Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford garda convicted of insurance fraud

• 30-06-2011 7:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭

John Joe Synnott was convicted of three counts of making fraudulent claims in 2007 about a road crash.
    Two of them, totalling more than €23,000, were paid out by AXA Insurance.
    Garda Synnott was the investigating officer.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0630/synnottjj.html

:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

He was the investigating officer in his own insurance claim?

How was that not spotted by the insurance company?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

It's only fraud if you get caught:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭battries not included

http://www.wexfordecho.ie/news/mhgbqlkfsn/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

I would have thought that fraud was serious (€ 23k) but convicted and sentenced to 3 years (with 2 suspended) seems light?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

So if you commit fraud as a garda you get sent to prison,but if in a seperate case as off duty garda on a night out you smash a mans face up you don't face prison :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

So if you commit fraud as a garda you get sent to prison,but if as off duty garda on a night out you smash a mans face up you don't face prison :confused:

Do you understand what the word "convicted" means?

It's sort of a basic premise of our justice system.

Paulzx wrote: »
    Do you understand what the word "convicted" means?

It's sort of a basic premise of our justice system.

Yes i do,but in the case i refer to,the judge did not send him to prison because he was a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

Not much of a Guard if he got caught. you would think he would have known how to get away with it. he must have missed the Insurance Fraud Class when he was in Templmore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Yes i do,but in the case i refer to,the judge did not send him to the slammer because he was a guard.

He was sent to the slammer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I would have thought that fraud was serious (€ 23k) but convicted and sentenced to 3 years (with 2 suspended) seems light?

A 1 year custodial sentence is pretty harsh for a first offence of this nature.
    So if you commit fraud as a garda you get sent to prison,but if as off duty garda on a night out you smash a mans face up you don't face prison :confused:

This case involves the Garda abusing his powers in the course of his duty for personal gain. In the assault case the guy being a Garda had no relation to the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

Yes i do,but in the case i refer to,the judge did not send him to prison because he was a guard.

In fairness he did one might in the slammer and there were lots of scary criminal types in there...and you know what those guys do to Guards in prison....

Correct,usually protecive custody,but the judge in this scenario didn't let guard in this case escape prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Another fine upstanding officer. I hope his mates in the force reported him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

So if you commit fraud as a garda you get sent to prison,but if in a seperate case as off duty garda, shane waldron, on a night out smash a womans face up you don't face prison :confused:

Fixed your post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 shanekelly

The cops are crooks them selfs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

So if you commit fraud as a garda you get sent to prison,but if in a seperate case as off duty garda on a night out you smash a mans face up you don't face prison :confused:
    Spot on geese. Only in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

In the case of the Garda committing fraud. This is proved the State/AXA had proven its case beyond a reasonable doubt. Also this doesn't help matters either;

''He has also conceded he never attended the scene of a car crash he later filed a report about.''

In the case of the Garda assaulting people. The State had not proven its case beyond a reasonable doubt.

''Dismissing the charges this morning, Judge Mary Fahy said the evidence adduced during the two-day hearing was all very confusing and that the State had not proven its case beyond a reasonable doubt.''

I feel a sense of people getting the giant tar brush out in this thread so I will say this. Garda are human, in that Garda can be stupid and make bad judgement calls just like humans. In that humans can also be very honest and hard working.

So in that not all Garda are the same. Now think about this, would you like to be a member of the public in front of a judge or a member of the Garda who is in front of a judge? I rather be public, on a side note out of the 12,000 member they have in the Garda, members becoming before the courts is very infrequent, so in my option they are not that bad of an organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Just another bent copper whats the all the fuss about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Naikon wrote: »
    It's only fraud if you get caught:p

half the country would be in jail if the truth was known, but it's good to see that not everyone can get away with it. No sympathy here fed up paying for this lark!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Wow, he was incredibly stupid, good thing he is out of a uniform, it's fellas like him who give it a bad name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Wow, he was incredibly stupid, good thing he is out of a uniform, it's fellas like him who give it a bad name

It seems that there are plenty of them out there. You have the Cork assault Garda, another in Galway, that gang in Dublin, Jesus it's a seriously dysfunctional force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Dysfunctional is the word.

It's an extremely difficult to task to alter an organisations culture and the Gardai have historically been granted an unhealthy degree of autonomy which has had a malign influence on the force.

It seems that there are plenty of them out there. You have the Cork assault Garda, another in Galway, that gang in Dublin, Jesus it's a seriously dysfunctional force.

Yes. 8 out of 14000. It's an epidemic.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »

8 serious cases, you're not even talking about the usual petty ****e that slips under the radar, the everyday petty corruption. Anyways 8 out of 14,000 is wholly unacceptable. disgraceful in fact.

a complete absence of discipline. how many other guards are turning a blind dye to this carry on?

8 convicted Hundreds guilty by association and inaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

8 that we know about

8 serious cases, you're not even talking about the usual petty ****e that slips under the radar, the everyday petty corruption. Anyways 8 out of 14,000 is wholly unacceptable. disgraceful in fact.

a complete absence of discipline. how many other guards are turning a blind dye to this carry on?

8 convicted Hundreds guilty by association and inaction.

Completely fair. :rolleyes:

How is it unfair!!!!???? They're guards, they know the craic that's going on and are not stepping in to stop it. Why didn't one of those guards man up and stop the abuse of a man in his own house without a warrant? I don't care if yer man was a scummer or not, he'll NEVER be convicted of anything because of those dumbasses actions!

How goddamn thick are the guards?

there are hundreds of guards who are turning a blind eye to the actions of their dodgy colleagues and are wilfully ignoring those problems.

Guilty by association, how ever many times you roll your eyes.

If you are a guard it's high time you woke up to the reality. It's is an organisation on the brink of a major crisis. The public trust is all but eroded in you. All you are seen as are a bunch of queue skippers in Coppers because of your badges. You hassle and harangue the nice mousey middle-class pisshead students but if a real hard chaw comes on the scene you guys are no where to be found.

The Irish Police force is one big walking ego trip that needs taking down a peg or two fairly fast for it's own good. The celtic tiger years saw a lot of real mongs allowed into the force, much to it's detriment. It's these tards that are indiscriminately battering suspects and videoing themselves riding pony and traps, slagging off the public on the desk phone (video evidence exists of both).

If you are a guard, you must be aware of these incidents and dozens others like them. You actually have a bloody cheek to try and defend these idiotic cock-ups!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

How is it unfair!!!!???? They're guards, they know the craic that's going on and are not stepping in to stop it. Why didn't one of those guards man up and stop the abuse of a man in his own house without a warrant? I don't care if yer man was a scummer or not, he'll NEVER be convicted of anything because of those dumbasses actions!

How goddamn thick are the guards?

there are hundreds of guards who are turning a blind eye to the actions of their dodgy colleagues and are wilfully ignoring those problems.

Guilty by association, how ever many times you roll your eyes.

If you are a guard it's high time you woke up to the reality. It's is an organisation on the brink of a major crisis. The public trust is all but eroded in you. All you are seen as are a bunch of queue skippers in Coppers because of your badges. You hassle and harangue the nice mousey middle-class pisshead students but if a real hard chaw comes on the scene you guys are no where to be found.

The Irish Police force is one big walking ego trip that needs taking down a peg or two fairly fast for it's own good. The celtic tiger years saw a lot of real mongs allowed into the force, ...........!

Rather a real mong that somebody with fake mong certification.

And what have you against the mongonese anyway?

Nodin wrote: »
    Rather a real mong that somebody with fake mong certification.

And what have you against the mongonese anyway?

It's undocumented mongs I've the real problem with...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭laughter189

It was'nt his own insurance claim - the ''crash '' happened between two other people , he just filled in the claim forms . afaik

http://www.wexfordecho.ie/news/mhgbqlkfsn/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

A 1 year custodial sentence is pretty harsh for a first offence of this nature.

Why so?

8 that we know about

All gardai should be sacked immediately as a result of this, I'm sure criminals would agree to a period of grace until a new force can be recuited. we should start fresh recuiting from the public and all will be perfect because the public like posters here are perfect. Then the next time one of the new force gets into trouble we'll sack everyone and do it all over again!

Bosco boy wrote: »
    All gardai should be sacked immediately as a result of this, I'm sure criminals would agree to a period of grace until a new force can be recuited. we should start fresh recuiting from the public and all will be perfect because the public like posters here are perfect. Then the next time one of the new force gets into trouble we'll sack everyone and do it all over again!

I believe you're a guard. Good to see you are showing the nominal IQ level of the force in one quick post.

just the IQ level of some of joe public and yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Why so?

Yes, I was surprised at the sentence, People are getting less for crimes like burglary, assault and theft, The mans crimes were victimless so I think he really got the sentence for being thick enough to get caught.

And the obligitary disdain for the public. The ordinaty decent law abiding citizens are tiring of the guards power tripping. You lot think you're untouchable and above all laws.

You show your true attitudes here in every post. Shameful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭SLOOPY

8 that we know about

4 more of them here in Waterford.

LINK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

That garda is definately a dodgy character. Apparently he was under investigation since the 1990's. Also, in an article I read yesterday (can't find it) the garda equivalent to internal affairs squad are still investigating some of his former colleagues.

Overall, I think that is great news. Lets face it, going back a few years ago Garda were rarely brought up over wrong doing. These cases are a sign that the Gardaí are changing, taking themselves seriously and listening to public concerns.

Yet some critcise them no matter what.

And the obligitary disdain for the public. The ordinaty decent law abiding citizens are tiring of the guards power tripping. You lot think you're untouchable and above all laws.

You show your true attitudes here in every post. Shameful stuff.

I did say some of Joe public, and yes there are some dickheads out there, did some guard take a few cans of you in the park lately?

SLOOPY wrote: »
    8 that we know about

4 more of them here in Waterford.

LINK

everyone is innocent until proven guilty unless of course you happen to be a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Shane Ward was off duty the night he committed the assault. His profession is irrelevent to the crime.

In this case, the punishment seems fair to me. I fail to understand how the inusrance company didn't cotton on quicker.

One thing though; Can we please please not turn this into yet another Garda-bashing thread? It's getting old now.

Lets not tarnish all of them based on this one incident.

I did say some of Joe public, and yes there are some dickheads out there, did some guard take a few cans of you in the park lately?

No. Never in trouble in my life. But I assume that is your method of getting provisions for your christmas party!

Some day I hope you'll go and hassle real criminals. There's no allowances for fighting crime just so you know.

No. Never in trouble in my life. But I assume that is your method of getting provisions for your christmas party!

Some day I hope you'll go and hassle real criminals. There's no allowances for fighting crime just so you know.

you were just born with a chip on your shoulder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Shane Ward was off duty the night he committed the assault. His profession is irrelevent to the crime.

In this case, the punishment seems fair to me. I fail to understand how the inusrance company didn't cotton on quicker.

I also read that he tricked some of his colleagues into filling out and signing forms for him. Maybe that's how he tricked the insurance company???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Gardai are ordinary people just like me and you, i don't se why it's a surprise that some gardai might be dodge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭bossdrum

Unfortunately there are many forms of wrong doing in the guards at the moment.

I know guards that get free meals from restaurants, bottles of booze delivered to the station at christmas from shops etc.

The sad thing is they don't see anything wrong with this.

Also a few years ago some local cops were caught putting coal into the boot of the cop car from a co-operative. They were just quietly moved to another area.

I think anyone that wants to be a guard is the wrong person for the job. People should be selected like jury service for assessment. It should not be a job for life.
    If suitable then maybe a 5 year contract and after that, the real quality ones can go on to become detectives etc.

This would also eliminate the ones that clearly become too unfit after a few years in the job.

bossdrum wrote: »
    Unfortunately there are many forms of wrong doing in the guards at the moment.

I know guards that get free meals from restaurants, bottles of booze delivered to the station at christmas from shops etc.

The sad thing is they don't see anything wrong with this.

Also a few years ago some local cops were caught putting coal into the boot of the cop car from a co-operative. They were just quietly moved to another area.

I think anyone that wants to be a guard is the wrong person for the job. People should be selected like jury service for assessment. It should not be a job for life.
    If suitable then maybe a 5 year contract and after that, the real quality ones can go on to become detectives etc.

This would also eliminate the ones that clearly become too unfit after a few years in the job.

This is quite possibly the most ridiculous post I've read in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Garda Sinnott got 3 years with 2 suspended !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

What do those guys do??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

This is quite possibly the most ridiculous post I've read in a long time.

Damn you got there before me!!!:D