If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Black cat fireworks?! :o

• 30-06-2011 09:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭

I have now been airsofting 3 years and never in my time seen a black cat firework used inside a thunder b shell.

I recently went to a site that I had never played at before and thought it might be good to try somewhere new.

Whilst gaming here there was a distinct smell of black powder after every explosion and thought to myself that can't be right. It slipped my mind until a grenade was thrown at me, with a clearly lit fuse and went off.

I said it to the marshal and he said "Ah sure some of the lads are using black cat's in thunder B shell's, it's grand with the shell on it"

I thought to myself how can it "be grand" to use illegal fireworks just because you have a shell around it.

None of the marshals seemed to be bothered by this, even though any other site I game at, including the home ground at Fingal have a strict policy of NO pyrotechnics in any shape or form.

My question to you all is, what can and should done about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭stephenw

I'm new to this sport,but I have never heard of such dangerous practice.The problem with this is that it may attract bad attention.All i can say is you should report the site to the guardai.fireworks are dangerous enough on there own,without being confined into a plastic shell filled with pellets.
    stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

I'll be honest UnkieKev - I seriously want to believe you're trolling :( You'd do best to report the site - that's not on at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭UnkieKev

Leftyflip wrote: »
    I'll be honest UnkieKev - I seriously want to believe you're trolling :( You'd do best to report the site - that's not on at all...

My thoughts exactly Lefty, will ring the closest station to the site ASAP.

And on a side note, nice one for the job you did on the thunder B last wweek, workin a treat ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Leftyflip wrote: »
    If only he was- He told me about it when he came back and I was literally gobsmacked.

If that's being allowed to go on, One can only wonder what else is going on down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭TNTQ

UnkieKev wrote: »
    I have now been airsofting 3 years and never in my time seen a black cat firework used inside a thunder b shell.

I recently went to a site that I had never played at before and thought it might be good to try somewhere new.

Whilst gaming here there was a distinct smell of black powder after every explosion and thought to myself that can't be right. It slipped my mind until a grenade was thrown at me, with a clearly lit fuse and went off.

I said it to the marshal and he said "Ah sure some of the lads are using black cat's in thunder B shell's, it's grand with the shell on it"

I thought to myself how can it "be grand" to use illegal fireworks just because you have a shell around it.

None of the marshals seemed to be bothered by this, even though any other site I game at, including the home ground at Fingal have a strict policy of NO pyrotechnics in any shape or form.

My question to you all is, what can and should done about this?

There's a lot of half-arsed 'mushrooms' of sites after popping up recently, badly run and bad for the sport. Call the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Placing a pyrotechnic in a thunder b does nothing to change it legally, in fact you could make an argument as your actually making it more dangerous

Strange practice, possibly using the shells to hide the phyros?

Rediculay bad practice for any site and increases the risk to airsoft as a whole, we are not a politician friendly hobby as it is, no need to throw petrol on the fire.

Nice to see more and more players seeing this as a bad thing ( i know it is easy to turn a blind eye as people see it as fun but we have to follow the law or we risk it all ) and putting pressure on sites and asking questions, players do have power!!

Shall report this issue first thing tomorrow!
    Last thing I want is the sport banned in Ireland because of some idiots trying to save money.

Thanks for the input lads!

I will leave this site unnamed to avoid any issues.
    but you know who you are! *tuts*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Knight990

Shall report this issue first thing tomorrow!
    Last thing I want is the sport banned in Ireland because of some idiots trying to save money.

Thanks for the input lads!

None of us want it banned of course, but when something as serious as this is on the line, there can't be any chances taken - who knows what kind of damage this gear could cause to someone if it went off at the wrong time, etc.

Safety first, airsoft second.

Knight990 wrote: »
    None of us want it banned of course, but when something as serious as this is on the line, there can't be any chances taken - who knows what kind of damage this gear could cause to someone if it went off at the wrong time, etc.

Safety first, airsoft second.

Or imagine a young airsofter unknowingly picking up one of these jerry-rigged "grenades". Shocking to think of what the outcome would be like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

The "marshals" think it's fine to basically introduce a fragmentation element to their already misused and illegal fireworks? Oh good. Well if they say "sure it's grand", then where's the harm.

Morons. Such acts are the prelude to a future example of Darwinian theory in all it's glory.

This stuff really pisses me off. It's bad enough that they're even allowing illegal fireworks within the site boundaries for any reason, but using them in game? Throwing them at each other?? In destructible and fragmenting cases???
    These people are beyond reproach, and I do so dearly hope the book is not only thrown at them, but that they're beaten into submission with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Tbh i think that these sites should be named, it serves them right for allowing these idiots onto there site! And it can warn people not to go there, knowing theres people there that are doing it.

Sometimes if a tunder b comes into a room or whatever, some people might try kick it or throw it back out, and what happens when someone picks one up with a black cat inside? It would be all over the papers that someones hand severely damaged and it would more than likely ruin the sport!

NakedDex wrote: »
    The "marshals" think it's fine to basically introduce a fragmentation element to their already misused and illegal fireworks? Oh good. Well if they say "sure it's grand", then where's the harm.

Morons. Such acts are the prelude to a future example of Darwinian theory in all it's glory.

This stuff really pisses me off. It's bad enough that they're even allowing illegal fireworks within the site boundaries for any reason, but using them in game? Throwing them at each other?? In destructible and fragmenting cases???
    These people are beyond reproach, and I do so dearly hope the book is not only thrown at them, but that they're beaten into submission with it.

I could not have put it better myself sir!

Everyone take example to Dex!

I'll be sure to get the book thrown at them in all is justified glory!
    This is hazardous on SO many level's it not even funny, what irked me the most was the 'marshal' (who I believed RUNS the site) shrugged it off saying "it's grand".

http://images4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20091218002804/uncyclopedia/images/f/f4/Picard-facepalm.jpg

I believe my picture befits my actions after hearing "It's grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭ronan keane

Can someone pm me the site name? I want to stay well away from it!

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    Tbh i think that these sites should be named, it serves them right for allowing these idiots onto there site! And it can warn people not to go there, knowing theres people there that are doing it.

Sometimes if a tunder b comes into a room or whatever, some people might try kick it or throw it back out, and what happens when someone picks one up with a black cat inside? It would be all over the papers that someones hand severely damaged and it would more than likely ruin the sport!

I believe you are right, I am naming the site as to warn any fellow airsofters who play/may play at this site in future, as so they do not obtain any injuries from this,

The site in question is "hollow creek outdoor pursuit center" Bray. (for poor Ronans eyes)

I will handle this issue with the Guardai, so there is no need for any one feeling keyboard warriorish to take this into their own hands!

Can someone pm me the site name? I want to stay well away from it!

The site name has been posted, my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭ronan keane

The site name has been posted, my friend.

Then I am Blind :PFound it :P

top post of page two, i shall edit it for your eyes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Dragonmanirl

They said "once it's in a thunder b shell and doesn't land in gorse bushes its fine" but im sure i saw one land near me and it was a blackcat with bb's taped to it. not very safe in my opinion. could seriously hurt someone, and they are illegal after all.

Dragonmanirl, among another in our party at the time are also witness to this belligerent activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Harveey

I've seen some pretty stupid things in airsoft but this is beyond outrageous. Like honestly who could honestly think that a firework inside a thunder B is safe and that they would get away with it? The marshal's allowing that to happen aswell! If I ever came across someone doing that while I'm marshalling they would be immediately removed off site and not allowed back. With all these new site's popping up and this happening all it takes is one accident and the sport we all love could be seriously harmed. Kev your best off reporting them to the local Gardai in the area and seeing what they will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

im sure i saw one land near me and it was a blackcat with bb's taped to it.

I'm sorry, what? Are you serious? My mind is blown. Get these people reported immediately. Someone will get seriously injured with this reckless abomdonment of all safety, common sense and laws. It's not a case of if, it's when.

NakedDex wrote: »
    I'm sorry, what? Are you serious? My mind is blown. Get these people reported immediately. Someone will get seriously injured with this reckless abomdonment of all safety, common sense and laws. It's not a case of if, it's when.

Don't you worry, I will be reporting this first thing tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭FingalAirsoft

Or imagine a young airsofter unknowingly picking up one of these jerry-rigged "grenades". Shocking to think of what the outcome would be like.

I'd say he'd most likely lose a finger or two:eek::eek: that's just crazy carry on to allow:confused::confused::mad::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 RABBIT.

"shocking" shame cause its not a bad site either.:mad:

a lesson will be learned from this, as they are fairly new to airsoft.

RABBIT. wrote: »

The game's were well done for a new site and they had a half way decent notion of how to run an airsoft site, but Being "new" is no excuse for this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Harveey

RABBIT. wrote: »

As Kev said new or not the law is there for a reason and we cant allow this to continue for the simple fact that it could ruin airsoft for us completely.

Quite frankly i'm shocked and appalled to say the very least. I didn't really think much of it at the time with the adrenaline of the game, but in hinde sight it's horrific to think "what would have happenned if i picked it up?"

Furthermore what if some youngin' picked it up unaware and lost fingers or even a whole hand? It's sickening, this will not be let go, for health reason and to keep this sport alive.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/the_law_on_fireworks.html

Thought this would be relevant for any of those wondering the law's on firework's.

Thought I'd point out this part.
    What does firework mean under the law?

The law gives a very technical definition of a firework. A firework includes all those devices which burn and explode to give a loud noise and a visual effect – basically a typical, traditional firework. Bangers are now defined as fireworks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Dragonmanirl

From what i've read out of most site's websites the common rule near the top is "NO PYRO-TECHNICS OF ANY KIND" and this is exactly why, Thunder B's are designed for airsoft using harmless Co2 and a shell that bursts, the worst that can be done is a bit of a ringing in your ear for about 5 minutes but those black cats actually explode and if one hit you as it went off you'd know all about it! Its mad that people can think they can get away with it, and As Harvey said he'd kick them off the site, and thats something i'd agree with :D [/Rant]