Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday night live LOI

• 23-06-2011 8:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

19:35 Sligo Rovers ? - ? Shamrock Rovers
    19:45 Bohemians ? - ? Drogheda United
    19:45 Dundalk ? - ? Galway
    19:45 St. Patricks ? - ? Bray Wanderers
    19:45 UC Dublin ? - ? Derry City

Rovers on tv so switched from Saturday seems odd Sligo would agree considering they may lose money now.

Clean sheet and a win would be nice but Bray very good vs us twice this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Hopefully we'll beat Drogs. Shels better beat athlone,have them in the last man standing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    Shels better beat athlone,have them in the last man standing

I'd be fairly confident that we will. No injuries and no suspensions for the Reds.

8pm k.o. in Tolka for those interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Apparently Paddy Power have taken in excess of €10,000 on Dundalk to win by 3 or more goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

24 Jun 2011 Cork City 7:45 Waterford United Turner's Cross
    24 Jun 2011 Shelbourne 8:00 Athlone Town Tolka Park
    24 Jun 2011 Wexford Youths 8:00 Limerick Ferrycarrig Park
    25 Jun 2011 Salthill Devon 7:00 Finn Harps Drom Soccer Pitch
    25 Jun 2011 Longford Town 7:30 Monaghan United Flancare Park

Shels should hammer Athlone, Cork should beat Waterford. Other three could go either way imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I see that our game with Pats has been moved to Sunday or Monday week now.

Can't be helped but that's another damper on attendances: will be the fourth big game we've had played on a Monday or Tuesday in nearly as many weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

stovelid wrote: »

Can't be helped but that's another damper on attendances: will be the fourth big game we've had played on a Monday or Tuesday in nearly as many weeks.

2pm Sunday week, as per the Rovers forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

O Neils a classy guy, wants your game in between Euros called off but insisting we play you on the sunday rather than the monday which we wanted.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    O Neils a classy guy, wants your game in between Euros called off but insisting we play you on the sunday rather than the monday which we wanted.

Imagine that: a manager trying to prioritize what's right for the team (or the club) he's employed to manage. What's his problem.

At least Sunday should be a bigger gate hopefully.

Imagine that: a manager trying to prioritize what's right for the team (or the club) he's employed to manage. What's his problem.

At least Sunday should be a bigger gate hopefully.

Oh expected nothing less than that from him or Rovers.

Which club's needs would you expect Mahon to prioritize?

Only 1 but you know full well Mahon wouldnt lower himself to that kind of tactic.

Bit off topic, but have Des Kelly ceased sponsoring Bohs?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Bit off topic, but have Des Kelly ceased sponsoring Bohs?
    From what I've heard, yes.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

where did u hear that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

19:35 Sligo Rovers ? - ? Shamrock Rovers
    19:45 Bohemians ? - ? Drogheda United
    19:45 Dundalk ? - ? Galway
    19:45 St. Patricks ? - ? Bray Wanderers
    19:45 UC Dublin ? - ? Derry City

Rovers on tv so switched from Saturday seems odd Sligo would agree considering they may lose money now.

Clean sheet and a win would be nice but Bray very good vs us twice this season.

we are playing in tolka monday night so it suits

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

where did u hear that ?

Fellow fan told me, the forum is being quiet about it on the public part (I'm not club member) but it's obvious something's happened.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Few rumours of monthly wage figures floating around that would appear pretty worrying....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Few rumours of monthly wage figures floating around that would appear pretty worrying....
    From us? Spill the beans please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

so they wont be on the jersys tonight so ?

BOHtox wrote: »
    From us? Spill the beans please!

30+ k a month on coaching and admin wages alone. Maybe just A rumour. Heard it was on your (public) forum earlier but has since been deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭chimpo85

24 Jun 2011 Cork City 7:45 Waterford United Turner's Cross
    24 Jun 2011 Shelbourne 8:00 Athlone Town Tolka Park
    24 Jun 2011 Wexford Youths 8:00 Limerick Ferrycarrig Park
    25 Jun 2011 Salthill Devon 7:00 Finn Harps Drom Soccer Pitch
    25 Jun 2011 Longford Town 7:30 Monaghan United Flancare Park

Shels should hammer Athlone, Cork should beat Waterford. Other three could go either way imo.

Yeah, although Id be worried if we dont beat Wexford...even away from home. Not sure if Gamble and Behan will be playing though...

chimpo85 wrote: »
    Yeah, although Id be worried if we dont beat Wexford...even away from home. Not sure if Gamble and Behan will be playing though...

For 1400 quid he would want to be making the half time tea and washing the jerseys.

Although I'm backing Limerick tonight, they did cause an upset last time in Jackman, but I'd say Scully will be looking for yous to bounce back after our thrashing of yous last week.

For 1400 quid he would want to be making the half time tea and washing the jerseys.

Wouldnt be a bad sneaky clause in the contract! Not sure about cuppas at half time though!

Do players coming in not have to wait til 1 July before they can play?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Do players coming in not have to wait til 1 July before they can play?

Can't be registered till then afaik so they can't play tonight.

Nice conditions for a game.

Lashing rain and overcast. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Horrible weather in Sligo for the game. Hopefully the weather, it being on Friday and on TV wont make much difference to the attendance.

Looking forward to it though should be a great game.

Although I'm backing Limerick tonight, they did cause an upset last time in Jackman, but I'd say Scully will be looking for yous to bounce back after our thrashing of yous last week.

Been thinking the same, went to paddy power then, we're 4/7...no hope of a sneaky bet there! Wasnt at the game but by all accounts we were terrible... So far this season we're relying on a flat out first 20mins to get one or two in the net but its just not paying off...Scully need to go out tonight a lot more tactically rounded.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Been bucketing down in Cork all day - the X will be slippy as fúck, like most other grounds probably. At least the weather will improve dramatically for the rest of the weekend.

30+ k a month on coaching and admin wages alone. Maybe just A rumour. Heard it was on your (public) forum earlier but has since been deleted.

You're not far off, mate. It's no secret there's a lot of wasteage within the club. I firmly believe our only way out of this is to stay part time. I do not believe we'd get the revenue we have now as amateurs. IMO, where we cut back is in coaching and administration costs. We need a well-run bar but most importantly we need to keep the crowds coming in. We should not increase the playing budget in any way, and we should cut it where we can, but we must stay part time to get out of this,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,982 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Who's taking the corners for Sligo? It's almost a perfect delivery 99% of the time...

mars bar wrote: »
    Who's taking the corners for Sligo? It's almost a perfect delivery 99% of the time...

Ndo I think. He took the one leading to the goal anyway!

BOHtox wrote: »
    Ndo I think. He took the one leading to the goal anyway!

Yeah that's who it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Cretaro booked for diving again!!!?

Shocked

Shamrock Rovers have been so negative.

Twigg finally coming on now.

Surely that should have been a penalty? Peers hadn't one eye on the ball there...

United have scored in Dundalk! Gary Kelly's first senior goal. That's one positive thing about this season. A lot of young local players getting their chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

RTE keep saying 0-0 between Pats and Bray,everywhere else saying Pats scored in the 56th minute

Its a disgrace Joe!

Doyle gets his goal and it is a quality one at that!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Waterford 3-2 up on city - 5mins left!

Pats look like they are going top.....sligo won 2-nil and Pats still 1 up!!!

Full time in Oriel. Just the 6 goals for Dundalk in the end.

Wretched performance from Rovers: handed the initiative to Sligo from the start. I assume the formation relied on GON holding up the ball for the four middle players to run on to but this was just nullified by belting long balls to a small player against two big centre halves and also because (especially by Finn) he was left marooned.

Cretaro might have got a peno on another night but the foul by Peers was the most stonewall peno I've seen in about 2-3 years in LOI. No complaints though: made to look completely ordinary. When N'do is dispossessing your attacking midfielder, you know you're fucked.

United have scored in Dundalk! Gary Kelly's first senior goal. That's one positive thing about this season. A lot of young local players getting their chance.

Fair balls to you man. Really hope yis pull through this.

Wretched performance from Rovers: handed the initiative to Sligo from the start. I assume the formation relied on GON holding up the ball for the four middle players to run on to but this was just nullified by belting long balls to a small layer against two big centre halves and also because (especially by Finn) nobody linked up with him.

Cretaro might have got a peno on another night but the foul by Peers was the most stonewall peno I've seen in about 2-3 years in LOI.

No complaints though: made to look completely ordinary,. When N'do is dispossessing your attacking midfielder, you know you;re fucked.

lol... was thinking the same when I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Glad I went to play ball tonight instead of making the trip to Sligo my mate was trying to cajole me into.

Poor game didnt play great, bray were decent but a win a clean sheet and Gary Rogers made the greatest save in in the history of football in the 90th minute.

236-01.gif

We are top of the league for a few days at least :D

Shaun Maher didn't bother his hole turning up today. We're better off without the likes of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Shaun Maher didn't bother his hole turning up today. We're better off without the likes of him.

Well if he isn't getting paid I don't blame him.

SantryRed wrote: »
    Well if he isn't getting paid I don't blame him.

Bit rich from a shels fan?