Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Large calibre fox rifle...

• 20-06-2011 7:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭

Hey lads , Just wondering can you get a license for a .243 for shooting foxes alone? is it a valid reason for the super to grant one? I know theyre pricey to feed but worth it and its not as if I'll be shooting it every evening. Any one enlighten me?

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Hey lads , Just wondering can you get a license for a .243 for shooting foxes alone? is it a valid reason for the super to grant one? I know theyre pricey to feed but worth it and its not as if I'll be shooting it every evening. Any one enlighten me?

cheers

He'll probably tell you its a deer calibre,and theres ample choice in the .22 family for your foxing,which there is, or he mightn't know his arse from his elbow,in which case you'll be sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

If you only want to shoot foxes why do you want a .243 in the first place ? A flat shooting round like the .22-250 is ideal for foxing and has ballistics not too far below the .243 anyway. A .223 will be great and cheap to plink or practise with too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Try a .243 if you plan to move up to deer in the future. If not, a .223, .204 etc wil be perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

rowa wrote: »
    If you only want to shoot foxes why do you want a .243 in the first place ? A flat shooting round like the .22-250 is ideal for foxing and has ballistics not too far below the .243 anyway. A .223 will be great and cheap to plink or practise with too.

Ive a chance to get a .243 off a lad at work , he just got his deer license and his girlfriend said its her or the gun , so he wants rid of it fast. I have been thinkin about a .223 and .22-250 but as someone else there just said if i cant to move up to deer in the future i can

he could keep the scope. If he looks hard enough he might eventually sight a pair;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Dusty87 wrote: »
    he could keep the scope. If he looks hard enough he might eventually sight a pair;)

Hahaha I must say that to him, classic :D Its a terror , poor chap hasnt been out for a pint with us or been out shooting since he moved in with this woman, sad times

it happens, but to anyone with a bit of cop on, it only happens once;) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

not much to consider or worry about there, easier to get a woman than a gun;):rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

He must be daft giving up a hobby to appease a woman , if she thought anything of him she'd compromise somehow , anyway when i had a .243 it was difficult at times to get ammo , sometimes the dealers wouldn't be bothered ordering rounds if it wasn't deer shooting season as the order wouldn't be big enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Tell him to keep his rifle and swap girlfriends. I don't think that couple have very compatible personalities when comes to their relationship having any prospect of longevity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

If he gives in on this, what'll be next..

You could apply for his deer licence. Get the land owners permission, get your friend to write to npws saying that he doesn't need his licence anymore, ring npws and have a chat to the guy who'll be assessing your licence. I don't see you not getting his licence. Then the super should grant you the .243 licence pronto.
    Mates of mine were big fans of the .243, Good deer round, and it makes short work of foxes! Ammo was tricky to get but they just bought in bulk. The've since moved onto .222 for foxes and .270/.308 for deer but always speak well of the .243

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

I am gettng a .243 for foxing but I have a deer license as well so I cen use it for deer as well. I am looking forward to trying it out. So far I have only used my friends .243 that he brings out once or twice a year. Great round and very versatile.

Having said that you might find it easier to license any of these ( .22hornet, 204, .222, .223, .220swift or you might even squeez in a .22/250).
    All depends on your super and to be honest any of the above would be a great foxing round.

Best of luck and let us know how you get on.

Ps. Tell your mate to cop on and grow a pair. If she is pushing on the rifle what's next.
    I provide food for my family bones for my dogs and every now and then a bottle of wine or 2 from a friend or neighbour that I gave a leg of venison to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

get rid of her keep the rifle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

.243 is a great cal. for fox. Very few run away if they are hit well.
    You more or less core them out with heavier rounds like 80gn and up.
    I must try the 58gn v-max stuff out sometime, looks like a good performer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

ok guys here its the answer you can get a 243 apply for deer licence but you dont have to shoot deer but you can keep the gun need more info pm me if you wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

bazza888 wrote: »
    get rid of her keep the rifle!!

AND GET A DOG!!!

10. A dog's parents will never visit you.
    9. A dog loves you when you leave your clothes on the floor.

8. A dog limits its time in the bathroom to a quick drink.

7. A dog never expects you to telephone.

6. A dog will not get mad at you if you forget its birthday.

5. A dog does not care about the previous dogs in your life.

4. A dog does not get mad at you if you pet another dog.

3. A dog never expects flowers on Valentine's Day.

2. The later you are, the happier a dog is to see you.

1. A dog does not shop.:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

CJhaughey wrote: »
    .I must try the 58gn v-max stuff out sometime, looks like a good performer.
    I heard theyre a great job seriously flat shooting. . . pricey enough though! Jesus he should show her the door FFS :eek:

cheers
    as i told one of the lads here i was told to apply for deer season with my 243 which i did then the follwing year you keep your gun as you would but you dont have to apply for deer season again so there fore you keep your gun and shoot away on foxs that is what i was yold by gun smth 2years ago any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

as i told one of the lads here i was told to apply for deer season with my 243 which i did then the follwing year you keep your gun as you would but you dont have to apply for deer season again so there fore you keep your gun and shoot away on foxs that is what i was yold by gun smth 2years ago any way

But won't you need a current deer licence for when you reapply for your firearms cert every 3 years? If you used a deer hunting licence as reason for licencing a CF, then you are no longer compliant with your licencing conditions if you let the deer licence lapse. The deer licence is free, so why not just keep one going, even if you aren't shooting any deer?

The Gardai may not call around each year to check if you are compliant, but what if you are ever stopped with the gun and the Gardai decide to check all the paperwork? What's this sir, no current hunting licence? I'll be taking that gun off ye now!:eek:

not just my reply there fella said the same other poepe said something similar but yes your right in theory just want to know what to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

so let me get this straight then if i buy a 22-250 for foxes, apply for a deer licence from NPWS having no permissions for deer shooting sibmitted with the application it should go through ok?

Had similar problems OP as your mate when i got my first gun, eventually gave her an altimatum(probably spelt wrong!) and am now planning my 3rd gun which she is puttin a few quid towards for my birthday....

so let me get this straight then if i buy a 22-250 for foxes, apply for a deer licence from NPWS having no permissions for deer shooting sibmitted with the application it should go through ok?

Not sure what you mean. If you mean you apply for a deer licence without any permissions to shoot deer, then no, you won't get one. Just having a deer calibre rifle doesn't mean you are entitled to a deer licence. you still need to have somewhere to shoot deer.

I was given a .22-250 licence to shoot foxes. I later got landowners permission to shoot deer and applied for the deer licence. When it comes to renewing the 3 year rifle licence, I will be able to give both foxes and deer as the reason. i will need to back up the deer with a current hunting licence. If I don't have a current hunting licence, I can fall back on the foxes. However, if I had only received the rifle licence to hunt deer, I would need to have a current hunting licence for the entire 3 year licencing period plus the renewal (or convince my Super that the rifle was now also a fox gun)

The .22-250 is regarded by many Supers as a fox and deer rifle, therefore you get the best of both worlds when applying for a licence. However, a larger calibre might be seen as exclusively a deer gun and therefore require a deer licence for the granting of a permit.

I stand open to correction, but under the new licencing regime, you must maintain the reason for which you were issued a firearms cert for the entire 3 year licencing period, or notify the Gardai of any change. They will then decide if you still have good reason to keep the firearm. I have been told this from 2 different sources: The Chairman of a game association who made enquiries of the Gardai as he was concerned that some members were only going to join up every 3rd year in order to renew their firearms cert. The ICPSA had the same concern about members who were not in clubs but used their ICPSA membership to apply for shotgun licences. Again there was a concern about people only joining every 3rd year. In both cases the Gardai stated that you must notify them about any change in your reason for owning a firearm, including letting club/association membership lapse. The same logic would dictate that if you got a CF rifle licence on the back of having a hunting licence, you must maintain a valid hunting licence for the 3 years. Unless like me, you have the fox fallback option:D

now i get ya lad

If you do get a .22-250 for deer, make sure to put 60gr bullet weight on the deer licence application. 55gr is no longer allowed. I had an application returned because I put 55 on it. Crossed it out and replaced with 60, hey presto, hunting licence granted!

trying to decide to get 223 r 22-250, cant get hold of the guard the last week to ask if 22-250 would be ok for foxes. cheers for the advice lad;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

The .223 would be the right job for foxes kildare. .22-250 ammo is €30 which is quite expensive shooting when it comes to practicing with it but then again it is a better round than the .223.

thinkin 22-250 for the fact it can be used on deer too tho ya no lad, next rifle will be my last for a while so have alot of thinkin to do! price dont bother me too much because iv the hmr for cheap shooting

You can get .22-250 for €22 per box Federal 55gr, ideal for foxes. Expect to pay €30 per box for the 60gr deer rounds.

Had similar problems OP as your mate when i got my first gun, eventually gave her an altimatum(probably spelt wrong!) and am now planning my 3rd gun which she is puttin a few quid towards for my birthday....
    you get your gun and then get your deer licence then you have a seroius fox gun not that hard to understand you dont have to shoot deer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

you get your gun and then get your deer licence then you have a seroius fox gun not that hard to understand you dont have to shoot deer

I think you'll find most Supers will require you to have deer licence first and some Supers won't issue a 243 for foxes only ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Your friend never heard the saying..;)
    My wife.. YES!!
    My truck.... Maybe
    My Dog... No!
    My Guns... NEVER!

Women are easy enough to get.Good rifles are hard to find!!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

As jwshooter once said to me: "women; ye can't live with 'em and ye can't shoot 'em"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭kieran1141

Just bought a crate of these for charlie today, winchester 55gr ballistic silvertip, told they will do the trick.

Used that brand in .220 Swift............were fabulous ammo ;)

they were in the dealers for 2 year and got them for 20 yo yo a box, could,nt beat that with a big stick bunny...... think around 3900 fps.

Ya stole 'em :p

They were €43 for 20 in Swift :(

he said that they should be closer to 40 euro than 20, but cant go wrong for that money, will see if mr fox sticks his head out tomorrow night how good they are,have to zero the 243 with them was firing 95gr sst's. will have to try the 308 150gr sst's on a fox this year..

hi all ust want to say go through all th rigvht channels for gad sake you never know whos is reading here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

kieran1141 wrote: »
    he said that they should be closer to 40 euro than 20, but cant go wrong for that money, will see if mr fox sticks his head out tomorrow night how good they are,have to zero the 243 with them was firing 95gr sst's. will have to try the 308 150gr sst's on a fox this year..

I can vouch for the 150gr sst and 150gr sst superformance. I have shot deer and fox with both. The later going that bit faster.

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    I can vouch for the 150gr sst and 150gr sst superformance. I have shot deer and fox with both. The later going that bit faster.
    have a few boxes poulo of the 150gr superformance, so will give it a go, when the weather get a bit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

The Gardai may not call around each year to check if you are compliant, but what if you are ever stopped with the gun and the Gardai decide to check all the paperwork? What's this sir, no current hunting licence? I'll be taking that gun off ye now!:eek:
    The Gardai (if they do their jobs right) would do more than that; please don't forget that providing false information on your firearms licence application form is now a specific offence under the firearms act... and saying you'll be hunting deer when you intend only to hunt foxes and don't bother keeping up the deer licence would definitely qualify for that.

I don't know who advised you browning, but they gave you advice that could lead in the worst case to very serious penalties - see section 2(13) of the Firearms Act:
    13) A person who—
    1. knowingly gives false or misleading information to an issuing person in relation to an application for a firearm certificate or for its renewal,
    2. forges a document purporting to be a firearm certificate or uses or knowingly possesses it, or
    3. with intent to deceive, uses or alters a firearm certificate or uses a firearm certificate so altered,
    is guilty of an offence and liable—
    1. on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding €2,500 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or both, or
    2. on conviction on indictment, to a fine not exceeding €20,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years or both.
    So please, don't pass on that advice to anyone else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Thats why I put down Hunting AND Targets for my rifles and shotties.

It's all about filling out the forms!
    IMHO best fox round is the .223 for power to economic ratio

Thats why I put down Hunting AND Targets for my rifles and shotties.

Belt and braces, the only way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Belt and braces, the only way to go.

Yer trouser will never fall down then!#
    And For The Record,I do Hunt and shoot Target with the same Rifles and shotty.

STAGS :D