Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Northern Catholics 'don't want' united Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Southern protestants, Catholics and atheists don't want one either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Meh, I don't see why people want the North, an economically fúcked country taking on an economic parasite. Yes, brilliant idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Most of us in the Republic can hardly afford to live here, who would they want to lower their living standards to be part of the Republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

RMD wrote: »
    Meh, I don't see why people want the North, an economically fúcked country taking on an economic parasite. Yes, brilliant idea.

We already donate a lot of money to the North through funding for various projects, they want to have their cake and eat it.

TheZohan wrote: »
    We already donate a lot of money to the North through funding for various projects, they want to have their cake and eat it.

I'd prefer if they 'donated' to more of our local run down schools and other such more important projects first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I was surprised to see that there are actually some protestants up North that want to join the South.

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    I was surprised to see that there are actually some protestants up North that want to join the South.

Survey may have been done when they thought we had lots of money....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

galwayrush wrote: »
    I'd prefer if they 'donated' to more of our local run down schools and other such more important projects first.
    Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness welcomed the announcement by Mr Kenny that another €11m had been provided by the Irish Government towards two road projects in the North, including the €928m A5 motorway from Derry to Aughnacloy on the Monaghan-Tyrone

That €11m would have gone a long way to helping the Cystic Fibrosis unit that needs the funds in the Republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

All we have to offer is a few 100 billion debt and a load of impending tax increases. You can't really blame them for not wanting to join

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Those that want an united Ireland are probably those on the dole.

Dole up north £60 a week, dole down south €188. Do the math. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Survey trolls I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This is fine news. Now we can both agree we dont want to share a country together, we can live happily ever after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

TheZohan wrote: »
    Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness welcomed the announcement by Mr Kenny that another €11m had been provided by the Irish Government towards two road projects in the North, including the €928m A5 motorway from Derry to Aughnacloy on the Monaghan-Tyrone
    That €11m would have gone a long way to helping the Cystic Fibrosis unit that needs the funds in the Republic.

It certainly would, but it small change compared to what our Government is planning to donate to Northern Ireland's road network in the cominy years
    TAOISEACH Enda Kenny publicly pledged yesterday to spend hundreds of millions of euro to build a motorway in the North.
    There have been more than 2,400 objections to the planned €928m A5 motorway from Derry to Aughnacloy, on the Monaghan-Tyrone border.
    Its opponents have branded it a vanity project and a "political road" which will not deliver promised economic benefits and which will "cripple" transport budgets north and south.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/kenny-commits-to-motorway-in-north-2659629.html

Why vote for a United Ireland, when we are still giving them hundreds of millions, even when we are bankrupt and cutting health services to the disabled and sick kids ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Would you blame them with the current state of the country.
    Well looking down across the border at the bunch of FF **** that was previously running the state into the ground while lining their own pockets?

No!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

What part of the North was this survey taken in?

A majority of Catholics in the North would now prefer to stay part of Britain rather than become part of a broke republic.
    According to the Irish Independent the survey was taken in the part of Northern Ireland that is a part of Britain! I can't find that on my "sun-dappled" map!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 PuddleMooders

I'll have you know that not all Protestants are English loving, violent hugging gob****es. It's a stereotype created by Catholics and in this modern day it's a completely inaccurate stereotype.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Indo is a rag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Dub.

A lot of better educated protestants in the north would be amenable to the idea of a united Ireland.

Dole up north £60 a week, dole down south €188. Do the math. :p

These!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Augmerson wrote: »
    Indo is a rag.

It's still the most popular paper in the country. :)

According to the Irish Independent the survey was taken in the part of Northern Ireland that is a part of Britain! I can't find that on my "sun-dappled" map!

You won't, NI is part of the UK not Britain! ;)

Toilet paper is more popular, it's more interesting to read and even after use contains less turd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭DColeman

Rory McIlroy's British tonight lads ok? ;)

(Think he might be one of those Northern catholics who doesn't want a united Ireland either)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭frank9901

"A majority of Catholics in the North would now prefer to stay part of Britain rather than become part of a broke republic"
    stopped reading at that,for the life me ui cant remember when northern ireland became part of britain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Fridays Irish News had the story as well.
    frank9901 wrote: »
    cant remember when northern ireland became part of britain

The last Ice Age ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

Great! so the next time a Northerner refers to me as a Freestater West Brit I can remind them of this poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Dub.

DColeman wrote: »
    Rory McIlroy's British tonight lads ok? ;)

(Think he might be one of those Northern catholics who doesn't want a united Ireland either)

No, he calls himself Irish and considers the Irish Open his `home` tournament.

He has also claimed he wants to join Padraig and Graeme as Irish major winners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

frank9901 wrote: »
    "A majority of Catholics in the North would now prefer to stay part of Britain rather than become part of a broke republic"
    stopped reading at that,for the life me ui cant remember when northern ireland became part of britain

Let's not forget this is the Daily Mail :D

There's no way we could afford reunification with Northern Ireland at the moment and I doubt the majority of people in the Republic would be overly keen on taking on its social and security problems either.

As it stands, neither the Republic of Ireland nor Northern Ireland is fiscally viable. It's even questionable as to whether the UK is financially / fiscally sound. It's in absolutely astronomical debt too.

We may yet have to declare both islands a bird sanctuary and leg it to Canada and Aus!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

It's still a ****ing rag.

Did the survey include the opinions of us unspeakable deviants who are niether Protestant nor Roman Catholic on the matter ?

Economic situation aside Why would the existance of Protestant Nationalists be much more suprising than that of Roman Catholic Unionists ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Not according to any statistics I've seen it isn't.
    Although it is possibly the most popular paper in the country in a recent survey of Daily Mail readers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

The OP is far from rocket science. The North has made huge leaps and bounds in the previous years in terms of improving civil rights and indeed in balancing the demographics in policing. It was natural that eventually Catholics would start to think that the North was as much theirs as anyone else rather than the sense of being a disenfranchised minority.

As far as I can see it it makes good sense anyway.
    Dub. wrote: »
    A lot of better educated protestants in the north would be amenable to the idea of a united Ireland.

The implication that the more educated you are the more you will be for a United Ireland is nonsense really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

The UK pays for me to go to uni in Dublin, I get free healthcare and almost free dentistry. And when I'm finished I have the UK and Ireland to get a job in without hassle.
    Northern Ireland rocks!

smk89 wrote: »
    And when I'm finished I have the UK and Ireland European Union to get a job in without hassle.

FYP !

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Did the survey include the opinions of us unspeakable deviants who are niether Protestant nor Roman Catholic on the matter ?

Economic situation aside Why would the existance of Protestant Nationalists be much more suprising than that of Roman Catholic Unionists ?

Far too many people have the "two tribes" notion in their heads and the thoughts of people of " their" tribe on the other side of the border preferring the status quo to remain doesen't compute.

Obviously. But what part of Northern Ireland? Derry, Tyrone, Antrim? Shankill, Falls? A bit of context and knowing the community in which the survey was taken would put a lot of this into perspective? As we all know, Northern Ireland is not as black and white as Catholic and Protestant.

But what part of Northern Ireland? Derry, Tyrone, Antrim? Shankill, Falls? .

Or even Londonderry :pac:

I would imagine though it would follow the standard methodology of surveys of this type in that it would be based on a sample of people of different backgrounds from across Northern Ireland.

Or then again maybe they only asked Catholics from Poland ?
    As we all know, Northern Ireland is not as black and white as Catholic and Protestant.

But do "we" ?

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Or even Londonderry :pac:

I would imagine though it would follow the standard methodology of surveys of this type in that it would be based on a sample of people of different backgrounds from across Northern Ireland.

Or then again maybe they only asked Catholics from Poland ?

But, wouldn't it be usually stated? Like, it doesn't seem to say anywhere whether it's a survey of people from all backgrounds or people from just a specific area.

Sorry, I just always tend to treat surveys from rag tabloids with a bit of suspicion.

The Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey wasnt commisioned by the Irish Independent. Its been running for quite a few years now and is AFaIK generally well regarded in most quarters. The latest survey results have also been reported on by the Irish News (not generally regarded as a fanatically loyalist organ !!!) and the BBC so just beause a story is also reported on in some outlets of a questionable reputation it doesnt necessairly invalidate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

smk89 wrote: »
    The UK pays for me to go to uni in Dublin, I get free healthcare and almost free dentistry. And when I'm finished I have the UK and Ireland to get a job in without hassle.
    Northern Ireland rocks!

you lucky **** I was really sick last week needed to go to the doc but
    €50 :eek: could'nt afford it I wish the UK would look after me ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

So it's all sorted then. Northern Ireland will stay as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

British security services plot.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

think SF know full well that the UI isn't coming any time soon, think their long term plan is to regularly have these types of summits to keep the UI concept ticking over.

In another 20-25 years which isn't really such a long time, things might be different to the extent that a UI might well have support.

People thought the Berlin Wall was 'forever' as late as the mid-80's.

bayern282 wrote: »
    think SF know full well that the UI isn't coming any time soon, think their long term plan is to regularly have these types of summits to keep the UI concept ticking over.

In another 20-25 years which isn't really such a long time, things might be different to the extent that a UI might well have support.

People thought the Berlin Wall was 'forever' as late as the mid-80's.

People have been saying that there would be a United Ireland in X years for decades, but now the people seem to be going in the opposite direction.

One has to ask why is a United Ireland so essential anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

Dub. wrote: »
    No, he calls himself Irish and considers the Irish Open his `home` tournament.

He has also claimed he wants to join Padraig and Graeme as Irish major winners.
    Rory McIroy isn't from a Roman Catholic background (I don't know about his spiritual beliefs) and has said quite specifically that he regards himself as British/ Northern Irish and that if golf were an Olympic sport he would declare for the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

philologos wrote: »
    People have been saying that there would be a United Ireland in X years for decades, but now the people seem to be going in the opposite direction.

One has to ask why is a United Ireland so essential anyway?
    The poll is a load of bollox, it's just a straw for unionists and Dr Sir Tony O'Reilly's comcs to grasp to. In fact it's completely biased as can be seen -

This is the same 'accurate' survey that puts 2010 political party support at - DUP 18%, SDLP 17%, UUP 16%, Sinn Fein 11%, Alliance 10%
    http://www.ark.ac.uk/nilt/2010/Polit.../POLPART2.html

But how people actually voted in 2010 - DUP 24.96%, SDLP 16.47%, UUP 15.19%, SF 25.52

The nationalist vote is continually rising, the northern statelet has 2, at the very most 3, decades left.

1969 – Unionists 67.4% Nationalists 18.8%
    2010 – Unionists 50.6% Nationalists 41.9%
    http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/issues/politics/election/electsum.htm

This seems to be nitpicking. People might vote Sinn Féin because they believe they are the best party to support them in the here and now. It doesn't necessarily mean that they support a United Ireland.

The poll is curious though, if you really didn't support a United Ireland why would you vote for Sinn Féin, possibly the SDLP would be a better option.

You refer to the Nationalist vote, but the poll mentioned in the OP suggests that the "Nationalist" vote mightn't be as "Nationalist" at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

philologos wrote: »
    This seems to be nitpicking. People might vote Sinn Féin because they believe they are the best party to support them in the here and now. It doesn't necessarily mean that they support a United Ireland.

The poll is curious though, if you really didn't support a United Ireland why would you vote for Sinn Féin, possibly the SDLP would be a better option.

You refer to the Nationalist vote, but the poll mentioned in the OP suggests that the "Nationalist" vote mightn't be as "Nationalist" at all.

To stop a Unionist getting in, it's strategic, many voters do it here but on party grounds.

Good few Unionists have voted for the SDLP if it means SF out.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Or they want a better football team?