Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever move house as a child?

• 22-06-2011 10:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I moved about a bit as a child, well twice before I finished school and nowhere too outlandish, it was always within the west of Ireland though different counties each time

I moved when I was 7 and 13, then moved off again for college and all that happens after.
    It never bothered me moving as a kid, and I never regretted moving and I'm glad I did in each case as I moved fron more remote areas each time.
    But I pass my old homes all the time due to routes I take for working or visiting and it is unbelievably strange to pass these building that you have lived in for a large part of your formative years and not to be able to barge in and look in the fridge.
    In fact, the house I left when I was 7, we broke into on visits a couple of times after as it hadn't been sold, though it was after for £32k!! And two sites sold on the orchard out back...

But I sometimes have dreams, where I can walk into a shed of my family home now and end up in my first house and walk in through a dorr and end uo in the next one. They're pleasant dreams and fairly nostalgiac, they often contain old friends also, and I have often heard that if you dream of an old residence that is in disrepair you regret leaving, if not you don't.
    I don't regret leaving in that case, didn't have choice, but am happy with how it all transpired anyway

Tl;dr I ramble, did you move about much as a kid? And if so any regrets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

No - and was really envious of people who did. Two sets of cousins were always moving house (one family - around Cork, the other family - around America :pac:) and I thought they were so lucky... but it was probably a major pain in the arse for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I moved to a place for about 4 months. some apartment. I liked it there at the time but went back there later and realised its a pure dump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yup, born on Summerhill in inner city Dublin.

Then moved to the flats in Ballymun, and from there moved to a house in Poppintree (Ballymun).

Left there when I was 18 to join the army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

We moved out of Birmingham when I was 10, then back to Brum exactly a year ago (when I was 16).

When we first moved out of Birmingham, I constantly dreamt about going back to 'the old house' and the people who'd bought it coming back home while I was there. Very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Loads of times. Carried on into adulthood as well; including different London boroughs I must have lived in over twenty different towns, four different countries and probably pushing forty individual addresses by this point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

brummytom wrote: »
    We moved out of Birmingham when I was 10, then back to Brum exactly a year ago (when I was 16).

When we first moved out of Birmingham, I constantly dreamt about going back to 'the old house' and the people who'd bought it coming back home while I was there. Very strange.

Did you go back to your old house?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Yup, when I was 5 or 6, from Kildare to Longford. Been there ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

i tried moving a house when i was a kid..
    but it was just too damn heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I was born in New York but I can't remember living there. I moved house once in Ireland when I was about 5, but it was to a newly build house within a half mile of the old one.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Moved from Dublin to Roscommon when I was around 5, I was devestated at the time! Swore Id get back to Dublin the first chance I got, and ended up in college there then! Back in Ros for the Summer but Id much rather be in Dublin still!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭willow tree

yep we moved four times by the time i was 6 years old. i think it was good and hoped we'd move again. my brother and i were talking about this, when someone new started in school they were always seen as hot, maybe they were but possibly it was just someone new to look at:rolleyes:
    by the time i was 22 id lived in 20 places, funny dp hates to move

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Yep. Did it 3 times.

First time was grand, as I was 7. 2nd time was the worst at 9/10 years old as I really liked that house and had made best of friends with my neighbour (who I'm still in touch with), and was moving from a city to a small town which seemed crap at the time. 3rd time was only a few miles as the house my parents bought hadn't been finished, so we were only renting for a year.

The worst thing is when people ask me where I am originally from. I always say county cork, but it doesn't feel right as I only lived there since the age of 10. Also, not being a fan of GAA makes me loathe cork supporters like nothing else due to being surrounded by them growing up.

Edit -> I actually moved 5 times, but was too young to remember the first 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

The worst thing is when people ask me where I am originally from. .

I don't even try to explain any more, far too complicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Loads of my family are always on the move :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Lived in the same house from the times I was born til I was 17. I would have hated moving, I was always very particular about where all my stuff was, refused to throw anything out, and hated if my mother so much as painted the kitchen. I think I'd have had a breakdown if we moved :pac:.

Moved from Dublin to Roscommon
    Ouch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭many

I moved thirteen times as a child after my parents split up, but all in the same town! My mam and I rented different places for seven years. It was good for me because now I amn't attached to houses, meaning I find it easier to move and to make a home wherever.

I had my fun!

Yep, twice. Moved from Clondalkin to Ballyfermot when I was 4, only barely remember it obviously. Then moved outside Listowel, Kerry when I was 11.

Karsini wrote: »
    Moved from Clondalkin to Ballyfermot when I was 4, only barely remember it obviously. Then moved outside Listowel, Kerry when I was 11.
    Ouch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Dudess wrote: »
    Ouch.
    Ouch.

Arent you from Cork? :pac:

And you're from Dundalk. Meh, third time's a charm: ouch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Apart from quite a few moves as a baby I moved house once when I was 8.

I left for school from the old house and then after school I was brought to the new house (they were only 10 minutes apart) and my Dad had already unpacked most of the house (he's an organising machine) - my bedroom was all set up for me!

Ouch.

Indeed. I'm sure you commented on it before. ;)

I know Listowel well though - lots of relatives up there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 CharlieSheen

Yep

Moved from Nenagh to Templemore in Co.Tipp when I was 8 years old
    1/9/1997
    The same day Diana was killed.

Then moved house again in 2006,but stayed in the same town,we just built a new house! =]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

No, never did but I always wondered what it would be like.

I thought it would be very sad actually. Not having the same garden to play in or the same bedroom, losing all your friends, having to make new ones, what if you didn't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Larianne wrote: »

I thought it would be very sad actually. Not having the same garden to play in or the same bedroom, losing all your friends, having to make new ones, what if you didn't...

+1 on that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

From Amsterdam to Haarlem when under a year old, then to Ireland (Kilbride) when I was 6, then Rathfarnham from 7 until 12, then onto Tallaght until now (19)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

moved a few times when I was a toddler. We got a flat in Ballinteer when I was about 2 and then moved to a new house when I was 12 or 13.
    Every now and then I dream about the flat I used to live in. I love having those dreams, it's like they make me feel safe and happy. I do miss the place dearly. I would love to go back and visit the place where I grew up but unfortunately those flats have all been torn down :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

I grew up in Tallaght, and then moved down to Wexford when I was 12. To be honest I don't often dream about my old house, maybe I did when I was younger though.

It's hard to tell whether I miss my old house and area, because I moved at a time when other changes were going on in my life (I went from primary to secondary school, and my parents split) so the two periods can't really be compared. I did find it hard to adjust to rural life for a long time. Both the area and the people confused me. But in the end I made some great friends and I love going back there to see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Larianne wrote: »

Same here. I also think that I wouldn't like to see strangers living in the house in which I grew up in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I moved with my family alright, but not until I was about 14. We lived in a nice and considered a 'posh' area. As soon as my mother got wind of the building plans in the area, she had us out of there to the country as fast as she could. But the property 'boom' saw the end of her plan, and she's been built around. Shes planning another move, but shes now asking me where is safe. If I knew that, I'd be there.

Since leaving the parents home, I've moved about a bit depending on where I was working. I like where I'm at now. fields behind me, beaches and castle grounds in every direction around me. you couldn't even call where I live a village, just how I like it. But I can't imagine it lasting long.

/packs suitcase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

I moved house to another county when I was 11. I hated it. I wasnt fond of the area I was in but when I found out we were moving on such short notice I was distraught. The new place I moved to was so surreal, I never got used to the idea it was over with our old house. My friends and my life seemed like an abrupt full stop.
    The new kids were ok but treated me like an outsider. Then we moved again, near to my 1st home which was somewhat consolling but I honeslty think this may have ****ed the social aspect of my life up as it has never taken off in my late 20's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Moved only a few miles away when I was 13. Didn't even change school. Didn't bother me too much.

moved when 13, 14, 17... and again a few times after 18 of course :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I've moved a total of 4 times from my birth home in Cork City centre, to a suburb when I was about 5, then when I was 8 moved to our current family home within a mile of the 2nd house, and I have sinced moved out of home in to an apartment with my buddies and its my current address.

Bloody hate moving everything. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Moved from Dublin to Ennis when I was 7, then Ennis to the country when I was 9.

• I moved to a bigger and nicer house in the same city (in England) when I was about 7. Moved to NI when I was 11 and was in one house for about 6 months and then moved county to a different one. My parents still live there. Never, ever felt like home, though. I hate the location and I have no childhood memories/friends next door, so I wouldn't care if they moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I moved when I was 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, and 13 which were all moves either cross country or around the world and then moved within the city we were living in when I was 17 and 20. I went to 7 different schools from age 6 to age 18.

You get used to moving and you learn tricks to making friends but you tend not to make close friends as much because you know you will just be moving away again.

After college I moved around town a couple times and then I moved to Ireland and since I have been here I have moved house twice and we are going to move again in a few months. I am tired of moving.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

13 times. In Ireland and beyond it.
    (Due to fathers work)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

Moved from London to Cork when I was 11. Terrible decision. I love Cork, but could not live there as an adult for work reasons and didn't like the fact that it was difficult to avoid religious education as a kid. I went to an educate together school, which was the personification of everything that is wrong with PC culture and was staffed by the underachievers of society.
    I then felt pretty stigmatised going to a protestant secondary school for the sole purpose of avoiding the fire and brimstone of catholic education.
    From an economic standpoint as well, my family lost a bloody fortune in property potential. They're all happy there and think it was a great decision, but I still feel it did nothing but delay the inevitable of me living in London again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I could use a spreadsheet for this...

Moved about 10 times before i was 12.... No i'm not a knacker :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I did. Two dart lines over it was. Worked out well as there was more exploration territory for this loner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Family lived in Summerhill Co.Meath when I was born and moved to Chicago when I was a few months old.
    When I was about 4, we moved to Long Island NY
    At 7 we came back to Ireland and spent a few months in Shankhill
    then moved to house in Bray for a year,
    then to another house in Bray for the past 18 years, spending college semesters out in glasnevin, santry and beaumont
    and now, moving to London in a few weeks time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Moved to Canada as a baby and while there lived in 2 houses, then moved back to Ireland and coz our house was rented out we lived in an apartment above my parents business for a while before moving to our home house.

So as a kid only moved really between Monaghan and Edmonton.

Went to College in Dublin and bought my first house there, now own my 4th house and its the 13th place to live in. Cant wait to sell it when the market lifts a little and move to France.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I remember being horrified at the idea but luckily there was never any chance of us moving. Once I left I moved a few dozen times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I lived in the same house until I was in final year of college when I moved out. Have lived in four places since.

For my childhood I guess the closest equivalent was changing room! I had three different bedrooms as a child, almost felt like a nomad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Nead21

Have moved 12 times since i was born :rolleyes: .....fingers crossed my next move should be my last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭MIRMIR82

I'm 29 and i have moved 15 times in my life. 8 of those times when i was a child - hate the fact that i dont have a proper 'family home' to go back to - my mum lives with my youngest brother now in a house i never lived in.
    I have bought my own house - but i'm hoping to move again to a better area- so it didnt really put me off:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I never really moved house, no. I lived with my grandparents for a few house before I lived with my parents though. So I did live in two places as a child, but my family never actually moved.

When I was about 14 or 15, my dad decided he us wanted to move to Offaly. Thankfully that never went down!