Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He showed our private pics...

• 28-06-2011 8:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey everyone...

I'm really angry and feeling a total idiot as I type this.

I just found out my boyfriend of almost a year showed his mates the private sexy pics I'd sent to his phone. He was totally drunk, but I see this as no excuse.

I'm so angry and wish I never sent them. You read in magazines all the time never send naughty pics unless you totally trust the guy. The thing is, I did totally trust him and cannot believe he would do this. I feel so betrayed and embarressed. It makes me sick to know that his mates have seen me naked and in erotic poses.

I haven't had the courage to confront him yet. I just don't know what to do. I think he has to go. I don't think I can ever trust him again.

Just looking for some feedback I guess... has anyone been through this? How did you deal with it/get over it??

Thanks guys :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

I wouldn't trust him again but that's me. Some women might give him a second chance.

As for the rules about risque pictures, it's not to only send them to someone you trust, it's don't send them *at all* unless you don't mind them being on the net. Because most of the time, that is what will happen. It may not always be the case, but in the interest of caution it is best to assume that it will.

I'm really sorry this happened to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭greengiant09

Hey everyone...

I just found out my boyfriend of almost a year showed his mates the private sexy pics I'd sent to his phone. He was totally drunk, but I see this as no excuse.

I'm so angry and wish I never sent them. You read in magazines all the time never send naughty pics unless you totally trust the guy. The thing is, I did totally trust him and cannot believe he would do this. I feel so betrayed and embarressed. It makes me sick to know that his mates have seen me naked and in erotic poses.

I haven't had the courage to confront him yet. I just don't know what to do. I think he has to go. I don't think I can ever trust him again.

Just looking for some feedback I guess... has anyone been through this? How did you deal with it/get over it??

tbh, wtf were you thinking of the first place. i'm going to guess by your username that you're 22....and considering you've only been going out with him less than a year, i think it was a very naive and foolish move to send him naked pictures of yourself.

things might be all rosey now but what happens if you fall out badly in a year or 2.....or just grow apart and never see each other again. all he has to do is send them on to his mates and they will spread like wild fire. most likely they'll end up on the net somewhere.

sorry to worry you but these are realistic scenarios.....get them deleted and don't ever be so stupid to do something like that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

tbh, wtf were you thinking of the first place. i'm going to guess by your username that you're 22....and considering you've only been going out with him less than a year, i think it was a very naive and foolish move to send him naked pictures of yourself.

things might be all rosey now but what happens if you fall out badly in a year or 2.....or just grow apart and never see each other again. all he has to do is send them on to his mates and they will spread like wild fire. most likely they'll end up on the net somewhere.

sorry to worry you but these are realistic scenarios.....get them deleted and don't ever be so stupid to do something like that again.

I know, I know... believe me I am feeling more stupid and dumb now than what anyone will ever tell me!
    I guess I thought that because I also have tons of pics of him naked that I had my hand should this dirty trick ever be played. Now that he has played it, I just feel so sick that I couldn't give a toss about his pics.

To be honest I don't bloody well care about them appearing online... hell that would be mostly complete strangers seeing them. What kills me is that these guys know me. How can I face these guys ever again? I'm just feeling so sick right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

cop on and leave her alone. Your attitude stinks.
    She can't help what has happened and your lecturing doens't help. In fact it is counter productive.

OP - what's done is done. He sounds like an immature ass even if he is young.

I guess he'll explain and apologise but only you will know if it's for real or not.
    But personally I don't know if he is worth it, could you ever really trust him?

As for yourself - I wouldn't worry too much - you're not the first to send pics to your bf and not the first to have them exposed. I know it's embarrassing but after a while you laugh about what a dick your bf was.

I found photos of my mates gf in naked poses years ago (whilest clearing out their house I must add) and tbh I can't rem even what they looked like now.

cop on and leave her alone. Your attitude stinks.
    She can't help what has happened and your lecturing doens't help. In fact it is counter productive.

OP - what's done is done. He sounds like an immature ass even if he is young.

I guess he'll explain and apologise but only you will know if it's for real or not.
    But personally I don't know if he is worth it, could you ever really trust him?

As for yourself - I wouldn't worry too much - you're not the first to send pics to your bf and not the first to have them exposed. I know it's embarrassing but after a while you laugh about what a dick your bf was.

I found photos of my mates gf in naked poses years ago (whilest clearing out their house I must add) and tbh I can't rem even what they looked like now.

Thank you king of kings :) Your post has made me feel less of a klutz!!! I guess I know I'm not the first and I won't be the last.

I'm so angry right now and so embaressed, but hopefully in a day or two it won't feel like the worst thing in the world.

I don't think I can ever trust him after this. He's 26, so not a silly teenager. And I don't fall for the excuse of " I was drunk ".

Thanks guys for your input, all of you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Count Duckula

It might help to not be so embarrassed about it. Be a little more confident. So there are pictures of you naked. Big deal - everyone's naked and everyone's seen other people naked.

The worst that might have happened here is that other people have seen you in some erotic poses and thought that your boyfriend is doing well for himself. More fool him then for showing them the pictures, since it probably spells the end of the relationship, but being confident enough in your own sexuality and attractiveness to allow pictures to be taken is nothing to be ashamed of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

absolute f*cker. unforgivable breach of trust

I've been in this situation with my 28 year old boyfriend.

I trust him, but sometimes men seem to be a bit naive when it comes to stuff like this. He genuinely saw nothing wrong with what he had done; he told me he was just trying to make his friends jealous to show them what a great woman he had. And no, I didn't get flattered into forgiveness, but we did work past it, and I learned a lesson from it too.

I should have known better having worked with men for years in a factory where co-workers would very regularly pass their phones around showing naked pictures their girlfriends/wives had texted to them. It seems to be not a big deal for men, probably because they're so used to topless calendars and Page 3 and dirty forwarded e-mails.

You can be sure that most other girls who have sent their boyfriend's pics have also been violated in the manner you were, but they just don't find out about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

It might help to not be so embarrassed about it. Be a little more confident. So there are pictures of you naked. Big deal - everyone's naked and everyone's seen other people naked.

The worst that might have happened here is that other people have seen you in some erotic poses and thought that your boyfriend is doing well for himself. More fool him then for showing them the pictures, since it probably spells the end of the relationship, but being confident enough in your own sexuality and attractiveness to allow pictures to be taken is nothing to be ashamed of.

Thats a terribly simplistic view of things in fairness.

Its a massive betrayal of trust for one thing,that coupled with the fact people she knows have seen her in intimate poses.

It might not be as bad as him cheating on her for example however its up there as a horrible thing to do to someone you are supposed to trust.

OP,its ultimately up to you whether you can move past this or not.As I said above,its a betrayal of trust involving the most intimate act that one person can share with another.

If I was in your shoes,I honestly dont know what I would do.

Count Duckula, this is amazing advice! I will definately try to look at it from this angle.

I am confident and happy with my body and my looks and this is why I had no problem taking and sending the pics in the first place. I knew how much he loved getting them and it added spice to our relationship. After the initial emberressment dies down I'll try and pull the confidence out when I finally have to face these silly little kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

No matter what you decide to do I'd want the memory card out of his phone (deleting the pictures wouldn't be enough) & to check his pc or anywhere he might have sent them to himself (via bluetooth, mms, email etc.) to make bloody sure he doesn't have access to them anymore as he's clearly shown he can't be trusted with them. (and if you do break up you don't want them getting shown around out of vengeance)

You really don't want them going online because as much as it might seem like strangers who'd see them and as such not a big deal you also run the risk of family, friends, future employers etc. coming across them & once they're up there they are up forever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Everyone's naked and everyone's seen other people naked? What does that even mean? I'm not naked, I'm fully clothed right now and to be honest, not many people have seen me naked and very very few people have seen me in erotic poses. And this is not just nakedness, this is a girl who posed in erotic poses that she only wanted her boyfriend to see. These were for private viewing between the two of them. It's nothing to do with her lack of confidence in whether her boyfriend's mates will think she's attractive or sexy or not. You're missing the point completely. It's a breach of trust and this is the main issue. Her boyfriend promised her they would remain private and he showed his mates. That's beyond prickish behaviour and like the OP, I would be mortified.

This is actually horrendous, OP. I would be absolutely raging. I hope you're dumping this plank. I suppose you live and learn. Walk with your head held high...you're not in the wrong here...a lot of women and men send each other erotic photos of themselves but very few show their mates. THIS guy is in the wrong here. Move on and learn a lesson from it. You know for the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

I'm new to this forum and only here for some inight myself, but I do have the benefit of having done some stupit things in my time too, :)

It sounds like he has more growing up to do, it was a very stupid thing he did, It was also silly of you to give him the opportunity.

Chin up, we all make mistakes and it will blow over when the next person does something silly. Don't let it get you down and learn from it, not to do anything as silly again.

It's up to your BF to make things right with his moronic friends and don't let him off the hook until he does, what you do with him then should depend on how he acts now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

OP, sorry to hear what happened to you,
    It's horrible to think of, but yeah, these may end up on the net if you don't act fairly fast. Get them deleted from his phone, - take it off him and do it yourself. Ask if he has sent them to his own email, or anyone elses.
    Lie if you have to that you're going to forgive him, find out if he showed them or sent them to the "lads", and if the phone left his hand, who had it, that may have sent them on to themselves.
    Confront anyone else who has them and threaten legal action on your bf and them, if they don't delete immediately, in front of you.

Do all you can and then forget them.

In my opinion, this is far far worse than cheating, as when someone cheats, there is some personal gain (however fleeting and warped) for the cheater, but he had nothing to gain from this bar playing the Casanova to his mates. Saddo. Cheaters often think that their partner wont get hurt, that they will never find out, but this ****er knew well what he was doing.
    Nobody comes up and asks "do you have any naked pics of your gf on your phone, - show us" He clearly brought it up himself.
    He has shown what he thinks of you, Sorry, I know that's not nice to hear, but it's true.
    He is an absolute and total scumbag of the highest order, and you can never trust him in any shape in your life again.
    Get rid.

As for his mates, fuck em, any guy who get's mileage out of this has bigger problems in his own life. Btw they don't think too much of him either at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I've been in this situation with my 28 year old boyfriend.

I trust him, but sometimes men seem to be a bit naive when it comes to stuff like this. He genuinely saw nothing wrong with what he had done; he told me he was just trying to make his friends jealous to show them what a great woman he had. And no, I didn't get flattered into forgiveness, but we did work past it, and I learned a lesson from it too.

I should have known better having worked with men for years in a factory where co-workers would very regularly pass their phones around showing naked pictures their girlfriends/wives had texted to them. It seems to be not a big deal for men, probably because they're so used to topless calendars and Page 3 and dirty forwarded e-mails.

You can be sure that most other girls who have sent their boyfriend's pics have also been violated in the manner you were, but they just don't find out about it.

Sorry but you're completely deluding yourself. Guys easily distinguish between page 3 girls who get paid to go topless and the girl they love posing for them in the context of a relationship.

I'm near the same age as your boyfriend and worked with plenty of guys. Have never once had one of them show me a picture of his wife/girlfriend.

Its like you think men are horny simpletons with no respect for women. First off most guys would not betray their girlfriend like that. Secondly most guys do not like the idea of other guys seeing their girlfriend naked out of jealousy reasons

Sorry but you're completely deluding yourself. Guys easily distinguish between page 3 girls who get paid to go topless and the girl they love posing for them in the context of a relationship.

I'm near the same age as your boyfriend and worked with plenty of guys. Have never once had one of them show me a picture of his wife/girlfriend.

Its like you think men are horny simpletons with no respect for women. First off most guys would not betray their girlfriend like that. Secondly most guys do not like the idea of other guys seeing their girlfriend naked out of jealousy reasons

As a guy, personally I have no interest in showing pictures of my girlfriend to other guys, but I have seen it done by men in groups on nights out, and some rougher type guys at work, etc, so let's not create an illusion here, it happens. Perhaps you haven't directly encountered it, but most men I know would be able to name one guy who has done this behind their girlfriend's backs, to give them some kind of ego boost, to make the other guys jealous of the woman they have and give this impression that women left right and centre are sending them naked photos of themselves. It's some kind of macho thing.

There are different types of men in Ireland, and perhaps you are not the type of man that hangs around with the guys who show off pics, but sounds like the OP's boyfriend is this type of man.

All I'm saying is, it happens, quite often.

I definitely wouldn't say it's worse than cheating. It's only as big a deal as you make it.

OP, talk to him about it, let him believe you're ending it and see how much he respects you then.

I think it may be you who is missing my point!

I'm not denying it's a massive break of trust. I never said it wasn't. I even qualified that the relationship is probably over, as she is likely to never be able to trust him again. I, too, would be mortified.

I'm not suggesting she simply get over it because this is no big deal, what I was trying to do was offer her a way of viewing things that might allow her to hold her head high and not take a huge dent to her self-confidence in the aftermath of all this.

The guy is a tool. He should go. But just because she's dumped him doesn't mean she'll suddenly feel better about the whole thing - that she'll no longer feel horribly embarrassed about what's happened. I was merely trying to give her a more positive and alternative view, so that when she has to see these people in the street / deal with them, she can hold herself tall and not be so uncomfortable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I think it may be you who is missing my point!

I'm not denying it's a massive break of trust. I never said it wasn't. I even qualified that the relationship is probably over, as she is likely to never be able to trust him again. I, too, would be mortified.

I'm not suggesting she simply get over it because this is no big deal, what I was trying to do was offer her a way of viewing things that might allow her to hold her head high and not take a huge dent to her self-confidence in the aftermath of all this.

The guy is a tool. He should go. But just because she's dumped him doesn't mean she'll suddenly feel better about the whole thing - that she'll no longer feel horribly embarrassed about what's happened. I was merely trying to give her a more positive and alternative view, so that when she has to see these people in the street / deal with them, she can hold herself tall and not be so uncomfortable!

Fair enough. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,986 ✭✭✭squonk

OP that's an awful thing to happen. I really feel sorry for you.

The guy is a complete dick. I am a guy and have never been out with any of my friends where a case came up that they'd have to show me pics of their OH naked on their phone. Even if such a case had come up I'd have gracefully bowed out at that point mainly because I would know the OH and respect them as a person. Ogling them from photos like that isn't exactly respectful.

It comes down to respect. Showing off naked photos of your OH to your mates displays a shocking lack of respect for your OH I think. From what I see it shows you don't give a toss about their dignity.

The sexual component, along side the emotional component of a relationship is something that is shared by the two people in that relationship. You have to be able to open up and feel unafraid to allow that relationship to progress and flourish. Your hopes, fears, or other emotional issues are private and not for a wider audience, Likewise, your sexual preferences are also.

OP you are right not to trust this guy. He has shown you a shocking lack of respect and I'm not sure in this case the work to rebuild that trust will be worth the outcome. Unless you have other reasons to stick with this guy, I'd say call it a day. for a 26 year old he should know way better.

Just a final note, if one of my mates started passing around his phone in the pub showing naked pics of his girlfriend, he wouldn't stay my friend because I wouldn't trust him with anything after that. I don''t know how you could continue to trust his as a partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

OP - how did you find out that he had shown the pictures around? Did someone who had seen them tell you, or did he tell you himself?

If it were the former, I'd be quite concerned. Before dumping his sorry disrespectful ass, I would do my utmost to make sure they were deleted from his phone and memory card. As rightly pointed out, there is a small risk they could be broadcast to a wider audience at some later stage and perhaps affect your employment prospects in some way. Its not a risk I would want to take.

I agree with the comments above that there are some slightly rougher men that would act in this way. I have to say that virtually all the men I know wouldn't do this because they respect their girlfriend's privacy, but likewise most of the girls I know wouldn't send such photos. That said, I do know a few who have and I'd say the girls were more easily persuaded and still basically decent, which is not what I'd think of someone who shared such photos with their mates down the pub.

imagine the phone was lost, someone could just send them to everyone in the phonebook or even blackmail you! My mate has shown the lads pics of ex gf before, not only her posing in lengerie and naked etc, but also during s*x! (while drunk obviously but still) so Id be careful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭lace

Hi OP! What an awful situation to be in! :(

There's been some great advice on this thread!

I'd really strongly recommend you get the memory card and get a look at the phone as well as the pc to be sure he's not got the pictures anymore. I'd also say confront him about it soon because if someone has told you about this it's likely a mutual friend and your OH may have found out, giving him time to delete or hide the evidence. You never know where they could end up (future employers, family and friends could see them) or when they could be used against you so it's best to be sure they're completely gone.

As for the question of whether or not you can trust him again - only you can answer that. You'll only be able to tell once you've had it out with him and had some time to think. There's no point in continuing in a relationship with someone you can't trust.

In the meantime you can (kind of) take solace in the fact that it was only a few of his mates who saw them and they were all probably plastered at the time (I'm not saying this makes anything better - just could have been worse). They'll probably all forget all about it and it will probably all blow over soon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Kingpin187

I have some naughty pics of the gf on my phone, and would NEVER even think of showing anyone ever, and she knows this as its not the type of person I am

My phone is never with anyone else either, and if it was I think the lock, along with the password protected mem. card would prevent anyone seeing them.

A few guys in my work have passed around pics of their gfs in not-so-innocent poses, but I have no interest in looking at them, and I appreciate the female form as much as the next man. Its just not right. Would make me sick the thought of anyone else seeing pics of my gf (and most probably future wife/mother of kids etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

You shouldn't have sent him your pics. Alcohol is a curse, he was probably bragging about the pics and after a few pints decided to show his mates.
    Very bold.. still, It's not really about trust. More about temptation. you were as bad for sending them in the first place.

I thought this was fairly normal lad behaviour in a not-too-serious relationship.

You don't do it with the woman you're about to spend the rest of your life with, but if you have a woman that's a little bit wild and slutty, one you've already been talking with your mates about, it's very common to show your mates the pics as proof.

I've done it with a woman I didn't see a future with. You're not going to do that to your future wife but if it's just a fling... I've had mates show us pics regularly.

The way I see it, you send the picture, you need to be willing to accept the risk.

The phone could as easily get lost and others will end up seeing them anyway.

What's not normal about this situation is the woman finding out. I doubt one of the lads told you, more one of the lads' jealous girlfriends perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

You don't do it with the woman you're about to spend the rest of your life with, but if you have a woman that's a little bit wild and slutty, one you've already been talking with your mates about, it's very common to show your mates the pics as proof.

Grand, I'll remember this next time women are accused of sharing too much about their relationship with their friends. It seems some guys do exactly the same and have the pictures to prove it. :rolleyes:
    What's not normal about this situation is the woman finding out. I doubt one of the lads told you, more one of the lads' jealous girlfriends perhaps?

A jealous girlfriend? Jealous of what?? The fact that the guys are enjoying pictures of a naked woman that aren't her?! Get real. Any woman I know would tell their friend if they knew something like this had happened, and it wouldn't be out of jealousy.
    I just found out my boyfriend of almost a year showed his mates the private sexy pics I'd sent to his phone.
    I've been in this situation with my 28 year old boyfriend ... I should have known better having worked with men for years in a factory where co-workers would very regularly pass their phones around showing naked pictures their girlfriends/wives had texted to them.
    34532412 wrote: »
    I have seen it done by men in groups on nights out, and some rougher type guys at work, etc, so let's not create an illusion here, it happens.
    Distorted wrote: »
    I agree with the comments above that there are some slightly rougher men that would act in this way.
    unreg1 wrote: »
    My mate has shown the lads pics of ex gf before, not only her posing in lengerie and naked etc, but also during s*x! (while drunk obviously but still) so Id be careful!
    Kingpin187 wrote: »
    A few guys in my work have passed around pics of their gfs in not-so-innocent poses
    I thought this was fairly normal lad behaviour in a not-too-serious relationship ... I've done it with a woman I didn't see a future with.

At the very least, I hope anyone who's considering sending pics by phone will read these posts and decide against it.

Sorry guys, I know the greater part of you wouldn't do this but unfortunately there are still some knuckle draggers who would and appears there are enough of them to make it a risky situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    It's not really about trust. More about temptation. you were as bad for sending them in the first place.

...surely, you could say the same about cheating: "It's not really about trust, more about temptation, you were as bad for allowing him to go out by himself where you knew there would be girls around."- i.e. for trusting that the person wouldn't cheat/betray privacy. It's a breach of trust, 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

seenitall wrote: »
    ...surely, you could say the same about cheating: "It's not really about trust, more about temptation, you were as bad for allowing him to go out by himself where you knew there would be girls around."- i.e. for trusting that the person wouldn't cheat/betray privacy. It's a breach of trust, 100%.

In fairness it's not only about the breach of trust (which this case was) but there is always the possibility of the phone being lost, messed around with by friends, stolen, or computer being lost, virus, etc. Once you have those kind of pictures stored somewere like on an electronic device for example, whether through a deliberate breach of trust, or any other reason there is always the possibility of them 'getting around' into wider circulation.

..and the amount of idiots starring in 'private sex tapes' etc that are all over the net goes to show not enough people process that information properly. If anything else comes from the OP it's the hope that in future other people will think twice.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

A guy who respects his girlfriend and her privacy will keep pictures like that private and not show them to neanderthals in the pub.

He has shown you how little he respects you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

prinz wrote: »
    In fairness it's not only about the breach of trust (which this case was) but there is always the possibility of the phone being lost, messed around with by friends, stolen, or computer being lost, virus, etc. Once you have those kind of pictures stored somewere like on an electronic device for example, whether through a deliberate breach of trust, or any other reason there is always the possibility of them 'getting around' into wider circulation.

..and the amount of idiots starring in 'private sex tapes' etc that are all over the net goes to show not enough people process that information properly. If anything else comes from the OP it's the hope that in future other people will think twice.

I agree with that, but I was responding to the poster who said it was very bold (!?) of the b/f to show off his g/f's naked pics, but not about trust, moreso temptation?! He broke trust, first and foremost; second point - he did it through succumbing to "temptation" to be a pirck and break the trust which is implicit between lovers. Appaling behaviour.

Dumpable behaviour, in fact (I say this for the OP's benefit).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

if you are going to dump him for this and your more than entitled to, whatever you do, make sure you get 5 minutes with his phone first to delete them.

First of all I want to say a big thank you to everyone who took the time to reply. I really appreciate it and have taken all advice on board.

He only got in touch with me today, considering this happened out on Sunday night, I took his lack of contact for four days as total guilt. I have not had it out with him, as I need to get to his phone before dumping his sorry ass. He makes me so sick right now. He has no idea I know. I can get to the pics on his phone and delete them, that's if they're still on it, but I doubt I can access his laptop and I assume he has them saved to there, as that is where I have his pics saved - I do not carry them around on my phone.

To answer how I found out - one of his imbecile mates who saw the pics, drunkingly told his sister who is a very close friend of mine, and she told me. I also had a gut wrenching instinct from drunkern texts my bf was sending me on the night, that something was going on.

I am not one of those easily persuded, slutty type girls as hinted at by one poster. I'm highly independent and confident and assumed I was in a trusting, loving, fun, adventurous relationship. We sent each other such pics to keep the fun alive while we would be apart due to work, etc. We both promised explicitly to NEVER show such pics to any other party and to delete them from the phone. We both agreed we could save them to our PC's to view by one another and no one else.

I have kept my promise. It is killing me that he has breached this trust and I will not be able to forgive him. It's agony pretending that nothing has happened, I just want to tear his eyes out!

As one poster wrote, this shows how very little he respected me, and that is so hurtfull. It makes me feel as though I was nothing more than his personal porn star.

I don't know if I will ever trust a man again. I really thought he was the one, we had chatted about moving in together, marraige, kids, the works. I guess he was just stringing me along all the while and now I wonder how much he has revealed about other intimate details of our relationship to his mates.

Thanks again everyone :)

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I would suggest you call around to his and ask him to log onto the laptop while you are there (to avoid him setting up a second folder with copies of the pics) and get him to delete them while you are there. Also ensure that they are gone from the recycle bin. (maybe do a bit of research on how to erase them to the extent he cant restore them) then tell him to do the same with his phone in front of you. Then you can say what you need to say without fear that he will retaliate by using the pictures against you.

A lot of guys on this thread would never dream of doing something like this to their partners or even their exes that they cant stand. Dont write off all men just because of this idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Neyite wrote: »
    I would suggest you call around to his and ask him to log onto the laptop while you are there (to avoid him setting up a second folder with copies of the pics) and get him to delete them while you are there. Also ensure that they are gone from the recycle bin. (maybe do a bit of research on how to erase them to the extent he cant restore them) then tell him to do the same with his phone in front of you. Then you can say what you need to say without fear that he will retaliate by using the pictures against you.

A lot of guys on this thread would never dream of doing something like this to their partners or even their exes that they cant stand. Dont write off all men just because of this idiot.

This is good advice, but I would be abit more sneaky about it, because if you go over confrontational then he might just point blank refuse, or else sneakily only delete one copy of the pics infront of you, whilst he already has a hidden copy elsewhere on the laptop.
    Go over all friendly, and make some excuse to ask can you use his laptop for a few mins. Pretend to be checking emails or a website whatever.
    Check in his picture folder yourself, and delete then delete them from the r bin.
    Do a file search with some key words like your name maybe, or "sexy pics", to see if he has the pics in other locations/folders in the computer.
    Before you do the file search, make sure that you have selected the "show hidden files" option.
    It is very simple and takes about 10 seconds. Here's how you do it:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Show-hidden-files

After doing this, -just incase you missed a file location on his laptop, I would do the following:

Maybe half an hour, or an hour or so of pretending like everything is fine say something like, "oh I forgot to check out that dress I was thinking of buying", ask can you use laptop again, log on to any highstreet store site, and pick a random top or dress and show him to see if he thinks it's nice or something.
    Then click onto the lingerie section and show him some nice sexy sets you were thinking of buying. This would be a good excuse to bring up the pictures again in a jokey way. You could say "where are those pics anyway?" as though you want to see them again for the craic.
    When he discovers them missing from his photo folder, act shocked and panicked. If he has them in another file location, he will probably frantically search all areas he has them stored. And this is where you will discover for certain if he has them in another location that you might have missed.
    If he has, take the laptop on the pretence that you want to look at them then delete, and delete again from the bin.

The phone should be easy enough.
    Then you can unleash your fury.
    Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Moomoo1

I don't think just asking to use his laptop will work tbh, since he clearly knows that she's found out (hence not contacting for four days). So if he wants to keep them, then he will keep them where she won't find them, and the only way to get him to delete them is to ask him to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

I think Little Acorn has given you good advice there. Your main priority has correctly moved on from anger at him to ensuring that all the copies are gone and that, in a few months time you are not still worried about the pictures surfacing again.
    Of course it was a little silly to send him the photos but you have explained yourself there. I am a guy and honestly I wuld never have done that, and I thing that the majority of guys I have known over the years wouldnt.

You need to do whatever is necessary to erase the photos. He probably doesnt know thet you know. Hopefully you will be able to get over this pain and keep sufficiently cool to do the best job you can to ensure they are erased.

This is good advice, but I would be abit more sneaky about it, because if you go over confrontational then he might just point blank refuse, or else sneakily only delete one copy of the pics infront of you, whilst he already has a hidden copy elsewhere on the laptop.
    Go over all friendly, and make some excuse to ask can you use his laptop for a few mins. Pretend to be checking emails or a website whatever.
    Check in his picture folder yourself, and delete then delete them from the r bin.
    Do a file search with some key words like your name maybe, or "sexy pics", to see if he has the pics in other locations/folders in the computer.
    Before you do the file search, make sure that you have selected the "show hidden files" option.
    It is very simple and takes about 10 seconds. Here's how you do it:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Show-hidden-files

After doing this, -just incase you missed a file location on his laptop, I would do the following:

Maybe half an hour, or an hour or so of pretending like everything is fine say something like, "oh I forgot to check out that dress I was thinking of buying", ask can you use laptop again, log on to any highstreet store site, and pick a random top or dress and show him to see if he thinks it's nice or something.
    Then click onto the lingerie section and show him some nice sexy sets you were thinking of buying. This would be a good excuse to bring up the pictures again in a jokey way. You could say "where are those pics anyway?" as though you want to see them again for the craic.
    When he discovers them missing from his photo folder, act shocked and panicked. If he has them in another file location, he will probably frantically search all areas he has them stored. And this is where you will discover for certain if he has them in another location that you might have missed.
    If he has, take the laptop on the pretence that you want to look at them then delete, and delete again from the bin.

The phone should be easy enough.
    Then you can unleash your fury.
    Best of luck.

Brilliant!

Can I just say though, rather than wasting time deleting them from the folders then deleting them again from the recycle bin, just hold "shift" when you delete them first time round; it gets rid of things immediately rather than "recycling" them, which will save you time.

Oh, and OP, please don't take the advice of the poster above me by kicking him "square in the nuts". You'll only be stooping down to his knuckle-dragging level then, and you seem perfectly capable of coming out of this with your head held high and no longer with the burden of an obnoxious, childish boyfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

Hey everyone...

It doesn't show you or your private romantic relationship any respect that your personnel business and for him to display it to his friends well I wouldn't have him in my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭missgroovy21

he should not have shown them to anyone but the fact that he did is also kinda flattering i think....hes showing you off..."this is my gf" guys look at pics all the time....its not completely right when ur with someone but there you have it!!!...you cud always get your own back!!!! a public display of pic of him or maybe 2.....or even get some of ur friends maybe to say on fb (to wind him up) omg those pics of ur boyf were hot or whatever.....never realize he was such a hunk and 1 or 2 to say noty mean things but not completely nice either.....(no pics actually shown) see how he likes it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Moomoo1

he should not have shown them to anyone but the fact that he did is also kinda flattering i think....hes showing you off..."this is my gf" guys look at pics all the time....its not completely right when ur with someone but there you have it!!!...you cud always get your own back!!!! a public display of pic of him or maybe 2.....or even get some of ur friends maybe to say on fb (to wind him up) omg those pics of ur boyf were hot or whatever.....never realize he was such a hunk and 1 or 2 to say noty mean things but not completely nice either.....(no pics actually shown) see how he likes it!!!

problem is, as a guy he'd probably find that flattering... which would be the opposite reaction to the one she'd be looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

....hes showing you off..."this is my gf" guys look at pics all the time...

Do they? Funnily enough I have never seen the private pictures of my mate's girlfriends.. neither have I ever been inclined to "show my gf off" in that way or any other, because she's not an accessory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

prinz wrote: »
    Do they? Funnily enough I have never seen the private pictures of my mate's girlfriends.. neither have I ever been inclined to "show my gf off" in that way or any other, because she's not an accessory.

Well said! This is there private business between them, for me personally its a total invasion of my privacy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

It's a disgusting act of betrayal in my opinion and drink is no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

You could also ask to borrow his laptop for the night pretending yours is broken, then boom! Format harddrive! (Assuming he has nothing incredibly important on the laptop.) Then you can be sure they're gone. Unfortunatly a lot of people these days use websites like photo bucket to keep their pics, so if he did that there's not much you can do about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear