Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things You Like About Boards

• 19-06-2011 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭

Ok so the positive version of the "Most annoying things on Boards" thread! What do you like about boards. For me it's the following:

1) Getting others points of view on things.
    2) Keeping in touch with what's going on in my home town in the appropriate forum.
    3) Sneaky finger posts :pac:
    4) Every so often you get to know a gem of a person who you know you'll be friends with for life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Found a good place to buy car lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Meeting famous jockeys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

talkin s h i t e,love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Eh, em,.... Bargain alerts....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

The Prison forum.
    It can be quite funny to see people getting so worked up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

cml387 wrote: »
    Meeting famous jockeys.

I'll have you over for tea some night :D

kfallon wrote: »
    I'll have you over for tea some night :D

You are the famous jockey? If not,a small world collapses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Laughing at FlutterinBantam's posts.

Having the craic.

Messing with newbie's heads.

When someone looking for a genuine answer comes on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

All the friends I made

Getting the opportunity to siteban my boss. Oh yeah.

Meeting my fiancé though it. Sortof.

Seeing stuff that makes me laugh so hard that I get winded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Controversy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Never would have passed a bunch of exams without guidance from a forum

Gave me something to do when on the scratch

YLYL fcukin rocks
    Ditto for Photos that shook the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Laughing my ass off at some of the posts that appear here in AH, and getting stuck into some good gaming debate over in the video game forums :)

Just getting the love.
    You know,I just love all you guys no it's alright,I've just got something in my eye.

You are the famous jockey?

Am I? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead loves the way boards gives him a platform to act the tough man. Have threatened to box the heads of countless posters over the years even though there was never any danger of it actually happening.

In real life Pighead's a timid nervous shy and retiring dweeb so it's good to be able to say to kfallon "Start anymore of these rubbish threads and Pighead will box the absolute lugs off ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

It gives me the lolz a lot.

Meeting my oh so wonderful boyfriend.

Having people to talk to when the rest of the people in your life aren't so great.

Finding the answer to lots of things.

Getting up to divilment :pac:

Pighead wrote: »
    Pighead loves the way boards gives him a platform to act the tough man. Have threatened to box the heads of countless posters over the years even though there was never any danger of it actually happening.

In real life Pighead's a timid nervous shy and retiring dweeb so it's good to be able to say to kfallon "Start anymore of these rubbish threads and Pighead will box the absolute lugs off ya"

The Oracle has spoken.Look on his works,ye mighty,and despair.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

The Oracle has spoken.Look on his works,ye mighty,and despair.

That was Ozymandias, and he's a goner.

Silverfish wrote: »
    That was Ozymandias, and he's a goner.

Ozymandias was an Arsenal supporter?

Oh sorry,glasses malfunction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Being able to come on here and leave the day to day stuff behind for awhile.

Knowing that no matter how much of a pr!ck I am there are worse out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Ok so the positive version of the "Most annoying things on Boards" thread! What do you like about boards. For me it's the following:

2) Keeping in touch with what's going on in my home town in the appropriate forum.
    4) Every so often you get to know a gem of a person who you know you'll be friends with for life :)

Really? I must be doing it wrong, alas..:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Ozymandias was an Arsenal supporter?

Oh sorry,glasses malfunction.
    Go to Specsavers, OzyArdias was a Spurs legend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Go to Specsavers, OzyArdias was a Spurs legend!
    <br /><br />
    ditto ,ardias? Lol ; )

sorry i dont know how to spell his name,but the does'nt look right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

i like the help people give each other in certain sections of boards.
    i like the humanity of it.
    i love the humour of it
    i think it often brings out the best in us, and the mods filter the rest!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭slowburner

For me,

Boards and other similar but less broad fora/forums, embody all that has the potential be good about the world wide web. It embodies the sentiment which was the core intention of the earlier days of the web.

To wit,
    People are basically presumed to be good - until shown otherwise by the forum's members.

You can evaluate the truth yourself - if you post a genuinely enquiring thread, you can be sure that the replies will address all aspects from all sides (most of the time :rolleyes:)
    and so the principles which give naive old me faith in boards are,

It is self policing.
    It is without boundaries - social, historical or geographical.
    It is disinterested, un-prejudiced and fair. That has been my experience. When it is the opposite, the pedants are given short shrift.
    It is anonymous - it allows you to re-invent yourself, unfettered by your past.
    So far, but this could change (I hope not), it is not trying to sell something in every conceivable window, subliminal or otherwise.
    There are some total, total loonies out there, and it makes you feel great not to be as loony as them - even when they loon their way onto the boards.

Boards is a paradox - it is history and it is the future.
    10 years from now, F.Book will be irrelevant except to advertisers.That's not to say that the two are competitors. Our world is changing so much more rapidly than anyone realises. If Boards retains its integrity it will allow its users to stay ahead and be informed and be educated and have fun, more so than those who do not 'board'*. If boards retains its integrity it will survive far, far longer than the giants. The giants will make the fast bucks, and lots of them - more than can ever be spent, in fact. And what (WTF!) good is that?

*Please can i have the credit for inventing a new meaning for the verb, 'to board' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

The absolute comedy this site provides in some After Hours threads.

You Laugh You Lose

All the friends I've made.

Seeing no0bz post in boards.ie helpdesk about where's the best place to buy manure etc.

The sense of friendship and good will for one another (for instance in the "I have a dilemma" thread)

Edit - Just thought of this. The fact that whenever I'm feeling down, i can be sure that when I log onto boards, I know you lot will turn my bad mood completely upside down.

<3 Boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

I like the sense of good-fun community
    Trolls tend to be funny, or dealt with in a funny manner, which is better than some skanger down the shop having an issue or twenty
    Made a few friends already even though not been here long
    Getting to know people without expecting next door's dog to announce it the next day
    The wealth of knowledge across all the sections, and learning new things you'd never have thought of yourself (and not being afraid to ask for help)
    Finding new phrases slip into your vocabulary such as the sneaky finger or snapkick
    Discovering how hollow my life was until I learnt about FaceKicker. Chap of the year award!

That's all I can think of right now =)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Pighead wrote: »

Hahaha "lugs". Like I said folks, comedy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

THe Ladyboys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Posting about stuff as random as the GAA to North Korea.

Nowhere else (except maybe in a mental hospital) could you talk about such a diverse range of topics....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Sweet, delicious thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Boreds do be great when you're bored. IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Knowing that whenever I log on there'll be something interesting to read.

Lots of genuinely funny posts.

Some great threads, like Stingiest Things... and the one about weird housemates. Great ways to pass a few weeks.

Seeing that someone has posted within a few minutes of me posting in a thread and breathing a sigh of relief that I haven't derailed the thread due to profound mundanity.

Wondering why someone you've never come across has visited your page.

The warm feeling you get when you're still green and someone quotes your post in agreement for the first (only?) time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Chris Hansen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Quit your post count spamming or youre gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Kojak wrote: »
    Posting about stuff as random as the GAA to North Korea

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

The wide range of topics to discuss. All of the other forums I frequent are normally based on something specific like instruments, cars etc but here its that and a whole lot more!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭cedan

Kicking back and reading some AH:D

Also, I find boards extremely useful for finding out whats really going on at home since I moved to England. I could trawl through the news websites but i think that boards gives a better overall picture of what issues/stories are getting people talking!

Its been pretty much my lifeline over here:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

How it's so useful for pretty much anything you can think of.
    My boiler stopped working on a freezing cold St. Stephen's night? No problem, someone on Boards told me how to fix it.
    I've used it for such a wide range of things over the years, it's unbelievable.

It provides the majority of my news, especially local stuff.

The ability to pass endless hours going from forum to forum and topic to topic.

The laugh you're guaranteed to get from some thread.

The community spirit which has been very markedly shown in two very different ways recently - Cill Dara Abu's conquest (:)) and Rozabeez's untimely passing (:().

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

IM Still a Newbie :pac:

baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

IM Still a Newbie :pac:

baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Are you sure you are not a sheep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Kojak wrote: »
    Are you sure you are not a sheep?

I thought that too but i double triple checked and no sign of sheep .

baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. :pac: nom nom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

It gives me the lolz a lot.

Meeting my oh so wonderful boyfriend.

Having people to talk to when the rest of the people in your life aren't so great.

Finding the answer to lots of things.

Getting up to divilment :pac:

this exactly :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Quit your post count spamming or youre gone.

Fellas using bold text to attract attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

I love all the wonderful people you find here :)
    There are so many funny comments, so many good questions and a lot of friendliness. I don't think a forum could get much better than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

The laugh. One thing I've always missed about back home is the humour, I get my fix of it on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I like some of the people, you can see some interesting stories sometimes, some of the stuff is funny

Unfortunately theres not a lot in the plus column these days.

Boards deals, the motors forum, the gambling forum. It's good for winding people up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

After Hours is like a pub I'd want to go and have a pint in.

theboss80 wrote: »
    After Hours is like a pub I'd want to go and have a pint in.

And like any good pub the minute you walk thru the door there are people you will want to avoid like the plague ;)