Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Message to Darren Clarke

• 30-06-2011 5:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭

ffs i was in a good mood this avo watching the golf untill you came on the screen with your moody crappy i dont give a toss the world's against me attitude.
    For god sake,if you dont want to play golf don't,we don't care
    (also message to Mannesaro,stop looking at the camera during interviews please....Butch Harmon style)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

He is so frustrating to watch.

He can rush over the shortest of putts and misses it by a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

heavyballs wrote: »
    For god sake,if you dont want to play golf don't,we don't care

+1, pure sour puss, as the old adage goes, he's got a face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle. He'll be in the hunt for Ryder Cup captaincy soon too, fingers crossed he doesn't get his cigar smoking misery guts mug into that particular frame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Young_gunner

i'll prob be shot for saying this but i've always found Clarke very arrogant...

i seen him once at a charity match and he mis-read a putt and castigated his caddy for the mis-read infront of everybody.

tbh, if he was in contention for a big event, i'd be hoping he blew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭patravers

I'M sorry... but am i missing something?? But as far as im aware Darren Clarke is a professional golfer??? Not a monkey on a lead for your personal entertainment. If you dont want to watch him switch channels.

A sunny disposition is not a pre-requisite for the european tour

who says we don't want to watch him? i'm basically saying i think he's incredibly arrogant.

A monkey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I think a good comparison is with Graeme McDowell. He can come across at times as a bit cocky too, but he's a major winner and ryder cup hero etc and you can tolerate that. He also seems like a genuine and humble bloke who you could have a drink with.

Clarke, however has won nothing major of note, is cocky almost all the time in a "Don't you know who I am" manner, and seems from what i've seen to be a bit of a see you next tuesday with no redeeming features. Harsh?

Arseholes exist in every line of work and pro golf is no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

In all fairness I doubt any of you know what Clarke is like when he is not playing the sport and away from the game. Are you telling me you can complete a round without getting angry or frustrated at any point? Or without having a face like thunder when you miss a 4 footer? Give me a break.

As far as I know he is respected by most if not of all of the guys on tour so for that reason I hope he gets the Ryder Cup gig.

Let's just say I hope McGinley get's it before Clarke.

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Let's just say I hope McGinley get's it before Clarke.

Let me just say I'm glad you're not on the Ryder Cup captain picking committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

i'll prob be shot for saying this but i've always found Clarke very arrogant...

i seen him once at a charity match and he mis-read a putt and castigated his caddy for the mis-read infront of everybody.

tbh, if he was in contention for a big event, i'd be hoping he blew it.

tbh I think this is more about his quick temper rather than arrogance

his tendency to dwell on errors and get down on himself certainly contributes to his sulky reputation...but.....

I think he can funny and cheerful at times just as quickly

the lawman wrote: »
    Let me just say I'm glad you're not on the Ryder Cup captain picking committee.

Why?
    I would be less inclined to root for a european team helmed by Clarke.
    I couldn't have cared less if europe lost with Montgomerie.
    I hope they win next year with Olazabal.

Why?

Because you would probably pick a captain basing it on your own personal preferences and on who is more jolly. I think the Ryder Cup captain needs a little more in his locker than a smile.

Can I also ask 'why?' to your three statements?

Because you would probably pick a captain basing it on your own personal preferences and on who is more jolly. I think the Ryder Cup captain needs a little more in his locker than a smile.

McGinley strikes me as intelligent and organised.
    I think he could do an excellent job in the role. That's just my 2c

All 3 statements are based on personal preferences.
    Not a fan of Monty or Clarke, Olazabal is a gentleman (though he can be surly a la Clarke too!)

? a strange idea to me

I want Europe to win regardless of captain, likewise regardless of who the coach of munster or manager of ireland is...I want those teams to win!!

McGinley strikes me as intelligent and organised.
    I think he could do an excellent job in the role. That's just my 2c

It's accepted that everything is one's own opinion but to not want a European Team to win the Ryder Cup because you don't like the captain is rather daft if you don't mind me saying.

Also I'm sure McGinley would be an excellent captain and is all them things you say he would be. My point is maybe Darren would be too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I think a good comparison is with Graeme McDowell. He can come across at times as a bit cocky too, but he's a major winner and ryder cup hero etc and you can tolerate that. He also seems like a genuine and humble bloke who you could have a drink with.

Clarke, however has won nothing major of note, is cocky almost all the time in a "Don't you know who I am" manner, and seems from what i've seen to be a bit of a see you next tuesday with no redeeming features. Harsh?

Arseholes exist in every line of work and pro golf is no different.

I wouldn't consider two WGCs "nothing major of note". He has also been in the worlds top 10.

And given what he's been through in the last 4 or 5 years I think he's entitled to be a bit grumpy from time to time. Give the man a break

denisoc16 wrote: »

And given what he's been thruogh in the last 4 or 5 years I think he's entitled to be a bit grumpy from time to time. Give the man a break

ah come one now...he was always the same ....no need to bring that into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

He has more natural talent than most of the European Tour but it's fair to say he does bugger all with it.

I wouldn't consider two WGCs "nothing major of note". He has also been in the worlds top 10.

And given what he's been through in the last 4 or 5 years I think he's entitled to be a bit grumpy from time to time. Give the man a break

Winning 10/20/30 WGC's will enrich you but one Major will immortalise you. :D

f22 wrote: »
    He has more natural talent than most of the European Tour but it's fair to say he does bugger all with it.

He's been a professional golfer for most of his life, made shedloads of cash, lives in luxury and has won many titles and Ryder Cups!!

Yup he really has wasted all that natural talent.

Tell me what would you consider 'fulfilling his talent' bearing in my mind his actual level of capabilities and talent?

what exactly has Clark got in his locker ?

He's acknowledged himself in the past that he wasn't the "fittest" and that has cost him a few titles.

what exactly has Clark got in his locker ?

I don't really know and I don't pretend to but to rule him out of being a captain coz he's a little grumpy around the course is just not cricket in my eyes.

But please feel free to tell me what he doesn't have in his locker seeing as you have watched him on the tele-box a few times.

He's acknowledged himself in the past that he wasn't the "fittest" and that has cost him a few titles.

I think people are grasping at straws a wee bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Agreed, very natural ability.So it must be tough on him knowing that he has all that ability but very rarely can he produce on the big occasion these days.

Having said that, I'll be having a little each way wager on him in the Open.

Agreed, very natural ability.So it must be tough on him knowing that he has all that ability but very rarely can he produce on the big occasion these days.

Having said that, I'll be having a little each way wager on him in the Open.

Hahaha I will have to throw fiver on this too now!!

I think people are grasping at straws a wee bit.

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0HFI/is_3_55/ai_114373155/
    http://www.golftoday.co.uk/news/yeartodate/news04/clarke.html

He made an attempt to 'clean up' his lifestyle after blowing the lead at the Masters.
    He blamed his weight at the time and the Augusta hills.
    Nothing came of his new lifestyle changes and he regressed back to the way he was.

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0HFI/is_3_55/ai_114373155/
    http://www.golftoday.co.uk/news/yeartodate/news04/clarke.html

He made an attempt to 'clean up' his lifestyle after blowing the lead at the Masters.
    He blamed his weight at the time and the Augusta hills.
    Nothing came of his new lifestyle changes and he regressed back to the way he was.

I meant grasping at straws in a different context........oh never mind this is rather tedious now.

Agreed. Still the net conclusion i've drawn is that he's still a surly prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

I've met him twice and found him an absolute gent on both occasions, the first time was when Heather had just been diagnosed with cancer (or it had just become public knowledge) he stood and signed autographs for several kids (including my godson) in the Sports Cafe in London, I expressed my sympathy about Heathers condition and he thanked me before moving on to sign more autographs. Met him again during a tournament and congratulated him on a good round and again he was nice as pie, chatted briefly and he went away about his business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭kyleman

endabob1 wrote: »
    I've met him twice and found him an absolute gent on both occasions, the first time was when Heather had just been diagnosed with cancer (or it had just become public knowledge) he stood and signed autographs for several kids (including my godson) in the Sports Cafe in London, I expressed my sympathy about Heathers condition and he thanked me before moving on to sign more autographs. Met him again during a tournament and congratulated him on a good round and again he was nice as pie, chatted briefly and he went away about his business.
    I along with a group of friends met him on the sunday evening after the irish open finished in Ballybunion as he stood on the street drinking pints of guinness and he was some craic and as down to earth as you will ever meet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

kyleman wrote: »
    I along with a group of friends met him on the sunday evening after the irish open finished in Ballybunion as he stood on the street drinking pints of guinness and he was some craic and as down to earth as you will ever meet

He used to do the same in Gibneys in Malahide during the Irish Open in Portmarnock. Lock in until 3.00am and an 11.00am teetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

a sound man to chat to as others have said, never had or will realise his potential due to ropey putting and the odd inexplicable shank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭elbows666

He used to do the same in Gibneys in Malahide during the Irish Open in Portmarnock. Lock in until 3.00am and an 11.00am teetime.

After the night in Gibneys he topped it off the 1st tee

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

Screw you mister wannabe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mr.mickels

Tell me what would you consider 'fulfilling his talent' bearing in my mind his actual level of capabilities and talent?

Not shanking a tee shot onto the beach like a pure hacker when leading the british open on the sunday and actually winning the event, as an example of fulfilling talent

I read Clarkes 2006 Ryder Cup diary a few weeks back, I was surprised to read Darren admit he wanted to miss his short putt to win his ryder cup single match in 2004, for the simple reason that he "liked" his opponent, according to his own book on the 18th green he said to both caddies I want to miss this, before he went over and missed, he also says that before he hit the putt he had no idea what the overall standings were so wasn't aware whether the team needed his point or not. What would Seve or other champions think of that attitude in a competitive professional event? Darren was too soft to be a major champion, and the shank onto the beach was his way of removing himself from the real pressure of the event.
    I recall when he beat Tiger in that world matchplay event, he was interviewed after about beating the world number 1, he kept saying "we're just 2 guys having fun, we're just playing for fun, having fun"!!!. It was clear Tiger wasn't just having fun and was playing to win. I think Darren is too soft to be Ryder Cup captain, he just isn't tough enough, and that "just having fun" nonsense that leads to shanks and missing short putts can be felt be all players on the team. Jacklin, Seve, Langer and Monty had success as captains cos they were driven to win themselves on the big stage and weren't "just having fun". I wouldn't like to see a man who admits he wanted to miss a 3 footer to win his match be awarded the captaincy. He should have been too embarrassed to admit that in his book. However I gather he is a popular character on the tour, and his own softness as a player shouldn't necessarily prevent him selecting the best pairings and getting a good team spirit going, lets face it he would do better than Faldo or James in that regard.
    I thought Langer was an outstanding captain, wasn't happy just to win but wanted the biggest margin possible, wanted to "cream them" in his own words and if he ever was to get it again I would welcome that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Jul3s wrote: »

childish to say the least

let me state i actually like Clark,my comments were about his attitude on the course,as a person i've nothing against the chap at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

endabob1 wrote: »

met him over 2years ago when he had his 40th celebrations at my club and town. only a passing hello as he walked to the tee but according to all accounts he was an absolute gent, as were his playing partners, to the local caddies the club gave them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

I have only heard good things about Clarke from friends of mine who have spent time in his company. The frustrating thing about Clarke is that he had more ability in his little finger than 99% of other pros but He was too interested in smoking fat cigars, driving fast cars and necking Guinness. If he had shown as much application as say Harrington or McGinley, and maximized his talents, then he would have won multiple majors and been a legend of the game. Apart from his personal loss Darren seems to have lived a fun life which has set him up for life, and that's fine if that's what he wanted. But when I picture Darren I see a cigar in one hand, porter in the other and a 911 parked behind him. Meanwhile Harrington, McDowell and McIlroy win majors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭mr.mickels

The Orb wrote: »
    I have only heard good things about Clarke from friends of mine who have spent time in his company. The frustrating thing about Clarke is that he had more ability in his little finger than 99% of other pros but He was too interested in smoking fat cigars, driving fast cars and necking Guinness. If he had shown as much application as say Harrington or McGinley, and maximized his talents, then he would have won multiple majors and been a legend of the game. Apart from his personal loss Darren seems to have lived a fun life which has set him up for life, and that's fine if that's what he wanted. But when I picture Darren I see a cigar in one hand, porter in the other and a 911 parked behind him. Meanwhile Harrington, McDowell and McIlroy win majors.

I don't think work ethic was Darrens problem, he clearly didn't like the pressure of the big events, his awful effort in the british open the time he was leading had nothing to do with lack of effort, a shank onto the beach was the stuff of someone soiling themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Jul3s wrote: »

internet_tough_guy_-_because_its_easy_to_be_a_6_foot_4_olympic_powerlifter_and_streetfighting_god_from_behind_the_confines_of_a_keyboard.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

elbows666 wrote: »
    After the night in Gibneys he topped it off the 1st tee

Ha! Yeah - I saw that one alright, was there that day. He did of course still manage to get the par afterwards.

He also ground out a great win in Mallorca in a gale a few weeks ago. Absolutely nothing against the guy and I enjoy watching him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

There seems to be a bit of nastiness in this thread. I have never talked to him so can't comment on what he is like.

He played at my home course once and hit a drive and a 9 iron to a par 5 where I have only hit an iron as a second shot on a handful of times and these have all been 3 irons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

let me state i actually like Clark,my comments were about his attitude on the course,as a person i've nothing against the chap at all.

nice bit of backtracking there. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

nice bit of backtracking there. lol
    What u on?....maybe read the op,nothing to back track for.......is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

What u on?....maybe read the op,nothing to back track for.......is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Why?

Hmmm... you seem to have a few personal issues my friend.

I think what you need is a nice mug up 'Lighten Up' soft drink and a bit of sunlight.

Good man, brisk walk on the beach maybe?

Maybe I should open up a thread in the Personal Issues forum entitled.

"Why does my total apathy for the Ryder Cup make me so blue and allow others to question my mental stability?"

Just like this thread.

let me state i actually like Clark,my comments were about his attitude on the course,as a person i've nothing against the chap at all
    Backtrack much?.

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    internet_tough_guy_-_because_its_easy_to_be_a_6_foot_4_olympic_powerlifter_and_streetfighting_god_from_behind_the_confines_of_a_keyboard.jpg
    Nice pic of yourself.