Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car ads that put me straight off...

• 19-06-2011 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭
    M

I've been trawling around private ads on Donedeal lately and some of the photos and descriptions that really get on my nerves and I just ignore feature the following:

Car placed on grass or at a beach for sale - Just looks sloppy and you get the impression the sump has been driven over raw gravel for the majority of its life.

Number plate blanked out with a piece of paper or plastic bag - Real real amateurish, if your going to blank it out at least learn how to use Microsoft Paint.

No interior shots - You can put up 10 photos for your €3, if you can't open the door and take photos it's either a wreck inside or your trying to sell your neighbours car :D.

Dodgy quality photos - If your camera phone or camera can't take a decent photo get a lend of one that can. Never take photos at night, even if you work the night shift you must get some access to 15 minutes of daylight during the week.

Multiple cars advertised in the same advert - If your advertising budget for your vast fleet of vehicles doesn't extend beyond €3 for the lot I don't believe the maintenance, history and quality of the cars will be up to much.

Interiors scattered with rubbish - When taking your interior photos the car should be clear of everything besides what the car came with from new, this includes packets of John Player Blue, cans of empty Dutch Gold, Baby Seats and your 5 a side teams training gear.

No mention of mileage or NCT - These details are the basics any potential purchaser wants to know and no mention of them indicates it's a dodgy sale.

"Will fly through NCT" - The NCT costs a budget shattering €50 and takes less than 30minutes, if you are honestly telling me your car is in perfect condition and you simply don't have the time to put it through you really are taking me for a fool.

Illegal number plates - Anything bare your run of the mill standard plate rightly or wrongly gives me the impression the driver is a bit of a tool.

Lexus lights - If the car was meant to have Lexus lights it would have been fitted with them for new, I wouldn't put them as any kind of bonus in the ad.

Rally style dirt attached - Could you at least give the car through your annual €5 wash at your local petrol station prior to taking photos of it.

What puts you off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

I've been trawling around private ads on Donedeal lately and some of the photos and descriptions that really get on my nerves and I just ignore feature the following:

Car placed on grass or at a beach for sale - Just looks sloppy and you get the impression the sump has been driven over raw gravel for the majority of its life.

Number plate blanked out with a piece of paper or plastic bag - Real real amateurish, if your going to blank it out at least learn how to use Microsoft Paint.

No interior shots - You can put up 10 photos for your €3, if you can't open the door and take photos it's either a wreck inside or your trying to sell your neighbours car :D.

Dodgy quality photos - If your camera phone or camera can't take a decent photo get a lend of one that can. Never take photos at night, even if you work the night shift you must get some access to 15 minutes of daylight during the week.

Multiple cars advertised in the same advert - If your advertising budget for your vast fleet of vehicles doesn't extend beyond €3 for the lot I don't believe the maintenance, history and quality of the cars will be up to much.

Interiors scattered with rubbish - When taking your interior photos the car should be clear of everything besides what the car came with from new, this includes packets of John Player Blue, cans of empty Dutch Gold, Baby Seats and your 5 a side teams training gear.

No mention of mileage or NCT - These details are the basics any potential purchaser wants to know and no mention of them indicates it's a dodgy sale.

"Will fly through NCT" - The NCT costs a budget shattering €50 and takes less than 30minutes, if you are honestly telling me your car is in perfect condition and you simply don't have the time to put it through you really are taking me for a fool.

Illegal number plates - Anything bare your run of the mill standard plate rightly or wrongly gives me the impression the driver is a bit of a tool.

Lexus lights - If the car was meant to have Lexus lights it would have been fitted with them for new, I wouldn't put them as any kind of bonus in the ad.

Rally style dirt attached - Could you atleast give the car through your annual €5 wash at your local petrol station prior to taking photos of it.

What puts you off?

Private sellers in general to be honest.... you just never know and its so easy for them to lie about something wrong with the car that mechanic wouldnt find.

also ... "ooh i only have one key for the car"

right... i got a car from a dealer on friday and he gave me 3 keys for my car... why do you only have one ?

are you gonna follow me home and find my address and take your car back with the key ?

or sell the key to some dodgy fcuk ?

a proper reliable dealer seems the better option.

also warranties !!

nothing with a private seller and no come back at all like.

sorry i just dont trust them.

with regards to NCT ... my car did it last month and it was the dealer who did it himself and it passed not a bother.. so i agree with you op when you say why not did the NCT before selling and plus you'll get a bit more money for it !

private sellers meeting up in a location thats not their address ... why ? got something to hide ? dont want us to know where you live cos your selling a dodgy piece of **** that will always breakdown and dont want us knocking on your door ready to kill you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

people that dont know what they are selling like this
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2262511

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

robbie_998 wrote: »
    private sellers meeting up in a location thats not their address ... why ? got something to hide ? dont want us to know where you live cos your selling a dodgy piece of **** that will always breakdown and dont want us knocking on your door ready to kill you ?

well every time i have ever sold a car private i have meet up in a public place. if a buyer insisted on coming to my house i would be a bit worried that they would come back and try steal the money. in saying that if they came across as decent i would bring them back to do up the paperwork.. not everyone wants a total stranger in their home is either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

POA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

Private sellers in general to be honest.... you just never know and its so easy for them to lie about something wrong with the car that mechanic wouldnt find.

right... i got a car from a dealer on friday and he gave me 3 keys for my car... why do you only have one ?

are you gonna follow me home and find my address and take your car back with the key ?

a proper reliable dealer seems the better option.

also warranties !!

nothing with a private seller and no come back at all like.

sorry i just dont trust them.

with regards to NCT ... my car did it last month and it was the dealer who did it himself and it passed not a bother.. so i agree with you op when you say why not did the NCT before selling and plus you'll get a bit more money for it !

TBH i have bought 9 cars. 5 private and 4 from dealers , and the only times i had hasle was from 2 of the dealers, just because you buy from dealers doesnt mean you have any comeback in the slightest even when they give you a warranty . and also i have sold 8 cars privately , never tried to F*** anyone over but i would not welcome them to my house i would meet them in a public place , as said i dont want them coming back to me , you dont know what kind of psycho you could be dealing with . i only have one key for my car because i only got one when i bought it , not because im out to rob you . and generally cars that are sitting on a forecourt for a year or two not being driven are far more likely to have issues than cars being driven every day

seriously have you had a very bad experience in the past buying privately or is it unfounded bias ???:confused:

as for pet hates ,

ads without pics

POA , (that drives me nuts , if you want to sell it give me the bloody price)

no interior pics

number plate blocked out

lads purely lieing about what there car is like this guy , http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2067809

ads on grass or sand

ads that only have a pic of the front or side and noe from an angle

blurry or very dark pics

no description

seriously have you had a very bad experience in the past buying privately or is it unfounded bias ???:confused:

Yes... My dads vectra has nothing but problems since he got it off a private seller in the dundrum area

He was a sneaky fecker too... ok fair enough he did it at his own address but we never went back to him or anything cos he would just say go away like.

But he hid one of the seat belt sockets under the seat cos it was broken and missing a cover and he didn't want us to see it.

only one key... no nothing was tried but still... nice to have a back up

when we put it through the NCT later that year it failed on quite a few things like alignment and emissions

last year timing belt and water pump changed ... head gasket too

He also disconnected one of the windows and told us " oh you just need to plug it in " we did... and it worked but the window keeps falling off the rail ... about 4 mechanics had a go at it and couldnt figure it out so we just disconnected it for good.

We asked him very clearly is everything working ok.

a week later the car developed electrical problems with indicators and what not.

really was just a bad buy to be honest but the guy lied through his nose about a lot of things like.

Myself.. bought a car from a dealer and its perfect. One of a more reliable dealers in dublin too and i had a mechanic look over my car he can not fault it in any way what so ever ... other than a slight scratch and a slight bump... but no major damage in any way... just looks but even then its perfect and barely noticeable at all.
    my mechanic is absolutely satisfied my car will run for miles and years to come and wants it himself ! and bearing in mind this is not a hired mechanic ... its a good friend of mine so its 100% safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Yes... My dads vectra has nothing but problems since he got it off a private seller in the dundrum area

He was a sneaky fecker too... ok fair enough he did it at his own address but we never went back to him or anything cos he would just say go away like.

But he hid one of the seat belt sockets under the seat cos it was broken and missing a cover and he didn't want us to see it.

when we put it through the NCT later that year it failed on quite a few things like alignment and emissions

He also disconnected one of the windows and told us " oh you just need to plug it in " we did... and it worked but the window keeps falling off the rail ... about 4 mechanics had a go at it and couldnt figure it out so we just disconnected it for good.

a week later the car developed electrical problems with indicators and what not.

really was just a bad buy to be honest but the guy lied through his nose about a lot of things like.

Myself.. bought a car from a dealer and its perfect. One of a more reliable dealers in dublin too and i had a mechanic look over my car he can not fault it in any way what so ever ... other than a slight scratch and a slight bump... but no major damage in any way... just looks but even then its perfect and barely noticeable at all.
    my mechanic is absolutely satisfied my car will run for miles and years to come and wants it himself ! and bearing in mind this is not a hired mechanic ... its a good friend of mine so its 100% safe.

You're dad has nobody to blame but himself to be honest. A mechanic clearly didn't look at the car.
    And if he didn't even go to the bother of making sure all the seatbelt clips worked properly, then he shouldn't have been checking a car on his own.

And just because you had a good experience with a dealer, and your dad had a bad experience with a private sale, does not automatically mean that is the way it is. There are dishonest dealers aswell as private sellers, same way there are honest dealers aswell as private sellers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

"x isnt working, only costs 50 euro and 5 minutes to fix" - why the fcuk didnt you fix it then

"car is mint" - i have never seen a car in an even acceptable condition with this in the ad

"highest / full spec" leather and automatic dont justify highest spec , normally this is the reserve of just above bog spec and then shows you photos of the low end stereo , empty switch bays , stock steering wheel etc

"only x on the log book for cheap tax" - this may aswell just say "heres your bargepole , you might want to step back a bit

"never been drifted or raced" - means it has been drifted and raced, to within an inch of its life

"mods include <anything that halfords sell>" - wheres that bargepole again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

You complain about only getting 1 key. Do you not realise that keys do get lost over the years. I think in 20 years of buying used cars I have only ever received 1 key with most of them. Was I ever worried? Hell no! Who is going to steal back a 15 year old car worth a few hundred at most?

I think you need to get over yourself.

You complain about only getting 1 key. Do you not realise that keys do get lost over the years. I think in 20 years of buying used cars I have only ever received 1 key with most of them. Was I ever worried? Hell no! Who is going to steal back a 15 year old car worth a few hundred at most?

you never know in these days.. im just saying to be on the safe side.. im not saying everyone if a crooked muppet trying to make a few quick bucks
    BDJW wrote: »
    You're dad has nobody to blame but himself to be honest. A mechanic clearly didn't look at the car.
    And if he didn't even go to the bother of making sure all the seatbelt clips worked properly, then he shouldn't have been checking a car on his own.

And just because you had a good experience with a dealer, and your dad had a bad experience with a private sale, does not automatically mean that is the way it is. There are dishonest dealers aswell as private sellers, same way there are honest dealers aswell as private sellers

when i said dealer i didn't mean a side street garage... i actually went to an official Mitsubishi and Kia dealership that just had trade in cars they look after themselves ... there are dealers out there i would not trust and garages... its all really a case of picking the right one wherever you go like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

"First 2 c will by" - Car added 4 months ago...

"Real head turner" - Because the car is on fire....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

you never know in these days.. im just saying to be on the safe side.. im not saying everyone if a crooked muppet trying to make a few quick bucks

when i said dealer i didn't mean a side street garage... i actually went to an official Mitsubishi and Kia dealership that just had trade in cars they look after themselves ... there are dealers out there i would not trust and garages... its all really a case of picking the right one wherever you go like
    Buying privately does require a certain knowledge of cars and people; if you're not confident of both then you perhaps are better off buying from a main dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I think the problem is this vectra you talk about wasn't properly examined before it was bought. How the hell was none of these proplems spotted? Seriously did he actually have a look at the car first or did he show up at the guys house, throw money at the seller & drive off? Nobody forced your dad to buy the car....if it doesn't feel right WALK AWAY, simple as that.

When buying a car privately you HAVE to ask questions, thorough visual check of the interior & exterior to find any potential faults, good long test drive, inspect engine bay, check oil etc etc... If you can't carry out such basic tasks then don't buy privately.

Ive bought a few cars privately & not had a bother. I think your a bit anti-private sale because your dad bought a piece of crap without inspecting the thing properly & surprise surprise it turned out to be a money pit. Lesson learned.

Theres absolutely nothing wrong with buying private. Its only as risky as you make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Anything with txt speech or poor spelling. Or silly catch phrases ' cheapest in the country'. Sellers blatantly fibbing, 'timing belt changed' no receipt as my mate done it. I have had more hassle with dealers then private sellers. Naas road specials!

@ robbie can you not see the differences other than the fact your dad bought privately ,

you did the correct thing buying your car you got a mechanic to check it out ,
    your dad , no offense but obviously doesnt know much about cars and didnt get anyone to check it out .
    thats the main difference

I think the problem is this vectra you talk about wasn't properly examined before it was bought. How the hell was none of these proplems spotted? Seriously did he actually have a look at the car first or did he show up at the guys house, throw money at the seller & drive off? Nobody forced your dad to buy the car....if it doesn't feel right WALK AWAY, simple as that.

When buying a car privately you HAVE to ask questions, thorough visual check of the interior & exterior to find any potential faults, good long test drive, inspect engine bay, check oil etc etc... If you can't carry out such basic tasks then don't buy privately.

Ive bought a few cars privately & not had a bother. I think your a bit anti-private sale because your dad bought a piece of crap without inspecting the thing properly & surprise surprise it turned out to be a money pit. Lesson learned.

Theres absolutely nothing wrong with buying private. Its only as risky as you make it.
    @ robbie can you not see the differences other than the fact your dad bought privately ,

you did the correct thing buying your car you got a mechanic to check it out ,
    your dad , no offense but obviously doesnt know much about cars and didnt get anyone to check it out .
    thats the main difference

i will admit my dad isint smart at these things by any means but at the same time your man we bought it off was very adamant everything was perfect and lied through his nose (now im not blaming anyone for anything) but when it comes to buying a car it seems to be who can you trust more than anything else.

the main benifit of buying from a simi dealer i see is they tell you everything about the car like history checks and so on and i got myself a 12month full warranty ... that will not cover things like bulbs, brakes, tyres and the clutch but will cover everything else and i also got a 12 month breakdown and roadside assist included in the price... cant get that with a private sale.

so (hopefully this will never happen) if my car does breakdown, grand, ring the auto assist people and straight back to the dealer and fixed for free.. sales mans words !

but buy privately and car breakdown you pretty stuck.

but i do agree with you all that a car does need to be inspected inside and out before making a decision and bringing someone who knows and will help too.

but i just see some advantages of dealers than private.

like if i saw two cars on the net ... exact same cars with exact same everything but one was private sale and one was a main car dealer and the dealer was €250 more expensive but offered a warranty and your buying from a dealer so you kinda feel a lil more confident then i'd probably go with the dealer.

honestly i'd be very weary of any private sales just in general... not cos my dads crock of ****e but because sometimes you actually just cant trust people who sell them

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Robbie, do ya think this kind of ad is worthy of a dealer or private seller? Would this ad intice confidence in the seller?

exact copy and past from ad :

Full history & folder of documents to verify history.

NCT-01/12

Tax-07/11

Facelift model

150bhp

1/2 Leather

PDC

Auto Box

BMW 16" wheels

BMW Mudflaps

BMW MSport rear lip spoiler

BMW Multi function sport steering wheel

6 CD changer

05.07.02 - 1st Registered

11.06.03 - BMW AUC - 5,276 Mile

27.01.04 - Service - 15,449 Miles

28.06.04 - Rear Tyres - 21,264 Miles

08.12.04 - Service - 28,484 Miles

22.12.04 - Service - 29,107 Miles

04.03.05 - OSR Tyre - 31,219 Miles

07.04.05 - Front Tyres - 32,382 Miles

21.06.05 - Service - 35,523 Miles

14.07.05 - MOT - 36,309 Miles

19.12.05 - Service - 42,685 Miles

04.03.06 - Service - 44,358 Miles

13.07.06 - MOT - 47,006 Miles

09.08.06 - Service - 48,036 Miles

05.01.08 - MOT - 62,054 Miles

14.09.09 - MOT - 84,110 Miles

16.11.09 - Enter Ireland - 86,000 Miles

23.02.10 - NCT - 92,039 Miles

13.04.10 - Service - 93,440 Miles

20.09.10 - Alignment - 100,408 Miles

6,250 Miles to next service (143e in BMW)

Receipts show what work was done at each service.

i also got a 12 month breakdown and roadside assist included in the price... cant get that with a private sale.

99% of insurance polices come with this free.
    the main benifit of buying from a simi dealer i see is they tell you everything about the car like history checks and so on and i got myself a 12month full warranty ... that will not cover things like bulbs, brakes, tyres and the clutch but will cover everything else

also, SIMI is there to protect the garage and its members, not the public.

i will admit my dad isint smart at these things by any means but at the same time your man we bought it off was very adamant everything was perfect and lied through his nose (now im not blaming anyone for anything) but when it comes to buying a car it seems to be who can you trust more than anything else.

the main benifit of buying from a simi dealer i see is they tell you everything about the car like history checks and so on and i got myself a 12month full warranty ... that will not cover things like bulbs, brakes, tyres and the clutch but will cover everything else and i also got a 12 month breakdown and roadside assist included in the price... cant get that with a private sale.

Robbie, if you believe a car salesman in any garage (whether they are SIMI registered or not) will tell you everything about a car, and not try to lie through their nose to you, then you are very, very naive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭username2010

No photo? = No Interest
    No mileage? = No Interest
    Wacky Mileage (i.e. ridiculously low) = No Interest (even the grannies drive 5k a year!!)

Have bought via private sale, and had a good experience, but definitely recommend getting a mechanic to check it....Too easy to miss things otherwise...

5K would be a lot of miles for a granny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭username2010

5K would be a lot of miles for a granny.

Well, all depends on how close bingo is!!...:p

I know one old dear that only puts up a few hundred a year. Down the shops once a week and to bingo. Then once a year for the MOT. H reg metro is still as good as the day it left the factory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

No offence, but that's probably one of the dumbest things I've read on motors.

Any car I've bought has had at least two keys. Keys do get lost over the years, but you replace them as and when that happend. Far easier than having to replace ignition barrels and door locks when the last surviving key disappears.

As for why someone would want to steal a car back worth a few hundred, well the answer's in the question: because it's worth a few hundred :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

What puts you off?
    "lady owner" - i've seen way too much of how do ladies drive/park/take care of the car.... sorry.

Well I would get myself a new key as soon as I bought a car, I wouldn't be concerned that there was only 1 key, but hey I don't buy anything worth getting fully comp insurance for and I don't bother with fire and theft insurance. If I can get a year out of a €200 car I have done well and I move on to the next car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

"No timewasters"

I really hate that one, so if I come out to have a look at the car and don't buy it, am I a timewaster?

Also I have never met anybody who consider's themselves to be a "timewaster".

Any car I've bought has had at least two keys. Keys do get lost over the years, but you replace them as and when that happend. Far easier than having to replace ignition barrels and door locks when the last surviving key disappears.

As for why someone would want to steal a car back worth a few hundred, well the answer's in the question: because it's worth a few hundred :confused:

People who look after their cars buy a second or third key if they lose one. But not everybody does, as you seem to think. Look at the way cars are cared for in this country by a lot of people.....if they won't spend the money on servicing a car on time, do you really think they will fork out for a new key which could cost €100, when they have another one sitting in a drawer at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I got 2 keys with my car. 1 for the door. 1 for the ignition. Why pay €100(guessing) for a new key when the car is only worth €200 or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

God i hope the Polish/Lithuanians etc stay in Ireland for a long time, they're not half as fussy as you lot:D Honestly if someone came to purchase a car off me and started cribbing about a second key or the fact that the advert pics were taken on my front lawn i would'nt be long telling ye to f**k off !! I always put "NO TIMEWASTERS" in my adds, if it deters just one idiot from wasting my time than it has served its purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Why do people put paper over their numberplate I think it looks ridiculous. In the case of a very expensive car I would not mind for on yokes that are worth sweet f all...:rolleyes:

Ricardo G wrote: »
    God i hope the Polish/Lithuanians etc stay in Ireland for a long time, they're not half as fussy as you lot:D Honestly if someone came to purchase a car off me and started cribbing about a second key or the fact that the advert pics were taken on my front lawn i would'nt be long telling ye to f**k off !! I always put "NO TIMEWASTERS" in my adds, if it deters just one idiot from wasting my time than it has served its purpose.
    Why do I get the impression that I wouldn't even get as far as calling about one of your ads?;)

Anan1 wrote: »
    Why do I get the impression that I wouldn't even get as far as calling about one of your ads?;)

I never have any issues when it comes to selling a car simply because i am straight with buyers, but i'm fairly quick to spot someone thats wasting my time !! I have very low tolerance when it comes to dealing with people that are'nt straight with me ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

No Timewasters.
    HATE that one, if the seller displays lousy attitude right from the start (timewasters, testpilots, windowlickers, etc...) how is he like in person?
    Probably arrogant, difficult and if something goes wrong unhelpful.

POA:
    PFO! (Please Fcuk Off, can only mean vastly overpriced)

Any seller that has mobile only, won't meet you at his house and wants to meet you at a supermarket car park or petrol station:
    Car stolen, cloned, write off or finance owing.
    Buy it, you'll never trace the seller again, probably false name, etc... bout as straight as a 7 Euro note.

NO private number.
    I am calling from the office, or Skype.
    I have no choice over private number.
    Don't want my money?
    Fine, I'll give it to someone else, you seem to be doing well enough as it is.

No Timewasters.
    HATE that one, if the seller displays lousy attitude right from the start (timewasters, testpilots, windowlickers, etc...) how is he like in person?
    Probably arrogant, difficult and if something goes wrong unhelpful.

POA:
    PFO! (Please Fcuk Off, can only mean vastly overpriced)

Any seller that has mobile only, won't meet you at his house and wants to meet you at a supermarket car park or petrol station:
    Car stolen, cloned, write off or finance owing.
    Buy it, you'll never trace the seller again, probably false name, etc... bout as straight as a 7 Euro note.

NO private number.
    I am calling from the office, or Skype.
    I have no choice over private number.
    Don't want my money?
    Fine, I'll give it to someone else, you seem to be doing well enough as it is.

Rubbish !!
    Your selling a car for €10,000 and you have placed an informative advert on Donedeal or elsewhere stating that you don't want to deal with timewasters, some fool rings asking every question that has been answered on the add already or offers half the asking price over the phone, you don't think these people are wasting your time??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

- Tow Bar (never used) - so why did you or the previous owner paid the extra to get it fitted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Any car with a DL reg

kceire wrote: »
    Robbie, do ya think this kind of ad is worthy of a dealer or private seller? Would this ad intice confidence in the seller?

exact copy and past from ad :

Full history & folder of documents to verify history.

NCT-01/12

Tax-07/11

Facelift model

150bhp

1/2 Leather

PDC

Auto Box

BMW 16" wheels

BMW Mudflaps

BMW MSport rear lip spoiler

BMW Multi function sport steering wheel

6 CD changer

05.07.02 - 1st Registered

11.06.03 - BMW AUC - 5,276 Mile

27.01.04 - Service - 15,449 Miles

28.06.04 - Rear Tyres - 21,264 Miles

08.12.04 - Service - 28,484 Miles

22.12.04 - Service - 29,107 Miles

04.03.05 - OSR Tyre - 31,219 Miles

07.04.05 - Front Tyres - 32,382 Miles

21.06.05 - Service - 35,523 Miles

14.07.05 - MOT - 36,309 Miles

19.12.05 - Service - 42,685 Miles

04.03.06 - Service - 44,358 Miles

13.07.06 - MOT - 47,006 Miles

09.08.06 - Service - 48,036 Miles

05.01.08 - MOT - 62,054 Miles

14.09.09 - MOT - 84,110 Miles

16.11.09 - Enter Ireland - 86,000 Miles

23.02.10 - NCT - 92,039 Miles

13.04.10 - Service - 93,440 Miles

20.09.10 - Alignment - 100,408 Miles

6,250 Miles to next service (143e in BMW)

Receipts show what work was done at each service.

99% of insurance polices come with this free.

also, SIMI is there to protect the garage and its members, not the public.

hard to say without seeing the car and doing the regular checks a mechanic would.
    BDJW wrote: »
    Robbie, if you believe a car salesman in any garage (whether they are SIMI registered or not) will tell you everything about a car, and not try to lie through their nose to you, then you are very, very naive!

i thought it was a legal requirement ?

Is it fcuk!

hard to say without seeing the car and doing the regular checks a mechanic would.
    Is it fcuk!:D

ya right :rolleyes:

as for the way the car was advertised , thats the kind of seller id be after if i was buying a car , the guy obviously looks after the car , i would say its a bmw E46 320d or cd , well serviced obviously by someone who was into the car , in a good way . ie the ad says all the right things to warrant me going to have a look. but i still would have a close look around it ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

ya right :rolleyes:

as for the way the car was advertised , thats the kind of seller id be after if i was buying a car , the guy obviously looks after the car , i would say its a bmw E46 320d or cd , well serviced obviously by someone who was into the car , in a good way . ie the ad says all the right things to warrant me going to have a look. but i still would have a close look around it ;)

I'd agree Robbie but hers the kicker, that car only has 1 key.,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Seweryn wrote: »
    - Tow Bar (never used) - so why did you or the previous owner paid the extra to get it fitted?

To be fair when my parents bought their X-Trail from a dealer the tow bar was throw in with the car. That being said my dad has never used the tow bar so I can see how, no matter how unlikely, that it has never been used.

That being said my brother did use it though :rolleyes:

kceire wrote: »
    I'd agree Robbie but hers the kicker, that car only has 1 key.,,,,
    In fairness, I would factor the cost of a second key into what I was prepared to pay - for me, it's just not worth the risk of losing the only key to the car. I'd also be a bit concerned about the 45k miles/3 1/2 year hole in the service history!

Rubbish !!
    Your selling a car for €10,000 and you have placed an informative advert on Donedeal or elsewhere stating that you don't want to deal with timewasters, some fool rings asking every question that has been answered on the add already or offers half the asking price over the phone, you don't think these people are wasting your time??

So they're still ringing you?
    Seems like a waste of time putting that in an ad then.
    When I see any of the items I listed in my post I think "Right, next".
    Maybe one or two fools won't ring, but a lot of people who might have ended up even buying a car will think "OK, better not waste that guys time and buy another car".
    When I buy a car I am serious, I will only ring when interested, but when I see attitude coming off the ad I won't bother.
    Or would you buy anything of anyone who is giving out even before you met them?
    Negative attitude doesn't help in sales.

Anan1 wrote: »

Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Dont understand why people are going on about the second key issue??! If i was looking at a buying a used car that was in great condition, service history, long nct & a good price i couldn't give a toss if it had a second key or not.

Jesus wept?:confused:

Dont understand why people are going on about the second key issue??! If i was looking at a buying a used car that was in great condition, service history, long nct & a good price i couldn't give a toss if it had a second key or not.

I agree, some people are just too precious.

It's not a deal-breaker, but it would have to be replaced. As I said earlier, losing the only key to your car has the potential to be a real nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Rubbish !!
    No some people want you to confirm what's in the ad, it's hardly the Spanish inquisition. It also builds a rapport between the parties so you get a feel of what's going on. If you feel this is a lot to handle or too much pressure maybe you have something to hide or need to lay off the caffeine ;-)

half the asking price over the phone, that's a bit rich and would get anyone riled up up.

Years ago, I rang about what sounded like a really good Lancia Thema - one owner, very low mileage, FSH etc - owner wanted £10,000. I had a good chat with him on the phone, made him an offer of £5000. He didn't accept it, but I explained my rationale and he was very understanding. We left it that he could call me back if he didn't get more for it and, sure enough, a couple of months later the phone rang. IMO the moral of the story is that there's nothing wrong with lowballing, as long as it's done respectfully and properly explained.