Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Old Ryanair the best airline in the world, Top notch, first class

• 29-06-2011 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Well You read the Title and im on the ground laughing my ass off. bahahaha. :D

Im going on the move again. I like to book Aer Lingus no reason i just like to enjoy my flights. Last night i remembered i had not checked Ryanair's flights and prices, as you know money is tight. So i went on to the site, booked the same days and Airport that Aer Lingus was flying to. To my amazement Ryanair were dearer than my Aer lingus flights that i had priced. I browsed through the days and managed to knock the price €40 for the ticket. Unfortunately the days where the tickets were cheap just did not suit me. I went back to my initial date and selected that flight. As i was filling out my Passenger information i went to include one bag at 15Kilo. BAMM! €40 charge. FOOK me for one lowsy fupin bag 40euro. My price has now gone upto €90 that's dearer than 3 other flights i priced with EI. ha ha

God you just have to wonder how Ryanair have the title Lowest Airline. I know other flights may be cheap but like im paying for both my seat and taxes and charges with RyA but only Taxes charges with EI. plus im not hoarded onto the plane like cattle and my back broken when i land :pac:

Its a love hate relationship

Mod note: Move in wrong section or cause problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Like you said it's cheaper elsewhere so go for it. Personally I've never seen another option be less than double the Ryanair price whenever I was flying so I've gone with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=905

though ranting and raving may be more appropriate...

also you appear to be comparing a promotional AL fare to a normal Ryaniar fare, hardly a "fair" comparison is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

also you appear to be comparing a promotional AL fare to a normal Ryaniar fare, hardly a "fair" comparison is it?

no promotional. just straight out booking. browse the days and go. I do know that gatwick is 19.99 in july but August its back up . so i get no promo :(

As for the free seats its been like that since i was flying 2 years ago.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=905

though ranting and raving may be more appropriate...

Ya im new to this section dont know my way around yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭boogerballs

How dear them...

But seriously, give out about about Ryanair all you want, I hate them myself and have had quite a few bad experiences but overall they are normally the cheapest and by quite a bit most of the time too.

If you book your flight correctly with Ryanair, arrive on time with the correct baggage you will be fine, however make a mistake that requires a change to the booking and they will fook you!

How dear them...

But seriously, give out about about Ryanair all you want, I hate them myself and have had quite a few bad experiences but overall they are normally the cheapest and by quite a bit most of the time too.

If you book your flight correctly with Ryanair, arrive on time with the correct baggage you will be fine, however make a mistake that requires a change to the booking and they will fook you!

Ya i know. and thats why i searched them to get low prices but clearly im not. ok i will admit im flying to a dear part of town.

ya im just more shocked that €40 for a bloody bag is what kills me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Ryanair fare + train or bus fare to get where you actually want to go + ungodly flight times (and required taxi to airport) + the scramble for seats = book elsewhere

spurious wrote: »
    Ryanair fare + train or bus fare to get where you actually want to go + ungodly flight times (and required taxi to airport) + the scramble for seats = book elsewhere

Not always the case, really depends where are travelling to e.g. If trying to get Amsterdam then by all means go Aer Lingus as opposed to Ryanair/Charleroi but it you are going to London, Stansted is defo a better option as its easily accessible by train and car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

If you don't like Ryanair, fly with someone else. It'll cost you more tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭xalot

Aerlingus charge €30 per checked bag too. I never find a massive difference in the prices between the two but prefer the option of being able to book my seat with Aer Lingus.

but it you are going to London, Stansted is defo a better option as its easily accessible by train and car.

STANSTED. Christ you may as well just go to manchester. its well outside London and does take forever. Gatwick would be far better. and if you want get you Gatwick express or just get the Southern (2) stop at East Croydon and Clapham junction to London Victoria and your in the Heart its only 20mins and the service is every few mins. Now in saying that i have only heard bad reports about Stansted and have been warned against it for coming into London. Thats why we have Heathrow , City and Gatwick to look after West city and South. Stansted is grand if your going out north of it IMO

n97 mini wrote: »
    If you don't like Ryanair, fly with someone else. It'll cost you more tho.

I dont like them but if i can get cheaper i will

I'd rather just pay more tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Not always the case, really depends where are travelling to e.g. If trying to get Amsterdam then by all means go Aer Lingus as opposed to Ryanair/Charleroi but it you are going to London, Stansted is defo a better option as its easily accessible by train and car.

You were doing so well until you mentioned Stansted.

Heathrow (Aer Lingus) is much more accessable than Stansted (Ryanair).

Its inside the M25, just off the M4, 14 miles from Trafalgar Square.
    Served by Tube on the Picadilly Line, Heathrow Express to Paddington and busses & coaches to everywhere.

Stansted is out in the sticks.

If flying to London with Ryanair, use Luton. Much handier.

xalot wrote: »
    Aerlingus charge €30 per checked bag too. I never find a massive difference in the prices between the two but prefer the option of being able to book my seat with Aer Lingus.

Wheres that. Genuine Question if im gonna be bombarded with extra's no sign as of now and im in the please enter your name
    Ahh thats fair sneeky waiting till youve booked to tell you your bag is going to cost €30 or €15 o/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭clever_name

As previously stated flights might be cheaper with ryanair, but overall travel cost is usually around the same after you add in the cost of a train & a taxi.

The worst part is that more often than not to get the cheap fair you arrive at your destination late in the evening, just in time to go to bed so you can start your holiday the next day. other airlines cost more but you can arrive at a better time.

As for the service I've never had a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I hate them, I will only fly with them if there's no other option or there's a substantial price difference.

I had to go to Birmingham earlier this year and AL worked out cheaper than Ryanair after all the fees/taxes etc. I was delighted as I had prepared myself to have to fly with Ryanair because I assumed it would be so much cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭bada_bing

never mind the fact that they may or may not be cheaper!! they're always late in my experience, once had a 3 hour delay getting to madrid year last in november and just recently went to barcelona and experienced more than half an hour delay each way!!!!! :mad::mad: I actually saw a single baggage handler on Weds last week unload a full plane that arrived late by himself and then he proceeded to fill the plane with the outgoing luggage by himself while the previous passengers who had come off the flight were waiting in the arrivals hall for their luggage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

my brain hurts from looking at, never mind reading, the OP. I'm getting the impression that you don't like Ryanair though it's difficult to tell given the illiterate nature of the post.

Lapin wrote: »
    Heathrow (Aer Lingus) is much more accessable than Stansted (Ryanair).
    Heathrow is possibly the most expensive airport in the world. Flying to/from any other airport and factoring in the increased train ticket price will still probably work out cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

my brain hurts from looking at, never mind reading, the OP. I'm getting the impression that you don't like Ryanair though it's difficult to tell given the illiterate nature of the post.

Plus the thrown in accent.. it reads like ross o carroll books in reverse, uggghhh

Gatwick is the cheapest option into London. After I book my airline ticket I go onto http://www.thetrainline.com/ and prebook train tickets - way, way cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

You are aware Ryanair flies to Eindhoven in Holland?

Would cost you about 1,5 hours and €20 to get to Amsterdam from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭etchyed

The OP's point is (a)fúcking obvious and (b)almost illegible.

Where do people get the notion that they can write like they speak?

Having said that, I have to agree with the OP re: Gatwick vs. Stansted. If you plan in advance it's almost always cheaper to get to central London from Gatwick.

as stated there are some cities you do not fly Ryanair to, Amsterdam is def one, but most of the time you can't fault them.

Friend went to college in Aberdeen, Ryanair = perfect for that.

On Holiday in Itlay later this month, Bologna, Pisa and Rome all options that suit. Ryanair to Bologna 250 return for both of us, AL's best was 700.

I'll put up with the walk and the ****ty terminal and the in flight ads in order to save that kind of cash and to have a more comfy seat than anything I've ever gotten on AL

Some tool was on the Last Word this evening, missed his name, giving out yards about all Ryanair's hidden charges, including the "unavoidable" €6 credit card charge.

He obviously doesn't get out much. If he did he'd get to the Blanchardstown Centre and get a PerfectCard debit card to pay for his Ryanair flights, and pay €0 credit card charges. I've saved over €100 so far this year on Ryanair flights by using it.

Is it possible to dodge the Aer Lingus surcharge? I don't think so.

Well im sorry i have a slight disability in my English speaking nature. Its not like i do honors English.

listermint wrote: »
    Plus the thrown in accent.. it reads like ross o carroll books in reverse, uggghhh

What accent is that. Its not like i have a strong Dublin accent or a Cork one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Go to include one bag 15Kilo. €40 charge. FOOK me for one lowsy fupin bag 40euro .

Where are you trying to travel to that you need to bring between 10 and 25kg of Luggage?

The only hassle I've had with them in the last half year was the flight to Brum at 06:30 was a) too feicin early by far and
    b) EI flew to Brum at the same time and I went to their gate in pier A and had to go back through immigration and x-ray again - none of which are really Mick O'L's fault really.

Where are you trying to travel to that you need to bring between 10 and 25kg of Luggage?

Ive done it. was 24kg on a 15kg plan. so i had to pay £40 extra.
    But there thats the options you have either 1) No Bag @ €0.00
    2) 1 bag @ €20.00 15kilo
    3) 2 bag @ €30.00 25Kilo

Im obviously bringing a bag for clothing as i will be staying over there for a few weeks ans my hand luggage will not be good enough.

You are the only one who has had trouble working out the OP, I think that says more about you than him ;)

No need to get to picky about the posts - either add something constructive of not at all!!

And as for the comment about accents :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭etchyed

You are the only one who has had trouble working out the OP, I think that says more about you than him ;)
    The 7 (and counting) thanks underneath schemingbohemia's post would suggest otherwise.
    No need to get to picky about the posts - either add something constructive of not at all!!
    Generally that's good advice but sometimes it needs to be pointed out when standards slip so low that it makes it difficult to understand someone.
    And as for the comment about accents :confused::confused:
    There's nothing confusing about it. The OP seems to write exactly how he speaks. Everyone's accent is different, and that's great, but if we all wrote how we spoke it would be terribly difficult to read anything.

etchyed wrote: »
    The OP seems to write exactly how he speaks
    I'm trying to figure out the accent. Thinking it could be a mix of Abba and somewhere in the west like Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Ah Ryanair, who would use them when I am now in Dublin for €24 return!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Im obviously bringing a bag for clothing as i will be staying over there for a few weeks ans my hand luggage will not be good enough.

You know some people manage to go on holidays for 3 months with just carry on, it is possible, check out here for info on how:

http://www.onebag.com

May or may not be suitable for you, but I do it all the time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭SteM

Love it when people post blanket statements for reasons why they'd never fly with an airline.

My choices are always based on different reasons.

Do the airline fly at the time that I want. Ryanair don't always fly at odd times - anyone says that they do is talking BS.

What city am going to. Is the airport close to where I want to go - do I have time for a coach or train journey? Again, Ryanair don't always fly into obscure airports.

Cost. Who are cheapest? Include luggage, cost of transport at the other end etc.

If I'm flying with a bunch of lads to a football match I don't have a problem flying Ryanair for example. I don't care if we sit together on the plane and we'll probably all have carry on luggage. Although I priced a flight to a match in August and Aer Lingus are cheaper than Ryanair into Manchester and the flight times suit us all.

If I'm flying with the wife into London to stay with her family in SE London for a weekend we'll often pay the extra for City Jet into London City, if we're staying longer than a weekend we'll go Ryanair to Stansted (if the flight is cheaper) and Terravision coach down to Liverpool street or we'll fly into Gatwick if it's cheaper or the flight time more convenient. If we're staying with her sister in west London we'll almost always fly into Heathrow or Stansted depending on price, convenience etc.

It makes me laugh when people complain about airlines like Ryanair. If it wasn't for them then it'd still be crazy money to fly anywhere - a lot of people are too young to remember this. We'd all still be travelling to the UK on the bloody ferry!

SteM wrote: »

It makes me laugh when people complain about airlines like Ryanair. If it wasn't for them then it'd still be crazy money to fly anywhere - a lot of people are too young to remember this. We'd all still be travelling to the UK on the bloody ferry!

this

That's like saying grocery prices would be higher here if Tesco didn't come in.

Somebody would have started another airline, Ryanairs business model was Southwest Airlines in the USA, they weren't the first in the world to do it, and there have been plenty of other european countries done the same since - usually without the attitude and pomp of M'OL.

That's like saying grocery prices would be higher here if Tesco didn't come in.

Somebody would have started another airline, Ryanairs business model was Southwest Airlines in the USA, they weren't the first in the world to do it, and there have been plenty of other european countries done the same since - usually without the attitude and pomp of M'OL.

What's your point? Show me where I said they were the first to do it in the world to do it. Although they were the first to do it out of Ireland as far as I know. I'm only concerned with flying out of Ireland because that's where I live. Some other airline may well have come in and offered cut price flights but the fact is that no one else had at the time and the cheapest way to the UK was a vomit soaked ferry to Liverpool or Holyhead. Lower prices from Ryanair forced AL to reduce their costs and indirectly encouraged the high speed ferry link to the UK imo. I notice that no other cut price airline has has come into Dublin with any success.

I don't know or care about M'OL's attitute. The attitude of the people around me effect me, nothing he does effects me so I pay no mind to him.

and there have been plenty of other european countries done the same since - usually without the attitude and pomp of M'OL.
    How many have become the biggest international airline in the world? If attitude and pomp works, use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

SteM wrote: »
    Love it when people post blanket statements for reasons why they'd never fly with an airline.

My choices are always based on different reasons.

Do the airline fly at the time that I want. Ryanair don't always fly at odd times - anyone says that they do is talking BS.

What city am going to. Is the airport close to where I want to go - do I have time for a coach or train journey? Again, Ryanair don't always fly into obscure airports.

Cost. Who are cheapest? Include luggage, cost of transport at the other end etc.

If I'm flying with a bunch of lads to a football match I don't have a problem flying Ryanair for example. I don't care if we sit together on the plane and we'll probably all have carry on luggage. Although I priced a flight to a match in August and Aer Lingus are cheaper than Ryanair into Manchester and the flight times suit us all.

If I'm flying with the wife into London to stay with her family in SE London for a weekend we'll often pay the extra for City Jet into London City, if we're staying longer than a weekend we'll go Ryanair to Stansted (if the flight is cheaper) and Terravision coach down to Liverpool street or we'll fly into Gatwick if it's cheaper or the flight time more convenient. If we're staying with her sister in west London we'll almost always fly into Heathrow or Stansted depending on price, convenience etc.

You're on the mark there - choose the airline that suits you best, but DO remember to factor in all the costs and time especially getting to/from the airport!

You may well be fine with ignoring M'OL now, and none of his decisions effect you at the moment but what if you (god forbid) need to board a ryanair flight in a wheelchair? They have a one per flight policy - and like all their policies - no exceptions. You might be second in line and get left at the gate.

He may yet impose fees for toilets, and god knows what else he can think up and while people are able bodied, single and can travel with a teeny tiny bag - it's doable. If you have to bring luggage back from somewhere, travel with a family, or any other scenario that isn't like a bus journey then you will be financially "punished" while M'OL smirks all the way to the bank.

Give him another few years, the hand luggage will be 5kg, and the cost of a bag will be about €60. There's a point where the "extra" costs border on the ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

I would suggest that is where the beauty of choice comes in - if people don't like Ryanair, use a different airline.

How many have become the biggest international airline in the world? If attitude and pomp works, use them.

They're far from the biggest international airline, and since when did European become International?

The attitude is self serving and borders on bullying, from the treatment of staff to the PR spin thats put on the bad press that Ryanair rightly attracts.

They're far from the biggest international airline,

You sure?

http://www.centreforaviation.com/news/2011/06/08/delta-now-worlds-largest-carrier-ryanair-stays-top-international-airline/page1

Constant whinging about Ryanair is not necessary... they don't have a monopoly. There are plenty of alternatives.

You may well be fine with ignoring M'OL now, and none of his decisions effect you at the moment but what if you (god forbid) need to board a ryanair flight in a wheelchair? They have a one per flight policy - and like all their policies - no exceptions. You might be second in line and get left at the gate.

He may yet impose fees for toilets, and god knows what else he can think up and while people are able bodied, single and can travel with a teeny tiny bag - it's doable. If you have to bring luggage back from somewhere, travel with a family, or any other scenario that isn't like a bus journey then you will be financially "punished" while M'OL smirks all the way to the bank.

Give him another few years, the hand luggage will be 5kg, and the cost of a bag will be about €60. There's a point where the "extra" costs border on the ridiculous.

Your hatred of Ryanair and O'Leary obviously run deep, you're dreaing up things that he may do in the future :) Why don't you just ignore them instead of getting your pants in a twist about them - it would make for a nicer life for you.

I don't care about what he COULD do in the future. See that's the beauty of the airline business, I can fly with a different airline.

Anyone that books with them can see their T&Cs, nothing is being hidden.

1 wheelchair passanger per flight - no exceptions? That must have been why there were 3 people in wheelchairs on the flight back from Stansted I was on last Thursday. I know this for a fact because I was sitting towards the back a few rows in front of them, the flight was already pretty full and the steward came around asking if people wouldn't mind swapping seats so he could get 3 together for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

I've flown hundreds of times with Ryanair into both Gatwick and Stansted. Never had many problems, only been delayed a few times and that's usually been the last flight into Stansted. Nearly all of the time they flights arrive on time.
    Price is always the deciding factor on which airport I choose, though I prefer Gatwick, Stansted is often much cheaper.
    Easybus from either airport takes around an hour and costs about 6pound or if time is an issue I can spend a bit more an get one of the express trains.
    Either way it's never been cheaper to fly with an other airline. especially into Heathrow.

And I have said that I have chosen to fly with others in the past rather than Ryanair.

It's when there is no other choice then having to fly with them becomes arduous. Sometimes you literally feel like a bold schoolchild, in case they tell you to put your magazine in your bag (one piece of handluggage!) and then in the next breath tell you that your handluggage is overweight.

I simply do not like M'OL attitude. I have already alluded to the fact that he is a good businessman but manners and humility go a long way with a lot of people. Some people want to put the guy on a pedastal, others are sickened by him.

You sure?

http://www.centreforaviation.com/news/2011/06/08/delta-now-worlds-largest-carrier-ryanair-stays-top-international-airline/page1

Constant whinging about Ryanair is not necessary... they don't have a monopoly. There are plenty of alternatives.

Sounds like you work for Ryanair! And for the third time, I do use the alternatives.

In my opinion, an airline that doesn't fly beyond European borders should not be considered an international airline, merely a flying bus. It may have the most passangers, relying on volume of sales rather than ticket prices to garner these figures.