Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Favourite Christian Films and Why ?

• 19-06-2011 2:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭

One of my favourites is Ben Hur.

This movie swept the Oscars in its day and it still holds up under the test of time as a historical epic.

I also love The Mission. Amazing soundtrack and scenery and great acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭gimmebroadband

Ben Hur is one of my all-time favourites too, I also like the Passion by Mel Gibson, really heart-rending, and brings home the horrific death Our Saviour endured for us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

The 13th day ( story of Our Lady of Fatima )
    The Passion
    Gospel of John
    Russian Orthodox film the island.
    The Mission
    Romero

Thats all I can think of so far. But I'd be here all day explaining why they are my favourite as there is a big list there.

I also like 'Song of Bernadette' (Lourdes)
    Jesus of Nazareth
    The Ten Commandments (Heston)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

LoTR series: Liv Tyler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Last three posts aren't 'Christian' and therefore OT - MODS!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

Last three posts aren't 'Christian' and therefore OT - MODS!!!!!

If you have a problem with a post then boards.ie have thoughtfully provided you with a Reported Post button.

Tolkien was a devout Catholic (indeed he was one of the editors of the Jerusalem Bible, and provided the translation of the Book of Jonah). He wrote of Lord of the Rings: "The Lord of the Rings is of course a fundamentally religious and Catholic work; unconsciously so at first, but consciously in the revision."

As for the Seventh Sign, it tells a fictional tale tacked onto some parts of the Gospel story - so if we delete it as not being 'Christian' then we probably have to delete Ben Hur as well.

I'm under the impression that the OP was talking about Christian content of the movies and not about who created the movies and their religion! Ben Hur contained scenes with Jesus in it!!! As for the 7th sign........ ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭zoomtard

Dancer In The Dark and Children of Men are both great but my personal favourite has to be Of Gods And Men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Of Gods and Men is fantastic. I slunk away from a course I was doing on a snowy winters eve to catch the last showing in the IFI. The weather seemed appropriate.

Children of Men is also excellent. The book is fantastic (and much more religiously themed) if not almost entirely different to the film.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭ISAW

Do the Omen series or the Exorcist qualify as Christian or the ninth Gate or Rosemary's Baby?
    Probably all cult movies but not very good. I do think Peck and the kid in the Omen were well played though.

Stigmata ( also not very good) is interesting idea because the stigmatic is an agnostic ( but as it turns out is possessed by a believer). But the plot is worthy of Dan Brown for depth and realism.

does The Name of the Rose qualify?

Anyway I like "Brother Sun and Sister Moon"
    I also liked "kingdom of Heaven" but it was a bit to Hollywood in the ending.

i have to add "A Man For All seasons" of course :)

Anyone seen "The robe" or "Stealing Heaven"? Or any of the Joan of Arc movies? The Agony and the Ecstasy. - about painting the Sistine chapel.

I have THE ROBE on dvd, and I saw the Agony and the Ecstasy with Heston (he made a lot of biblical fiilms), both excellent movies! I vaguely remember Brother Sun, Sister Moon, about the life of St. Francis of Assisi! I also have the Omen Trilogy on dvd! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Book of Eli is awesome, probably my favorite christian themed movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

The Life of Brian and Jesus Christ Superstar have wonderful catchy tunes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Soul Winner

The Italian made movie: The Gospel according to St Matthew is my favorite Christian movie. It is a very simple telling of the life of Jesus. It has no airs or graces about it, just straight forward story telling, I haven't seen in quite a while so I look forward to watching it again. This is followed closely by The Passion of the Christ by Mel Gibson, this movie is just so powerful. Like no other movie has done before it shows how much Jesus suffered physically for us. You don't even get this much detail in the Gospel accounts. I'm sure the reality of it was even worse than what Mel could portray but well done for trying anyway.

I loved 'The name of the Rose' as well but I'm not sure that it qualifies as Christian movie or not. I'm also partial to a bit of humour and music in films so 'The Life of Brian' and 'Jesus Christ Superstar' do it for me as well. I actually went to see 'Jesus Christ Superstar' in the Point Depot years ago. I always loved that musical even though it depicts Jesus as somewhat of a tragic hero instead of the conqueror of death, hell and the grave as the new Testament depicts Him, but I still liked it. I look forward to watching 'Of Gods and Men' too. I missed it when it was on in the IFI. I believe it is very hard hitting.

I think someone should make a new movie about Jesus, one that digs deep into His Teachings and the meaning of His coming and to switch periodically from the life of Jesus to the life of Saul of Tarsus, and show where his ideas came from before he met the Lord, and then to show his conversion after that experience and how his life panned out after that. If I had the money I would pay a good director to make this movie using just Biblical texts for its script with as little artistic licencing and traditional church baggage as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭Bob Cratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Greaney

Most Christian produced films are dreadful so my list has some that are Christian and some that have a world view or Phiilosophy that's in the ball park

The Thin Red line. (War Drama) The 1998 remake. Great study on human nature and what 'god' gives you peace.

The book of Eli, (Action, Sci-fi) pure popcorn, I didn't expect this and I loved it.

Land of Plenty (Slow moving Drama),(did ye know Wim Wenders was Christian?), Christian Missionary looks for her long lost Uncle, set in a homeless shelter in LA.

Magnolia (Drama), this is tough watch, and grown up too, but worth it. Hard to sum up but to say that the lives of the lonely and broken are woven into a complicated story. The ending is audacious, to say the least.

Bienhoffer, (Biography), Christian Martyr during Nazism.

Luther, (Biography).

Chariots of Fire (Historical/Biog)

I'd like to add Babettes Feast.

Greaney wrote: »
    Most Christian produced films are dreadful

As in any genre, there are plenty of turkey's, but there are far more classics our there than dreadful ones. The problem is network television rarely shows them lest they dare offend anyone with all the gratuitous anti-violence.

http://www.prayerfoundation.org/top_ten_christian_movies.htm

With respect Bob, I don't think you read my post properly, I said 'Christian produced', almost all of the films recommended on this thread are produced by secular production companies. We have a film section in our Christian book shop and we've a really hard time finding quality films to fill it. Most are documentaries, but drama... maybe it's me, but boy!! I've suffered some real awful corny cheese!

Secondly, your recommendation is Great (Of Gods and men), I've been wanting to see that film for ages. Thank you for reminding me.

Oh yes, and does anyone remember 'Amazing Grace' About William Wilberforce's fight against slavery. Christian Theme and Characters... secular made, great film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Soul Winner

Oh yes, and does anyone remember 'Amazing Grace' About William Wilberforce's fight against slavery. Christian Theme and Characters... secular made, great film.

Feck yeah, went to see it when it came out. Wasn't a classic or anything but good all the same. I liked Albert Finny as John Newton who actually wrote that great old hymn of the Church - Amazing Grace.

Secondly, your recommendation is Great (Of Gods and men), I've been wanting to see that film for ages. Thank you for reminding me.

I watched 'Of Gods and Men' as an inflight movie last night. I found it very powerful and moving, and beautifully shot. One particular scene, where the monks share a meal to the music from Swan Lake was very memorable.

Funnily enough the other movie I watched on that flight was also Christian themed and based on a true story. 'Soul Surfer' couldn't be more different from 'Of Gods and Men' - everybody is impossibly beautiful (eg the main character's parents are Dennis Quaid and Helen Hunt, with Carrie Underwood as her Sunday School teacher). Probably aimed at American schoolgirls, but still carrying a firm biblical message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Definately Jesus of Nazareth with Robert Powell.
    Super score too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Ordet and Diary of a country priest are two of the greatest films made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭santing

Difficult to choose, I love Book of Eli as well, and Lord of Rings and ...
    But one of the last favourite ones is the film Luther.

Pity it has never been available in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

One of my favourites is Ben Hur.

This movie swept the Oscars in its day and it still holds up under the test of time as a historical epic.

I also love The Mission. Amazing soundtrack and scenery and great acting.

You'd consider The Mission a religious movie. I think the meaning was lost on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭santing

I watch the film "The Adjustment Bureau" last week at home. I am not sure if it qualifies for the term "Christian" (and I do not agree with the worldview offered), but it is a good film trying to balance "freewill" vs. "ordination"

You'd consider The Mission a religious movie. I think the meaning was lost on you.

LOL

http://www.usccb.org/movies/vaticanfilms.shtml

Yup still don't get the Christian bit? In fact I thought it was quite the opposite actually, with all the violence and so forth. The colonialism but political and religious is abhorrent.

Yup still get the Christian bit? In fact I thought it was quite the opposite actually, with all the violence and so forth. The colonialism but political and religious is abhorrent.

Maybe you don't get the bit about what Christians look for in a film?

Many of us like films that ask hard questions about ethics and the actions of Christians (in the present or in the past) - because this helps us to make better decisions in the present and the future.

The Mission addresses the issue of how missionaries run the risk of spreading cultural and political messages rather than the Christian message. That is a very live issue in missiology today. It also reminds us of an often neglected historical truth - that many Jesuits in Latin America identified with the indigenous peoples and tried to protect them from those who would oppress and enslave them. That needs to be remembered, particularly when the historically ignorant swallow a lazy, partisan and inaccurate stereotype of that period of missionaries uniformly aiding and abetting the conquistadors.

But Rob De Niro's character turns back to the way of the sword(and rightly so) and encourages the natives to as well. Not very Christian right?

That's correct. The movie explores ethical dilemmas to do with missionaries - which means some characters don't behave very Christian. A bit like real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

Or, engage in real life too...

The human 'dilemma' - with a beautiful sound track...'beauty' is always the soundtrack.

The film contrasts the partial failure of nonviolence (Jeremy Irons) versus the total failure of resorting back to violence (Robert De Niro).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

The film contrasts the partial failure of nonviolence (Jeremy Irons) versus the total failure of resorting back to violence (Robert De Niro).

That's the end of the film ruined for me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Black narcissus

That's the end of the film ruined for me :pac:

Sorry I was trying to keep it secret since 1986 untill you got a chance to see it.
    Watch the film, it doesn't spoil anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

+1 to the Mission

Also 'The last temptation of christ' by scorsese. great insight into the life of jesus, and his time on the cross is done really well too.

Actually, another moving theme in The Mission is forgiveness. This is shown where DeNiro's character (a former soilder and slaver), in an effort to 'earn forgiveness' through the penance of hauling his old armour about he looks pathetic and pointless (but utterly wretched and full of remorse), he receives forgiveness from a native indian, effortlessly, the young man just cuts the rope from his armour and that is that.

A great illustration of the nature of Gods forgiveness, no effort on our part. His Yoke is light;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Blueboyd

Hmmm... I wonder what qualifies as Christian movie. No. Please don't answer.

Here are some. Not botherhing to mention any sort of "Christian Disney" kind of tacky ones.

Name of the Rose never got the attention it needs.

Ben Hur

Barabbas

Joan of Arc - the Canadian tv -film

Joan of Arc - Luc Besson's version

Joan of Arc - Kathryn Biggelow's version that starred nowbody else than Sinéad O'Connor but never got made

Joan of Arc - the version that starrs Ingrid Bergman.

The Passion of Joan of Arc - the C.T. Dryer version from 1928

Arn 1,2 (probably not good week to mention this #Oslo)

I wish the studio would not have caved in and sliced the Golden Compass up - but they did - hoping there will be one day a real Director's Cut. No - actually they should reshoot the whole damn movie. But lets opt for the time being Star Wars (the first of them.) - Yeah it really is a typical Jesus kind of saviour story.

Breaking the Waves

Last temptetion of the Christ

And of course as a Finn have to say

Which has sort of a pre Christian theme.

==

Should also mention Fanny & Alexander - as it has an evil priest in it and is really a CHRISTmas movie. If you can get your hands on the longer TV-series version DVD I'd opt for that.

Now that we started with Bergmann obviously also The Seventh Seal.

The original Wings of Desire by Wim Wenders
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Qo3F-0keq8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Stigmata with Gabriel Byrne is a superb movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Biggies

I just saw this thread and wanted to add my favourite Christian movies:

A previous post commented on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Il_vangelo_secondo_Matteo which for me it's the best film account of the life of Jesus. Also there was a mention of Zeffirelli's Brother Sun Sister Moon about the life of St. Francis of Assisi. However, I'm surprised no one has mentioned 2 films which in my opinion are among the best films ever made regardless of message. These are:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrei_Rublev_(film) A marvellous, if fictional, portrait of an icon painter in Medieval Russia, and how faith sustains him during violent times.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francesco,_giullare_di_Dio A film about St. Francis that starts where Zeffirelli's version ends, that is, showing how the first Franciscan monks lived without any possessions and yet didn't need anything else to make them the happiest of God's creatures. I won't spoil the last scene, but if you believe in Christ's message, it will leave an indelible mark on you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzDn8BVUGZU

Finally, if you can get your hands on the 2 DVDs that form Kieslowski's Dekalog (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dekalog), you won't be disappointed. 10 one-hour films made for Polish TV based on each of the 10 Commandments. You may also find them in Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

Some good stuff mentioned that I haven't seen.
    +1 for the passion of Joan Of Arc, the '28 one.
    -1 for the Passion Of The Christ, Mell Gibsons sadomasochistic thing.
    How hard is it to get, it's the resurrection that matters not the death, we all die.

Some of my own favorites; Dogma,
    The Day The Earth Stood Still,
    Inland Empire, though this could be Buddhist, I saw it from a
    Christian perspective and it worked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Keaton

INTO GREAT SILENCE is excellent. I love the peace and stillness of that film.

You can actually watch the whole thing on Youtube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

Jesus Christ Superstar

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070239/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Biggies

I posted this in the Films forum but since it's such an obscure title I'm putting it here, in the faint hope someone may have watched it.

I've just watched one of the most disturbing films I've ever watched, specially from the point of view of a Christian. It's called Silence, a 40-year old Japanese flick dealing with Jesuit priests coming to Japan at the time that Christianity is forbidden.
    What would you do if not just your life, the life of hundreds of other Christians, depended on you formally renouncing your most prized possession, your own faith
    I just watched it and I'm still torn apart by his decision, so much that I can't still decide whether to recommend this film to other Christians like myself. Anybody else has seen it?
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0067755/

I found a scene in youtube. It shows the captured Fr. Rodrigues discussing with the Japanese ruler about his mission.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CA5wUbcQac

More about the historical context
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkw7UeX_p74

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Dracula 2000 had a great ending

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Religulous. Vatican priests being rational. I was impressed. The man in the first clip is a former director of the Vatican Observatory.

oh and Evangelion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭homer911

This year marks the 40th anniversary of Thief in the Night

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPBQsOxHX4g

Not sure I would describe it as a favourite, but its certainly a "classic"

Hope it's kosher to resurrect this thread. I stumbled across this review, and I have to say, I saw the trailer and was not moved to watch the film. It brings up some really good points. http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2015/august-web-only/who-does-screenwriter-say-that-i-am.html?start=2