Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marty Morrissey Should be SACKED

• 03-07-2011 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭

He must be the worst sports commentator in the world. He is commentating on both RTE games this weekend. Please get rid of him RTE. He is ruining the championship coverage.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

A tad harsh no ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

How exactly is he any worse than any of the rest of the RTE commentators?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭stevemac

no he's dead on, he should be fired. Ger Canning too. There brutal. Marty should say less and seems to want to analyse the game as well as commentate on it. Let the second lad analyse it and stick to the commentary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Agree he's terrible along with Ger Canning, RTE should be using George Hamilton and Darragh Maloney for the GAA aswel as soccer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Did he kill your first born or something? I think he's one of the better commentators. Better than Ger Canning in my view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Anybody seriously suggesting Darragh Maloney is a better commentator than anybody really needs to listen to what he says and the amount of times he tries to be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

The star, the Star, the STAR!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I thought Marty was poor until I watched a GAA game on TV3!!! All is forgiven Marty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

baztard wrote: »
    The star, the Star, the STAR!!!!!

I dont recall such an name being applied to Donaghy in the past ?

When did he acquire that name ?

Het-Field wrote: »
    I dont recall such an name being applied to Donaghy in the past ?

When did he acquire that name ?
    That's his actual nickname. Marty saw it on the birth cert.

I thought Mary was poor until I watched a GAA game on TV3!!! All is forgiven Marty.
    Mary Morrissey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

I love you marty, your my hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

YIKES!
    1266941130.jpg
    STAR, STAR, STAR...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭richiebceltic

The way he keeps calling donaghy "Star" is excruciating.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

The way he keeps calling Donaghy, THE STAR and STAR, is hugely cringeworthy and embarrassing.

It ruins the coverage. And why the feck is he the only one that calls him that?

Nobody else does, so why does he see the need. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭B1977

DB10 wrote: »
    The way he keeps calling Donaghy, THE STAR and STAR, is hugely cringeworthy and embarrassing.

It ruins the coverage. And why the feck is he the only one that calls him that?

Nobody else does, so why does he see the need. :rolleyes:

I dont watch much Kerry games but thats a new one to me, call him that name once, but it seems a bit annoying hearing it all the time during the first half:mad:

A great Marty Morrisey story from many a year ago. Galway were playing Tipp in a League match and Marty was aloft on some scaffolding commentating for highlights I think. These young lads pass by and shout "Helllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllloooooooooooooo Marty!!!" impersonating his accent. People laugh and gage aul Marty's reaction. Then Marty sticks his head out a window to see who it was looking quite dissatisfied. I'd say 2 thousand people shat themselves laughing at him.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

B1977 wrote: »
    I dont watch much Kerry games but thats a new one to me, call him that name once, but it seems a bit annoying hearing it all the time during the first half:mad:
    Nah I remember him doing it all last year and even before that.

I dont watch much Kerry games either, this is another reason why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 daracurtin

Yere obviously not GAA men and never played the game so stop reading this and go back and play yere Duke Nukem games online! Sad people!

daracurtin wrote: »
    Yere obviously not GAA men and never played the game so stop reading this and go back and play yere Duke Nukem games online! Sad people!
    Classic first post

it says a lot for having a good commentator-
    one that just irks you through the whole game is a major put off,
    who is the best GAA Commentator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Mary Morrissey?

sorry, typo corrected :D

Classic first post
    i agree:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Marty, how can you post on boards and commentate at the same time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Kojak wrote: »
    Marty, how can you post on boards and commentate at the same time?
    I was going to saw that it's Marty's mother (he has a face only a mother could love) but I believe Marty hatched fully grown from an egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭LowOdour

the 'Star' stuff is annoying and so is alot of stuff he says. Same as ryle nugent in the rugby, jimmy magee in boxing, g. Hamilton in soccer Then there is TV3, BBC,ITV and SKY commentators who have annoying habits. Thinks its part and parcel of being a sports commentator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

You're obviously well connected to Marty.

Next time you see him tell him I said that he's brilliant.
    Will you also ask him is there any truth in the rumour that Sky offered him 3million to commentate on the Ryder cup? Tell him we all want him to stay :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭jclally

He looks like the yellow fcuker from Sin City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭stevemac

Is there any good commentators in the GAA these days?

I like the Newstalk coverage, and the there style of doing sports. Whether its rugby or GAA.

My main gripe with them (the rte guys) is that they often miss what we see, and then they bluff what happens. I'd prefer them to say they missed what it was then assume that we're stupid and we'll believe whatever they say. Ger Canning is brutal for that.

Marty talks and talks and talks and while that is his job, he's really bad at it. Like I said before he should reduce his analysis and stop trying to be an expert and a commentator.

He was on about Joe Gantley yesterday who teaches in Clare and said "He'll quieten the slagging amongst the school children Monday" before realising that schools are on holidays for the summer :D:D

Idiots, Im surrounded by idiots! As i said go and play golf and have brunch with BOD and ROG. Marty proper patriot who was reared on seeweed and jellyfish in Quilty Co. Clare. Great man in the bog too. GAA Abu!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Idiots, Im surrounded by idiots! As i said go and play golf and have brunch with BOD and ROG. Marty proper patriot who was reared on seeweed and jellyfish in Quilty Co. Clare. Great man in the bog too. GAA Abu!

Classic second post. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭alphasully

Marty has a face made for Radio :D

Classic 2,675th post.! Lapin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

Jesus lads he's not that bad...I'm sincerely dreading yer man on TV3 doing the KK v Dublin game this afternoon!

On the Donaghy issue, star is his nickname...I dont hear people giving out when other commentators refer to Brick Walsh etc

Show some love to Marty!!

Daddy dick I agree with you totally, These Marty Bashers are D4 and never did a day in the Bog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Classic 2,675th post.! Lapin!

facepalm_medium.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭clonadlad

Daddy dick I agree with you totally, These Marty Bashers are D4 and never did a day in the Bog!
    You should be be banned from the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

Jesus I wouldn't be a big fan if Martys commentary, but the guy in TV3 at the moment is brutal. Sounds like there is something wrong with him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Your man on TV3 is waaay worse in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Didnt think he was that bad until hearing him say STAR,STAR, STAR in the kerry game. That was painfull to listen to as is this TV3 commentator who is absolutely pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Fcuking hate Marty.. Sounds like he's reading a novel or something, much prefer Ger Canning, he's the sound of summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

They wouldnt know a bog if it hit them in the face!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 marcusfeloni

Easy on the harie dye Marty and the tooth cleaner! The gleam form the tv is blinding me! Its hard enough having to turn off the commentary when ur on duty but now i cant even look at the telly!
    A bit of rain and the dye will ruin ur shirt!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I like Marty. I think he is better than Darragh Maloney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭alphasully

At least Marty isn't as biased as your lad on TV3 at the moment

Marty "One catch, One shot, One goal" Morrissey. Brutal commentator. TV3 guy is pathetic too in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

god they are both brutal , why dont they recruit some of the radio commentators from around the country and work them in, so much more soul in what they say and easier to listen too because in radio you would need it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

TBH, I'd rather hear Marty talk about Star than listen to that gobsh*te on TV3 with his put-on "commentators voice". What a gimp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Marty is a disaster, "Star Star Star" me arse.....the Star should have been sent off