Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Other drivers are overtaking me every time I drive...

• 24-06-2011 11:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Anyone else have this happening. I'm doing bang on the speed limit and still every single car overtakes me and sometimes on the outskirts of town where the speed limit is still 60km I have had vans twice in the last 2 days drive right up on my back bumper which was very intimidating but I don't want to break the speed limit and knowing my luck get caught.

My instructor says speed limits are just that, not targets and makes me go 80 in 100 zones but out with my aul fella I'm doing bang on the speed limits and it still doesn't please people.

I feel like when I get the full license I'll have no choice but to break the speed limits because everyone is going faster than me. All this over taking makes me feel like I'm an awful obstruction and must be doing something wrong..... It's just a mental block I'm having a hard time with. When I see these big Audis roaring past my 1 litre I lose all confidence in my abilities :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

on the outskirts of town where the speed limit is still 60km
    It shouldn't be your problem to watch overspeeding drivers - it's a Gardai's job. And blocking the road by driving the overtaking lane (if applicable) is causing more danger than the speed itself. Move away, make space and mind your own business - best way to survive on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Anyone else have this happening. I'm doing bang on the speed limit and still every single car overtakes me and sometimes on the outskirts of town where the speed limit is still 60km I have had vans twice in the last 2 days drive right up on my back bumper which was very intimidating but I don't want to break the speed limit and knowing my luck get caught.

My instructor says speed limits are just that, not targets and makes me go 80 in 100 zones but out with my aul fella I'm doing bang on the speed limits and it still doesn't please people.

I feel like when I get the full license I'll have no choice but to break the speed limits because everyone is going faster than me. All this over taking makes me feel like I'm an awful obstruction and must be doing something wrong..... It's just a mental block I'm having a hard time with. When I see these big Audis roaring past my 1 litre I lose all confidence in my abilities :(
    because the speed limits are too slow. dont let it bother you if you want to drive on the speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

wolf moon wrote: »
    It shouldn't be your problem to watch overspeeding drivers - it's a Gardai's job. And blocking the road by driving the overtaking lane (if applicable) is causing more danger than the speed itself. Move away, make space and mind your own business - best way to survive on the road.

Where did he say at all he's driving in the overtaking lane? I can't figure where you felt the need to make that point?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Seeing L plates on a car ahead makes some mentally challenged drivers even worse.
    It's nothing to do with how you're driving.

They HAVE to get ahead of you - if they don't, I think their bits shrivel up - something bad anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭matt70iu

spurious wrote: »
    Seeing L plates on a car ahead makes some mentally challenged drivers even worse.

They HAVE to get ahead of you - if they don't, I think their bits shrivel up - something bad anyway.

Mentally challenged would be right:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭groomek

I think most L drivers have gone through this at some point.When I was on L plates I had people scream out their window at me calling me every name under the sun.
    I usually smile,roll down the window and extend middle finger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

You are doing the right thing and don't be tempted to change. You are not in a race.

When I was learning to drive I went way too fast and am lucky I didn't kill myself or worse someone else. Stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

Simple you need to ask the aul fella for a bigger car some 6lt should do ya.... You should not be gettting to worked up over this, stick to what speed your comfortable with, audi drivers tend to always have the pedal to the metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Are you making good progress?

I drive the speed limit 99% of the time and don't experience too much of what you describe. I do find that drivers who accelerate too slowly up to the speed limit get an awful lot of stick

If you're making good progress then ignore them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Ignore them and continue on at speed limit. There's a stretch of road that's set as 60 speed limit but most do 80 on it. Reason being it's a badly set limit. But I see enough guards and checkpoints there that I go 60 only the whole stretch.

Some people get annoyed and either flash lights, drive up my ass or decide to undertake me in the 24 hour bus lane. Have seen 3 of them caught so far by guards up ahead and always get a little smile out of it.

Even if you were a full driver OP and drove at the limits you would still get assholes behind you. It's just a fact of driving in Ireland. If you're driving on a nice stretch with a big hard shoulder, drive partially in it to allow them to overtake you sooner assuming of course the way is clear and safe for you to do so :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 milliejones

I think the last bit of advice of wolfmoon is good - stay out of others' way and mind your own business - you're fully entitled to drive within the speed limit - let the guards catch the others - and believe it or not, they usually do at some point, and from my experience, it's usually at the worst possible time for the offender!
    One other thing - don't look at or engage with drivers you think may be abusive - pretend not even to notice them (fiddle with the radio, etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Dutchess

You're doing nothing wrong. It's these other drivers that should be changing their behaviour. I experience it too, though not in the extent you describe. There are some roads around here in Galway that have a 50 kph limit. They are large two lane roads that everyone speeds on. I admit I have gone 60-70 kph there myself and still everyone overtakes me. Maybe it's a pride thing that people don't wanna drive behind an L driver, maybe they've had a bad experience driving behind an L driver and now avoid this at all cost. In that case I understand overtaking and I don't take it personally. No excuse for tailgating though, but when it happens, just keep your cool and drive as you've been taught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Yawns wrote: »
    Ignore them and continue on at speed limit. There's a stretch of road that's set as 60 speed limit but most do 80 on it. Reason being it's a badly set limit. But I see enough guards and checkpoints there that I go 60 only the whole stretch.

Some people get annoyed and either flash lights, drive up my ass or decide to undertake me in the 24 hour bus lane. Have seen 3 of them caught so far by guards up ahead and always get a little smile out of it.

Even if you were a full driver OP and drove at the limits you would still get assholes behind you. It's just a fact of driving in Ireland.
    If you're driving on a nice stretch with a big hard shoulder, drive partially in it to allow them to overtake you sooner assuming of course the way is clear and safe for you to do so :D
    Do not do this.

Drive in the correct position at all times, although you can pull over to the left to make it easier for someone to pass when you see them pulling out to pass, or else you'll be bullied deeper into the hard shoulder.

While the limits aren't a target your instructor should be teaching you to make progress so 80km/h on a 100km/h road isn't on. If your ADI doesn't think you are confident enough to do 100km/h they shouldn't be taking you onto the roads.

There are enough muppets driving at 80km/h on 100km/h roads we don't need more.

As for when you're driving at the limit, just ignore the speeders and always maintain your position. When your in 50/60 zones consider driving closer to the centre of the road so that they can't pass as easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭ADIDriving

Based on what you said, YOU ARE RIGHT. A lot of what has been said here is very wrong. You will learn to be aware of, but not care about these other drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭elbee

I get this too.

My attitude is that I'm not getting points on my licence and paying a fine I can't afford just because the person behind me is cool with the possibility of getting both. Maybe they can afford a speeding fine. I would rather spend my money on chocolate :)

If I'm obeying the road markings and signs, and driving at a speed appropriate for the conditions, I ignore them. It can be difficult but I'm not letting anyone else bully me into getting a fine. If I get one because of my own behaviour, that's different :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 crashvictim

Here is my two pence for what it is worth. I actually joined up when I saw this. I do this when I see a L driver and so do most of my friends and family. The reason is because my experience is that L drivers are very dangerous to drive behind. They are prone to very sudden stops and very strange driving decisions, in short they are very erractic. Must people try to get around the L driver just to advoid any possible accidents.

My own experience is back two years ago. It was a real rainy day and I was driving behind a learner car. I was at what I thought was a safe distance back and it was a good straight road 50km speed limit, then the car in front stopped very suddenly I of course braked and tried to advoid the car in front, I managed to advoid the car in front but not the post box at the side of the road. The instructor came out to see if i was alright and actually apologised for the sudden stop. Unfortunately it hit my wallet.

Here is my two pence for what it is worth. I actually joined up when I saw this. I do this when I see a L driver and so do most of my friends and family. The reason is because my experience is that L drivers are very dangerous to drive behind. They are prone to very sudden stops and very strange driving decisions, in short they are very erractic. Must people try to get around the L driver just to advoid any possible accidents.

My own experience is back two years ago. It was a real rainy day and I was driving behind a learner car. I was at what I thought was a safe distance back and it was a good straight road 50km speed limit, then the car in front stopped very suddenly I of course braked and tried to advoid the car in front, I managed to advoid the car in front but not the post box at the side of the road. The instructor came out to see if i was alright and actually apologised for the sudden stop. Unfortunately it hit my wallet.

I can understand you being warey after that experience. I would be too! Had a similar experience myself last week where a girl with L plates was at a bus stop. I was coming behind her.

She indicated to pull out when I was almost right on top of her. I said to myself, she's not going to pull out is she? Of course she did and I had to Jam on the brakes. Missed her my centimeters. I doubt she even looked in her mirrors as I would have been clearly visible.

The other side of that is we all have to learn and we need to start somewhere. It should be done, I feel, under the supervision of an ADI, especially when you're at the stage where you pull out without looking!!!!

This is why the law regarding leraner drivers needs to be enforced.

Only if they're going to bother enforcing all road traffic acts tbh. Have you never encountered full licence holders who brake suddenly for no reason or pull out at last second. I certainly have.

Jesus only weeks ago a silly bitch decided that she wanted to take an exit off the m50 at the last second from the middle lane. Nearly hit me only for I pulled to the left slightly and let rip with the horn. So she went behind me, nearly still managing to hit my rear, and then did the exact same to a lad who was exiting the motorway.

She was a full licence holder....

Of course learner's are prone to make mistakes as they try to gain experience so instead of speeding up and sitting at their bumper to try and overtake as quick as you can would it not be in your best interest to stay even further back until you see a nice clear stretch ahead and then overtake SAFELY! Why go up a L plate's ass and make them 9 times more likely to make a mistake.

Your post is idiotic crash victim. Clearly what you thought was a safe distance wasn't very long at all. If it was a really rainy day you should have been further back to be able to stop from a speed of 50k/m without a need to swerve, it's not that hard. But of course your answer to your failure in that accident is to have the mentality to overtake learners at the first sight of them. Good job!

Only if they're going to bother enforcing all road traffic acts tbh. Have you never encountered full licence holders who brake suddenly for no reason or pull out at last second. I certainly have.

I hear ya. There's no hard and fast rule. Consistancy is the key without a doubt.

When I was going for my test, my instructor told me to always asume other road users are going to do the most stupid thing you can imagine, be they learners or not.

It helps to remember that we were all learners once:)

matt70iu wrote: »
    always assume other road users are going to do the most stupid thing you can imagine, be they learners or not.

It helps to remember that we were all learners once:)

+1000

Jesus only weeks ago a silly bitch decided that she wanted to take an exit off the m50 at the last second from the middle lane. Nearly hit me only for I pulled to the left slightly and let rip with the horn. So she went behind me, nearly still managing to hit my rear, and then did the exact same to a lad who was exiting the motorway.

She was a full licence holder

How do you know that? There are numerous posts here from learners saying they regularly drive on the M50. Just because a car has no L plates doesn't mean they have a full licence.

In saying that both full licence and permit holders do stupid and dangerous manoeuvres. The only saving for a learner is that hopefully they can learn from it, most full licence holders don't.
    Your post is idiotic crash victim. Clearly what you thought was a safe distance wasn't very long at all. If it was a really rainy day you should have been further back to be able to stop from a speed of 50k/m without a need to swerve, it's not that hard. But of course your answer to your failure in that accident is to have the mentality to overtake learners at the first sight of them. Good job!

+1 People seriously underestimate the distance required to stop when the roads are wet.

Crashvictim, what where the weather conditions like before it had rained? Had there been a long dry spell, heavy downpours, hard freeze all these affect the road surface and stopping distance. Yet you choose to blame the learner.

What would have happened if it was a full licence driver standing on the brakes to avoid a hitting a person? Was it still the car in fronts fault? There's a reason why insurance comanies nearly always blames the car behind in crashes.

Del2005 wrote: »
    The only saving for a learner is that hopefully they can learn from it, most full licence holders don't..

So True!!

Del I do take on board your point about learners driving with no L plates up. The reason I am convinced it was full driver, was that she just simply didn't care and did it again to another driver. A lot of learners if the make a mistake tend to panic and stay in their own lane for fear of doing something wrong or they would prob jam on the brakes.

This lady didn't give a **** and just tried to bull thru me and another driver, cross the hatch markings and off the motorway. Not a bother on her. She drove a merc so apparently she didn't care for poor lil ol me :D

In saying that both full licence and permit holders do stupid and dangerous manoeuvres. The only saving for a learner is that hopefully they can learn from it, most full licence holders don't.

Couldn't agree more.

How do you know that? There are numerous posts here from learners saying they regularly drive on the M50. Just because a car has no L plates doesn't mean they have a full licence.

+1 People seriously underestimate the distance required to stop when the roads are wet.

Crashvictim, what where the weather conditions like before it had rained? Had there been a long dry spell, heavy downpours, hard freeze all these affect the road surface and stopping distance. Yet you choose to blame the learner.

What would have happened if it was a full licence driver standing on the brakes to avoid a hitting a person? Was it still the car in fronts fault? There's a reason why insurance comanies nearly always blames the car behind in crashes.

It was drizzling and raining since the morning. Yes I do blame the learner driver, apparently the girl was meant to pull in to do a three point turn, unfortunately for me she forgot to indicate and forgot to pull in, and stopped in the middle of a straight road. Yes the onus is on the driver behind to anticipate and stop in time, however it was a totally unexpected stop. People can say what they want about this stuff happening as well from full license drivers but at least they have passed a competency test to be on the road in the first place.

Really, every single fully licenced driver out there has passed a competency test?

Still your fault for being too close in very poor road conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

wolf moon wrote: »

I get your point wolf moon but it's a tad harsh for a learner,they're entitled to be on the road just like the rest of us.

Scenario: On a B road where there's no room to move away/make space and you encounter some ar$ehole riding your bumper in an attempt to make you speed up or get out of the way - what do you do?

That can be an intimidating scenario for an experienced driver so imagine your a learner.

The unfortunate thing for learners on the road is the roads are full of 'born drivers' who forget they were ever a learner and have no consideration for anyone else on the road but themselves!

OP - Best of luck with your driving, keep doing what your doing,listen to your instructor, and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

When your in 50/60 zones consider driving closer to the centre of the road so that they can't pass as easy.

Agree with everything in your post bar this. Trying to stop someone who wants to overtake you from overtaking is only going to lead to accidents. There have been many horrific collisions arising from person being overtaken having a bee in their bonnet (mostly speeding up and slowing down to block the other car from pulling back in safely) and it's the innocent third party coming from the other direction who suffers. Leave the policing of the roads to the Gardaí and everyone will be much safer.

Stark wrote: »
    When your in 50/60 zones consider driving closer to the centre of the road so that they can't pass as easy.

Agree with everything in your post bar this. Trying to stop someone who wants to overtake you from overtaking is only going to lead to accidents. There have been many horrific collisions arising from person being overtaken having a bee in their bonnet (mostly speeding up and slowing down to block the other car from pulling back in safely) and it's the innocent third party coming from the other direction who suffers. Leave the policing of the roads to the GardaÃ* and everyone will be much safer.

I agree, speeding up and slowing down helps no one and puts people in danger. As does tapping the brakes when you've someone trying to jump in your boot from behind.

There's always a risk being on the roads, each drivers just needs to be as competently careful as possible:)

Agree with everything in your post bar this. Trying to stop someone who wants to overtake you from overtaking is only going to lead to accidents. There have been many horrific collisions arising from person being overtaken having a bee in their bonnet (mostly speeding up and slowing down to block the other car from pulling back in safely) and it's the innocent third party coming from the other direction who suffers. Leave the policing of the roads to the Gardaí and everyone will be much safer.

I never said swerve around the road or accelerate when people are trying to pass. I said adjust your road position so people won't be tempted to pass by taking a more central position on the road.

I don't agree with motorists trying to slow speeders on N or M roads, but making it harder for people to speed in residential areas I've no problem with.

It was drizzling and raining since the morning. Yes I do blame the learner driver, apparently the girl was meant to pull in to do a three point turn, unfortunately for me she forgot to indicate and forgot to pull in, and stopped in the middle of a straight road. Yes the onus is on the driver behind to anticipate and stop in time, however it was a totally unexpected stop. People can say what they want about this stuff happening as well from full license drivers but at least they have passed a competency test to be on the road in the first place.

Still totally your fault and the fact that you can't see that is the worst part.

You weren't driving for the conditions, would it still have been her fault if someone had ran in front of her?

That's why you need to leave at least a 4 second gap in the rain, for the unexpected.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I'm one of the older posters here- I've had a full licence for 20 years, no penalty points and a full no-claims bonus on my driving licence.

If I'm out driving and happen to be behind a learner driver (or indeed any driver who appears to be driving erratically), I will try to remove myself from the situation when its safe to do so (no stupid overtaking on hills, blind corners or dangerous strips of road).

From my personal experience I find learner drivers liable to stop suddenly without obvious cause or warning- however other drivers- many who might have been driving for decades- can do the most appallingly stupid things that no-one in their right mind would contemplate (and I'm not just referring to high speed tailgating- which is a particular bugbear of mine- given the amount of motorway driving I do- its amazing the number of people who are happy to stay 3 foot off your rear bumper despite the overtaking lane being free).

When I was learning to drive- I elected to do the advanced test- primarily as a means of getting reasonable insurance- but its really useful, and I genuinely think that many of the aspects of the course should be incorporated into the regular test- including but not exclusively the modules on defensive driving.

Also- if we're going to be having harsh winters for the forseeable future- as meteorologists are predicting- a few hours for folks on skid courses would be a wise investment too.......

Ps- if you're consistently driving at 80kmph in a 100kmph without any mitigating factors (e.g. heavy rain, poor visibility or other)- you probably are failing to make sufficient progress......... On the continent its normal to have minimum as well as maximum speeds for each lane on a dual carriageway- so for example a given road might have a 100kmph limit- however the minimum speed for an inner lane would be 50 and outer lane 80- minimum....... I've had colleagues pulled over and fined for driving at 80kmph because they were uncomfortable driving on the right hand side of the road and were deemed to be making insufficient progress......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Marks Motoring

If a child ran out in front of the car in front and you rearend them, would you still blame them? You were to close and should be more careful following a learner..........

I didnt rear end anyone for a start. The learner driver stopped in a hazardous manner in bad road conditions. Learner drivers are for the most part bad and dangerous drivers, they panic and do crazy stuff so to this day if I see a learner driver ahead of me and if I cant pass it out I will keep well back from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

I never put L plates up when learning , but yes driving at the speed limit is not enough for some people , one van driver pissed me off so much one morning going to work , I just slowed right down to about 30kph ...........................that really got under his skin , eventually when the oncoming traffic cleared , he yelled out the window while passing me called me everything under the sun ...........................I bust out laughing at him (<SNIP>) ,
    no one driver has any more priority over any other driver ..................don't let them intimidiate you ( and FFS stick to the speed limit)

to this day if I see a learner driver ahead of me and if I cant pass it out I will keep well back from it.

Awful shame you had to have a near miss to learn this. Where you a learner at any stage or one of these born fully licenced drivers?
    Learner drivers are for the most part bad and dangerous drivers, they panic and do crazy stuff

Remove the learner part and you have most drivers in Ireland tbh be they learners or not. Maybe you're still under the illusion that a piece of paper makes you better on the roads. I agree learners can be bad, but what are you expecting from them tbh?

Perhaps we should have separate roads for learners so godly drivers like yourself don't have to deal with them. But then who would you blame for your mistakes I wonder.

Get over it, everyone has to start somewhere. If it takes something stupid like your post for you to cop on to the fact a learner may be learning to drive then it's not the learner I'd be blaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

spurious wrote: »

It's not just L plates though - I used to think this when I was learning but once I got my licence I quickly realised that they STILL overtake you no matter what! I think it could be more to do with the kind of car you drive. For instance I drive a Yaris and sometimes I could be actually doing 5km over the speed limit (like say 55 in a 50 zone) and you still get idiots absolutely belting it past you!!! It's so annoying! I think they think "oh look at that little yaris they couldnt possibly be doing the speed limit" - Eh, actually I'm doing over it dumbass!!!

But of course if you drive a big tank then no one overtakes you:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

leahyl wrote: »

Lol- I've a Volvo estate and the women on reception where I work give out yards to me all the time that I drive too slow- and they're the ones in the Yaris S and Mini Cooper.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

leahyl wrote: »

People in big cars get overtaken too.

When will people understand, it's not personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Optimus Caesar

This is an interesting thread.

It's not our responsibility to police the roads. That's what An Garda Síochána are for.
    If someone is that desperate to get past you, let them go and be thankful that they are no longer behind you (probably taking your focus off what is ahead of you).

Also, every single driver on the road is capable of making mistakes whether they are learners or have been driving decades. The advantage experience brings is that you are less likely to panic when you do make a mistake.

I'm driving 10 years and having gone through the learner process 10 years ago I don't think that Ireland's methods of learning inexperienced drivers is adequate but thats another thread ;)

Stay focused, stay safe and don't worry about what other road users are doing. You have no control over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

People in big cars don't get tailgated or overtaken nearly as often as smaller cars. When I learned to drive I had a well loved Micra and was forever tailgated, flashed at and overtaken. I assumed at first I must be doing something wrong but my instructor and everyone who drove with me when I was learning said I was doing fine so I figured once the L plates came down it would be different. Nope lack of L plates made no difference. Motorways were a nightmare of flashing and tailgating. I had to report a lorry once that drove right up my ass in pouring rain, flashing all it's lights at me.

Then I switched from the Micra to my dads Land Rover and holy cow what a difference. I've never been tailgated or flashed when driving that, the difference compared to driving the Micra was really insane. I hate having to drive a small car now on major roads as it's back to the stupid tailgating.

Ok I know this probably happens too but I have never noticed it really - it always seems to be smaller cars. It's usually when you take off from traffic lights and you don't build up speed fast enough (due to smaller engine!) - they get impatient and just have to overtake you! It just annoys me that's all!:mad::o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Redonblonde

I'm learning to drive, in a Golf, and few weeks ago whilst practising in Skibb, some knob overtook me, on a blind corner, of course there was a car coming towards us too, who had to brake like crazy not to hit him or me! very lucky that nothing happened. I was going a bit slower than 80, but only by 10 kmph, but that road is narrow, and the bend is pretty sharp, and I wasn't familiar with it, was hardly going to bomb round it anyway.

I think 80kmph is way too fast for some of those country roads. Like I know you don't have to do 80 but you can. Some of those roads are unbelievably narrow and have bad surfaces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

Saw an 80kph road earlier which had grass growing in the middle of it. There wasn't enough room for 2 cars either, if you met someone you had to stop and reverse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I was at what I thought was a safe distance back and it was a good straight road 50km speed limit, then the car in front stopped very suddenly I of course braked and tried to advoid the car in front, I managed to advoid the car in front but not the post box at the side of the road.

Joining up to make generalisations about, and criticize people who are trying to learn is a tad harsh. Anyone could have stopped suddenly, you can't say all learners behave the same way. Fact is, you were too close to the car in front, and you didn't anticipate that a learner may indeed make a poor decision. That's your fault.
    Drive at a speed that will allow you to stop well within the distance you can see to be clear.
    Now I know most people don't follw the above advice, and it is difficult to do, but you can't come back and say the learner was totally in the wrong when you didn't follow the advice yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭ThunderZtorm

I'm currently a learner, and I experience often that cars overtake me. I drive to work with my flatmate, going on the N3 from Phoenix Park to Blanchardstown, sticking to the 80 speed limit - it does indeed seem like everybody's overtaking me all the time.

I don't mind though, what everybody else does is none of my business, I'll just keeping driving at the speed limit and generally drive safely and intelligently. You won't see me going 60 at an 80 road either, I know how annoying that is after driving home from Cavan behind an Englishman who consistently went 70 on a 100 road this sunday.

I see those scary stories about learner drivers and the treatment of them, and I don't know if I'm just a very good learner driver, or if the stories are exceptions - I've never been honked at, even when stalling, nobody's yelled at me (yet), and I generally feel like a pretty normal member of the traffic..

One thing tho, anyone know the spot on the N3 between Blanchardstown and Phoenix Park where you have the short steep hill/bridge thing with a 30km/h speed limit? What the heck's up with that - that's one spot where it's completely impossible to drive legally, I mean, I go about 70 in 5th gear when I reach the spot, and with an old car like mine, it's going to need that momentum to get over safely without obstructing traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I'm currently a learner, and I experience often that cars overtake me. I drive to work with my flatmate, going on the N3 from Phoenix Park to Blanchardstown, sticking to the 80 speed limit - it does indeed seem like everybody's overtaking me all the time.

I don't mind though, what everybody else does is none of my business, I'll just keeping driving at the speed limit and generally drive safely and intelligently. You won't see me going 60 at an 80 road either, I know how annoying that is after driving home from Cavan behind an Englishman who consistently went 70 on a 100 road this sunday.

I see those scary stories about learner drivers and the treatment of them, and I don't know if I'm just a very good learner driver, or if the stories are exceptions - I've never been honked at, even when stalling, nobody's yelled at me (yet), and I generally feel like a pretty normal member of the traffic..

One thing tho, anyone know the spot on the N3 between Blanchardstown and Phoenix Park where you have the short steep hill/bridge thing with a 30km/h speed limit? What the heck's up with that - that's one spot where it's completely impossible to drive legally, I mean, I go about 70 in 5th gear when I reach the spot, and with an old car like mine, it's going to need that momentum to get over safely without obstructing traffic.

Have you done any hill starts yet? We have a lovely junction in Waterford where you get to do a hill start, deal with a blind t junction and traffic lights all at the same time. And in Tramore, several hills where you have to take a corner or a roundabout while on a steep hill. You shouldn't have to have a run at a hill to cope with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭ThunderZtorm

looksee wrote: »
    Have you done any hill starts yet? We have a lovely junction in Waterford where you get to do a hill start, deal with a blind t junction and traffic lights all at the same time. And in Tramore, several hills where you have to take a corner or a roundabout while on a steep hill. You shouldn't have to have a run at a hill to cope with it.

Well, it's not so much getting up the hill, it's more, all the way to the hill, the speed limit's 80, then 60, and then exactly at the beginning of the very steep, and very short, climb, the limit turns to 30, and that I don't understand. Right after the climb, which is like 100-200m, limit's back to 60 again.

So in other words, before the climb, you'd need to crawl down to 30km/h, crawl up the hill in third I'd say, and then speed up right after you're done. To me, that makes no sense, and I do notice that absolutely nobody does it. Not a single person.