Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert 2011: Tech Graph

• 17-06-2011 12:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭

Monday- 20th of June 2011
    9:30 - 12:30

All talk about it goes here blah blah blah.

What questions is everyone gonna do? I plan on doing 2,3,5 and 6. Depends though. Might do Q1 if 3 is too hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭spirit_77

Woooooo ordinary level T.G :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

spirit_77 wrote: »

That is impressive :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭DarkDusk

spirit_77 wrote: »

Same, I was too lazy to do higher. I'm so looking forward to this one because it's so easy - basically drawing lines and circles!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

DarkDusk wrote: »
    Same, I was too lazy to do higher. I'm so looking forward to this one because it's so easy - basically drawing lines and circles!:p

Drawing those boxes and creating an isometric view using the boxes?

Yeh, pretty easy alright! I just don't understand how you get 2 and a half hours? :confused: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭King John The Last

91% in mock. SORTED:D

Eh not really though! Good to have confidence and 91%, but it could well be a very difficult test with very difficult drawings!

I'm dreading the short question tbh! You'd never know what could come up in them yokes and I'd pretty much need nearly 120/120 if I wanted an A.
    What questions are you planning on doing?

DarkDusk wrote: »

I hated the subject from day 1 even though i wasnt too bad at it,but yeah thought i'd be lazy about it:DI know im not doing it next year so whats the point in waiting for an extra half hour for the summer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

1,2,5,6 or 1,4,5,6 not 3 though, it always ends up messed up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

1, 2, 5 and 6 for me too, hate Q3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭jwcurtin

1, 2, 5 and 6 for me too, hate Q3!

+1.. 3 is way too much effort for equal marks to the likes of Q6

To me, Q3 is the hardest one of the four I'm doing, but also, to me, it's just join the dots really. The plan and front elevation are usually fully given, all you have to do is draw the axes, which takes about a minutes, then copy the plan/elevation directly from the page. That's about half the marks.
    From there just take the plan at 90 degrees and the elevation at 30. Join the dots from there and you're finished.

I'll definitely do Q3 if they give the little 3D image in the corner of what it should look like when it's finished. If they don't give that image I might reconsider and do Q1.

Hopefully question 6 is as easy as possible. I'll get it done in 10 minutes if it is. I badly need to make up time on that question. 5 is very easy and so is 2. 3 is definitely hard, but I really don't like doing 1. It takes me ages for some reason. And I'm bad enough at getting the true shape.

I have never attempted development and don't intend to. It'd probably be easy if I learnt it, but it just seems like a horrible question to do.

Same, ive just completly ignored developments!

I badly need Q5 to be easy if im gonna get this exam finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Legion.

hate this subject with a passion, only one im not confident of getting a C/B in or maybe even passing :( Any tips? You all seem to have planned the questions you want to do and I have barely done any exam work :/

Legion. wrote: »
    hate this subject with a passion, only one im not confident of getting a C/B in or maybe even passing :( Any tips? You all seem to have planned the questions you want to do and I have barely done any exam work :/

drop to ordinary :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭P H A 7V T O M

Like Spirit says, I'd drop to OL if I were you. My principal allowed me to change last minute, so it's definitely worth a try. I couldn't bear most of the HL stuff, I had no idea what angles to project stuff at etc., so dropped earlier on in the year.

I think some people are just born good at this sort of stuff, it's not so much a measure of intelligence, though it definitely does require some in planning etc., especially on HL.

Then again, if you think you can get a C or higher, I'd stick with it. A "C" on HL translates into an "A" on an OL test (or pretty close anyway), and even at that it is considered more of an achievement, so perhaps you should stick with it? Up to you, man! No way in hell could I surpass 40% on Hl that's for sure!

Good luck whatever you do! :D

Learn the important pieces to each question. Q 2,5 and 6 should be done by everyone IMO. 5 is just a matter of know how to draw through axial and central symmetry and how to rotate and translation is just redrawing what you have in a different spot. It's very easy really, once you know the basics to drawing through axes.

To do 2, it's all very basic, all you need to know is how to draw what's given on the page and the circle part to it, when changing it to the end view. (if there is a circle part) Split the circle into 8 pieces using the 30/60, take down each point, rotate it with the compas on the line below the image that you are given, translate it over to the other side. Take across the points from the front elevation.

For six, learn how to draw the major axis if the minor axis is given or vice versa when the focal points are given and the minor axis is given and you need the major axis.
    Then learn how to draw a tangent to an elipse and learn how to draw a normal of an elipse.
    That's it really, also know how to draw a parabola. Once you know this, which doesn't really take that long to learn then you should be alright with Q6.

I recommend question 2,5 and 6 as there isn't much involved in them. As for the last question, I'm stuck on picking that myself. A lot of people like Q1, it's up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

I've hated this subject always. I genuinely haven't done one bit of work in it in 2+ years. Got 80% in pass in the mocks. I don't even intend staying for the duration of the exam. Do enough to get a B, then leave. How wants an A in OL anyway? :rolleyes:

Am I the only person how has a love for TG on Boards? Not passionate, just normal love :D

What are people averaging in the amount of time it takes them to do a question? I can do a good drawing in half an hour, but that doesn't include reading the question and basically getting ready. If I can do that in the exam that's 2 hours for 4 questions, I then want to get the short questions done in a half an hour, and that will leave half an hour for the other stuff like reading, going over, sharpening your pencil etc.

Timing is very important in tech!

jwcurtin wrote: »
    Am I the only person how has a love for TG on Boards? Not passionate, just normal love :D

I love it too!

What are people averaging in the amount of time it takes them to do a question? I can do a good drawing in half an hour, but that doesn't include reading the question and basically getting ready. If I can do that in the exam that's 2 hours for 4 questions,

:O There is no way you could do Q3 in half an hour :eek:

No I'm not doing question 3, any mistakes and it ends up totally warped, there are easier questions.

Ah right, me either, as long as Q1 is handy enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Is the rotation a guaranteed question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Can someone please explain the frequently asked cad commands for the short questions, I have a really bad tech graph teacher and havnt a clue of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭En

I'm doing 1, 2, 5, and 6 (Maybe 3 instead of 1 if 1 is too tricky).
    Ellipse & Parabola question is simple if you remember the methods for drawing an ellipse, tangents and normals, and of course the parabola.
    Rotations are simple, sometimes they have hard elevations but that shouldn't be a problem.
    I'm not even going to comment on question 5.
    Question 1 can be a little shaky, but if you get a true shape question they tend to be pretty simple. Can't say the same for the ones without them, though.
    The curves can confuse people (me) on the isometric questions, but that's it.

I did really well in the mocks (A), but it's very easy to mess up a question and lose the A. The short questions are really important for everyone to do correctly, and if you get the 120 marks you can lose 60 marks in the long questions and still get an A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 hurleyhead15

definitly doing questions 1,5,6 they're the easiest by far! Then I'm really stuck between 2 and 3! Any advise? I like 3 but if there's curves it all gets muddled up! Timing should b grand though! If your stuck on the cad commands for the short questions there probably in your book... but apart from that the shorts are simple! Really looking for an a so I hope the paper won't b too hard! Any ideas... 2 or 3? :)

What are people averaging in the amount of time it takes them to do a question? I can do a good drawing in half an hour, but that doesn't include reading the question and basically getting ready. If I can do that in the exam that's 2 hours for 4 questions, I then want to get the short questions done in a half an hour, and that will leave half an hour for the other stuff like reading, going over, sharpening your pencil etc.

Timing is very important in tech!

Forget about how good you are at drawing! Keeping time is much more important, you're right! Nearly every test I've ever done in tech graph, I've ran out of time! It takes me 5 minutes to draw the border and get the sheet in place and what not, and over 30 mins to do the question. If I get stuck mid question, I have to keep going, so I usually spend 10-15 minutes trying to figure out how to do each question properly! That's what i don't like about Q1, sometimes it doesn't give important measurements, you have to find them out yourself. Sometimes I'd spend 10 minutes trying to figure it out.

I reckon I'll do Q6 first. Then Q5. Then Q2 if it's handy. I'll do the short questions then. Whatever time i have left over I'll use it on the last long question. Either Q1 or Q3. I usually make a shambles of them anyway, so why not just use my last bit of time on them. Normally, I'd get full marks in Q2,5 and 6 and the short question, so even a fair attempt at Q3 or 1, get 30 marks or so and I'd say I'd have my A. That's my plan for the test. Planning what to do in the test, time and question-wise is more important then actually doing the drawings themselves in the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

My teacher said he wouldn't advise ruling out the border because you don't have to and it takes up time.

do you have to bring in your own sheets?

My teacher said he wouldn't advise ruling out the border because you don't have to and it takes up time.

It looks neater. Increases my chances of getting all the marks that are going for how neat you are.

By not doing it, chances are reduced you see.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

FatRat wrote: »
    It looks neater. Increases my chances of getting all the marks that are going for how neat you are.

By not doing it, chances are reduced you see.....
    I did my JC last year and I know that you wont get any extra marks for putting a border on the sheet, so there's no point in making more work for yourself and taking up valuable time that could be spent on getting your questions done fully. If you have the time at the end then yes, border the sheets.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭DarkDusk

Pass TG was SIMPLE! OMG I never did an easier test in my life!:D How did ye find it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 BR4D

higher level was easy too i did 1,2,4 and 5 id say i got an a

I thought it was harder that most years. I did 1,2,3 and 5. The shape in Q5 was very strange.

Q 5 was weird, but i'm hoping for near to full marks. Q1 looked complex, but it wasn't too bad. Q2 Was fine. Q6? FECK YOU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 BR4D

my q3 was sexy

jwcurtin wrote: »
    Q 5 was weird, but i'm hoping for near to full marks. Q1 looked complex, but it wasn't too bad. Q2 Was fine. Q6? FECK YOU.

When I saw Q6 I said GTFO:pac:

Not on the OL paper you didn't :p

I was all like: "Ah hellz yeah! "

The gap between the two levels, particularly in TG and a few others (maths and irish) is massive!

Hope you all did well tho ;)

I was aiming for the A but ill be damned if i didnt make the B

What % of marks go for neatness? I don't know the official term =P

My T square loved to make smudges on the page, and eraser seemed to only worsen the effect....

Also, I always forget to use more than one pencil! I just used different levels of pressure on a HB pencil! Hopefully an A is still possible :)

My T square loved to make smudges on the page, and eraser seemed to only worsen the effect....

Also, I always forget to use more than one pencil! I just used different levels of pressure on a HB pencil! Hopefully an A is still possible :)

Its 10 marks for "presentation" on each question, So 10% when taken into consideration with Section A

Its 10 marks for "presentation" on each question, so 10% when Section A is taken into consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

Oh yeah, did everyone clearly label the question number that they were doing on each sheet?

Mayo_Boy wrote: »
    Oh yeah, did everyone clearly label the question number that they were doing on each sheet?

"Ceist 1" ;)

It's called draughtsmanship, normally about 7 marks per long question which is 10%.

I did 1,2,5 and 6, question 5 was a tough shape, however I finished at 12 :cool: but then realized I didn't do surface S in question 1, and had a border to do, so I was still drawing up until the end. My drawings were very dirty but I'll live.

Overall I thought it was slightly harder than other years but was fine all round.

It's called draughtsmanship, normally about 7 marks per long question which is 10%.
    Draughtsmanship! I couldn't remember that, my teacher said it before, cheers ;)

So that's 90% for me? Nah, probably a bit less, mid 70's to early 80's I think. I hope!

In higher level the draughtmanship is 7/70, but in ordinary level it's 12/70 per question.

I did ordinary and was finished with an hour to go. As Phantom already mentioned, the gap between levels is quite remarkable. Ordinary level is pretty ridiculous, not even remotely challenging and I haven't done anything in TG in 3 years.

Someone in honours should be able to tell me the answer to these no problem...

http://www.examinations.ie/archive/exampapers/2011/JC048GLP000EV.pdf
    Link to short questions.

5: Do I just take the length of the minor axis, place compass on point O and swing the distance to locate focal points?

11: Are the commands 1. Circle 2. Hatch

13: Angle B is 45

robman60 wrote: »
    Someone in honours should be able to tell me the answer to these no problem...

http://www.examinations.ie/archive/exampapers/2011/JC048GLP000EV.pdf
    Link to short questions.

5: Do I just take the length of the minor axis, place compass on point O and swing the distance to locate focal points?

11: Are the commands 1. Circle 2. Hatch

13: Angle B is 45

Yep they're all right.