Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, I just rang work and told them I wouldn't be in

• 27-06-2011 8:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

As the title suggests, I have just given myself a day off.

I didnt say I was sick, I just told them I'm not coming in (nothing to do with the 13 hours of guinness consumption, partial sunstroke and possibly a touch of foodpoisoning)

Now you'll have to understand that this is my very first time ever to do this, and it feels weird. The only other times I've missed work was if i was sick or had a very good reason.

So AH, I've got two discussion points for you:

1- Do you pull sickies often? and what excuse do you throw at them?

6- What do you do on your sickie days? Im bored already, i'd nearly go into work except i'd look like a d1ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Homes under the hammer should be starting in a minute, so that will keep you busy for an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

start off on the right hand and have a good FaP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I told my boss I didn't want to work Friday, Boss told me that was fair enough (I've been working 10-13 hours everyday for the past 4 months and spent more than a few weekends in the office).

I watched TV, went online etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

You're a public servant aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

sollar wrote: »

What the fu€k has that got to do with the price of turnips, other than get a sly dig in???

You are clearly flat out in work if you have time to post on boards....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Snooze
    Fap
    This Morning
    Fap
    Loose Women
    Fap
    Snooze
    Gym
    Fap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

First rule of pulling a sickie is don't advertise it online.

I've never pulled one, I feel guilty enough when I am sick when ringing in sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

Jeremy Kyle is starting now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

You went drinking a heap of Guinness on a Sunday. This is just the start of a downward spiral. In a fortnight you'll be passed out on the floor of some dingy bookmaker's on a Wednesday morning with half a bottle of gin and smelling of piss OP. I hope you're happy with your choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

booked a week holiday and the manager wouldn't give it to me so just went to the college doctor and she gave me a note sayin i sprained my hand. manager wasn't happy at all at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

One of my old employers actually stopped paying sick pay altogether, because they got so pissed of after getting too many Monday morning phonecalls from "sick" employees. Even dead people used to come to work after that because they couldn't afford to stay at home.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

First rule of pulling a sickie is don't advertise it online.

I feared that alright,

I dont think it would be a problem though, as I have a good relationship with my work, I have many unused holiday hours, I have not missed a single day this year, and I did not say I was sick, they also know I'm fond of beer so they'll be glad im not in there stinkin' up the place :pac:

Oh and i'm not a public servant, not that it makes a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

You went drinking a heap of Guinness on a Sunday. This is just the start of a downward spiral. In a fortnight you'll be passed out on the floor of some dingy bookmaker's on a Wednesday morning with half a bottle of gin and smelling of piss OP. I hope you're happy with your choice.

Sure that is their day job anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

I pulled a sickie in my last job, would have been easier to go in and work the day instead of being worried about getting caught and have to invent an illness. I'm so goodie two shoes when it comes to things like that.

I'm sure they will ask you why you couldn't come in today, I doubt saying that you just didn't feel like it will wash too well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Go make something of yourself, mow the lawn.... mow my lawn.

I pulled a sickie in my last job, would have been easier to go in and work the day instead of being worried about getting caught and have to invent an illness. I'm so goodie two shoes when it comes to things like that.

I'm sure they will ask you why you couldn't come in today, I doubt saying that you just didn't feel like it will wash too well.

They wont need to ask, they'll know its beer related, and since they're sound - they wont care. When i phoned in, my superior had a chat with me about the weekends football, pretty much stopped short of asking me what time i got home at.

I would also be a goodie-two-shoes about things like this, as i said this is my first time to do it, I don't agree with people faking sickness to have "duvet days", as you can see I am up early, and i plan to have a very productive day.

also calling in sick is the gateway drug to heroin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Jeremy Kyle is starting now

Actually started at 9.25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

my guess is your work will deduct it from your holidays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

6- What do you do on your sickie days? Im bored already, i'd nearly go into work except i'd look like a d1ck.

1- Had a boss with a whole book full of excuses. Tyres/servicing, kids dental appointments, meetings with suppliers, death of a relative, etc...

6- Go for a drive. Dundalk to Virginia is twisty enough. You get to have lunch by lough Ramor for a finish. Or post on boards.......... as a troll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

They wont need to ask, they'll know its beer related, and since they're sound - they wont care. When i phoned in, my superior had a chat with me about the weekends football, pretty much stopped short of asking me what time i got home at.

I would also be a goodie-two-shoes about things like this, as i said this is my first time to do it, I don't agree with people faking sickness to have "duvet days", as you can see I am up early, and i plan to have a very productive day.

Nice one, not many employers would be ok with that. Any jobs going at your place :P

For what to do....
    1 ) Download porn and have sex with yourself.

2 ) Lunchtime drinking is also fun. Sport of kings.

I'm guessing you are planning on number 2 already.

Nice one, not many employers would be ok with that. Any jobs going at your place :P

Ha knowing my luck, possibly mine :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

As the title suggests, I have just given myself a day off.

I didnt say I was sick, I just told them I'm not coming in (nothing to do with the 13 hours of guinness consumption, partial sunstroke and possibly a touch of foodpoisoning)

Now you'll have to understand that this is my very first time ever to do this, and it feels weird. The only other times I've missed work was if i was sick or had a very good reason.

So AH, I've got two discussion points for you:

Disgraceful
    Fortunate to have a job
    Economic Downturn
    Mass Emigration
    All those who kill for a job
    Fortunate to have a job
    No recession in that house
    Super Sunday
    Fortunate to have a job
    Fap
    Disgraceful
    Sure it's only the craic
    Alcoholism ruining Ireland
    Typical Irish
    Blast them with bed sheets
    Fortunate to have a job
    Banned

This is twenty pages of this thread condensed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Miss Fluff wrote: »
    Snooze
    Loose Women
    Fap

After watching those harpies on Loose Women it'll be a good six or seven hours before he can even think about pleasures of the flesh without feeling sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

bryaner wrote: »
    Actually started at 9.25
    Are you watching the ITV one, I was watching TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭kingelmo

Rang in sick last monday morning.. was feeling "a bit off", not from drink or anything just wasnt feeling great but i actually felt guilty when i rang in to say i would not be in..

Was a tad worse on tuesday so rang again and said i wouldnt be in..

Felt guilty on wednesday so i went to work although i still felt like crap.. went home sick at 11am ha happy out.. bed for the rest of the day!!

And i took the rest of the week off....

BTW MORNING TV is really realy bad!!!! save yourself just go back to sleep!!

From 1pm it picks up a bit!! i actually got used of daytime tv!! I MISS IT!!

Got addicted to Masterchef Austrailia on RTE 1 around half 3!! The final is on today- wanna watch it for me and tell me who wins??:D Should of pulled another sickie just to see it!!;)

Bar from being actually sick, i dont really pull 'sickies'!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Day off = Watching mindless bullshit on tv from 8am to 11pm.

Also if you're bored, try getting very worked up about Jeremy Kyle. Either direct your anger at him or at the people on the show. As long as you make a lotta noise and break a few things you should have a bit a craic! Also throw in a couple of "STICK SOMETHING ON THE END OF IT"s for added laughs. :pac:

And as your sleeping..."That was a very productive day...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Oranage2 wrote: »
    booked a week holiday and the manager wouldn't give it to me so just went to the college doctor and she gave me a note sayin i sprained my hand. manager wasn't happy at all at all!

Way to suck up to your manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Had a guy ring in sick yesterday as he had 'a very, very bad flu'.

He's in work today looking fine. People should really learn the difference between a bad flu and a head cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Had a guy ring in sick yesterday as he had 'a very, very bad flu'.

He's in work today looking fine. People should really learn the difference between a bad flu and a head cold.

I bet you'll remember this come bonus time, won't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Couldn't be ar*ed to come in should be a valid excuse to miss work. Give everyone a certain amount of these days every year.
    Watch what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

For some reason, my manager never seems to mind when i just don't show up.

<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

syklops wrote: »
    I bet you'll remember this come bonus time, won't you?

It's guys like this who are annoyed and cannot figure out why they get 0% pay raises year on year.

Personally, unless there is something properly wrong with you , I think missing any more than 1 day every couple of years is a disgrace. Days off for head colds and minor sickness is just laziness.

syklops wrote: »
    Oranage2 wrote: »

Way to suck up to your manager.

i was only working in a supermarket at the time so couldn't care less really and it was for the champions league final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

It's guys like this who are annoyed and cannot figure out why they get 0% pay raises year on year.

Personally, unless there is something properly wrong with you , I think missing any more than 1 day every couple of years is a disgrace. Days off for head colds and minor sickness is just laziness.

But what about the fcuker that comes in snottering and sneezing over everyone and then proceeds to infect the whole crew, pretty counter productive too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Some of the best days of my life were all down to pulling sickies. I also believe that my friend would not have been sacked from his job, he rolled in reeking of booze one day, I told him just to call sickie and he didn't listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Have been sick for just over 2 weeks now. Took 2 days off and worked from home last Thursday and Friday. Had bad tonsilitis which spread an infection down my throat and into my chest. Got so bad at one point last week that I went to the doctor because I felt like I couldn't breath.

Got a doctors cert but still felt guilty about the time off from the week before so worked from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I've had the odd head cold that would clear up in a day too, I still went into work but it's horrible for everyone in the office and I was not in anyway productive.

I would've preferred to stay at home and I'm sure everyone else would've preferred it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

I have 4 days leave per year under the title of "Duvet Days" which means that you have 4 days a year where its ok to have a hangover, not be arsed or whatever.
    Thats on top of 21 days annual leave so it really works out as 25 days annual leave but you cant book off the 4 in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Buy a school uniform and go on the bounce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭brendan_donegal

1. You are a public servant or you wouldn't have got so agressive.
    2. You should feel bad, plently people out there would love to have a job.

Seriously people, you really need to cop on and join the real world. Grrrr

1. You are a public servant or you wouldn't have got so agressive.
    2. You should feel bad, plently people out there would love to have a job.

Seriously people, you really need to cop on and join the real world. Grrrr

he does live in the world, he took one day off, sounds like you take 365 days off so maybe you should cop on and join the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭bikerjohn

sollar wrote: »
    your a prick aren't you? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

First rule of pulling sickies, never pull one on a Monday. Now your work know you are a lightweight pisshead.

You're probably as well off to take tomorrow of as well, they'll be more convinced you are actually sick.

Welcome to the dire world of Morning TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Ive only pulled a fake sickie once. I stayed in my mates gaff and was hungover.

First rule of pulling sickies, never pull one on a Monday. Now your work know you are a lightweight pisshead.

You're probably as well off to take tomorrow of as well, they'll be more convinced you are actually sick.

That is the other first rule....Mondays and Fridays never look great. Two days usually doesn't need a doctors cert....speaking of which, friendly doctors are a godsend. You can pack in a full week of Ireland AM. After that, you will never pull a sickie again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

just say to them that it is a Force majeure