Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Powerful diesel suggestions

• 03-07-2011 2:16pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey,

Looking to change cars again. At the moment I'm driving an '04 A4 1.9 TDI. Wanting to change to a diesel with a bit more power. Budget of about €8,000 - €10,000. Preferably would like to buy from a garage too...

Only thing is, it can't be a Skoda vRS (put away the pitchforks, I just don't like the look of 'em, sorry)

All I can think of is this

But I think it's a bit "old man-ish"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭Bob Cratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

another vote for the 530d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Road tax of € 24 per week ? Mental
    Is that a lot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Where did you get figures for a "road tax"?

Such a tax does not exist here. (Other than tolled roads)

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Where did you get figures for a "road tax"?

Such a tax does not exist here. (Other than tolled roads)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Road_tax

Is there an Irish road tax?

Its a motor tax.

If you are paying someone a road tax I would investigate why as currently there isnt one here.

Is there an Irish road tax?

Its a motor tax.

If you are paying someone a road tax I would investigate why as currently there isnt one here.

Read the article. Road tax is the generic term, known by various names around the world, is a tax which has to be paid on a motor vehicle before using it on a public road.

It's labelled motor tax here as a stunt so the politicians don't have to spend it on the roads, as per its original purpose.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

OSI wrote: »

Jaysus that's nice!

Smidge out of the price range though... hmmm.

Need to find out for sure what I'd get for a trade on my own car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Hey,

Looking to change cars again. At the moment I'm driving an '04 A4 1.9 TDI. Wanting to change to a diesel with a bit more power. Budget of about €8,000 - €10,000. Preferably would like to buy from a garage too...

Only thing is, it can't be a Skoda vRS (put away the pitchforks, I just don't like the look of 'em, sorry)

All I can think of is this

But I think it's a bit "old man-ish"

If you are looking at something more pow erful then turn the page on that Jag. You will be disappointed, I drove one before buying my current car and kindly handed the keys back

Read the article. Road tax is the generic term, known by various names around the world, is a tax which has to be paid on a motor vehicle before using it on a public road.

It's labelled motor tax here as a stunt so the politicians don't have to spend it on the roads, as per its original purpose.
    The two are not synonymous.

road tax =/= motor tax.

Your attempts to connect the two are risible.

The two are not synonymous.

road tax =/= motor tax.

Your attempts to connect the two are risible.

lol :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

ARGINITE wrote: »

Having driven one of these for a few days this is a super engine

lol :rolleyes:
    Oh wait... actually I must retract all I have said.

A n00b posts lol and a rolleyes, he must be right.

keep your knickers on luv :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

He dont be here anymore but what about a BMW 535D..:D:D

Seriously..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

keep your knickers on luv :rolleyes:

Both of you stop. You're dragging this OT. Don't post in this thread again.

Thanks for some of the suggestions lads. Really wanting something with a bit of poke, would break my heart and soul to downgrade engine wise :o

330 CD ??
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2244690

vectra wrote: »

Winner so far.

That. Is. Lovely!

Two BigMac meals would be €16 :D
    If you are looking at something more pow erful then turn the page on that Jag. You will be disappointed, I drove one before buying my current car and kindly handed the keys back

Indeed, 130bhp, not as fast as the Mondeo lads would like you to believe.
    Winner so far.

That. Is. Lovely!

I'd sooner have the 5, look at the state of the front seat, looks like Godzilla was sitting on it.

Don't get me wrong, the 530 is a fantastic looking car but I'm only a young lad :o

Personally, I'd think any 23 year old driving that would look a bit young for that type of car... Although, I guess you'd have to say the same for the Jag.

I'd sooner stick with the Audi than get the Jag on second thoughts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

Have you remapped your A4?

They are decently quick with a good map as are most diesel's.I drove a mapped Astra sri 150bhp recently and it had great pace, not in the league of a 330d but more than enough power for safe overtaking and throw you back in the seat torque.

I would say go for a 3.0d bmw 5 series, but for 10k they all seem to have some milage, and come resale you will get **** all for a big 3.0 diesel with over 150k and the road tax would get annoying fast if your used to paying 560 euro a year now.

For 6-8 k euro you would get a fine clean 06 or 07 no problem

Vectra Sri 150bhp

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2271150

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2296888

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

how about a seat leon fr??

Or if you dont need a big car maybe the Astra?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2265713

Most owners are getting 180-190bhp and 400nm+ torque from a good remap.

Also would a 3.0 turbo diesel bmw be much better than a 2.0 turbo petrol on fuel?

Road tax saving of 900 euro a year/ 17 euro a week over the 3.0 diesel buys a decent amount of fuel.

Megane RS 225

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=Car&carID=201126203079996&message=You%20searched%20for%3A%20Renault%20Megane%2C%20Engine%20Min%3A%202L.%20Your%20search%20returned%20one%20vehicle%2C%20which%20is%20shown%20below.&CFID=71152889&CFTOKEN=99336488

Big diesel would struggle to keep up with that:)

No leather, a pity on such a high end motor.

Bob, I think you missed this post :)
    EPM wrote: »

Ok, so after broadening my search a little bit (stepping outside of diesel only) I've come across these 2.

Mazda 3

Focus ST

....I just can't seem to find a quick diesel, asides the 330.

Going to view both tomorrow and see if I can be persuaded to go back to petrol

Ok, so after broadening my search a little bit (stepping outside of diesel only) I've come across these 2.

Mazda 3

Focus ST

Focus looks like a cracker

Mazda 3

Focus ST

I could imagine both of those robbing you on petrol and insurance.
    Might be wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Mazda 3

Focus ST

Focus would be my choice and its a mad looking thing. If I were contemplating the Mazda I would spend a few more bob and get the MPS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

RoverJames wrote: »
    Bob, I think you missed this post :)

Thanks RJ, but please report the post rather than posting on thread.
    EPM wrote: »

Bob Cratched banned for 3 days for ignoring mod instruction.

I could imagine both of those robbing you on petrol and insurance.
    Might be wrong

Yea like my insurance is only €850 at the moment but I'm happy to throw another ~€400 on top for either. Tax is also going to be a wee pain and the petrol, well, Parkers is claiming the Focus will do 30MPG and the Mazda will do 29MPG

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Focus would be my choice and its a mad looking thing. If I were contemplating the Mazda I would spend a few more bob and get the MPS.

Echoing the words of a lad in the office :p

Is 10k your out and out max?

Yea 10k is really stretching the furthest of the budget. I'm hoping to be able to get rid of my car for (at the least) €6,000 and throwing €4,00 on top is definitely the out an out max I could go.

Should I even ask what you've got in mind? I'm easily persuaded :o

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1921817

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,255 ✭✭✭✭beertons

^ very nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Tito Ortiz

Mazda 3

Focus ST

I was walking the dog earlier and popped over to have a look at the ST...It is unreal,if i was in the position to buy it I would snap it up.:D

I have a 07 Mazda 3 MPS OP.

Got it for 11k last year ( some bargins out there on pertols:d )

Insurance is grand only a bit more expensive than my old 1.9 tdi Fabia, they are not blacklisted by insurance companies like Honda Type R's, M3's and the like so insurance is reasonable if you around.

Im 24 5 years no claims and pay 1k full comp, was 700 full comp on the Fabia, so not bad.

I dont do big milage, about 20 miles a day which includes going to work ,shops and soccer training etc, and a drive somewhere at the weekend, say max 80 miles.Thats about 10k miles a year.

My 1.9 130bhp diesel Fabia which would give similar mpg to your diesel A4 you have there and it used to cost me about 25-30e a week doing that journey.Diesel was about 1.30 a litre that time I think.

Overall I was getting about 40-45mpg mpg on average, its possible to get near 50mpg if your very careful with the accelerator, but I hate driving like that, so boring, father drives like that and I hate being the passenger

I do the exact same journey in my Mazda 3 Mps and it costs me about 50e to do the same journey.There is a difference alright, but not that huge to be honest.

Mazda gets around 30mpg with that mixed driving and the Fabia diesel got 40-45mpg.

Like the Fabia, I put aside a bit of cash to do a few mods as I am into that

Fabia had remap to 170bhp, PD 160 air intake, Rear Anti-Rollbar, uprated 312mm brakes from Octavia Vrs, cost me just over 1k for that stuff ( fitted them myself with brother who is handy) .Money well spent imo as it transformed the car into something decent.

Mazda got the same treatment and has remap to 300bhp, cold air intake system, strut bar in the engine bay.

It is pretty quick, 3rd gear on its blistering when 450nm+ torque is released:D

I actually wanted a BMW 330d as well, but was just too expensive, it was fast in straight line, really pushed you back in the seat.

As I wasn't prepared to pay crazy money for a car I got the Mazda for just under 11k last year for a 07, in great nick, warranty, low milage, full service history, one owner from new etc.

It costs me about 20e a week more on fuel, but its faster, much cheaper to buy then the similar power diesel alternatives.

I would suggest you do the same Cereal

Focus is a great alternative as well drove it and I did like it, but it is noticeably slower with 225bhp and 320nm, compared to the Mazda's 260bhp and 380nm.

Plus its alot more to tax at 1210 euro, as it's engine is taxed as 2.6, being 2522cc

Focus ST is the best out of the last generation of hot hatches though,better than my MPS as a complete package, good power, lovely engine sound, good torque, class handling.

Just a shame about the road tax, though the engine is suppose to be very very reliable like the Mazda.

Little power comparison of Focus ST, Mazda 3 MPS, BMW 330D E46

http://www.zeperfs.com/en/match1328-1388-1150.htm

As you can see the diesel doesn't have a chance.

80-180kmh

Focus ST 14.5 secs
    Mazda 3 MPS 12.1 secs
    BMW 330D (E46) 19.4 secs

That's a huge difference.

You would need the modern twin turbo BMW 335d to be taking on the Mazda.

http://www.zeperfs.com/en/match1328-1388-1543.htm

Even that one cant match it's power to weight ratio

Really high performance diesel's are not there yet imo, mid range one's like 180bhp 2.0 diesel bmw 320d are excellent for a blend of performance and economy, but high end petrol's still have it when you want big power.

If you need any more info on the Mazda 3 MPS pm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

a 6 year old A4 diesel for €10.5k +€3k VRT and then it might fail the NCT? Silly price compared with that €10.9k same year 530d

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

I hate you :(

LOL :D

Damn... I'm being tempted by the Mazda now. It's just the Ford looks so.... So.... Good!!

Squall19 wrote: »

Insurance is grand only a bit more expensive than my old 1.9 tdi Fabia, they are not blacklisted by insurance companies like Honda Type R's, M3's and the like so insurance is reasonable if you around.

Im 24 5 years no claims and pay 1k full comp, ...........................
    Fabia had remap to 170bhp, PD 160 air intake, Rear Anti-Rollbar, uprated 312mm brakes from Octavia Vrs, cost me just over 1k for that stuff ( fitted them myself with brother who is handy) .....................

Mazda got the same treatment and has remap to 300bhp, cold air intake system, strut bar in the engine bay.

It is pretty quick, 3rd gear on its blistering when 450nm+ torque is released:D

A grand is very very reasonable to insure the MPS in fairness, especially for a 24 year old with those mods declared.

It really isn't a bad asking price at all. I must have a ring around tomorrow to find out what the damage is. Wish I didn't have any points :(

RoverJames wrote: »
    A grand is very very reasonable to insure the MPS in fairness, especially for a 24 year old with those mods declared.

It's not bad.

I'm with aviva brokers through quoteline.ie

They seem to be very cheap.

It was 700 for my diesel fabia so not a huge difference.

Ehh, it's about €4K out of budget..

Haggle..:rolleyes: