Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Copa America 2011 (1st- 24th July)

• 27-06-2011 12:55pm
    Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭

copaamerica.jpg

*Costa Rica U21's replace Japan

Argentina are favourites, home advantage and a more settled team than say Brazil. The forwards called up for Argentina is frankly take the piss. They include
    Forwards: Lionel Messi, Angel Di María, Sergio Agüero, Carlos Tevez, Ezequiel Lavezzi, Gonzalo Higuaín, Diego Milito
    Di Maria and Lavezzi look set to partner Messi who'll play in his usual Barca role, as a false number 9.

The midfield much like their attack is ridiculously good too - Mascherano, Banega, Pastore <3, Valeri (*one to watch if he does feature!) and Cambassio.

The defence is their weakness though IMO, and is lacking especially in terms of what it can provide to the attack.

Brazil don't look at it as a unit and haven't done so for some time now. Results wise they've been a mixed bag, performance wise especially have been well below expected standards. They are second favourites based on name alone I feel and the hype of certain players where others are more important but do not get the praise they deserve such as Ganso who was MOTM in the Copa Libertadores final a few days ago for me. It might magically click for this, but I'm not convinced. They should be looking at reaching the final but I think there is one country that are ahead of them when taking in every factor, not just individual talent.

Uruguay for me, are the ones to have your money on IMO if not the favourites of course. Their squad is very well balanced, organised in every position and with an attack that consists of youngster Lodeiro and the more established players like Suarez, Cavani and Forlan you have to fancy them to do well.

Chile have the squad to do very well in this(semi final place) but the one thing they miss from a year is ago is their coach, Marcelo Bisela who stepped down as national team coach earlier this year due to internal disputes with those at the Chilean FA. This is where my doubt in them comes into play. Bisela is great tactician but a great man manager too. A lot will depend on how Sanchez performs as well as the midfield partnership of Vidal and Fernandez dictating play.

Paraguay. Wow, where to start haha. Just have to state that betting wise, under 3 goals in every match they play in for the most part be it in Copa America or in future because they're ridiculously well drilled defensively. A lot of workhorses in that midfield of theirs too. There is one creative player who not many will know much about who he should(!) be playing in Europe but isn't for whatever reason , and that's Victor Caceres. Very intelligent creative footballer. Their attack is bizarre in the sense that Santa Cruz who I do not rate, starts. For me it'd be Valdez supporting Barrios, the Dortmund frontman spear heading the attack. But that isn't the case. For those who don't know, Cordozo wont feature as he's been sent home.

Columbia have a very good starting XI on paper but it never clicks seemingly for them. 39 goal last season, Europa League top goalscorer and quadruple winner Falcao is the one name that really stands out. Club teammate Guarin is another who big things are expected after his wonderful season for Porto too. Wigan's Rodellega is a name familiar with most at this stage. Gutierrez was top goalscorer in Argentina last season. Seria A players Zapata and Yepes will more than likely partner in defence. So the spine of the team is strong really but as I eluded to, they are consistently inconsistent!

Ecuador will have the likes of the very impressive Caicedo, who was a revelation in La Liga last season after failing to establish himself at Man City. Man U fans can look forward to seeing Valencia star for the national team also. A lot depends on these two players, rest of their squad is based in Ecuador if not around the rest of South America. I don't see them getting up to much, but I look forward to seeing how these two players get on nonetheless.

Lastly are Mexico out of the notable names, not rmuch to be said about them due to the fact that it'll be an u23 squad playing. NOT the main senior squad.

Group fixtures -

10qvwqo.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Will be following the Argies as herself is from B.A (a very upset River fan), will the 'stars' Messi, Tevez etc all play ? ,....it is the full squad basically ?

I heard Tevez had dropped out of the side due to some arguments with the coach or something along those lines.

Will be getting EPSN in to follow this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

That Argentina front 7 is just unreal.

/ Drool.

I'd love to see Higuain start with Tevez and Messi palying off him but there not exactly stuck for options. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

12/1 for Uruguay :eek: Take them E/W and it's 3/1 for them to get to the final - well worth a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Setanta are showing this too. Does that mean that the ESPN feed will be blocked in Ireland the same way they block out the Europa league games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,651 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Why were Japan invited in the first place? So strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Why were Japan invited in the first place? So strange.

Pay 1 or 2 million for the privilege and it helps them play a higher standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

gavredking wrote: »
    That Argentina front 7 is just unreal.

/ Drool.

I'd love to see Higuain start with Tevez and Messi palying off him but there not exactly stuck for options. :P

Pity at international level lately, especially with the players they have, they've been very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

YouTube will be streaming the entire tournament live to 50 countries;
    Live Soccer on YouTube: the 2011 Copa America Tournament

The beautiful game, as played by some of the world's best players, is coming to YouTube this summer.

Streamed to more than 50 countries around the world, the 2011 Copa America - the South American national soccer tournament that comes around every 4 years - will be broadcast live from Argentina on YouTube, July 1 - 24. Arguably the most important global sporting event of the year, the 2011 Copa will feature the 10 South American national teams and two guest teams, Mexico and Costa Rica, battling for continental soccer supremacy.

On the Copa America channel at youtube.com/copaamerica, soccer fans will have access to all 26 matches including pool play, semi-finals, quarter-finals and the championship match, live streaming as they happen with exclusive-to-YouTube commentary, as well as a highlights from all the matches, goal compilations, full-game uploads and more.

Taking place across eight Argentine host cities, this year's tournament will prominently feature Brazil and Argentina, soccer-mad nations who have won seven of the 19 FIFA World Cups and are talent factories of the best players in the world. Uruguay, Paraguay and Mexico are also stalwarts of the international soccer landscape, with an enviable pool of young talents. The list of players expected to compete is an all-star roster representing household-name professional teams, including Diego Milito (Argentina, Inter Milan), Robinho (Brazil, AC Milan), Diego Forlan (Uruguay, Athletico Madrid), and dozens more world class footballers.

Not to mention the player Argentines call "la pulga" ("the flea') - Lionel Messi. Messi is the two-time FIFA Player of the Year who has a list of honors and trophies, including this year's UEFA Champions League title. He is still only 23 years old (!) and looking to add a Copa to his résumé.

The three week competition starts on July 1, with Messi and Argentina meeting Bolivia in La Plata. To whet your appetite for great soccer, starting today on www.youtube.com/copaamerica you can find video from past tournaments, including great goals from the 2007 edition.

Precise touch passing, perfectly-weighted crosses, ball-glued-to-the-foot dribbling, artistic creativity and flair, thumping mid-air collisions, astonishing displays of speed and skill, and likely some controversial moments: all facets of the planet's most popular sport will be on display on Copa America 2011 on YouTube: don't miss it!

Link

EDIT: I'm not sure if this will be available in Ireland, but it will be streamed to 50 countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Looking forward to this. Nice preview Adnan. I thought I read a while back that Tevez wasn't brought as the manager said he had more suitable players? Did that change or am I imagining things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

T-b0n3 wrote: »
    Looking forward to this. Nice preview Adnan. I thought I read a while back that Tevez wasn't brought as the manager said he had more suitable players? Did that change or am I imagining things?

Seems to have changed.

Heres a list of the squads on wiki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Was waiting for you to throw up a preview Ade :D

Absolutely cannot wait for this to kick off, Uruguay definitely look like the dark horse of the tournament, I can see them going all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Certainly not looking good for Mexico anymore, there at to suspending 8 of there players for a serious breach of conduct. all players involved have been suspended for 6 months:eek:.
    http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/28062011/58/copa-rica-mexico-suspend-eight-players.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Certainly not looking good for Mexico anymore, there at to suspending 8 of there players for a serious breach of conduct. all players involved have been suspended for 6 months:eek:.
    http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/28062011/58/copa-rica-mexico-suspend-eight-players.html

jaysis it be the their under 10s playing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Crap! I was looking forward to getting home to Ireland and watching a lot of football, but since Setanta have the rights it'll be blocked out on ESPN! Sh*t!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Crap! I was looking forward to getting home to Ireland and watching a lot of football, but since Setanta have the rights it'll be blocked out on ESPN! Sh*t!

And just to rub salt in your wound it seems Ireland & UK are not part of the 50 countries that YouTube will be streaming live to! They are only streaming to nations that do not have a host TV broadcaster for the tournament.

Link . Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Really looking forward to watching Brazil's continuing development under Menezes and especially seeing how he will fit Ganso into his system.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/copa-america-brazil-squad-preview-2301835.html

Haven't seen Brazil's recent friendlies but I presume Pato has now inherited the role from Fabiano as main striker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭VW 1

So will these games be shown on setanta? or espn? or neither!?

VW 1 wrote: »
    So will these games be shown on setanta? or espn? or neither!?

Setanta (Ireland) in Ireland and ESPN in the UK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Rumour is that Tevez now starts ahead of Di Maria, so Tevez Messi Lavezzi up front. Seriously industrious front line , and gives the best balance to the team imo.

Chile v Uruguay def the best game in the group stages. Can see Vidal being the man that surprises a lot as a player many haven't seen much of and get a big move off the back of a good campeign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Lookign forward to this!!

EDIT - I've found out now :)

http://tv.espn.co.uk/oo/espl/tv-schedule/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭superfrank

Forlan top Goalscorer @ 16/1 is not bad....Its him or Neymar for me who is 9/1 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Anywhere I can see a list of the ESPN vs Setanta game coverage?

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

T-b0n3 wrote: »

That did happen. They apparently had clear the air talks a month ago and all is supposedly dandy. Fan pressure was more the reason he's back in the side though. Tevez apparently has impressed Batista since returning to the national side, so much so he is starting in the opening game.

Batista announced his starting XI for the game v Bolivia later on -

Tevez starts*
    Romero, Zanetti, Burdisso, G. Milito, Rojo, Banega, Mascherano, Cambiasso, Lavezzi, Messi, Tevez.

Zanetti aside, not impressed with the back four. Burdisso is a ticking time bomb, always has and always will be one. Gabi Milito is a shadow of his former self. Roja isn't really experienced at this level and this is his first major tournament, 4 appearances for the national side up to now.

Nonetheless, Argentina should win comfortably as Bolivia are frankly terrible.
    They haven't won a match since 2009! Last away win was back in 2007 :pac: Mexico, Paraguay and Panama all recently have beaten them.

Despite the Argie defence, the rest of the team is pretty decent :D and with home support behind them you have to fancy them win by a couple of goals at the very least.

Decent little accumulator for the first round of games lads. Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Colombia, Chile and Uruguay all to win, 7/1. What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Milito and Burdisso in defence... oh dear. Milito has been worse than terrible this season for Barça. Team and tactic wise? looks like the ol' we'll score more than you do way. Will be fantastic to see their front three linking up.

And good to see Zanetti and Cambiasso back too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

So the only way to see this in Ireland will be to subscribe to Setanta then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

MrStuffins wrote: »
    So the only way to see this in Ireland will be to subscribe to Setanta then?

cough "vpn" cough..

I don't know about that Argentinian midfield either tbh. It's very destroyer orientated, Banega will link up well with powerful runs, but none of those players would be well known for dictating the pace of a game using their passing. I can see them yet again over relying on Messi and using him to create most of their goal scoring opportunities. Those forwards won't offer too much width either, and I can't see Zanetti constantly sprinting the touch lines. Those central defenders are going to get raped by a team who can counter attack quickly.

Disappointed with that Argie side to be honest, hope I'm proved wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,573 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Is Otamendi not in the Argentina squad? Figured he would be a cert to start if he is.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Where can I get the list of countries showing it on YouTube?

What a load of bollocks. I'm cancelling ESPN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

eZe^ wrote: »
    I don't know about that Argentinian midfield either tbh. It's very destroyer orientated, Banega will link up well with powerful runs, but none of those players would be well known for dictating the pace of a game using their passing. I can see them yet again over relying on Messi and using him to create most of their goal scoring opportunities. Those forwards won't offer too much width either, and I can't see Zanetti constantly sprinting the touch lines. Those central defenders are going to get raped by a team who can counter attack quickly.

Lavezzi can play wide position very well, would have went for lavezzi Messi Di Maria myself but he's obv opted for the players with the best attitude and work rate so they can press high up the pitch like Barca.

Prob would have had Pastore in midfield for a bit of added flair but I think he's very wary of weakness in defence thus having two defensively minded midfielders to cover. Team is pretty well balanced imo but relies heavily on Banega to perform.

Paully D wrote: »
    Decent little accumulator for the first round of games lads. Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Colombia, Chile and Uruguay all to win, 7/1. What do you think?

If you follow the gambling forum, you'll know my opinion on them. Just be weary is all I'll say here.

Banega will be massively important. Still think the midfield will be enough to see them reach the final. As for the wings, Di Maria and Higuain if called upon can do a job. Lavezzi to will offer an outlet ball at times. Rojo is an attacking full back so will provide width also on the left side.
    Frisbee wrote: »
    Is Otamendi not in the Argentina squad? Figured he would be a cert to start if he is.

He's never really impressed for the national side, but for me, he'd be in the starting XI everytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Bodhisopha wrote: »

Why? Game is on ESPN Live tonight! :confused:

Bodhisopha wrote: »

ESPN have every match live?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Setanta also have it so we can't watch it on ESPN. It's been cancelled in my house aswell. 144€ a year for something we barely use

So even though the sky guide says they are showing it, Irish viewers can only watch it on Setanta? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Lastly are Mexico out of the notable names, not rmuch to be said about them due to the fact that it'll be an u23 squad playing. NOT the main senior squad.

Why is this the case, I would assume that this Tournament is more prestigious than the Gold Cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭VW 1

smokedeels wrote: »
    Why is this the case, I would assume that this Tournament is more prestigious than the Gold Cup?

They used their senior squad in the gold cup for whatever reason, as well as sending thre u23 squad there are also 8 players suspended, not certain if they were due to feature in the copa though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

smokedeels wrote: »
    The Copa America is governed by a confederation that isn't their own which hands out 2 invites every year to non CONMEBOL nations.

CONCACAF permitted Mexico to accept the invitation on the basis that they send their Olympic team so it wouldn't interfere with their own Gold Cup.

Makes sense tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

S.M.B. wrote: »
    The Copa America is governed by a confederation that isn't their own which hands out 2 invites every year to non CONMEBOL nations.

CONCACAF permitted Mexico to accept the invitation on the basis that they send their Olympic team so it wouldn't interfere with their own Gold Cup.

Makes sense tbh.

Makes total sense, I didn’t know about the difference with the confederations. Cheers.

So even though the sky guide says they are showing it, Irish viewers can only watch it on Setanta? :confused:

I'm not sure but i think so, yes.

That's what they did with Europa league but they did show some Serie A games that were also live on Setanta. I guess just wait and see.

There'll be loads of streams listed from about 10pm on this site lads:

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=121507&part=sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Setanta Ireland showing opening ceremony at 1.05am followed by Argentina v Bolivia live.

ESPN available here http://mypremium.tv/ or here http://myiplayer.com/home.php

Games also available FTA on German tv, DSF are showing a lot of them.Pretty easy to pick up,time to move ye're dishes (as a bonus, the Haye v Klitschko fight is also FTA on German tv)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Ok so I as I cancelled my ESPN and Sky Sports for the summer months, decided Id get ESPN back for the Copa America if theywere broadcasting it over here, so rang Sky bunch of useless fcukers got transferred four times none of them able to let me know, then got told is it ok if I let you go Sir and ill gofind out and ring you back in twenty minutes that was over an hour ago:mad:.

If anyone knows if it definetly being broadcast on ESPN please let us know thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Lineups for Argentina vs Bolivia...

Romero
    Zanetti --- Milito --- Burdisso --- Rojo
    ---- Mascherano --- Cambiasso

Banega
    ---- Tevez ---- Messi ---- Lavezzi ---

Arias
    Alvarez --- Rivero --- Raldes -- Gutierrez
    Campos - Flores -- Vaca
    Robles
    Rojas

Moreno

Only familiar with Moreno in the Bolivia lineup - anyone special there we should look out for?

Vokes wrote: »

Arias
    Alvarez --- Rivero --- Raldes -- Gutierrez
    Campos - Flores -- Vaca
    Robles
    Rojas

Moreno

Only familiar with Moreno in the Bolivia lineup - anyone special there we should look out for?

I know my South American fairly well but like you, Shaktar's Moreno is the only one I know anything about... and that's the fact he plays for the Ukrainian champions :pac:

Really good promo for the tournament to get ya's in the mood :)