Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

were you brought up in charity shops??

• 24-06-2011 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

The other day i was in a charity shop and got a lovely top for 4euro, delighted with myself, on my way out bumped into an old school friend who had no problem saying to me "Have you no shame shopping in there"?

Um... last time i checked we were in a recession and no one had notions anymore!!!:rolleyes:

I was raised in charity shops, a lot of my clothes were from there, and i had some pretty nice clothes. As an adult i have gotten lovely stuff there, and I will be teaching my kids that theres no shame in it. My husband on the other hand wont go near the place cos his mother raised him to be ashamed of it, says the woman whos on the dole and still looks down on everyone!

So were you a 2nd hand clothes kid??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭flyaway.

No. We sometimes gave our clothes to the charity shop once we out grew them but our clothes never came from there. We could get cheap new clothes from Pennys.

Nothing wrong with buying from charity shops though. I buy books and stuff from there but I personally wouldn't get clothes there.

The other day i was in a charity shop and got a lovely top for 4euro, delighted with myself, on my way out bumped into an old school friend who had no problem saying to me "Have you no shame shopping in there"?

So what was your old school friend doing there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

The clothes I have now will do me till the next recession. I can always get a nice beour to sew them up for me after a shag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

No I was brought up in a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

Jake1 wrote: »

So what was your old school friend doing there?

passing i guess;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

I picked up a lovely pair of Y-fronts the other day. Very comfy and no stains. A bargain.

Now what'll I do about this strange rash I've developed...?

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

No.

Was an only child for ages, and only grandchild/niece, so was showered with clothes and other stuff.

Didn't impact on how I view charity/second hand shops though - of course there's no shame in buying clothes from there.
    Why would there be?
    I've bought plenty of stuff from them as an adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Your friend is a snob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

No my parents had a few quid back in the day but everyone around me was broke in the 70s & 80s. I see nothing wrong with buying from charity shops but I don't need to and hate rumaging. I don't go to charity shops for the same reason I don't shop for clothes in TKMaxx, I don't have the time or patience for it. I love a bargain though. I think that was a bit rude of your friend, recession or no recession. Some of my friends love charity shops & they look great (sometimes - other times they look like they got their clothes in a charity shop. Ha. )

No.

Was an only child for ages, and only grandchild/niece, so was showered with clothes and other stuff.

Didn't impact on how I view charity/second hand shops though - of course there's no shame in buying clothes from there.
    Why would there be?
    I've bought plenty of stuff from them as an adult.

Bling, bling I was showered with water and soap...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Not brought up there, only discovered them a year or two ago. I would definitely prefer most charity shop clothes to Penneys crap. Just recently I got a quality smart coat, the kind you wear to the theatre for 8.50 and and a brand new never worn pair of MBTs for a fiver. I work/earn but since I started browsing in charity shops/TKMaxx, eating in small ethnic places, buying books in Chapters etc I have loads more fun and I put away a grand a month. Let your friend beat that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

No, I came to charity shops later in life . . . absolutely love them, have got some of my most loved clothes from them.

Only yesterday I picked up a lovely skirt from Monsoon with the tags still on for €3.50 . . . ba-har-ga-hen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

I personally, wasn't brought up IN charity shops.....brought up at home and my mother made our clothes and we got parcels of clothes from the wealthy cousins in America.

I now shop IN charity shops....recently in the UK and even during the boom I always bought the odd piece in Sue Ryder.....in fact, I picked up some Burberry in one of them some years back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

No, we had hand me downs from older siblings and cousins.

See, back when I was a kid, families helped each other. Not every thing had to be a commodity to buy and sell. Strange, I know. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I worked for a charity that runs charity shops, be aware that a good bit of the clothes are dead peoples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Never got anything from them as a kid but I bought a lovely suit jacket in a charity shop recently. Feckin' bargain it was too.. I don't see why anyone should be ashamed of it.. people buy second hand stuff online all the time, regardless of social class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I worked for a charity that runs charity shops, be aware that a good bit of the clothes are dead peoples.

So?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Got plenty of stuff in there over the years- clothes, video games, and CDs. I love those kinda places because you'd never know what you might find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Mistyeyes321

I was the youngest of a large family so had the Hand me down's & the odd new thing...But I love a good Rummage in a charity shop!
    I would rather spend a hour in a charity shop than most highstreet shops even if I don't buy anything! I have had some old LPS in excellent condition for a small amount of money which are worth a few bob now...Also book's & I collect display spode china plates etc & managed to get one very cheap in the 1980's.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

At least they're unlikely to ask for them back.

suitseir wrote: »
    So?

So maybe it was the clothes that killed them. Maybe the clothes are cursed and are on some sort of insane killing spree.

As for myself, I always had 2nd hand clothes but they weren't of the charity shop variety. Hand me downs from inside the family and from friends of the family.

Discovered charity shop treasures when I was 14, but haven't bought anything in one for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Nah I was the baby of the family and got spoilt rotten. I remember the 80s though. Lots of people I knew used to get stuff from charity shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I was brought up by wolves. they taught me english and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Never got anything from them as a kid but I bought a lovely suit jacket in a charity shop recently. Feckin' bargain it was too.. I don't see why anyone should be ashamed of it.. people buy second hand stuff online all the time, regardless of social class.
    Today the middle classes would be more open to charity shops than the working classes funnily enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

No charity shops where I grew up :D. I got the usual hand-me-downs from my sister. I do buy the odd gem in charity shops now though.

suitseir wrote: »
    So?
    That just creeps me out. I used to collect clothes for a charity that runs charity secnd hand shops, a lot of it was good stuff, but the idea of wearing dead peoples clothes gives me the heebejeebies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

a lot of the people that shop in charity shops are well off and savvy buyers, and couldn't give a toss what anyone thinks of them. it's the group or class under them that feel embarrassed about shopping there and act like there's something wrong with shopping there.
    then there's the shams that want a new set of clothes for a fiver to last the next month. savvy again!

I'm currently on the lookout for a Light-Brown Columbo-style trench coat, have a feeling one will turn up soon...

It'd be like that new Cadbury's Ad, after the shop closes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

As long as they didn't actually die in the clothes, then I'm OK with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I love charity shops :)

The things I've got over the years in them have been great bargains.

I find it amazing that in this day and age people are still funny about shopping in charity shops.

I've got some great bargains:

Longchamp handbag RRP €475 - I paid €6 :)

Rock and Republic jeans RRP ? - I paid €2 :)

Newbridge purse RRP €60 - I paid €5 :)

That's only the ones I can remember, but I've got lots of fantastic stuff.

And books, thousands of books great value.

foxinsox wrote: »
    I love charity shops :)

The things I've got over the years in them have been great bargains.

And books, thousands of books great value.

They're better value in the library;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I wouldnt worry about that,I got my sisters cast offs( I am male) and the odd parcel from Amerikay.......and I do mean odd.When I think of some of the sh*t my aunts and uncles sent us they must have been smoking crack when they bought some of it.

Feckin dead peoples clothes dont scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

stevejr wrote: »
    They're better value in the library;)

Ya but ya but - you have to give them back to the library. And thousands of peeps may have had their grimy fingers on them. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Ronin247 wrote: »
    I wouldnt worry about that,I got my sisters cast offs( I am male) and the odd parcel from Amerikay.......and I do mean odd.When I think of some of the sh*t my aunts and uncles sent us they must have been smoking crack when they bought some of it.

That's gas.When we were little,we had dozens of cousins, and even though money was very tight,we always had nice clothes.
    Our mams used to say 'oh, it came in an american parcel'.

It didn't dawn on me for years that it couldn't have, as we had no relations in America:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Um... last time i checked we were in a recession and no one had notions anymore!!!:rolleyes:

I was raised in charity shops, a lot of my clothes were from there, and i had some pretty nice clothes. As an adult i have gotten lovely stuff there, and I will be teaching my kids that theres no shame in it. My husband on the other hand wont go near the place cos his mother raised him to be ashamed of it, says the woman whos on the dole and still looks down on everyone!

So were you a 2nd hand clothes kid??

What did you say to her when she said that? I would have told her to get over herself (that was the nice version of it).

OT: No, I wasn't brought up with charity shop clothes, but my mother wouldn't have spent a lot on our stuff either, because we flew through clothes. I don't buy clothes in charity shops, but I do go in for books and a nose through cd / dvds etc. I've a magpie eye too, so if I spot a nice candle holder or something, it will get snapped up. I regularly leave clothes and stuff into them too.

I've no shame going in or coming out of a charity shop, anyone that thinks theres something to be ashamed of being in one is a moron in my book.

Superbus wrote: »
    As long as they didn't actually die in the clothes, then I'm OK with that.
    I know for a fact one bag of clothes I got were the clothes the owner died in.

I'm sure thats very rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

charity shops are my hunting grounds for things i collect. i havent bought many clothes - got a top once. just dont tend to spot any id go for. but i still like browsing em. when i go on holiday i zero in on the charity shops. the ones in the uk are great. i came home with loads of cats (figures) craft stuff, a dog coat and dog toys (those new from the RSPCA shop) in january.
    when i was in NZ id look in the salvation ar,my shops. youd find stuff local craft groups donated. like hand knit blankets etc. well worth a nose.

feck snobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Never dressed in second hand stuff by my parents but we were given kids clothes (and ourselves give) and had no problem taking them. Most of the clothes were/are worm only a few times or not at all given the sheer volume of clothes you receive and how quick kids grow so what's the problem...

In terms of fashion: used to be quite a lot more interesting second-hand clothes shops in Dublin when I was younger. It wasn't about getting clothes cheap, it was about getting something different that nobody else would have. Used to love searching for stuff in them when I was a teenager.
    I know for a fact one bag of clothes I got were the clothes the owner died in.

Nice piece of clothing = result

Daegerty wrote: »
    I was brought up by wolves. they taught me english and all

Hope they didn't teach ya football....

stovelid wrote: »
    Never dressed in second hand stuff by my parents but we were given kids clothes (and ourselves give) and had no problem taking them. Most of the clothes were/are worm only a few times or not at all given the sheer volume of clothes you receive and how quick kids grow so what's the problem...

In terms of fashion: used to be quite a lot more interesting second-hand clothes shops in Dublin when I was younger. It wasn't about getting clothes cheap, it was about getting something different that nobody else would have. Used to love searching for stuff in them when I was a teenager.

Fleas spread quick enough though.....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

My ma used to read loads of books down through the years. About 5 years ago she bought a stack of books and found one with her own signature on it and dated 40 years ago so you never know what will turn up with a good rummage.

The OH loves the charity shops and markets as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Thank you,now i'm sitting here naked:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Didn't buy from charity shops growing up very much at all, but my communion dress was a charity shop job alright. My parents just couldn't afford a new one at the time.

Lovely it was too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

My mum buys all my clothes in charity shops. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I often browse in them , don't feel shame or whatever.
    But I rarely buy as I find it mostly to be overpriced ****.

I often see a penneys top marked at say 8 yoyo's when they are 6 new in the shop.

I prefer the car boot and jumble sales that the uk have, they're wicked.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

My ma used to read loads of books down through the years. About 5 years ago she bought a stack of books and found one with her own signature on it and dated 40 years ago so you never know what will turn up with a good rummage.

The OH loves the charity shops and markets as well.
    I got a book for my dad , turned out it was one he had given to someone as a Christmas present.

Love the eclectic mix of books you can find amid the dross. Some times it's just bestellers, stuff you have already and Mills&Boon and other's it's like being a kid in a sweet shop. Then it's lots of fun to browse and flick through the books. And the real joy of being amongst several browsers and recognising a spine and it's *grab* *mine* without even having to look at the cover. ( yes I know the pensionner with her shopping trolly probably won't want one of the Dune series with the original cover, but I'm not taking any chances.)

The most embarassing thing is trying to figure out how to carry *way too many* books :o

But I have a rule , I can't take any more in unless I get rid of at least as many. Well that was the plan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

Abi wrote: »
    What did you say to her when she said that? I would have told her to get over herself (that was the nice version of it).

I just said "Theres a recession on and i wont pay 15euro for a new top when i just got one for 4euro in here"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭katiebelle

We had the clothes in parcels from america and the Uk that were then handed down through all the kids. I discovered charity shops when I was in my teens and had no money. It was the 80's so no one had money really. I used to get creative and modernize the clothes a bit myself. I dont buy from charity shops now mostly because they dont have many fat bast@rd clothes in there :-) . Never shopped in charity shops for my kids though and they are all a bit snobby about charity shops now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My Mam hates them, she says she feels itchy whenever she's in them

I love charity shops though, I brag about finding bargains all the time! My brother loves them too now, not really for clothes but furniture and other bits and bobs