Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Sick Notes

• 26-06-2011 10:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭

So how easy is it to get sick notes from a GP for things like work or exams, etc?

What kind of excuses do people come up with? Just wondering how do GPs generally react to things like stress or panic attacks and similar conditions that can be difficult to prove or disprove and how common it is for people to do this.

I'm not looking for one myself but I often remember in my college days that there were always those that seemed to get away with this sorta craic a lot. I know it can be genuine sometimes but you would have to question the authenticity of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I know of one GP who makes it so easy that he's known as Doc Holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

It's pretty easy, once they get their consultation fee they will usually write any old nonsense on the note for you. My advice is that if a doctor won't give you one (and you are not taking the piss by going in every second week looking for one) then tell them either they write or you take your business elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

My doctor was very good that one time i needed a note for work. Told him what was wrong and he said no bother. Think it costs 15 euro for a sick note so they are making money out of it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

used to work with a guy whose wife was a doctor
    he had no problems getting sick notes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Are you trying to get sick, BTY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Floodric

When I was in school the dentist would offer for a note for the rest of the day off even if there was no reason I should take it off. He was cool

I'd say doctors look at it the way garda look at stamping "off the road" tax forms. They know youre lying and trying to get away with it, but do it regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

tell them either they write or you take your business elsewhere.

It's entirely down to the doctor, their diagnosis or their own personal prerogative. Some docs are note happy for the same reason that antibiotics are consumed like minerals in this country. People don't feel like they're "getting their money's worth" from the GP unless they come away with a fistful of pills or confirmation of an illness. GP's who write sick notes for every patient through the door know that it'll help them retain that person on their list.

My own grandad has a monthly prescription for a virtual chemist's worth of medicines. He writes a list of what pills he wants for the month and gets his GP to sign off without even seeing him. (The GP is an "old school" practitioner)

I'm just using one anecdote and I'm not presuming that this carry on is widespread, but even if it's occurring on a measurable scale then surely that's a huge waste of resources? He gets Exputex every month for example whether he needs it or not and as a result he has a shelf with 6/7 unopened bottles. This stuff sells for around €12/13 in the pharmacy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I used to just ring the receptionist and tell her I was sick and she'd get the doctor to write a note for me. Charged me 15 yoyos.

I'm pretty sure you need to be a registered patient at the surgery though, you couldn't be ringing random doctors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

watna wrote: »
    I used to just ring the receptionist and tell her I was sick and she'd get the doctor to write a note for me. Charged me 15 yoyos.

I'm pretty sure you need to be a registered patient at the surgery though, you couldn't be ringing random doctors.

Not as such..there was a doctor in santry who'd apparantly write a sick note for anybody who showed up for a flat fee of five euros...there was somebody similar in Francis St,he'd ask you what was wrong and write down any old bollocks without even taking out his stetascope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Floodric wrote: »

I'd say doctors look at it the way garda look at stamping "off the road" tax forms. They know youre lying and trying to get away with it, but do it regardless.

Garda is only signing that he is witnessing your declaration so he doesnt really give a f*ck either way. If something cropped up later to show the car was on the road, it is the car owner who gets in trouble for making a false declaration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Taco Chips wrote: »
    rolleyes.gif

It's entirely down to the doctor, their diagnosis or their own personal prerogative. Some docs are note happy for the same reason that antibiotics are consumed like minerals in this country. People don't feel like they're "getting their money's worth" from the GP unless they come away with a fistful of pills or confirmation of an illness. GP's who write sick notes for every patient through the door know that it'll help them retain that person on their list.

My own grandad has a monthly prescription for a virtual chemist's worth of medicines. He writes a list of what pills he wants for the month and gets his GP to sign off without even seeing him. (The GP is an "old school" practitioner)

I'm just using one anecdote and I'm not presuming that this carry on is widespread, but even if it's occurring on a measurable scale then surely that's a huge waste of resources? He gets Exputex every month for example whether he needs it or not and as a result he has a shelf with 6/7 unopened bottles. This stuff sells for around €12/13 in the pharmacy!
    Perhaps you should have read my post a little more clearly before quoting, I highlighted the relevant section for you in the post below.

There is also a big difference between getting a once in a blue moon sick note (as per the OP's initial question) and getting the doctor to write prescriptions for unneeded medication. As for your assertion that there may be widespread waste of resources and GP time I would say that this is as a result of the cosy cartel set up between the GPs and the pharmacies.

Many drugs that you can buy over the counter in other countries are prescription only here not to mention the frankly rapey price makeup Irish pharmacies get away compared to their continental counterparts.

It's pretty easy, once they get their consultation fee they will usually write any old nonsense on the note for you. My advice is that if a doctor won't give you one (and you are not taking the piss by going in every second week looking for one) then tell them either they write or you take your business elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Taco Chips wrote: »
    He gets Exputex every month for example whether he needs it or not and as a result he has a shelf with 6/7 unopened bottles. This stuff sells for around €12/13 in the pharmacy!

no it doesn't, its about 6 quid for the largest bottle. this was the whole point of the 50c medical card levy, to stop people taking home medicines they dont need, its so maddening. once, an old woman dropped in her unused medicines to me at work for me to dump, totted up the total, it came to well over €2000. asked her why she didnt take them, turned out she hadnt for about 6/7 years but since they were free why wouldnt she bring them home in case? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Tell him/her that you get migraines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

Perhaps you should have read my post a little more clearly before quoting, I highlighted the relevant section for you in the post below.

Sorry, missed that part. Not a good idea to post this late.

I agree, it's an appalling waste of resources. But I wouldn't call it a cartel exactly. I know a lot of hypochondriacs, it's not uncommon amongst Irish people. They appreciate having their "illness" validated by unnecessary prescriptions and sick notes, if nothing else but to skive work. I would say a lot of the public go along for their own benefit also. I'm not saying it's not the fault of GP's or Chemist's either, but that there's a reason why this kind of back and forth goes on in this country. Individuals gain from the status quo, meanwhile the collective flings money down the drain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

BESman wrote: »
    So how easy is it to get sick notes from a GP for things like work or exams, etc?

What kind of excuses do people come up with? Just wondering how do GPs generally react to things like stress or panic attacks and similar conditions that can be difficult to prove or disprove and how common it is for people to do this.

I'm not looking for one myself but I often remember in my college days that there were always those that seemed to get away with this sorta craic a lot. I know it can be genuine sometimes but you would have to question the authenticity of others.
    The company I work for let you be as sick as you want to pretend to be. But when compulsory redundancies come about guess whos top of the list?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

Just tell the Doc you've a pain in your ovaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

They charge an extra fiver or something for a sick note so they dont give one rats arse (unless its the company doc) about you missin work. You pay them their 50 squid for telling you your not well and need a few pills of some description.

You : Can I have a note for work ?
    Doc : Sure, you can pick it up at reception when your paying.
    Receptionist : What dates would you like me to put on this pre signed slip?
    You : Stick me down for the week please, could do with a break.
    Receptionist : No problem. there ya go that will be 55 Euro please.

I have had many sick notes over the years not once did I actually need to miss any work. The majority of the time the receptionist fills it in based on what you tell her not the doc. If its stress/depression based then just talk to the doc about your problem and then at the end of the conversation ask them for a note. They will ask you when your comfortable going back.

The only time they might not write a note is when you ask for one for something you didnt go to them with. ie Can I have a note for last week, I wasnt well and missed a few days work. Some might say no prob but some might not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Depends on the Doc I suppose. Im prone to the odd chest infection in winter so Ill usually get at least one cert a year. Im probably in fair condition to work but he just says to me "would ya like abit of time off?" - How can I refuse!

Ive also rang into the receptionist (whos abit of an amateur doctor herself) and have gotten a cert written out for a small fee. No questions asked, except how long I wanted it for. As long as your not taking the piss with ailments every 2 weeks, it should be fine.

Skunkle wrote: »
    They charge an extra fiver or something for a sick note so they dont give one rats arse (unless its the company doc) about you missin work. You pay them their 50 squid for telling you your not well and need a few pills of some description.

You : Can I have a note for work ?
    Doc : Sure, you can pick it up at reception when your paying.
    Receptionist : What dates would you like me to put on this pre signed slip?
    You : Stick me down for the week please, could do with a break.
    Receptionist : No problem. there ya go that will be 55 Euro please.

I have had many sick notes over the years not once did I actually need to miss any work. The majority of the time the receptionist fills it in based on what you tell her not the doc. If its stress/depression based then just talk to the doc about your problem and then at the end of the conversation ask them for a note. They will ask you when your comfortable going back.

The only time they might not write a note is when you ask for one for something you didnt go to them with. ie Can I have a note for last week, I wasnt well and missed a few days work. Some might say no prob but some might not.
    Ya, and your boss wont know your taking the piss:rolleyes:.Ive seen a lot of lads get the old redundancy where I work.Its ALWAYS the dodgy sick day crew who are given the old P45.A sure theres so many jobs going these days.Theyre bound to walk into another one:D.

Agricola wrote: »
    Depends on the Doc I suppose. Im prone to the odd chest infection in winter so Ill usually get at least one cert a year. Im probably in fair condition to work but he just says to me "would ya like abit of time off?" - How can I refuse!

Ive also rang into the receptionist (whos abit of an amateur doctor herself) and have gotten a cert written out for a small fee. No questions asked, except how long I wanted it for. As long as your not taking the piss with ailments every 2 weeks, it should be fine.
    Chest infections are for soft, soft people:D.Grow some balls FFS;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭onion rings

a few years back i had a mad weekend and missed work. i went to the doc to get a sick note, said i had a sore throat although there wasnt the slightest thing wrong with me

he looked down my neck and said i had a "very bad" throat infection and gave me a prescription for antibiotics

u wouldnt want to be a hypochondriac - i binned the rx and changed doctors soon after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Dear Sir, I write this note to you to tell you of me plight
    and at the time of writing, I am not a pretty sight;
    me body is all black and blue, me face a deathly gray
    and I write this note to say why Paddy's not at work today.

While working on the fourteenth floor some bricks I had to clear;
    now, to throw them down from such a height was not a good idea.
    the foreman wasn't very pleased, he beeing an awkward sod
    he said I'd have to cart them down the ladders in me hod.

Now, clearing all these bricks by hand it was so very slow,
    so I hoisted up a barrel and secured the rope below.
    But in me haste to do the job I was to blind to see
    that a barrelful of building bricks was heavier than me.

So when I untied the rope the barrel fell like lead
    and clinging tightly to the rope I started up instead.
    Well, I shot up like a rocket till to my dismay I found
    that halfway up I met the bloody barrel comming down.

Well, the barrel broke me shoulder as to the ground it sped,
    and when I reached the top I banged the pully with my head.
    Well, I clung on tight through numbed shock from this almighty blow
    and the barrel spilled out half the bricks fourteen floors below.

Now, when these bricks had fallen from the barrel to the floor
    I then outweighed the barrel and so started down once more;
    still clinging tightly to the rope, I sped towards the ground,
    and I landed on the brocken bricks that were all scattered round.

Well, I lay there groaning on the ground, I thougth I'd passed the worst,
    when the barrel hit the pully-wheel and then the bottom burst.
    Well, a shower of bricks rained down on me, I hadn't got a hope
    as I lay there moaning on the ground, I let go of the bloody rope.

The barrel than being heavier, it started down once more,
    and landed right across me, as I lay upon the floor.
    Well, it broke three ribs and my left arm and I can only say
    that I hope you'll understand why Paddy's not a work today.

a few years back i had a mad weekend and missed work. i went to the doc to get a sick note, said i had a sore throat although there wasnt the slightest thing wrong with me

he looked down my neck and said i had a "very bad" throat infection and gave me a prescription for antibiotics

u wouldnt want to be a hypochondriac - i binned the rx and changed doctors soon after that
    He thought he saw an onion ring stuck there i suppose:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »

My balls are fine, touch wood....

Id rather have a paid day off and let all the dutiful hard cases like you take all the heat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭BESman

I think some of the comments about sickies being the first to go in redundancies and cutbacks is probably true. It certainly never impresses when employees call in sick more than once or twice a year. To be fair, doctors notes are rarely even needed in most work places if you're only out for a day so its kind of like "hey, we know you're lying, we're not even asking for a note".

You can also make submissions now in the case of exams (both third level & professional) to the authority in charge, of anything that might have affected your performance during the exam, i.e. a medical condition. I'm sure lots of people are doing this for not altogether truthful medical conditions. Very hard to define what kind of medical condition affects or doesn't affect an exam performance though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Ya, and your boss wont know your taking the piss:rolleyes:.Ive seen a lot of lads get the old redundancy where I work.Its ALWAYS the dodgy sick day crew who are given the old P45.A sure theres so many jobs going these days.Theyre bound to walk into another one:D.

Unless your doing it regularly the boss wont care too much. Your not gonna be first out the door because you missed a weeks work and had a doctors note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Pretty easily. My dad's doctor (consultant).

"Dad, I'm not going to hand my cousework in time so going need more time, can I get a medical note?"

"Ok, I'll get one for you tomorrow"

Done. No marks taken off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭All about Eve

My husbands doctor charges 10 Euro for a sick note no questions . i was shocked myself. all the lads he works with go to this doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

mickdw wrote: »
    Garda is only signing that he is witnessing your declaration so he doesnt really give a f*ck either way. If something cropped up later to show the car was on the road, it is the car owner who gets in trouble for making a false declaration.

I was queing in the local station last year and the garda went away and found the car that was supposdly off the road was picked up by cameras for speeding

"Ah shure, it was only going from my son's house to mine, off the road for the rest" was the reply

The garda refused to sign and told him to come back later for the seargeant.

Fair play :cool:

For asthma sufferers, they're not really.

Diarrhea. Never fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

I've a similar doctor in my area, just make a call, go to reception tell the receptionist the dates and away I go, having paid the consultation fee of course!Another option is to go to a doctor in your area let them know you are new to the area and explain you need a new family doctor, they'll happily sign off and suggest you come to them in future!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 003355

Would two weeks be too much to ask for off due to depression or stress. would you have to go back to the doctor after a week to review the situation or would he/she straight away give you two weeks? can your employer ask you any questions about this or a medical cert is enough? Is there any chance that the doctor will say no?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

It depends on how bad it is. 2 weeks might be plenty of time, or nowhere near enough. I don't think anyone here would be qualified to help you on that. Regarding your employer, AFAIK, once you have a medical cert, they can't ask you for details. They can send you for a medical if they want to pay for it, but they only told whether you're fit to work or not. They don't get told specifics unless you consent to it beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭pencilsharp

003355 wrote: »
    Would two weeks be too much to ask for off due to depression or stress. would you have to go back to the doctor after a week to review the situation or would he/she straight away give you two weeks? can your employer ask you any questions about this or a medical cert is enough? Is there any chance that the doctor will say no?

If you didn't want to disclose to your employer what was wrong with you, you could just ask the GP to put 'underlying medical condition' or 'personal issues' on it.

I'd say the GP would ask to see you again after your first visit if it was with stress or depression, but all GPs are different.