Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gambling Forum Meet - Wednesday, 27th July

• 25-06-2011 10:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭

Hi lads. Was thinking it would be a good idea to get a gambling forum meet up at some stage this summer. Was thinking maybe the wednesday at galway or the Thursday (ladies' day ;) )

See,I have no mates in real life but I'd like to think of some fellows here as mildly sound. It gets lonely sitting inside all day on this site eating,and I occasionally like to venture to the outside world.

I once had a friend named Ethan in play school but he moved to Waterford.
    He was sound,we used to play with Thomas the Tank Engine toys. I was pretty mad one day when he tore the sticker off one but looking back it's no big deal.

Anyway,who'd be up for it? Racing during the day follows by a few beers and a feed.
    Plenty of females around for a bit of eating,shooting and leaving with the help of God.

Are you going to turn up and watch Urban Sea rejected by every woman in Galway? 16 votes

Yes, I am a hero.
    0%
    No, I am not a hero.
    31%
    mailburnerUrbanSeax PyRoLeeg17DOC09UNAM 5 votes
    THIS IS SPARTA.
    25%
    Gillington3hn2givr7mx1scshocksyFowler87 4 votes
    Only if Cat Stevens is there.
    43%
    the groutch8-10x PyRo3hn2givr7mx1scjohnmcdnlDOC09UNAMft9 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

A year early for me I'd say! :/
    Have fun chaps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

No, I am not a hero.
    It's ok baz,I'm waiting to get with my first woman,too! Ah well,hopefully someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I'll meet you if I'm there, no prob. You know a bit anyway!

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I could be tempted. :)

No, I am not a hero.
    That's the spirit gentlemen! Any chance of a poll James?

No.

No, I am not a hero.
    Ruin my week.

No, I am not a hero.
    Thanks for the poll.

One or two changes are recommended. ''Yes,U.S pulling bitches all day''.
    Or ''No,busy pulling myself that day''

Access denied.

Will it be handy to get a hotel or some spot? We should of organized this properly a long time ago!

No, I am not a hero.
    Hotel is going to cost a bomb. Most are booked out at this stage.

Jonjo will put us up :pac:

I've a strong feeling that this won't get off the ground. :pac: I'll probably be heading up anyways.

No, I am not a hero.
    It will man don't be a negative nunny :( we'll sort some accommodation out. I've a friend bout 20 minutes away,I could ask if he'd put any of us up,except he moved back in with the parents cos he's poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

Is there a dress code?

No. Clothing is optional.

Perfect I wonder if many will go

You missed the joke. :pac: No idea what the story is with the dress code.

I doubt many will head to be honest. I'll be there in some way, shape or form all going well.

Oh yea lol I'm havin a slow day :)
    I'd say if it was organised sooner much more people might of went

No, I am not a hero.
    No dress code Derek. Plenty wear suits but not compulsory. I'll just be looking handsome as usual.

Them ladies better watch out then :p

No, I am not a hero.
    Haha I know well. I hope they don't try and resist,they'll only be making it harder on themselves.
    Would you be up for heading out at night too Derek?

Yea I'd say it would be a laugh
    Do you think many will go?

No, I am not a hero.
    4 according to the poll so far. I will anyway,even if 5 or 6 went it'd be a bit of craic.

Would have been on for this 2 years ago as I was working in Galway :pac: Not this year though, wouldn't really be into going to the Galway races at all unless I was up there.

On a similar note though was thinking earlier today do the gambling dudes on boards have meetups, cause every other fecking section of it seems to :pac:

No, I am not a hero.
    I've been gracing this forum with my presence for well over a year and there hasn't being one. There was meant to be one back in October for the Hatton's Grace meeting but didn't go ahead. Hopefully this one will,good craic at Galway,pity about the poor horses.

UrbanSea wrote: »
    ........pity about the poor horses.

Yep, 'tis woeful sh1t in fairness to it for the most part.

Ah come on lads US will be givin us loads of winnin tips on the day :pac:

No, I am not a hero.
    Ah now Derek if I told everyone there'd be no fun in it or surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

No, I am not a hero.
    It will man don't be a negative nunny :( we'll sort some accommodation out. I've a friend bout 20 minutes away,I could ask if he'd put any of us up,except he moved back in with the parents cos he's poor

i'm 20mins away but the wife wouldn't have it

haven't a notion of going to the races on wed/thurs as
    i hate crowded racecourses (excuse for always losing my hole)
    pints afterwards on the other hand i'd be more than game for :D

No, I am not a hero.
    Haha she'll have the chains out...and whip. :pac:
    Where would you say in town burner? Down to the Skeff or some spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

If I had a penny to my name I probably would have popped across. Didn't have any work for over 2 weeks and was on holidays so I'm fairly skint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

No, I am not a hero.
    Haha she'll have the chains out...and whip. :pac:
    Where would you say in town burner? Down to the Skeff or some spot

skeff good for meeting up and feckin off elsewhere

kingshead would be good but it'll be mental
    same with front door
    monroes a great spot with great pizza and live music venue right next door
    always a good atmosphere there
    quays upstairs another good live music venue
    im anti nightclubs..showing my age now

No, I am not a hero.
    If I had a penny to my name I probably would have popped across. Didn't have any work for over 2 weeks and was on holidays so I'm fairly skint.
    AW PURE DRY
    mailburner wrote: »
    skeff good for meeting up and feckin off elsewhere

kingshead would be good but it'll be mental
    same with front door
    monroes a great spot with great pizza and live music venue right next door
    always a good atmosphere there
    quays upstairs another good live music venue
    im anti nightclubs..showing my age now

Hmmm we could always go to Coyotes :pac: ano. Id say we'll be parting ways at some point later on,I'll be the freaky guy fapping in the corner of C.P's tah night ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭noelpat

One potential problem about this could be the extortionate prices of the hotels in Galway :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭fkiely

I could be tempted if I'm down at the races this year. My folks live in Galway as well so place to stay and all that. I'll look into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

No chance. I spent all my pennies in Cork on the weekend.

The Hattons Grace meet was doomed because the races were postponed more than twice due to the weather. I went though and got Asigh Pearl at 20s. Also backed Hurricane Fly at 10/3 and had a bit of an ew accum or multiples with Kempes placing. It was a good day, pity you all missed it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

A quick look on hotels.com and its coming up as €200 a nite in a hotel midweek :eek::(.

It seems the hotels are takin full advantage of race week with their prices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭restingpilgrim

Guys I live in galway. Raceweek is great craic but all the hotels tend to triple their prices for this week. A lot of people now stay a short journey out and designate a driver for each day. Better off getting a B and B about ten miles away where your business is appreciated. Also here that there will be free concerts in the docks area this year similar to when the Volvo Ocean race was in town.

No, I am not a hero.
    I have a free room for the night with someone but no room at the inn for anyone else,it's about a quarter ofnthe size of a box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,416 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I didn't get the poll. But no, can't make it outside of Dublin midweek I'm afraid but sounds like good fun.

No, I am not a hero.
    Hopefully the next time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Hotel is going to cost a bomb. Most are booked out at this stage.

Jonjo will put us up :pac:

Just saw this thread now, will be on the piss all race week.

No, I am not a hero.
    Just saw this thread now, will be on the piss all race week.

Up for a few with us so JJ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Would go but it's Spraoi weekend in Waterford AFAIK so I'll probably be tipping round there instead ;(

No, I am not a hero.
    Don't do it jive :( and it's midweek :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Don't do it jive :( and it's midweek :(

Galway would be better but it's also further away and more expensive :P Does the fun outweigh the distance + price??? I'm skeptical :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Up for a few with us so JJ?

Oh yeah without a doubt.

No, I am not a hero.
    jive wrote: »
    Galway would be better but it's also further away and more expensive :P Does the fun outweigh the distance + price??? I'm skeptical :D
    Definitely does ;)
    Oh yeah without a doubt.

Good man. Big dirty feed too.

No, I am not a hero.
    Lads if ye said you're going to go but didn't put it in the poll could ye? Just handy for knowing potential numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

If ye don't mind staying in a hostel, I would recommend Barrnacles on Shop street, its cheap and reasonably clean.