Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feeling brave enough to start a log.

• 28-06-2011 11:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭

So, I think I'm brave enough to start a log, after tackling a 60k spin by myself yesterday. Happy enough with how it went.

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/41002116

My stats are:
    Male
    21 years old
    A hair under 6"4
    100kg.

My current stallion is a rather old, poorly sized framed Trek 7.2FX belonged to my deceased grandfather. Ordered a Canyon Roadlite 7.0 last Friday, Canyon say they will ship it in 2 weeks.

I suppose atm my aim is the Rebel 150k An Post cycle in September and to lose some weight, which If I keep things up the way I'm going, I should be ok for... I hope :P

Going to take up a bit of running too. Went for my first this morning, happy with how that went too.

Nothing else to say really. Scrimping the pennies together for a helmet and some proper cycling wear atm.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

Went on the short but hilly(in my opinion at least) route today that got me into cycling for a spin with two buddies.

Still can't keep up with them (they are on racers), but got my fastest ever time, which surprised me, since my legs were quite stiff still after a 6.5k run yesterday.

Overall, quite happy

Going to go look at helmets today. Should be interesting, as my head is quite, quite large :P

EDIT: Forgot the runkeeper link.
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/41246116

Today's Distance: 18.32km

Weekly Distance: 78.80km

Was planning on taking a rest day either today or tomorrow, but then things came up for work which required me to be in Passage West today, so I went out for an easy enough spin. Mostly flat, with one big hill at the airport.

Tomorrow, over the course of the day, I need to be in Cork City, Inishannon, Cobh, and Midleton. I know I won't be able to cycle it all, but the temptation to save petrol is pretty strong! :P

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/41415695

Today's Distance: 38.83km

Week Distance: 117.63km.

Got a nice email from Runkeeper too, saying I have broken my personal cycling record for distance in a week :)

No cycle yesterday, but went for a 6.5km run instead. So much for resting. :P

Was going to rest today instead, but Im going to be drinking a couple of bottles of cheap cider (and god knows what else) tonight, and feeling guilty about it, so I hopped on my trusty stallion and battered out just short of 82 km. It brings my total for the week to 199.01km.

Definitely need to rest tomorrow and am pretty assured of one, as I'll feel like a dog :P, but I might pop out just to bring up the weekly figure to an even 200k :)

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/41683021

Goals for next week:
    -100k in one spin
    -200k+ for the week total

Today's Distance: 81.38km

Total Distance for Week: 199.01km

Goals for next week:
    -100k in one spin
    -200k+ for the week total

Had a rest day on Sunday, and was busy all day Monday, only got a run in, in the evening. Did 56.91k today. Time came in at 2.20 on my friends speedo. Can't rely on my time as I forgot to pause the timer when we stopped sometimes, and we had quite a lot of stops.

Very happy with how we started though, averaged 30kph+ for the first 25 minutes or so. Link: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/42048025

Bought a new Jersey, my first
    FDJ_Summer_Jersey-2T.jpg

No team affiliation or anything, I just thought it looked good. Will splash for shorts maybe next week.

New bike should be shipped next week. Can't wait for that

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭piobhan

Thats a lovely jersey, did it set ya back much!
    With the new Bike you should see a fair improvement,
    Fair play for getting the distances up too :)

piobhan wrote: »
    Thats a lovely jersey, did it set ya back much!
    With the new Bike you should see a fair improvement,
    Fair play for getting the distances up too :)

It was 60 from The Edge Superstore in Cork. Don't know if that's a good or bad price, didn't put much(any) research into them to be honest.

Fingers crossed I'll be a bit faster on the new bike alright, I have this little devil on my shoulder the entire time whispering into my ear that i have dropped a grand on a bike and will be just as slow :P

Today was a day of two firsts anyway. My first day doing both a run and a cycle, and my first tumble off my bike! Totally my own fault, on a cycle/footpath that was wet and crowded, took a corner too wide and too close to my friend in front, so I either had to come off myself, or risk both of us coming off. No damage done thankgod. Scratch on my knee, mud on my jersey, and most annoyingly crushed my banana i brought with me, 3k into a 32k cycle :mad::mad:

Overall the spin was ok. Between my fall, and one of the guys chain coming off twice, there was a fair bit of stopping, so the average speed is a bit down, but I still need to bring it up more. People here seem to be hitting ~28kph so thats my aim for the moment. I could feel the run in my legs today though, so I suppose that's an excuse. Weighed myself yesterday, and have dropped 1kg in the last two weeks, with a pretty shoddy diet, so needless to say I'm happy, and a lot more encouraged to work on what i eat.

Runkeeper link: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/42237871

Todays distance: 32.41km

Week Distance: 89.32km

Logged two activites on Runkeeper today. Mainly because my spin was in and out of college for a society meeting, so I didn't see the point in pausing it for like 2 hours.

Looking at the stats for both, and how I felt out there, I wonder why I bothered. It was blowing a gale, it was cold, drizzly, and I had been out for an 8.5k run, and hopped on the bike as soon as I got in to try and make the metting on time, so my legs were pretty wrecked. Needless to say, I hit awful average speeds. :/

Still, at least I got out. Looking at the weather forecast, I'm going to go to Mallow on back on Saturday for my 100k goal. It better be nice :D. Looking at my week total too, the Mallow spin will put me comfortable over the 200k mark.

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/42336536
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/42336542

Today's Distance: 37.31km

Week Distance: 126.63km

I think I'm going to have to report my first failure in the log. Its a real shame as I had such a good spin today :(

Had planned to go out today for 100k, but left it far too late so I had to settle for 60. But I'm pretty busy tomorrow, so I dont think I'll hit the 100k spin this week. I'll be lucky to make the 200k overall :/

On the plus side, the spin itself was great. I did it a full ten minutes faster this time than I did the last time, and an average speed I'm quite happy with it, particularly for a hybrid, so I'm really happy with that :)

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/42594946

Today's Distance: 60.48km

Overall Distance 187.11km

A short fast spin yesterday, just to get me over the 200k mark, so the week isn't a total failure :P

Ended up being quite happy with it. We do this spin quite regularly, as it is short but hilly, and I ended up knocking over a minute off my best time.

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/42741702

I feel I can get it under 46 before I get my new bike, so that's what I'm going to aim for. On the topic of new bike:
    Dear Killian O'Connell,

Your order is currently being processed and will be handed over to UPS within
    the next 48 hours. You will then receive a confirmation of dispatch from us by e-mail together
    with the tracking number of the consignment. The tracking number allows you to
    constantly monitor the status of the consignment via Internet.

With best wishes,
    The Canyon Team

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Distance: 18.35km

Week Distance: 205.46km

Thinking about the week ahead, My goals are going to be the following
    - 100k spin (actually do it this time)
    - 240k+ for the week
    - sub 46minutes for hilly loop mentioned above

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Congrats on the new acquisition. What one did you go for?

The roadlite 7.0

http://www.canyon.com/_en/roadbikes/bike.html?b=2106

Really looking forward to getting it. Its almost half the weight of my current trek!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,470 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The roadlite 7.0

http://www.canyon.com/_en/roadbikes/bike.html?b=2106

Really looking forward to getting it. Its almost half the weight of my current trek!

you'll love it.
    I've a 6.0 and it's great!

Good start to the week. Had intentions of doing ~50k, starting with the loop I want to get sub 46, but as I finished that loop and was passing my house, I ran into two girls I went to school/worked with that spent the last 6 months in Malta, then another guy I knew came along, so by the time I finished talking to all of them, I said I'd just pack it in.

Did the loop in 45:50 though. So I've already gotten one goal down! Overall distance was disappointing I guess, but I went for a fast paced run this morning too, so I guess that makes up for it <.<

Runkeeper link: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/42859119

Today's Distance: 18.35km

Week Distance: 18.35km

So just to update for the last two days. Like Monday, went out with the intention of doing ~50k, but as soon as I got onto the bike I could feel the previous two days fast loops as well as two fast runs that morning and the morning before in my legs, and I didnt want to push myself, so I did the same loop again, with a slight detour to add on 2k in an hour. Took it quite easy I must say. Although there was one extremely steep hill. Just wish I could get Runkeeper to tell me the grades of hills. :P

Runkeeper: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/43031156

Tuesday's Distance: 20.12km

Total Distance: 38.47km

Wednesday brought a new day, and an attempt to break one of my week goals and although my legs were still a little cranky, I had organised a long cycle with two friends, and picked the route myself, so there was no backing out. Made a batch of energy bars the night before, which turned out a treat (although they were a little sticky and you needed a drink with them). Obviously skipped on the run that morning, I'm not a machine. :D

Off we set: Carrigaline - Ballincollig - Ovens - Bandon - Kilbrittain - Ballinspittle - Kinsale - Belgooly - Riverstick - Carrigaline.

The weather was fantastic, which in a way worked against us as it was so damn warm. There was some serious hills though, and a couple of not so serious but bloddy long ones too. Over a kilometre climbing, but i suppose that's not all that much seeing as we did 100k distance. It seemed a lot worse though, I swear! Legs are really feeling it now.

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/43156844

Most important thing to take from this though, is that its me second weekly goal broken, and it's only Wednesday :D. Got a tracking number for my bike too. It's all getting too real! It's currently in
    Herne-Boernig, Germany 07/13/2011 11:16 P.M. Arrival Scan

Today's Distance: 104.84km

Week Distance: 143.31km

Only 100k left to meeting all three goals for the week!

EDIT: Also realised that my current bike is a 51cm frame. My new one is going to be 60cm (proper size) Im I damaging myself cycling the smaller bike?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Today was so hot for the long distance rides alright!

With regards to the frame size I was riding a smaller frame for myself last year and it was really hurting the middle of my back down!

Hot doesn't even begin to describe it. Haven't noticed any back pain, although my right wrist is quite sore atm.

So last week turned out to be a disaster. After the 100k on Wednesday, I did nothing for the rest of the week. No cycling, no running. Nada. Feel pretty guilty about it to be honest.

However, this week is a new week, and to kick it all off, on Monday, MY NEW BIKE CAME :D

I absolutely love it. Got the bike shop to assemble it, and I got a cheapo set of pedals and a water holder for it, to bring the entire cost including shipping to €1320. The lads in the shop were impressed with how light it was. Weighed it in work at 8.55kg, but i reckon that would come down a tad with better pedals. It came too late yesterday to take her out, so I went for a short spin around the 18k loop i have mentioned above a few times. Shaved a minute off my best time, but I can definitely go faster. Still really nervous going downhill, in terms of balance, and still getting used to the whole thing. By the end of the summer, I'd like to be pushing myself into sub 40m times of that loop. I also keep on forgetting to go around it with mapmyride, so I can get an idea of the hills.

My back got a little sore, but thats to be expected with the new position on the bike (plus the bike actually fits :P )

All in all I love it :)

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/43923581

10f15vp.jpg

59uiz6.jpg

Today's Distance 18.18km

• Registered Users Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭daragh_

Bike looks cool. Congrats!

You should get a proper set of pedal and shoes with cleats asap, will make a big difference. You'll get used to them in no time.

Is that a pie plate? :D

Im not sure what a pie plate is? <.<

So, I haven't been online much recently, kinda funny the way it conincided with my new bike. Rather than give a rundown of all the spins i have done (not all that much, disappointingly), i'll just list them here for anyone that is interested:

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/44098599 18.24k / 45m20s / 24.14km/h
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/44785265 18.22k / 41m05s / 26.61km/h
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/44917806 38.74k / 1hr30m59s / 25.55km/h
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/45592416 37.72k / 1hr39m17s / 22.80km/h *
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/45870185 18.16k / 41m42s / 26.12km/h
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/45960488 18.04k / 39m48s / 27.19km/h **
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/46133174 65.40k / 2hr30m36s / 26.05km/h ***
    http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/46229623 18.06k / 44m50s / 24.17km/h

So thats a total of 232.k8k in just under 3 weeks, to bring us up to last Monday, which I'll talk about later. First to comment on the 3 asterisked spins above.

* The first one, me and friend cycled into Cork City to have a bash off Patricks hill. He made it, I failed, just. I reckon if I had followed his suit at the start, and built up more speed at the bottom, I would have made it. What happened though, was I was going too slow for the level of slope, and the front of the bike was bucking up each time I pedaled, so I didn't want to risk coming off, or doing any damage etc.

**New personal best on the loop I normally do :D

*** First club spin. Went out on the beginners spin with a friend and three guys from the Carrigdhoun cycling club. Was extremely intimidated when I saw the gear they had/were in but in the end, I almost felt they were going too slow. I was chatting to one of them and they said, on the beginner spins, they just let the slowest dictate the pace, and one of them had celebrated his 50th the night before :P. I definitely felt like I could have gone a lot faster, and the people from the club described us as quite strong, so I'm happy with that. Will be going out with them again next wednesday, assuming I'm not working.

More to follow..

The reason for the double post, is I wanted to keep this separate. So this week, me and 3 friends set sail for the lovely Dingle on a cycling holiday. We didn't do any extreme mileage, but we covered almost 280k over four days, with 4,324m (according to runkeeper on my phone) of climbing.

Monday. http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/46774324

Started from the house in a townland called Ballydavid, and headed out on a loop on sleigh head. It was nice cycle, average weather. Highlighted the need for me to work on my climbing. The average speed is low, as this is recorded from my phone, so any breaks where I forgot/wasn't bothered to pause are included in the time + avg speed.

52.99km / 2hr18m43s / 22.92km/h / 743m climbed

Tuesday. http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/46958488

"Lets go on a long one!" we said. Started out around sleigh head again, big long loop with some fair hills. Absolutely cracking weather. Then, 90k in, tackle the connor pass, from what I am told is the hard side (not that the other side looked easy). The pass was easily the most physically demanding thing I have ever done.

117.81km / 4hr45m49s / 24.73km/h / 1952m climbed

Three of us by sleigh head. Im on the left
    251509_1981116740025_1606404578_32038348_6111748_n.jpg

The three guys I was with at the top of the pass
    281672_1981128500319_1606404578_32038375_4667315_n.jpg

Me at the top of the pass
    263357_1981130700374_1606404578_32038379_4146647_n.jpg

Wednesday. http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/47258755

Had a trip into Killarney to sort out an issue with one of the guys bikes, and by the time we got back, it was pretty late. Weather was awful, but we felt guilty not going out. So we suited up and went for a sprint cycle in the rain and absolute howling wind.

18.67km / 40m40s / 27.54km/h / 129m climbed

Thursday. http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/47258767

Feck whatever I said about the pass being the most physically demanding thing I have ever done. Let's do it again!. Weather was pretty crap too. We left out sleigh head this time, and aimed for a better pace. Weather was awful, and I was, no joke, a whisper away from being knocked off the cliff descending the pass, by someone in a 2011 grey golf. Words can't describe how terrified I was. They whizzed passed me, on a corner, in the fog, and pushed me onto a gravel patch, inches from the wall to a straight drop. I genuinely thought when I hit the gravel that I was finished, luckily, I managed to stay on the bike, and alive.

90.09km / 3hr41m56s / 24.35km/h 1500m climbed.

So a total of 280k in the four days. More than what I have done since I got my bike :P. going to stay on top of this time though. Got some great tanlines :P, and am starting to see proper muscle definition in my legs, so thats egging me on. Will put up goals for next week at the weekend, as I hope to get out then too

Got out yesterday for a nice spin. I was a little (read: a lot) hungover when I got up, but that eased off after I got onto the bike, and I ended up doing some great time/avg speed.

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/47603014

70.07km / 2hr28m31s / 28.31km/h / 901m climbed

Week Total distance: 349.63km

Week Total climb: 5225m

So I made a deal with my friend, that this time next year, we will both have taken part in, and won an A4 race. Should be interesting <.<. Judging from how the cycling in Dingle went during the week, Im ok for speed on the flat, definitely not ok on the hill. Need to lose weight, and get some more hills under my belt I guess. I've been reading this too, and it looks like I have a LOT of work to do. Joy. That's next year anyway, so I need to focus on what is a little closer to home. This week. Goals are:

Distance 300km
    Climb 2000m

http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/47922435

36.35km / 1hr23m43s / 26.04km/h / 795m climbed.

Nothing major today, want to get out for a run too, so didn't want to do anything too long. Going out with the club tomorrow. Finding it hard to shift the weight, mainly because of my diet. I have some great days, some awful...

Hopefully ordering an Edge 500 from evanscycles courtesy of the bargain thread :)

Didn't update during the week as I was having some issues with runkeeper. Got it sorted yesterday, but I said I'd wait till after the spin today and do a week update.

Wednesday: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/48246567

61.92km / 2hr10m0s / 28.58km/h / 250m climbed

Club spin. Pace was pretty slow and manageable till the last 5k or so, when me and two of the other lads sprinted off, didn't set runkeeper though, so I have no splits. Just got the time and distance from one of the others, which is annoying. I led the sprint for a good bit, and we dropped one halfway, and then on the final 500m stretch, there is a slight incline, and I couldn't hold the pace. Happy with the way I kept it until then. Did a very slow 10k or so earlier in the day with a friend of mine that just got a bike, forgot to set runkeeper, but it was nothing to write home about, so no loss.

Thursday: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/48463206

98.52km / 3hr33m10s / 27.73km/h / 798m climbed

On my own for most of it, picked up my buddy for the last 18k. Hit a wall just coming out of inishannon which slowed me down, and took a while to get over it. Need to remember to eat properly both before and during rides :P. Happy overall with the pace, considering everything.

Saturday: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/48540731

61.27km / 2hrs18m18s / 28.58km/h / 955m climbed

Kinda disappointed with the average speed in the end, thought I was going faster, certainly my legs felt like I was. There's a grade 4 climb in there according to strava. When I get my garmin I'll have a better idea of the kinds of climbing I'm doing.

Sunday: http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/48675824

65.81km / 3hrs2m21s / 21.65km/h / 1029m climbed

Disastrous average speed in comparison to the rest of the week. It was a beginner spin though, and we had two pretty new cyclists with us. That couple with me forgetting to pause runkeeper when we stop pretty much crippled the average. Very enjoyable though, was talking to a guy who did four stages of the RAS this year, as well as two stages of etape du tour, who gave me some pointers on good hills and whatever. Was able to make an excellent stab at keeping up with him going up the hills and on the few sprints we did though, so very happy with that. (Not sure if he was going full blast though, probably not :D ). He gave me some excellent route ideas for next week though, so I'm looking forward to it.

Got plenty of compliments on my strength when out with the club on Wednesday and Sunday, so I'm going to have a bash off the fast spin on Sunday. According to the website its 100-120k with a 30k+ average. Worst case scenario, I get dropped. Not the end of the world really. Plenty more people as well are coming up to me telling me to get cleats. Can't afford it atm though. Donations accepted! ;)

So overall for the week, did i reach my goals?

GOALS
    Distance: 300km
    Actual: 323.9km

Climbing: 2000m
    Actual: 3827m

Success!! Not too sure how accurate the climbing is to be honest, so I'll take it with a pinch of salt till I get my Garmin.

Gonna aim for more hills next week so:
    Goals wrote:
    Distance: 300k
    Climbing: 5000m
    Other: Get out on the bike 6 out of the 7 days.
    At least one 100k+ spin.

So this week I got sidetracked. I before summing it all up in this thread, I know i didn't meet my distance goal. Not sure about the climbing, but I sincerely doubt it.

So first things first.. I got a Garmin edge 500 :D. It's a great new toy, and im sure I'll find a lot of uses for it, however, the more accurate readings on climbs will destroy my climbing goals for the time being :P.

So here goes.

Monday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/48846828

62.99km / 2hr26m34s / 25.78km/h / 974m climbed.

Hadn't gotten the edge at this stage. Used my iPhone as always, so not entirely sure how accurate the climbing reading is. Can honestly say that my legs were having absolutely none of it, and I really struggled at times. I don't think I was tired or anything, possibly just my diet to blame.

Wednesday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/49294434

60.48km / 2hr7m12s / 28.53km/h / 490m climbed.

Did nothing bike related on Tuesday. Waited around all day for my edge to arrive, and went for a swim in the evening. Headed out with the beginner club spin on Wednesday then. Got a bollicking from one of the leaders about overlapping wheels with the guy in front of me. I thought I was supposed to fo it, as I'm sure I read it somewhere. Nevertheless, duly noted and I wont do it again :o. As regards pace, was fast overall, but only due to the big group we had (~15). Definitely felt like we could have gone faster on the way out. Three nice sprints on the way home too. Hit 55kp/h on one, which I was happy with, and actually won the third and final sprint, so happy with how that went.

Thursday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/49701333

18.27km / 42m27s / 25.82km/h / 271m climbed.

Should have done more really, but I didn't really feel like going out, and there was pretty serious thunder showers pouring down on. So I went out for a quick spin on the normal short loop I used to do all the time, only backwards, on the recommendation of the fella that was in the Rás. Hills are a lot steeper. Total climb is over 100m down on what it would be for doing the loop the other way around, tracking with my iPhone, which is disappointing to say the least.

Friday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/49701791

117.76km / 4hr23m18s / 26.83km/h 1053m climbed.

A long one to hit my goal of one 100k+ ride. Happy with the overall pace of it, particularly over the long distance. Had a couple of longish stops, which probably allowed me to go that bit faster overall. There was a nice descent coming into Timoleague, and another nice one coming out of it called Chapel Hill. Got a KOM on the hill according to strava, which wasn't hard as I am the only one to ride it, it seems. More on KOMs later. I see myself going down there again soon enough, despite Strava only deciding it was a cat 4 hill. :/. Got a little lost on some seriously back arse of no where country roads too, which would have had an effect on the avg speed. I was happy to get the distance in though, and I didn't feel too bad when I got home. From what I remember I had some good speed the entire way back from Bandon too (mainly because I was worried I'd be late for work:p ). Spin was 60metres off being my longest ever ride, which is kind of annoying, but what harm:).

Saturday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/49703466

22.28km / 50m47s / 26.32km/h / 111m climbed.

A friend of mine had just gotten back from Kenya, so we had plans of going out and doing 60kish. However about 7k in, the Kenyan cuisine was starting to catch up with him, and play havoc with his bowels, so we had a couple of slow sections and stops for him to massage his stomach. Eventually we had to turn back as it was obvious he wasn't able for it. Slightly disappointed, as I had been counting on this spin to knock me over the 300k mark. I'll let myself off though, seeing as I had the intention, and we did a bit of sprinting back, as well as the sprinting on Wednesday. Got held up by a combine harvester at one point too. Picture later.

Sunday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/49705736

18.24km / 42m26s / 25.70km/h / 273m climbed.

Just to round out the week really. Tried sprinting home into a headwind, felt some tightness in my thigh so I eased off a little, and I'll rest tomorrow I think. Don't want to risk injuring myself, as I'm doing a 33k cycle leg of the Musgraves Triathlon on Saturday.

So to compare the week to my goals:

Actual: 300.02km!!!!!!!!1

Must have made a mistake while adding the distances before I started writing this post, as I thought I hadn't made it. Nice morale boost now to know that I did :D

Climbing: 5000m
    Actual: 3172m

Figured I wasn't gonna make this. Didn't go and explore the hills I had planned too, and with the difference in readings between the Garmin and iPhone, I never really stood a chance.

Other: Get out on the bike 6 out of the 7 days.
    Rest Monday, Cycled Tuesday - Sunday. Goal completed

At least one 100k+ spin.
    Friday: 117km. Goal Completed

Goals went a lot better than I had been expecting. Quite happy now :). Next week:
    Goals wrote:
    Climbing 5000m
    At the very least, sub one hour in the tri cycle (easy course, so doable)
    At least one new KOM on strava(more on this later)

Okay so now the actual cycling details of my log are up, just a few other things I want to talk about. Not sure if anybody will continue reading this far, but it keeps me motivated if I write it, so bear with me.

Figured out how to export .gpx track from my runkeeper profile. So I uploaded the all the spins I did in August to strava. Came out with two KOM from the past month. Can be viewed here http://app.strava.com/athletes/129194/segments/leader . I even knocked a chap called Dave McCormack off the top on one of them, and having done some lurking on his profile, I feel it to be quite an achievement. :). If anyone from here knows him, or if he himself is on here, tell him watch out!:pac:.

On another note, whilst making this log, I have noticed some discrepancies this week between the the data on strava and runkeeper. Strava seems to be a little more understated on climbing and runkeeper seems to not recognise stops. It may have to do with the filetype .tcx Will try .gpx next week, see how that works out. If it still doesn't rectify, I'll guess I'll just use the the climbing data from strava, but still use runkeeper as my main profile. I just like how the site is laid out, and how it caters for the bit of running I do too.

Finally (i think), thread is worthless without pics! Here is my bike (if you can make it out, its so far away), by the castle in Timoleague

2uiw45h.jpg

And another of me and a friend getting stuck behind a combine harvester yesterday :)

309070_2010412432399_1606404578_32074907_1087287_n.jpg

Literally no idea what was going through my head when I set the goals last week. I had a hectic week coming up, which I knew in advance, and I also knew I'd be resting a bit out of nerves for the tri cycle on Saturday. Needless to say, this will lead to me being waaay off some of the targets...

Actual: 144.07km

Climbing 5000m
    Actual: 1284m

At the very least, sub one hour in the tri cycle (easy course, so doable)
    Actual: 59:56 including transition. Goal Achieved

Actual: 6th overall on Ballyfeard to Carrigaline

So as I said, basing off the goals, I only hit 1/4, which is kind of disappointing, but I'm not all that bothered by it, as I should have been more realistic with the goals. Breaking the week down into the rides:

Monday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/50845438

48.95km / 1h54m40s / 25.58km/h / 522m climbed

Went out with two friends, one of whom bought a a Felt Z85 a while back, and hasn't really used it. He was quite slow for a lot of it, and held us back an awful lot. Turns out his entire front break mechanism was loose and wobbling around, and the pads were rubbing off the wheel at times etc.:eek: Weird thing to happen on a 3 month old bike imo.

Wednesday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/50845029

62.16km / 2h19m42s / 26.70km/h / 492m climbed

Beginner club spin. Got a spanner thrown into the works when one of the lads, a 16y/o as it happens, was at the back of the group. His chain popped off, and he stopped to fix it, but never called it. Somehow anyway, he got left behind and it wasn't noticed for a couple of kilometres. The group split then, and half went back for him, another half went on. I was in the one that waited for him which took about 10-15 minutes at least to get him back. No harm done though. Learned as well, the fella who one the under 16 national TT championships last week is in our club..

Saturday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/50845278

32.97km / 59m56s / 33.01km/h / 270m climbed

The centerpiece of my week really. Was expecting it to be a bit better organised, given the entry fee (€1,000 per team :eek:, dont worry, I didn't pay it :P), but it was organised by Musgraves.. Anyway, the swimmers set off, whilst all of us cyclists mingled in the crowd of spectators, and basically, the rules were that as soon as you saw your swimmer get out of the water, you go. No one was enforcing this though, and although I stuck to the rule, not everyone did. I had bought a pair of shoes and cleats etc a few days previous, and expecting just a 33k cycle, I wore them to the event. I was not expecting 700m run, from the water, through some woods :P. It was interesting, to say the least. After we got to our bikes, we then had to WALK them to the road, in the interest of health and safety before we could cycle off. All that included though, I still did it in sub 1 hour, which I am extremely happy with.
    From what I gathered, our swimmer was 35th out of the water, I came in 9th (more of a joint 8th really, as I was chatting to him as we pulled in) off the bike, and our runner finished somewhere in the top 20 I believe. There was a guy around taking pictures, and he got a nice one of me and another guy coming in, which I hope will be put somewhere that I can see.

In other news over the week. I got a pair of Shimano R087s and some new pedals. I was expecting them to be a lot harder to click in and out than they are. I also researched into using a seat post clamped pannier for commuting to college. I don't think I can face going back to my trek :P If anyone would like to chip in with advice on that, I'm all ears :)

Total distance for August came to 1142km.

Goals for next week:

Gonna stick with the same from last week (minus the tri result)
    Goals wrote:
    Climbing 5000m

Failed again on in terms of goals, but overall pretty happy with how the week went..

Actual: 212.67km

Climbing 5000m
    Actual: 2432

At least one new KOM on strava
    1st on Viaduct Hill Descent (not technically a KOM :P)

Tuesday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/51966719

18.11 / 39m56s / 27.21km/h / 264m climbed

Was supposed to go out earlier with a friend of mine, but then he bailed, and by the time I got out by myself, the time pretty much limited what distance I could do. Happy with the sub 40 time though, particularly considering it was damn near blowing a gale out there.

Wednesday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/51966768

41.56km / 1hr35m01s / 26.24km/h / 489m climbed

Went up a new hill this time. It was tough enough. Will probably come back to it again. Other than that, nothing worth reporting.

Thursday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/51966841

72.37km / 2hr38m31s / 27.39km/h / 785m climbed

Certainly felt like the closest I have ever come to "bonking" as I have heard some people put it. Hadn't planned to stay out that long, so had no food with me. Found going up Donnybrook hill particularly tough. That said, the hill was bad enough as it was. Will definitely return to that. It's short, but quite steep.

Saturday http://runkeeper.com/user/killian1/activity/51966914

80.63km / 2h39m50s / 30.27km/h / 894m climbed

The rebel tour. Very happy with how it went. Did it with a friend and ended up being the first two in from the 80k, according to the people at registration anyway. Wind was horrendous, particularly near Garretstown and the stretch between fivemilebridge and ballinhassig. Didn't stop at any of the stops, so can't comment on them, although I was hoping for a little bit more than a cookie and a drink when we got back to CIT. Really like the jersey though, and am more than happy to have paid €40 to take part.

Aside from cycling this week, I didn't do any running but I went swimming Monday - Thursday morning. Seeing slight signs of improvement, but nothing that warrants jumping for joy. Tried registering for the humpty dumpty duathlon in Kenmare, but it the site froze as I tried to pay. Not sure if my registration went through, so i'll wait a couple of days, and if not I'll try again/ring them or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 thedandoon

Nice bike, looks very good value! Is it ultegra groupset? Trek 2.1 for similar bucks has 105 groupset.
    Well done on the training btw, I'd love to be getting in more distance into mine:cool:, keep it up!

Yeah, its the ultegra set, although to be honest, from what I have read, there is little difference between the new 105 and Ultegra. The Trek 2.1 isn't a full 105 though ;)

Thanks for the encouragement, although my distances are waning atm, full time work this week, college starting again on Monday, and the shorter evenings make it a bit tougher to get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 thedandoon

Hi how's yr training going?
    I ended up blowing my budget and bought a Trek Madone!
    Delighted with my purchase but between football training and monsoon type rain I've got no proper long run out yet:(

thedandoon wrote: »
    Hi how's yr training going?
    I ended up blowing my budget and bought a Trek Madone!
    Delighted with my purchase but between football training and monsoon type rain I've got no proper long run out yet:(

Have you been getting out much?

Long time since I have updated this, and to be honest, not a whole lot to report.

Did the tour of the knockmealdowns out by Fermoy a while back. Thoroughly enjoyed it, but got stuck in with a fast group on the way back, which at the time wasn't too enjoyable.

Had my first proper fall. Was coming down a hill, not sure what happened and before I knew it I was sliding on my arse out into the middle of the road (luckily the van behind me was giving me a wide berth). The fella in the van helped me up and dropped me to work(where I was going) where I hobbled in, carrying my poor bike. Brought it to the bike shop the next day, no major damage, just some pretty serious superficial damage :/. Still though, could have been an awful lot worse.

Other than that, I have struggled to make it out with college and work. Made it up Patricks hill in Cork City today though, which was a nice achievement. Going to have to try and make more of a commitment to getting out on the bike.

Have been doing some running and swimming too, going to aim to do a sprint tri next year I think, maybe a longer one.. Need to get some swimming lessons to work on my technique though.