get a puncture.

Got out of the car to assess the damage and to say a little prayer in poor little Spiky's honour. Was just about to get the ceremony underway when the hedgehog started to scream. Not a whine, not a splutter but a full blooded scream. URL and Keith started crying. "This is all our fault".
    Yes, yes it is" Pighead replied.

After about ten minutes the boys stopped crying and Pighead took charge of the situation. "Keith you're gonna have to put the poor fcuker out of it's misery. We can't leave him like this"

"What? Why the fcuk do I have to do it? Why can't you or URL do it. I'm not killing no fcuking half dead hedgehog. You can go and fcuk yourselves"

We calmly explained to Keith that he was a boards moderator now and that with great power comes great responsibility. "Fcuk that" he replied. You're the oldest Pighead. You fcuking do it"

Pighead is a pretty brave character but if theres one thing he cannot do it's kill an animal. We argued for about ten minutes over who was gonna do the deed until finally My name is URL strolled over to the hedgehog, took out his swiss army knife, blessed himself and slit the poor fcuker from ear to ear.

We drove home in silence and swore never to tell anybody what happened. And Pighead kept that promise until this thread.

So many unanswered questions from that fateful Saturday in Ravensdale. Should we have brought the hedgehog to the vet? Is Keith really the right man to Mod the wild jungle that is After Hours if he can't even kill a hedgehog? Is Miami really Will Smith's best song?

Could you kill a half dead animal if it lay on the side of the road?

Could you put a half dead animal out of it's misery? 210 votes

No way. I'd leave it and drive on.
    0%
    Of course I would. It would be unfair to leave him in pain.
    4%
    CorkManPigheadGillingtontonycascarinoLiamIRL82yesno1234Da Shins KellySefirahrxan90Undercover_ 10 votes
    I'd bring it to the vet and let him do it.
    63%
    --Kaiser--azezilSpearBeruthielCreatureBlistermanyawnstretchrain onInterceptorenda1[Deleted User]RoviWibbsKnifeWRENCHstrobePrivate SnafuArmaniJeanssCacoVegetaspectre 134 votes
    Will Smith has no best songs.
    31%
    super_furrygenieStephen Pup for anythingKieraollaettaGenghiz CohenJimmy BottleheadleexrichymcdermottNiall09HogzyCaptain DarlinggcgirllucyluTheVoodooronnie3585BigginsdegausserxoKya1976 66 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Have done, took the 9th life from a moggie after I hit him on my scoot, couldn't see him left there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Have done it before and will do it again.
    Ran over a fox once and had to finish it off with the tyre iron, not pleasant but the right thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Id fecking kill you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭Emiko

I once put a dying bird out of it's misery, by stamping on it's head, also outside the Town as it happens, and later regretted it, thinking I should have let the bird die it's natural death, the agony and the ecstasy and all of that, and vowed never to do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Have done, took the 9th life from a moggie on my scoot, couldn't see him left there.
    How did you kill it? The only possible way Pighead could ever kill an animal is by shooting it. Perhaps they should have gun stations every few miles or so along the road in case an animal needs putting down. A rock over the head seems very inhumane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Pighead wrote: »
    We'd hit the poor fcuker.

There were spikes everywhere and it was only by the grace of God that Pighead didn't get a puncture.

I'm sure the hedgehog felt the same way; "What a relief I didnt puncture the tyres on that chaps car". :(

Ah well **** happens, and yes I've done it, had to put a hare out of his misery after I'd taken off two of his legs with a rotary mower. Not nice, I can remember vividly the mix of terror and agony in its eyes even though it happened over 20 years ago, but it was best in the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Reading a story like that it makes you wonder who is the real animal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Yup had to put a deer with a infection out of it's misery :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Have done it in the past and would again if the occasion arose. The vet option would be ideal but not everybody has access to one in an emergency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I wouldnt have it in me. Probably years ago, but now i just couldnt. Dont know whats changed. Just couldnt.

I couldnt see it in pain either. I'd have to bring it to the vet. I do not like to see animals suffering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

IMHO Wild Wild West was better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Yeah i would,better than howling itself to death..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

How did you kill it? The only possible way Pighead could ever kill an animal is by shooting it. Perhaps they should have gun stations every few miles or so along the road in case an animal needs putting down. A rock over the head seems very inhumane.
    A size 9. Thing was already flattened by the front wheel of GSX750F.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Couldn't do it. I know from experience. Somebody set a mouse trap up in the house without my knowledge. Heard a snap and followed the noise to find a twitching mouse caught in it, the bar cut straight across it's body. The poor little mousie was pinned to the board underneath but it's body was squashed. I don't know how it was still alive. It was on it's back and the legs were going ninety. Then it would stop and I'd think it was dead, only for it to start again a minute later. I got the hammer out, intending to whack it over the head to put it out of it's misery -it was obviously in a lot of pain BUT...I couldn't bring that hammer down. I watched it die slowly. I'm so ashamed but I guess I don't have what it takes to do something that gruesome. If a bigger animal like a pitbull attacked and I had a knife handy, I fcukin hope it would be another story altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Pighead, you should post in here more often, ya mad bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Don't like it but sometimes it has to be done. I put my neighbour's dog out of it's misery after it bit my little brother in the face.

Was in Minnesota a few years ago with work and we were driving along with one of the American lads in his jeep when all of a sudden "THUD" He'd hit a deer. Calmly got out of the jeep, grabbed a rifle from the back and "BANG".

(That 'BANG' represented the deer being shot by the way. Oh and the 'THUD' was the deer being hit by the jeep) Dragged him to the side of the road and then drove on as if nothing happened. Amazing how an old genial tobacco chewing man with glasses can turn into an ice cold killer in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Don't like it but sometimes it has to be done. I put my neighbour's dog out of it's misery after it bit my little brother in the face.

I wonder about things like this. Kids can sometimes unintentionally hurt animals while playing with them and I don't wonder that the animals bite back. I wouldn't see an animal put down for that.

Not saying that was the case with your little brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

story was almost as crap as "i know what you did last summer"

Again Pighead's gonna ask how you did it? Saying putting an animal out of it's misery sounds a lot nicer than what the deed generally involves. Did you club it to death or did you give him a lethal injection? Pighead's is wondering what the best method of killing an animal is.

Obviously, talking about already injured animals here. Don't for one second think Pighead would target healthy vibrant animals with any of these methods.

I wonder about things like this. Kids can sometimes unintentionally hurt animals while playing with them and I don't wonder that the animals bite back. I wouldn't see an animal put down for that.

Not saying that was the case with your little brother.

Not the case this time. My brother stooped down and was going to pet the dog but the little fúcker latched onto his cheek and jaw just below his eye. Same thing happened my brother a few years later and he still loves dogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

WIZE wrote: »
    IMHO Wild Wild West was better

'Summertime' is my favourite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Damn hit the wrong button.
    Have done before, will have to again no doubt.
    Don't like it though...

Again Pighead's gonna ask how you did it? Saying putting an animal out of it's misery sounds a lot nicer than what the deed generally involves. Did you club it to death or did you give him a lethal injection? Pighead's is wondering what the best method of killing an animal is.

Obviously, talking about already injured animals here. Don't for one second think Pighead would target healthy vibrant animals with any of these methods.

Neighbour wouldn't take it to the vet to be put down and they had no gun so they tied him up and I shot him. Hated doing it but that dog was a nasty piece of work.

copeyhagen wrote: »
    Thought "I know what you did last summer" was a pretty decent story actually. Each to their own though. Your cruel words have ensured Pighead's next thread will be a lot better.

Pighead will not rest until he reaches the legendary thread standards reached by you last week when you told the world how to make a turkey less dry in a sandwich. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73035058

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

copeyhagen wrote: »

Meeeeeeee-ooooooow!

Saucer of milk to table two. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Our cat kills/half kills animals all the time.
    My husband has had to kill a few lost causes before.
    Luckily I have not been faced with the situation yet.

There was one day when she brought a live bird into the house, and I tried to let it out, but couldn't manage.
    So had to just wait until my cat killed it.
    If it had of been half dead, I honestly don't know what I would have done.

It's the best thing to do, and I know that, but I would probably have to knock back a strong glass of vodka first!

Meeeeeeee-ooooooow!

Saucer of milk to table two. :pac:
    It was a bit bitchy wasn't it? Pighead's mother always told him "'If you have nothing nice to say, don't say anything at all'

Seems copeyhagens mother words of wisdom to her darling son were "If you have something horrible to say, direct them at Pighead on a Monday afternoon when he's already feeling low having witnessed an animal dying on the previous Saturday"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭smooch71

When I was a kid I used to go shooting rabbits with my brother in law. He'd do the shooting and I'd try to sneak around quietly

One day he'd decided I should have a go myself so I shot a rabbit in the arse with a rifle. It didn't kill it (obviously) so when I caught up with it I had to wring its neck to finish it off. Not my proudest moment.

My brother in law thought it would be a good idea to stuff and mount my "first kill". That rabbit was in a superquinn bag in my mothers freezer for 5 years before she threw it out.

That was my first and last kill. (Apart from 2 cats, a pigeon and a fox but I killed them by accident in the car so it doesn't count.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Pighead will not rest until he reaches the legendary thread standards reached by you last week when you told the world how to make a turkey less dry in a sandwich. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73035058

I laughed so much I puked. Best way to clean a keyboard please? :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Yeah, Ive broken a lot of lambs necks in my time. When you grow up on a farm, you get used to this sort of thing.

Ive also seen my Dad shoot a horse, seen another be shot while stuck in a drain, and waved many a former pet calf away to the abbatoir!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Hd to do this a few times alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Thought "I know what you did last summer" was a pretty decent story actually. Each to their own though. Your cruel words have ensured Pighead's next thread will be a lot better.

its good that pighead has a dream. :D

Anyway killing it quickly I feel is the way to go. I fish so regularly do it to fish by breaking their necks as quickly as possible (that or throw them back of course I don't kill everything I catch)

mammals are different I think if it came to it but the tire iron mentioned above sounds like a good plan.

later10 wrote: »
    Yeah, Ive broken a lot of lambs necks in my time. When you grow up on a farm, you get used to this sort of thing.

Ive also seen my Dad shoot a horse, seen another be shot while stuck in a drain, and waved many a former pet calf away to the abbatoir!
    Whenever Pighead hears of people shooting animals to put them out of their misery he's reminded of that tragic scene from Me, Myself and Irene.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWkjSU0U9rM&NR=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Kat1170

So you veered to the left and hit him, why did you not just keep going straight and you would have missed him :D:D

And as for a quick means of dispatch, bite his head off. Worked for Ozzie :p

Kat1170 wrote: »
    So you veered to the left and hit him, why did you not just keep going straight and you would have missed him :D:D

And as for a quick means of dispatch, bite his head off. Worked for Ozzie :p
    Hmmm, that's a good question. Think it must have been one of those sidewalk shuffle situations when you take a step to the left to avoid the person approaching you only for him to also take a step to the left leaving you both embarrassed and red faced. Except for in this case swap embarrassment and red faced for half dead and bloody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    'Summertime' is my favourite!
    Yeah , Summertime was better . Good Spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I get my Dad to do it :o

My dog used to always catch birds and leave them half dead in the garden, so my Dad would put them in a bag and break their necks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

When I was younger I brought one of our dogs walking. He was off-lead in a local field, he took a sudden lurch towards something and I heard an awful scream. I called him back and went to look at what he had done. :( He'd caught a cat, but I had called him off before he had finished the job. In the few seconds it took me to get there and see what he had done the bastard crows were already down pecking at this poor half dead cat. So I had to send the dog back to finish it off. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

A trip to the vets to get it put down : €50
    A shotgun shell : €0.20

We're in a recession, don't ya know!?

Yeah, I've done it before, by gun/foot/lump hammer, and will probably do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I'd like to think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Yeah no problem, I'm a hunter it's my hobby. So I have know problem putting an animal out of its misery whether by hand, rifle or shptgun. It's the right thing to do if an animal is sufferring, it would disturb me more to walk away knowing it was in pain.

Odysseus wrote: »
    Yeah no problem, I'm a hunter it's my hobby. So I have know problem putting an animal out of its misery whether by hand, rifle or shptgun. It's the right thing to do if an animal is sufferring, it would disturb me more to walk away knowing it was in pain.
    Pighead's not here to judge you Odysseus but is there a danger that you are choosing the easy option when deciding to put the animal out of it's misery? Is killing the animal the easier option rather than the hassle of taking it to the vet?

How do you know the animal is about to die? Perhaps he is shrieking because of a broken wing or broken claw both of which can be fixed for a price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Pighead's not here to judge you Odysseus but is there a danger that you are choosing the easy option when deciding to put the animal out of it's misery? Is killing the animal the easier option rather than the hassle of taking it to the vet?

How do you know the animal is about to die? Perhaps he is shrieking because of a broken wing or broken claw both of which can be fixed for a price.

If I though it could be saved, and I could get it there, my mode of transport is a motorbike, so it's not easy to tratsport an injuried animal on a bike. But yes if I though it could be saved and I could get it there without causing futher injury yes. That would be the best option.

Odysseus wrote: »
    If I though it could be saved, and I could get it there, my mode of transport is a motorbike, so it's not easy to tratsport an injuried animal on a bike. But yes if I though it could be saved and I could get it there without causing futher injury yes. That would be the best option.
    Well you're a better man than Pighead. Shamefully this poster would drive away and leave the poor little squirrell/badger/tortoise/elf/ferret/hedgehog writhing around in agony. That sentence doesn't make Pighead proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭animan

Yeah it has to be done from time to time. Usually a shovel or a stick with some weight in it for small creatures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

I'm surprised so few people chose the vet option. If it can be saved, it would be the right place to bring it and if it can't, they'd have the most humane method of killing it. I'd also see it as my duty to pay for whatever the vet deemed the appropriate measures since it was my fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

A hedgehog? Is that the story we are going with?? :pac:

On a completely unrelated note, does anyone know the best place in ireland to hideout for a couple of weeks??

(excellent as always pighead :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

I choosed the vet option and i would go their in a heartbeat if i seen a animal in pain, i couldnt make myself kill another animal if it had any chance to be saved.

Is it true that a vet is obliged to put down any animal smaller than a badger free of charge or has Pighead's uncle been filling him full of rubbish again?

He also said that the most humane way to kill a goldfish is to freeze it in a plastic bag? Never owned a fish so no idea if this is the done thing.