Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most random thing to happen to you?

• 19-06-2011 10:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

Since I moved to Glasgow last October my life has jumped from random event to random event. My first day here, I went into a sandwich shop and an old friend was working behind the counter.

I went to the pub last Friday, found a piano on the street on my way home. Weighs as much as a baby elephant and it took me three days to get it home, but I now have a piano in my sitting room.

Oh and four months in Glasgow and the main street is shut to traffic because of my building

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-12401660

Tis but a brief summary of the randomness of my life lately, a lot more random and weird **** has happened to me since moving here.

So AH, what's the most random thing to ever happen to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Conception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Inception

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭melb

A kick in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

A face in the kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭bob the bob

Young people seem to think "random" means unusual, weird, quirky.

UD hits nail on head:
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=random

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

Young people seem to think "random" means unusual, weird, quirky.

UD hits nail on head:
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=random

1. i'm not that young.

2. i'lll go with the oxford dictionary on this one:
    "informal odd, unusual, or unexpected"

3. can't believe i'm using the oxford dictionary in AH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Feckfox

Those events were certainly unexpected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Men keep coming into the petrol station where I work and ask for new lightbulbs for their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭spunkymunky

Very random in the first picture when you click the link. Look at the 1st thumbnail of the smoke. Looks like the marshmallow man from ghostbusters waving

never noticed that, and I've looked at those pics a lot!

sorcha came over to mine yesterday and it was omg loike so random

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

Veles wrote: »
    Getting asked for my autograph in Kildare town...

Who did they think you were?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

In a very small town in upstate New York a few years ago, cycling down a forest trail with a friend, middle of nowhere. Pasty white skinned guy and an Asian woman stop us and ask how many miles it is to the end of the trail. Guy asks where I'm from, turns out to be from the same city (Limerick). Though it was pretty random.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Some man rang me on the mobile shouting abuse and demanding to speak to his daughter. This at 20 minutes past midnight
    And he was going to come around and batter me. Demanding to know my name and why was I with his daughter.

Seems his teenage daughter was staying with some boyfriend they didn't approve of. So the parents were angry and worried.

Wait, wrong number :rolleyes:

Didn't get an apology either :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

I was going for a walk in gougane barra forest in cork on a sunday morning with all my family when about an hour in to the walk we find a massive dildo in the middle of the path.Strange to say the least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I went to the pub last Friday, found a piano on the street on my way home. Weighs as much as a baby elephant and it took me three days to get it home, but I now have a piano in my sitting room.

You just took a piano you found on the street? Do you often take things in this manner? Plenty of cars parked out on the street, do you take them too? Anything that isn't nailed down?

Augmerson wrote: »
    You just took a piano you found on the street? Do you often take things in this manner? Plenty of cars parked out on the street, do you take them too? Anything that isn't nailed down?

i live in the west end of glasgow, people leave furniture on the street the whole time for others to take. that's where the couch im siting on came from. and my oak sitting room table with 8 chairs. and a massive mirror. and one of my coffee tables. and a ladder(that was stolen but i needed it to break into my old flat, but i gave it back, i swears). it was outside a building which was being refurbished, at ten at night, clearly for the taking, lots of other furniture there too. and it took my three days to get home, the owner could've easily got it back if they wanted.

anyhow, i'm off the belt out a few tunes on my severely out of tune piano.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqOJv0bAA-U (not me unfortunately)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 McFoxy

A couple of years ago, I was in a B&B and an american woman asked if she could take my picture, because I have red hair and was eating a full Irish. Pretty strange

More to come..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Thread has come along just at the right time ( just before I head off to bed ) and don't think it's the most random thing to happen in my life but certainly the most recent as it only happened yesterday .

I was walking out of a store in the city centre when a female friend came walking in my direction so as you do , I said '' Hi Ann , how things '' ? .

So this 40 odd year old womon slows down ,looks over at me with a smile /quizzical look on her face on her and again I said ' Hi Ann ' ? ...but she's still looking at me smiling and confused . I realised she wasn't Ann but was so uncanny like her that even up close she looked like Ann .

So the woman explained who she was , we both laughed at my error and went our seperate ways .

Then aproxx 2 minutes later I turn the corner and who is only facing me ?............the real Ann . :eek:

So I'm explaining to her who I've just seen and we are both in knots laughing .

Mistaking somebody for somebody else happens to us all but to have the real person show up a minute or two after has to be one of the oddest things to ever happen to me .

I was walking down the road the other day, and I turned into a pub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

I was queuing at the drinks tent at Oxegen last summer, shooting the breeze with my friends when the guy in front of me starts bangin on about it being nothing more than a culchies day out to his mates. Being a proud country girl and 4 beers the better, I basically fired off some retort about the wonders of my home county. "Don't I know he says, I used to go out with a girl from there" The girl was my sister!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

A few years ago my mate was driving me home after a few spliffs, was around 4am. The two of us were pretty stoned and there wasn't a car in sight. All of a sudden we see this massive object in front of us.
    As we got closer I said "is that a boat??" Turns out it was indeed a boat being transported - big one too that practically took up the two lanes of the road. We had some laugh driving behind it. It was like it was hovering on the road. Not that random but was very funny at the time given the time of night and our state of mind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I was walking down the street once and just as I was about to cross the road it started to rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I think it's time the Irish Government started a campaign to ensure the people of Ireland actually know what the word random means.

Also, bumping into an old friend someone who knew someone who used to go out with a friend's sister's auntie is not rando, it's called coincidence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I think it's time the Irish Government started a campaign to ensure the people of Ireland actually know what the word random means

Why? Meanings are arbitrary so words convey meaning in whatever way they're most commonly used and interpreted. People achieve very effective and colourful communication using colloquialisms all the time. Life would be very dull without them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

bluewolf wrote: »
    sorcha came over to mine yesterday and it was omg loike so random

And where was Fiachra in all of this??

Jess16 wrote: »
    Why? Meanings are arbitrary so words convey meaning in whatever way they're most commonly used and interpreted. People achieve very effective and colourful communication using colloquialisms all the time. Life would be very dull without them

"Random" is not a colloquialism, it's a word being misused! There are already pretty appropriate words for all of these things being said, try using them instead of shuffling words like cards in a deck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Got jumped on and beaten half to death once. :(

Fago! wrote: »
    Got jumped on and beaten half to death once. :(

Was it by someone who you used to go to school with? That would've been random!

Yes as a matter of fact. they were a few years ahead of me at school. this was after i left school though.

Walking home one night and these lads (who had been on coke and e that night) just pounced on me and beat me senseless for no reason whatsoever. Punching me while the other held my arms back, standing on my head, kicking me in the face (damn facekicker). then when i managed to get away, they chased me in a car and did the same for another 10 minutes. They pounded me into to a spongey, swollen, not to mention bloody, bruised and confused ragdoll. They'd have killed me if someone didn't come over and help me. Hate the word random so call it unexpected, unprovoked, unexplained. Whatever it was, I didn't deserve it because i'd never spoke a word to either of them.

Yes as a matter of fact. they were a few years ahead of me at school. this was after i left school though.

Walking home one night and these lads (who had been on coke and e that night) just pounced on me and beat me senseless for no reason whatsoever. Punching me while the other held my arms back, standing on my head, kicking me in the face (damn facekicker). then when i managed to get away, they chased me in a car and did the same for another 10 minutes. They pounded me into to a spongey, swollen, not to mention bloody, bruised and confused ragdoll. They'd have killed me if someone didn't come over and help me. Hate the word random so call it unexpected, unprovoked, unexplained. Whatever it was, I didn't deserve it because i'd never spoke a word to either of them.

Did you report it? What happened to these scummers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Clogsworth

I was in Sydney recently walking through Kings Cross around lunch time. Seen a coloured transvestite sitting on a bench in the lashing rain mumbling to her/himself when a latino man walked up and ripped his shirt open and started grinding up against him/her. Transvestite then started singing 'its raining men'. :eek:

Did you report it? What happened to these scummers?

Nope. If I'd have done anything (told the gardai or gotten them back in a similar way) they'd have retaliated and it would have escalated till someone died. They're the type of people who'd petrol bomb my house or kick the **** out of my ma or brother if they seen them or even stabbed me so i left it. Like jesus would have.

Random!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭TemptationWaits

My "random thing" happened when I was asking my iPod questions with my aunt, who was pregnant at the time. You know, the game where you ask the iPod something and press shuffle for an answer. We asked if her baby would be a boy or a girl, and it played the song Oscar (like the Grouch) from a Sesame Street album. It didn't mean much to me but my aunt was amazed - she had decided if the baby was a boy she would call him Oscar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

I was walking home from work one night a few years ago and I saw a black toad with white spots and a duck sitting in a puddle in a water logged field in Ballyfermot. Nobody believed me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

It's fair to say meeting someone who knows someone or meeting someone you know from Ireland in or outside Ireland is fairly unrandom...

...although I ws introduced to my ex who I'd broken up with 6 months previously by an American girl I met travelling in a country thousands of miles from home who bumped into my ex in another hostel in another city in the same country...."Oh Eve Dublin, this is my friend(my ex)....twas mad at the time until this kind of hoo-ha kept happening over and over. Met a guy here who I did a course with in Dublin and bumped into randomly twice before a country thousands of miles from Europe and then again here in Spain.

Ireland is bleedin' tiny: there's about 7 of us from there and most of us go to the same spots. No such thing as random meetings among us Irish. Fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Doing a syndicate in work for the euromillions, i was sent up to the shop with 30 euro. I asked for 10 lines, quickpick. Got handed back a bit of paper with 70 numbers...

all random

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I was walking through town one day with my sister. We were walking under the little bridge at the central bank going towards Dame Street. All of a sudden I got a weird feeling. A very strange sensation indeed. I turned to my sister and I told her. 'I can't explain it but I have this overwhelming feeling that I'm going to bump into Tommy (real name changed.)'

We walked on and turned the corner to go onto Dame Street and lo and behold who did I bump into? Tommy.

The first thing Tommy says is 'did you feel that too?'

True story. Then we went drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 whippetmania

I took a dump at 11:35 yesterday whereas I normally have to go after my morning coffee at 8:15. I thought that was pretty "random"...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

That I'm alive in this universe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

shared a lift with the edge from u2 once, jesus that was random it could have been any of the other 3 ****ers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

In terms of inexplicable/improbable events:

Walking home in the dark one night and there's two cats on the wall of the remains of an old country house, both facing each other and taking it in turns crying at each other with noises that sound 100% exactly like two people "I love you!"

At the urinals in the toilets in college. There's a row of six of them. I'm at either the third or fourth one from the right, I think it was the fourth. Nobody else around until a man I'd never seen comes in and stands in front of the first urinal on the right. He's about to go, but he looks up, sees me, and then moves down to the urinal right beside me. He didn't say anything at all, just got on with his business. I got out as quickly as I could. The really weird thing was that after he moved beside me he didn't speak or look at me, so why do it?
    Maybe I was supposed to take the initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

On a German course in Berlin, turns out so was my neighbour (different camp). We were allowed in to Berlin itself twice within two weeks for a few hours. Met my neighbour while walking through a shopping centre on an elevator. Gave me bloody goosebumps :)

Chances of that happening like... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I was once knocked off my bike by a car while I was on the way to a safe cycling course.

True story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

I was driving down the canal between Rathmines an Harolds cross 2 years ago, height of summer, roasting day, an I see none other than a man in a santa suit on the far side of the canal, feeding the ducks. It was possibley one of the most random things I ever seen in my life. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Is the ham green too?

On holidays with my mates in a little town in the south of france, We decided to go out for the night ( as you do ) Being Newbies to the place we decided wed follow the crowd and go to the busiest club/bar in the town. So we paid the 20 euros in, shimmied through black velvet curtains and ended up standing in a club filled with the most normal looking people ( casual guys and girls wearing beach gear etc ) but the place was jammed with balloons. So we got a few drinks, and sat down amongst these balloons. A while passed and the penny dropped as two scantily clad femmes fetales donned the stage to show us their emmm dancing skills- the random part: another stripper wore a giant teddy bear costume. 2 strippers bumping and grinding against a giant yellow teddy bear. Random night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Needler wrote: »
    And where was Fiachra in all of this??

Loike at the ruggers with doddy, doncha know