Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you fill in time at the airport?

• 17-06-2011 7:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Hey

Heading out of Dublin airport today and really find the whole waiting around boring. What do you to fill in the time?

Do you go sit and wait at the gate; go shopping, people watch, eat, drink?

I am going to be there a few hours early so will bring a book, but it's not the best place to concentrate... :)

I can't get there any later as the next bus will get me in too late...

What does everyone else do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I try to sleep. Airports are very boring places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

If they have PC's I use them :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I bring a prayer mat and bow to Allah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    I try to sleep. Airports are very boring places.

Oh, I have tried that, but the constant announcements about leaving baggage 'unattended' keeps waking me.

Alf Stewart eh? Lucky :D

I bring a prayer mat and bow to Allah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Get tanked and sleep on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Bring something with access to the t'internet and mess around making trolling threads on boards. I'll be out of the country straight after so I won't have to deal with the mess till I get back. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I check out bad guys noseying around the luggage areas. We frequently have fist fights and shoot-outs. Then I fax their fingerprints to my fat buddy while the girl behind the counter tries to ask me out. Occasionally, I have to leave the terminal building to arrest high-profile prisoners, who've hijacked the plane they're being transported in.

Fairly boring ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Book? Music? ****? Browse? People Watch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Perv ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Last time i was in Bristol the flight back was delayed by about 8 hours. We spent a bit of time drawing cocks on all the Etch-a-Sketches in one of the shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Christ, its like what, 2 or 3 hours wait? Even if its more, lets say 6+ hours you can think of your own things to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I read from my Sony E-reader or Kindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I hate airports, never anything to do except purchase sh1tty products at sh1tty prices

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Pub Crawl. I drink in every pub on the way to the gate I'm going to use.

When heading off the to USA, there's a bonus level after the Border Check-in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I like that game too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Theres free wifi in the airport at the moment so just feck about on boards :)

Haha... there aren't that many bars are there? Never thought about that before...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Hey

Heading out of Dublin airport today and really find the whole waiting around boring. What do you to fill in the time?

Stop going to the airport too early and you won't need to worry about filling in time!

Azureus wrote: »
    Theres free wifi in the airport at the moment so just feck about on boards :)

Great tip - didn't know that! Unfortunately I am not bringing the laptop.

I go to get a coffee and maybe breakfast (it's usually always been morning flights for me) and read a book. Always bring at least one book!

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Stop going to the airport too early and you won't need to worry about filling in time!

Obviously I am not doing it on purpose, I am coming from outside of Dublin and the next bus as I said will get me in too late :)

What is it about Irish people that they just have to drink in the airport regardless of the time of day. Does anyone really enjoy drinking in the early morning after a few hours sleep? We really do live up to our stereotype, sculling pints in the airport bars at 5am.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Haha... there aren't that many bars are there? Never thought about that before...

there's at least 3 as far as i can remember, but havent been there in 3 years.

What is it about Irish people that they just have to drink in the airport regardless of the time of day. Does anyone really enjoy drinking in the early morning after a few hours sleep? We really do live up to our stereotype, sculling pints in the airport bars at 5am.

oi, the first bar opens at 5:30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Do you really think that it is just Irish people that can be found in an airport bar in the morning? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Does anyone really enjoy drinking in the early morning after a few hours sleep?
    It's not so bad once you're drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wash your mouth out!
    I love 5 am pints (or 5.30 as the case may be):)

However for some reason when im travelling early in the morning i go all continental and am overcome with a strange desire for coffee and croisants......then pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I have a pint because I'm usually in good form when heading off. If I'm going off on my holidays I couldn't give a flying fúck what stereotype I'm living up to. Come to think of it, I don't give a damn anytime.

I'd feckin' love to be in the airport this morning OP!

I have a pint because I'm usually in good form when heading off. If I'm going off on my holidays I couldn't give a flying fúck what stereotype I'm living up to. Come to think of it, I don't give a damn anytime.

I'd feckin' love to be in the airport this morning OP!

Oh, I certainly wouldn't care what anyone thought either. Not heading out till the afternoon - few hours away from there yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭fearcruach

Buy a broadsheet newspaper. The stuffier, the better.

Then force yourself to read every article, including the boring ones you'd usually skip.

The time it takes plus the concentration needed to read the shíte articles means the time will skip by.

Do you really think that it is just Irish people that can be found in an airport bar in the morning? Really?

In any sort of numbers, yes I do.

Hopefully you're going somewhere sunny for a bit of craic and not to fúcking glasgow for work or something?
    Give us your story man!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

find a person in a wheelchair. offer to push them to their gate. wheel them to a fire alarm, put on the handbrake, and whack the alarm. then run.

You probably don't wash before leaving the country either and wear a replica football jersey on the plane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

If I can't find a WiFi spot that doesn't charge for Internet access, I'll set up WiFi tethering and use my iPad for browsing and what not. Roaming? Slap it on the company SIM if you've access to one. :D

Usually armed with a Kindle too (hate the iPad app for it, eyestrain city!) if I fancy a read.

Recently at T2 I had a DSLR booked to collect at Dixons. Called ahead, booked ahead, spent less time wandering the terminal and being stressed.

By the way, useful tip, check out the Air Power Wiki for a full guide to finding power sockets in airports around the world.

http://airpower.jeffsandquist.com/airpower/default.aspx

Alternatively, just turn up late and run for the gate. No time to spend waiting around then. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Books books books. Bring ****loads of books, and you will never be bored at the airport or on the plane.

If you're travelling with a friend, get drunk. But not so drunk that they won't let you on the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

In any sort of numbers, yes I do.

There you go OP, pass the time by getting us some interesting statistics on this one. You can have a couple of drinks if you find it necessary.
    You probably don't wash before leaving the country either and wear a replica football jersey on the plane.

You're great at the oul big cheesy assumptions aren't you?

Jesus, sounds like someone woke up on the superior side of the bed this morning!

Hopefully you're going somewhere sunny for a bit of craic and not to fúcking glasgow for work or something?
    Give us your story man!!

Not anywhere exotic.... London. But I'm off to see my best friend who I haven't seen for a while. It's much-needed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

If you're going to terminal 2, you're ****ed. It's a load of me hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I like to run through the terminal with my arms outstretched making engine noises and doing pilot's commentary "cccllllllhhhhh control, I'm coming in heavy, clear the runway!", "roger that....pull her up, pull her up!" I then bring her down soft as a feather, against the odds and all the passengers cheer...."I'm getting to old for this shít", I say, while the stewardesses gaze adoringly at me and the passengers file out shaking my still-steady hand.
    If I can get an accomplice, a trolly is added for maximum effect. And 'cos nothing, nothing, is cooler than two 40 year olds in beach shorts running around with a luggage trolly. It gets our holliers off to a great start and is probably the highlight of other people's trips too. Probably.

Not anywhere exotic.... London. But I'm off to see my best friend who I haven't seen for a while. It's much-needed :)

Sounds good. It's always good to catch up with old friends......you might have to do without the sunshine though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Wander around the perfume/aftershave section and see how many people you can spray with the samples without them noticing.

WindSock wrote: »

I know :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

WindSock wrote: »

really?? Is there nothing there?

Edit: sunflower if you're there now you can pass the time by leaving me little notes to find when I'm there on Monday. Doesn't matter what they say - I'm partial to the odd sonnet though.

Sounds good. It's always good to catch up with old friends......you might have to do without the sunshine though:D

Oh, I don't mind that so much... it's warmer than here at any rate.

And she isn't old. 42 ;)

g'em wrote: »
    really?? Is there nothing there?

Edit: sunflower if you're there now you can pass the time by leaving me little notes to find when I'm there on Monday. Doesn't matter what they say - I'm partial to the odd sonnet though.

Ha! Not there yet... won't be there till this afternoon, just getting packing sorted.

Look out for the yellow post-its :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

You could always buy one of these and have fun in the electrical appliance shops, they turn off Apple computers too I hear! Although that's a bit late for OP.

Oh, I don't mind that so much... it's warmer than here at any rate.

And she isn't old. 42 ;)

If you're lucky, they might even let you take her out of the home for a few hours:D