Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas how to save €5bn anyone//

• 22-06-2011 4:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭

THE Government is to ask the general public for its ideas on how to save €5bn on the State's spending over the next three years.
    "The Taoiseach called a meeting of what was effectively every senior civil servant in the country -- perhaps the first time there has been such a meeting -- and told them these spending cuts had to happen," he said.

"Before that, it was underscored to the Cabinet that this is not a normal cost-cutting exercise but a completely fresh look at how money is spent. That has to be done because of the dire straits we are in.

"By asking for ideas, I know we are open to every crank and person with a grudge. But I believe there will be lots of good suggestions.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/howlin-asks-for-ideas-on-saving-public-money-2802373.html

Well AH any ideas for Brendan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

1.Switch mobile networks
    2. Sack every public servant that doesn't break a sweat at work at least once a week.
    3. Do away with local councils
    4. Half the dole for anyone on it over 2 years.
    5. See number 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Burn the bond holders.

No more public sector pensions.

Means test pensioners for everything just as everyone else is.

Make welfare payments taxable.

Tie children's allowance to school attendance and residency.

Seize all church land and property as the proceeds of crime and sell it.

Only entitled to 50% welfare rates untill 30-yrs-old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Shut down RTE. That'd make a dent in the figure..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ive an idea and am doing a cost benefit analysis, but I'm finding the pricing of meat cleavers and associated maintenance costs problematic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Beans on toast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

dont bail out the banks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Every politician and high ranking public servant have their pay set at the average industrial wage plus expenses.
    Childrens allowance only to be paid to families that need it (rich people getting this is absurd).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

dont bail out the banks

We're still running a massive budget deficit no matter what we do with the banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Iq test to get a public job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

If we all spend a fiver on a friday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Put a one cent tax on everything, so regardless if its 49c or €10,999.9 it carries a penny tax - so everything is rounded upwards.

Shops could still advertise (for example) shoes at €19:99 and in the small print add the one cent emergency tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Privatize public transport better yet sell it to the germans at least theyle get it working properly including the luas.. (ie-security) maybe they can do something with the garda to)

shoot people who are in prison or, feed them bread and water with no out side contact at all and give them 1 ply toilet paper.

mess cullings of the pupulation ie if your a scum bag die :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I propose 'Shrapnel Saturday'.
    Lower the price of booze for one massive Friday night pissup countrywide.
    THe next morning, all pissheads donate pocket shrapnel coinage to the government coffers.
    Watch dem billions roll in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

start by getting rid of the croke park agreement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Don't pay any public servant more than 30k a year. Anyone getting 30k a year should be able to get by.

Cut dole by half

Do no maintainence on the roads for a few years, get volunteers to fill the potholes outside their own gate.

Tax the hell out of mobile phone usage. We have no indigenous mobile phone company, any money spent on those goes straight out the door to the nearest foreign country.

Sell RTE to the highest bidder

Sack anyone whose field is health & safety

Stop paying child benefit

Fix all the leaks in the water mains

Close down a few old inefficient power stations

Stop paying interest on the national debt & tell EU to feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Burn the bond holders.

No more public sector pensions.

Means test pensioners for everything just as everyone else is.

Make welfare payments taxable.

Tie children's allowance to school attendance and residency.

Seize all church land and property as the proceeds of crime and sell it.

Only entitled to 50% welfare rates untill 30-yrs-old.

i like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Get teachers to mark/correct Junior and Leaving Cert. exam papers during their 3 months Summer holidays as a part of their contract, instead of paying them double when they do it at present.

Proposed fact-finding missions (glorified junkets), so beloved of councillors, should be examined in detail before they are approved, and, in any event, there should not be any allowed for at least the next 3 years.

Sell the electronic voting machines, if not already done. If no-one wants to buy, then scrap them (big demand for scrap metal at the moment) and stop paying for storage.

When the job of a public servant becomes redundant (for example because of technology replacing the need for manual input) then let them go, just as happens in the private sector.

Scrap the moritorium on Public Service recruitment where the vacancy arises because of retirement on age grounds. The new employee can be given a job at a lesser rate of pay and a more restrictive contract regarding "a job for life", so that the pay of the new employee plus the pension of the retiree, less the tax and levies take and the reduction in Social Welfare payments to the new entrant (assuming they were on the dole), should be less than the original incumbent's pay. The dole queues can be cut this way also.

Sorry, have to go. More later, I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

phill106 wrote: »
    Every politician and high ranking public servant have their pay set at the average industrial wage plus expenses.

You've got this whole promotion lark the wrong way round I'm afraid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

1) Cut children's allowance for families with incomes over 60,000€

2) Don't give any social welfare to anyone who is not from the EU e.g. Nigerians etc.

3) Put a limit on the amount of kids that you are entitled to allowance for like in China. e.g. Allowance stops after your 2nd child to stop families having large families for the sake of child benefit.

4) Decriminalise cannabis and tax it. That will mean good quality smoke and the government will benefit from it while taking profits from the dealers.

5) Ex-Ministers pensions should be cut dramatically as well as anyone in high powered public sector jobs.

6) Increases taxes on fizzy drinks, junk foods etc. to discourage unhealthy heating which in turn leads to more money having to be spent on the treatment of obesity and related conditions such as diabetes, heart disease etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Sell Cork
    Sell Laois
    Sell Donegal
    Sell all of Mayo to Shell

Cut off the dole to anyone who doesnt hand in cvs for / apply for atleast 20 jobs a week

cut off the dole for anyone who gets pregnant while on the dole

send anyone unemployed who wasnt born here home to their own country

dont give the banks any more money, let them fail , sell everything in NAMA

empty all our prisons of everyone locked up for drugs

legalise all drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Get Bob Geldoff and Bono to a benefit gig for us. If they dont take all their assets until they change their mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

How about some benchmarking? Pay public servants what private sector workers get, not pay them twice what private sector workers get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Sell Dublin

Export water, food, electricity to Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kincsem wrote: »
    Pay public servants what private sector workers get.

Oh please let someone listen to this, pretty please.

It would enrich my life dearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Force europe to buy our banks for a sum equal to all the bank debt.
    Problem solved. We can cope with our own deficit for the next few years with sensible government borrowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Let's pray the recession away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

legalize and tax brothels.

Stop paying rent to nama developers
    http://www.swp.ie/editorial/one-law-rich-and-another-poor/3927

Cut last government ministers millionaire type pensions.

Stand outside the luas ticket machines and tax the beggars on their income!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Add a €1 tax on all boards.ie posts. It'll raise money and encourage people to only make decent posts.

Put a tax on stupid people. There's feckin' tons of them around.

All criminals should be forced to work on assembly/manufacturing lines (low skill jobs) etc, with all profits going to government coffers. You can make good money from slaves.

Default on our loans. It'll mean we won't get many loans again for a while, but that's a good thing. It's like cutting up the credit cards of someone who is in massive debt...it forces them to deal with the issue rather than getting more loans to cover old debts.

Register Ireland as a charity, and ask for donations for this worthy cause.

Increase import duty to encourage local buying.

Eliminate Corporate Tax for the first 5 years for all companies who create x number of jobs. More investment = more employment with more tax income and less people on social welfare.

Some of the above is serious...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

smk89 wrote: »
    Iq test to get a public job

And then summarily execute anyone with an above avg IQ for seeking employment in the public sector for spurious reasons.

*ducks for cover*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Eliminate Corporate Tax for the first 5 years for all companies who create x number of jobs. More investment = more employment with more tax income and less people on social welfare.

This is good, plus it would piss France and Germany off no end ... double win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Force every man in the state to export sperm at least once every 6 months.
    Force every woman in the state to export an egg at least once every 12 months.
    Force every hairy man/woman in the state to shave and export their hair once every 18 months.
    Force every family in the state to export their deceased to foreign medical schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Sell RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Increase corporation tax. Simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Skunkle wrote: »
    Increase corporation tax. Simple

Fkuc off sarkozy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

When Shell start to bring that oil ashore tax the bollox off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

maybe we could all sell organs, like that kid in china or whatever who bought the new Iphone! Doubt we'd get much for our livers though! :) We could probably wipe out a large amount of national debt by selling Alison O'Riordans apartment and car parking space...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Turn off the lights when you leave the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

1) Cut children's allowance for families with incomes over 60,000€

2) Don't give any social welfare to anyone who is not from the EU e.g. Nigerians etc.

3) Put a limit on the amount of kids that you are entitled to allowance for like in China. e.g. Allowance stops after your 2nd child to stop families having large families for the sake of child benefit.

4) Decriminalise cannabis and tax it. That will mean good quality smoke and the government will benefit from it while taking profits from the dealers.

5) Ex-Ministers pensions should be cut dramatically as well as anyone in high powered public sector jobs.

6) Increases taxes on fizzy drinks, junk foods etc. to discourage unhealthy heating which in turn leads to more money having to be spent on the treatment of obesity and related conditions such as diabetes, heart disease etc.

With you on everything bar number 2 - if you paid PRSI, you're entitled to SW until back to work

Introduce abortion as an option, to save the state money on caring for children with detectable & expensive disabilities. Also, watch the crime rate drop in circa 18 years

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Everyone on the isle throw €50 into a jar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

Don't give 5 billion to private banks, over and over again. .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Proposed fact-finding missions (glorified junkets), so beloved of councillors, should be examined in detail before they are approved, and, in any event, there should not be any allowed for at least the next 3 years.

One word councillors: Skype

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

I'm no economist but, would we save a packet if we cut down massively on gas and oil imports? It's no use being so dependent on fossil fuel imports.

Also, I heard that Ireland has near perfect weather/ climate for growing trees. Surely we should learn from the Swedes in this department? (Fuel, paper etc) Are we not already paying farmers NOT to grow veg?

Start sinking any foreign super-mega-trawlers found in our waters. It's our main natural resource.

Stephen Fry said on 'QI' that the oceans contain gold particles, just need to find ways to extract it.

Eat Irish prawns and not those ones from Thailand which are caught by slaves on Thai fishing vessels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Turn Leitrim into the gambling capital of Europe.

Casinos, coke, hookers, Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Yakult wrote: »
    Everyone on the isle throw €50 into a jar.

A fine idea except that at present the bill comes to roughly 5 and a half grand per capita as I understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Switch to Airtricity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Give Eddie Hobbs and David McWilliams enough money so that they will say that the recession is over and to repeat this every day, this in turn will bring the sheep out following and believing this, and we will all finally start spending the billions that we have in savings, this would kickstart the economy. If the media and the 'experts' like Hobbs and McWilliams say it enough, the general population will believe it.

If the two lads don't play ball, the government should tell us that are money isn't safe in the banks, credit union post office. we will all take our money out, and if the general population are anything like me when I have physical cash on hand, they will spend it.

So Basically, spend your F#cking money people!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Dardania wrote: »
    With you on everything bar number 2 - if you paid PRSI, you're entitled to SW until back to work

Introduce abortion as an option, to save the state money on caring for children with detectable & expensive disabilities. Also, watch the crime rate drop in circa 18 years
    Won't work, those who would not avail of abortions are those who are usually the ones committing said crimes ( I am referring to scumbags, not pro-life people)

Cap gov spending on Child Benefit for anyone who has over 2-3 children.

Fire anyone who does not do their job correctly. Hire someone competent instead.

Make an initiative to get one person from each household to get a job while the other stays home and looks after the kids, does not have to be gender specific.

Force wealthy pensioners to have to pay for their meds!

Stop giving TD's expenses.

The same old same old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Legalise all drugs and tax them.

Change off licence closing time to 1am.

Do religious institutions pay taxes in Ireland? if they don't then start taxing them now, all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Sell RTE and replace it with a Radio and TV news service

Sell the naming rights to the airports

Sell the naming rights to Bank Holidays

Sell Dublin Bus

Legalise cannabis

Cut money going to councils by 30% (Councils take the piss towards their fiscal end of the year, just to keep up their levels of funding. There is are numerous roads in my area that are getting relaid despite not needing it :mad:)

Tax charities that are sending money abroad.