Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Races 2011

• 24-06-2011 8:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭

Hi guys....
    me and a few of my friends are galway races virgins and we're planning on going this summer!
    just wondering if anyone had any tips in regarding which day would be the best to go and where to stay on a cheapish kinda budget??
    any help would be much appreciated!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

skeenan89 wrote: »
    Hi guys....
    me and a few of my friends are galway races virgins and we're planning on going this summer!
    just wondering if anyone had any tips in regarding which day would be the best to go and where to stay on a cheapish kinda budget??
    any help would be much appreciated!:D

The Galway Plate( Biggest race of the meeting) is on the Wednesday and it's Ladies day on the Thursday usually. The festival is great craic but some of the racing is a little substandard to say the least compared to some festivals but you won't need to know that as i'm sure you'll be well intoxicated!!! To make money down there it's a small fact about backing a trainer by the name of Dermot Weld i think that's his name anyway:D

Accommodation can be a bit pricey(rip off Ireland is alive and kicking:rolleyes:) but shop around i'm sure you'll get somewhere. Best idea if there is a good few of ya's is to try rent out a house for the week as i know a lot of people from Galway that do that as they can't stand Galway races week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

If you're looking for a place to stay Corrib Village might be an option, it's a few miles from the city centre but they have a shuttle bus and would be grand if you're happy with somewhere basic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭skeenan89

Predalien wrote: »
    If you're looking for a place to stay Corrib Village might be an option, it's a few miles from the city centre but they have a shuttle bus and would be grand if you're happy with somewhere basic.

just checked their website....fully booked already! nightmare it sounded perfect!!!!
    anymore cheap accommo ideas? dont overly care what its like, doubt we'll be there that much!!
    feels like i might of left this too late:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Try calling one of the b'nbs on college road. Most places booked up by now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Sprouts

Try Cúirt na Coiribe or Gort na Coiribe it works out super for 3 or 4 of you and neither are too far from the track or town

Far better quality than corrib village too. They are the worst apartments in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

There is a thread in the Galway City forum about accommodation available during Race week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 luap2007

I know someone with a house close to the race course if interested? PM ME IF YOU DO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I'm staying with Urban, anyone stuck for accommodation also welcome... PM for info

Edit Corrib Village is like a room from the Titanic, anyone any ante posts for the hurdle?

ft9 wrote: »
    I'm staying with Urban, anyone stuck for accommodation also welcome... PM for info

Edit Corrib Village is like a room from the Titanic, anyone any ante posts for the hurdle?

No you're not :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Left it a bit late to sort accomdation OP. Cuirt na Rasai is student accomadation in Ballybrit and about 15 minute walk to the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

I have been going to the galway races for last 10 years or so, fecken love it. The last few years i have stayed in the harbour hotel, its a great location 2mins walk from eyre sq, the bus is $8 return from there to races and well worth it.
    Harbour hotel prob booked out now but its in a great spot.

The past few years i have done the mon/tue and wed, doing the same this year, ladies day on thursday is so ****ing annoying if your into the racing but i have a feeling it might suit ye:)

dermot weld is deff the man to follow in galway as his record there at the festival is incredible. (backing his horses blind last year showed a healthy profit).
    The racing is not the best(standard wise) but is great fun.

I can honestly say if its your first time at the galway races it wont be your last as its the best social meet of the year.

Entries for the hurdle and plate here

http://info.hri-racing.ie/entries/Microsoft_Word__ONOR186.PDF Plate

http://info.hri-racing.ie/entries/Microsoft_Word__ONOR187.PDF Hurdle

Some strong entries this year, Overturn back again captain ceebee (entered in both) etc.

Hurdle is the richest national hunt race in Ireland at the moment.

Edit: I will be there the 7 days myself, cant wait! Fortunately I'm from galway so dont need to worry about accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,526 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Been going for 20 years. Wed and Thurs are the best. Have stayed everywhere from the car to the Radisson!

Galway Hurdle
    Overturn
    8/1
    Dirar
    8/1
    The Real Article
    9/1
    Captain Cee Bee
    10/1
    Hidden Universe
    10/1
    Plan A
    10/1
    Jack Cool
    12/1
    Gimlis Rock
    12/1
    Redera
    12/1
    Street Entertainer
    12/1
    Sublime Talent
    12/1
    Bahrain Storm
    14/1
    Tornedo Shay
    14/1
    Oilily
    14/1
    Silverhand
    14/1
    Johnny McGeeney
    14/1
    Oneeightofamile
    16/1
    Jumbo Rio
    16/1
    Son Amix
    16/1
    Deutschland
    16/1
    Moon Dice
    16/1
    Gudnis Gracious Me
    16/1
    Laterly
    16/1
    Salute Him
    16/1
    Tawaagg
    20/1
    Action Master
    20/1
    Silk Hall
    20/1
    Idarah
    20/1
    Inspector Closeau
    20/1
    Fosters Cross
    25/1
    Total Excitement
    25/1
    False Economy
    25/1
    Cothrom Na Feinne
    25/1
    Eagles Pass
    25/1
    Force OF Habit
    25/1
    Princeton Plains
    33/1
    Alderwood
    33/1
    Askthemaster
    33/1
    House Rules
    33/1
    Beyond
    33/1
    One For Joules
    50/1

Plate

Rebel Du Maquis
    9/1
    Bahrain Storm
    10/1
    Majestic Concorde
    12/1
    Dancing Tornado
    12/1
    Blazing Tempo
    12/1
    Prince Erik
    12/1
    Dr Whizz
    12/1
    Head Of The Posse
    14/1
    Aigle D'Or
    14/1
    Bideford Legend
    14/1
    Invisible Man
    14/1
    Captain Cee Bee
    16/1
    Scotsirish
    16/1
    Psycho
    16/1
    Finger On the Pulse
    16/1
    Deutschland
    16/1
    Archie Boy
    16/1
    Ballyholland
    16/1
    Wise Old Owl
    16/1
    Hampshire Express
    16/1
    Lucky Wish
    16/1
    Carrigmartin
    16/1
    Truckers Delight
    16/1
    Matuhi
    20/1
    Lenabane
    20/1
    Schindlers Gold
    20/1
    Classic Swain
    20/1
    Muirhead
    20/1
    Harold's Cross
    20/1
    Got Attitude
    20/1
    Idarah
    25/1
    Back Of The Pack
    25/1
    Ponmeoath
    25/1
    Qulinton
    25/1
    Salesin
    25/1
    The Last Derby
    25/1
    Dundrum
    25/1
    Powerstation
    25/1
    Sebadee
    25/1
    Fosters Cross
    25/1
    Pilgrims Lane
    25/1
    Sir Fredrick
    25/1
    Armaramak
    25/1
    Schelm
    33/1
    Montero
    33/1
    Chasing Cars
    33/1
    King High
    33/1
    Wins Now
    33/1
    Casey Top
    33/1
    Campbonnais
    33/1
    Hangover
    33/1
    Politeo
    33/1
    Supercede
    33/1
    Having a Cut
    50/1
    Banna Man
    50/1
    Lets Go Sunshine
    50/1
    Eagles Pass
    66/1
    Tajweed
    100/1

Ladbrokes have priced them up too.

They have dancing tornado up at 20/1, looks a massive price for a horse that finished ahead of long run last november and would have caught little josh given another 200 yards. The 2m 6f with an up hill finish should suit him too.

8/1 about overturn is tasty too, though there is no guarantee he will run he is entered in goodwood too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

10/1 Bahrain Storm is criminal this horse is totally ground dependent.If anything with soft attached to the going you can tear up your docket.I have over the last number of years on this site lauded the merits and napped the horse when he won the hurdle at 20/1 and to avoid at 4/6 in Limerick in soft going .He won last night in Killarney over a trip to short but was very well handicapped to do so.Two mile six furlongs and fourteen stiff fences will he stay up the hill???

Ladbrokes have priced them up too.

They have dancing tornado up at 20/1, looks a massive price for a horse that finished ahead of long run last november and would have caught little josh given another 200 yards. The 2m 6f with an up hill finish should suit him too.

8/1 about overturn is tasty too, though there is no guarantee he will run he is entered in goodwood too.
    I think he will require heavy going[ Dancing Tornado] is on 19lb higher mark since last win.Its about opinion and I think Prince Erik is very well in but a poor price at 12/1.Weld seems to be looking to win the bigs races for Galway chemist dr Ronan Lambe.

sting60 wrote: »
    I think he will require heavy going[ Dancing Tornado] is on 19lb higher mark since last win.Its about opinion and I think Prince Erik is very well in but a poor price at 12/1.Weld seems to be looking to win the bigs races for Galway chemist dr Ronan Lambe.

I doubt very much I will be doing anything antepost anyway, It will be much nearer the races before I make any final decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 stevie123c

Have to disagree with Wed/Thurs being the best.
    They are certainly and most popular and as a result the most packed days up there. You will be charged extra at the gate plus waiting times at the bar/tote and taxi/bus home can be doubled or tripled.
    I'd recommend going up on either Friday evening or the Saturday to really get a good idea of why the Galway races are so popular. Spend the Wednesday and Thursday in town in a pub with the racing on, I recommend O'Connells beer garden or The Skeff, both of which are on the square, and just meet up with the racing crowd later. This way you get best of both worlds.

A lot of people are of the opinion Overturn will not be coming for the hurdle, why is this?

I mean why enter him if theres no intention of running?

stevie123c wrote: »
    Have to disagree with Wed/Thurs being the best.
    They are certainly and most popular and as a result the most packed days up there. You will be charged extra at the gate plus waiting times at the bar/tote and taxi/bus home can be doubled or tripled.
    I'd recommend going up on either Friday evening or the Saturday to really get a good idea of why the Galway races are so popular. Spend the Wednesday and Thursday in town in a pub with the racing on, I recommend O'Connells beer garden or The Skeff, both of which are on the square, and just meet up with the racing crowd later. This way you get best of both worlds.

I go everyday and have for years and personally its the wednesday and thursday I most look forward to followed by the monday evening when everything kicks off, the atmosphere is brilliant on the two big days especially during the two big races when the whole place goes mad. I prefer national hunt racing over the flat too so I dont want to miss out on the two big ones. I do enjoy the quieter days too, its a different sort of atmosphere but enjoyable none the less.

Sunday is the worst day in my opinion, its the only day I wouldn't be too bothered about missing (though I rarely do).
    A lot of people are of the opinion Overturn will not be coming for the hurdle, why is this?

I mean why enter him if theres no intention of running?

He is supposed to be entered in the goodwood cup too, connections are obviously keeping their options open. Its probably not fair to say they have no intention of running him rather they are undecided. Personally I hope he runs, I love to see bigger name horses turn up at Galway.

I'd avoid antepost bets, as its likely firms will offer 5places on the Plate and/or Hurdle.

If I had an antepost bet today and in a week or so they offered 5 places, would I get the 5 places?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Boya

Galway Races what a great day out for all and the city is mighty at nite time. Wonder how it will be this year with the whole economy squeeze thing ?

Nothing like having a few pints at the track and then on into city afterward.....only thing is no Bulmers at the racetrack :confused: and thats a crying shame - why not i ask; why not ? beer too heavy for hopefully fine week of weather.......if Bulmers was there id be a happy camper...and all those winnings from backing Weld.... happy days..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

No Ruby Walsh this year as he crushed a vertebrae tonight and will be out till at least the Listowel Festival. Paul Nicholls put on his twitter last night that Rebel de Marquis will be going straight to Galway and won't run at Market Rasen this weekend

mr.jingle wrote: »
    No Ruby Walsh this year as he crushed a vertebrae tonight and will be out till at least the Listowel Festival. Paul Nicholls put on his twitter last night that Rebel de Marquis will be going straight to Galway and won't ru Sorry for any jockey who gets hurt and Walsh seems to have picked a few recently.This means he will be with the RTE coverage with Ted,avoid, avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Scien wrote: »
    Anyone know how much of a difference there is in the student admission than regular adult admission. They don't mention it on the website.
    Just realised 3 days admission will set me back €85!
    Might chance flashing the 2008 UCC card. :)

Its 10 euro less than the advertised adult price.

Id advise you to attempt a bit of doctoring on the student card to give it a valid date, they are pretty strict on the date of student cards. I am almost certain you wont get in with an out of date one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 bob lesley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Once really was enough.

If you are backing, then as usual Dermot Weld over the first two days is probably the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Do any of ye make a profit at Galway?

I usually avoid this meeting like the plague as it seems to be a complete bookies benefit to me. Most of the races are shyte and the fields are huge. I've often wondered why some people look forward to Galway with the same sort of excitement that people look forward to Cheltenham. Why?? :confused:

Maybe it's just the bookies and the media who hype it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

I usually avoid this meeting like the plague as it seems to be a complete bookies benefit to me. Most of the races are shyte and the fields are huge. I've often wondered why some people look forward to Galway with the same sort of excitement that people look forward to Cheltenham. Why?? :confused:

Agree that its not the best week of quality racing and for the most part a punting nightmare.

I have done pretty well over the years but i normally might only have a decent bet on a few races, most of the races i would only have a token bet for interest.(been at the races and all that)

It is hyped up, and so it should be, its the social meet of the year and there is great prize money on offer.

I would rather be a bookie in galway anytime tho:D

Spot on all hype no substance.I have done ok over the years Bahrain Storm at 20/1and the last nice hit was a horse I knew about for awhile. Was afraid about the jockey[10lb claimer Cathy Gannon]won in a canter at 16/1.Horses are laid out all year and unless you have decent info keep bets to 10e max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

The Real Article is looking a serious favourite for the Hurdle. He can only get shorter - I'll guess he goes off 2/1.

Nulty wrote: »
    The Real Article is looking a serious favourite for the Hurdle. He can only get shorter - I'll guess he goes off 2/1.

Indeed he does look serious Nulty.

Although the Turf Club may re-open a case regarding the recent run in Tipperary.

See here http://www.irishracing.com/v5newsitem?prid=54830

I really do wish they did, as it is The Real Article stands to go off a mark of 127 for the Hurdle.

If they do reopen the case what can the outcome be? Will they just up the rating to a sufficient mark, or just issue a fine/ban

Nulty wrote: »
    Racing has really done its image no good with regards the running of The Real Article last time out.I have seen trainers jockeys and horses been suspended for far less.I would guess this horse is 19lbs well in,in the Galway Hurdle and as a relative novice he has alot more than that in hand.Just a word of caution, I though his head went a bit high when asked to improve [green???].He has only ever been hit with stick two or three times and that was in his first race.If my rating is correct then he is a very serious horse going right to the top.I believe the IRB may review the last race again because of pressure from calls they recieved.

**** betting at Galway. Goodwood will be on the same time.

Says your man trying to arrange people to go to Galway races over in the Gambling forum

I'm going,but won't be betting on many races there. Bad horses running in big handicap fields.
    Lol.

Indeed he does look serious Nulty.

Although the Turf Club may re-open a case regarding the recent run in Tipperary.

See here http://www.irishracing.com/v5newsitem?prid=54830

I really do wish they did, as it is The Real Article stands to go off a mark of 127 for the Hurdle.

If they do reopen the case what can the outcome be? Will they just up the rating to a sufficient mark, or just issue a fine/ban

Anyway Urban, while your here, you able shed some light on this for me?

Doubt it'll be opened but didn't see the race.

It would be a hell of a piece of riding to ensure the horse got beaten,but only by a short head.

I take your point US that Galway has serious prize money for not so serious horses, but look at the buzz it creates, look what its worth to the local economy.

Would you rather this festival was scrapped?

I dont understand constant complaints against it, and coming into a Galway races thread saying 'Fcuk Galway'. Why not embrace it?

It certainly manages to draw the crowds every year.

Sorry 9 I didn't make myself clear.
    I like going to Galway,I meant **** betting at Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 luap2007

<snip>

Mod edit: There's a thread dedicated to race week accommodation in the Galway City forum. It would probably be better to post there.

C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭flyer88

Does anybody know how much admission is for a 14 year old, a 16 year old and an 18 year old?

flyer88 wrote: »
    Does anybody know how much admission is for a 14 year old, a 16 year old and an 18 year old?

U14 is 2 euro.

The 16 year old should should technically pay student prices but should manage to get through as an u14 too unless he is old looking for his age. The 18 year old should be getting in as student which will be between 10 and 20 euro depending on the day. He will need a student ID though and it can be tricky to get in for some people still in secondary school as they have no student ID.

Its a thing they need to sort out imo, Ive seen my sister who was 17 and in school have to pay adult prices a few years ago as she didnt have a student id while I had no problem despite being 8 years older but with student id in hand.

Send them all up to the u14 gate first anyway including the 18 year old they could all get it on the cheap its a bit of a lottery at times.

Tony Martin has most wins this year with 12 from 46 runners.Noel meade has 10 from 33 runners.The best stat so far this year is John Kiely from only 16 runners he has 6 winners and 4 seconds,wow.The trainer with worst stats are Eddie O Grady 64 runners only 4 winners and 11 seconds.Gordon Elliott with 85 runners with 7 winners and 13 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 omanny

<snip>

There's a thread specific to this in the Galway City forum. Please post the info there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭almat1981

I stayed in the clairegalway hotel last year its pretty close to the course and has a free shuttle bus to and from.I think its €75pps, downside its pretty far from Galway city about €25 in a taxi if i remember rightly. Nice hotel tough .