Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often do you see your OH when in a relationship?

• 15-06-2011 01:35PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭

I was thinking about this during the week, and I'm just wondering how often posters here would deem 'normal' to see your OH weekly?

I have friends who can't go 2 days without seeing their OH, a lot of them meet up every evening of the week, and then spend weekends together too. Any nights out with friends turn into joint nights out, and it's like their individual lives just mesh into one another until they're always referrred to or invited to things as a couple and never individually. Personally, that kind of thing would drive me mental! I know guys whose GF's will call them at 2am on a night out to see where they are, and then call their friends if they get no response. Girls who expect to be ASKED for permission before their boyfriends go out on the lash. WTF? This kind of thing really doesn't make sense to me and I don't understand how anyone would put up with it.

When I'm seeing someone, I need to have my own space and I need to have my own life which is separate to theirs. I mean, it's grand meeting up 3 or 4 times a week, and hanging out with each others friends now and then - but all this everyday in your face coupley stuff would have me running for the door! I'd expect to talk to them most days, through a text or a phone call, but meeting up every day is a bit much. Even when I was living with a guy, we managed to maintain our own individual lives. Sure, we did stuff together, but there was no 'assuming' that either of us would always be entitled to be a plus one to whatever the other had planned, and there was certainly no dicatating each others social lives.

I mean, I get the honeymoon phase, and the wanting to see each other all the time; but I just don't understand this 'need' to take over your OH's life, to me it screams of insecurity and it just doesn't seem normal! But I'm aware that my own viewpoint doesn't seem normal to some people either, and I've had guys I've dated pull me up on it as it can appear to them as a lack of interest.

So what do you guys think? I'd love to hear a few different viewpoints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

My first boyfriend.. I saw like..
    every day..

didn't help that we were in the same college..

and when we didn't.. it always stirred up fights because we would think the other didn't want to see eachother..
    which sucked.

After that ..
    I had normal relationships.. (Seen as I had grown!!)
    when you see the person a few times in the week.

some more than other..

Which I preffered.

also..

With the whole friends thing.

I love when my friends get on with my boyfriend,
    But ive learnt not have him out with them all the time..

when it comes to a break up..
    'awh.. so and so was so nice, why did you guys break up?'

prefer keeping them somewhat seperate

maybe im odd though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I think it depends on the relationship.

With ex boyfriends, I saw them a few times a week, and was happy enough with that.

Then I met my current (and forever!) boyfriend, we saw each other at least 5-6 times a week until we moved in together a few months later. We've been together years and are extremely close, but we still have days and nights out, holidays etc. without each other.

I never thought I would be okay with seeing someone this much, as I really love my own space, but when I met my partner it all changed. I just really enjoy his company. I see my friends as often as I like and I know when it is appropriate to ask him out with us, but we love our "girl's" and "boy's" nights out/ weekends away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

Not often enough! Would love to spend every minute of every day with him as he's pretty much the sole figure in my life (family is either dead or lives abroad, live alone and have friends, but wouldn't confide in any of them). Alas he lives in Dublin and so when we do meet up it's bursts of some days together before a burst of a couple of weeks apart. It's not nice feeling far away and alone a lot of the time, so I hate when a row turns up in person as that spoils the precious rare time together.

Having said that, 3+ years together and still going strong =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I live with my boyfriend so I see him everyday :pac: But for the first 6 months we saw each other maybe 4-5 times a week?

Prior to that I wasn't in very serious relationships and it was only a few times a week. Plus we tended to have a group of mutual friends who would all head out together, so there was no real exclusion between our friends.

Now if my friends want to see me (alone) they'll say something like "fancy girlie drinks this weekend" or I'll suggest going for coffee and announce I'm meeting friends and I'll see him later. I've never stopped or questioned my boyfriend going out with his buddies, but he nearly always asks me if I want to come. He likes me to be there. His good friends are also my friends and they know me well enough at this stage that they don't have to censor their conversation and jokes for me. :p

I know what you mean OP, about the permission slip relationships. I know my boyfriend has a few friends who talking about being let out of the house, or booking time out, etc, and I think it's horrible.

At the same time, for longer relationships, sometimes people do come as a couple. My parents or close friends assume if I'm coming for dinner my boyfriend will be there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭kingelmo

I see my boyfriend every night.. Been together over 5 years. i still make time for my friends and family of course.. We might see each other everynight but were not glued to each others hip that we dont see anyone else..

My BF is a contractor so during the summer i might not see him for 3 months straight.. gets really really annoying but any oppertunity you get to see him you take it!!

We dont live together or anything, and i like it that way.. we have an extreamly close relationship.. and i dont think its a problem or it isnt effecting us that we see each other every night..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I'm married to my other half, so, eh, every day - we moved in together after a couple of months. Have always and still love our independent nights out though...

I've had a range - from a boyfriend who worked two weeks away and two weeks home to seeing each other every other day. I love spending time with my husband - I've had boyfriends I could merrily only see at weekends...I guess both have their pro's and con's. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,303 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

From a male side. :o Like Ickle it depended. With some once week was enough(with phone contact in the interim) and others every day or near enough was cool. I would add that for me the ones I actually loved the latter was the case so kinda like ElleEm. I suspect if I fell in love again I'd be in more of the lots of contact relationship.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I don't know if there's a 'normal' amount to see people you're in a relationship with, moreso the assumptions that sometimes come with longterm relationships, like you were saying OP. I've been with me GF for over 7 years, and while I see her most nights, if we decide we need a night in on our own (ie apart) or we're heading out with friends, we just say that, and no harm done. TBH I love her company, she's just lovely to hang out with, so it's not like I feel I HAVE to see her, I just prefer her company over my own! A lot of the time she's hanging out in my flat reading while I'm working in the corner, or playing xbox or something. it's not like every night you're going on dates and doing wild an exciting things- far from it. Often it's just that I meet up with my GF so she can help me do my weekly shopping since she has a car and I don't! Not exactly clubbing, now, is it? ;)

I am very conscious though of making sure I still see my friends on my own as well as with her, and vice versa. Nobody wants to be the one who ALWAYS brings the other half along! Having said that her friends are my friends now and vice versa, so I'd often hear she was hanging out with one of 'my' friends for the night, or I'd text her say I was meeting up with her friend to go see a movie.

I know a few people who would be very co-dependent, and would need to see each other every day, and know where each other was going... myself and my GF aren't that bad, although we tend to just tell each other anyway! I know though when my GF was away a lot for various reasons last year, I got a lot more insecure and got annoyed if she didn't tell me she was going out on the lash- tbh she just kept going out, and didn't bow to my clinginess. That was just an abberation, though, and it did spring from insecurities, so when I see someone with that behaviour here, I know where it comes from, and it's not nice to know you're doing it. Although some people, I guess, know they're doing it and think it's right. I dunno, I think it's weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Alot of my relationships were long distance so we didn't get to see each other for weeks at a time sometimes......

Now my boyfriend lives about 20minutes busride away from me so we would see each other 3/4 times a week. When I was in college it would have been daily! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭imbroglio

We were together for 4.5 years and saw each other once a week (long distance thing) and when we moved in together it all fell apart! :eek: still not sure what the heck happened!

In future, I'd like to see someone more regularly, but I suppose every relationship is different!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Most of my relationships were long distance so it was mainly the weekends when I saw them, the relationship I'm in now I see him everyday because we live together but before that it could range anywhere from 4-5-7 days a week.

We have similar social group so it was hard not to see him a lot, we were friends first before a couple. I do love having my own space I love nights out with the girls and having "me" time in the house alone :D

I'd often try arrange things with my friends like girly weekends away or nights out and I find it funny and sometimes frustrating when I get the reply "I have to see what my boyfriend is doing first" :rolleyes:

My lad is out a lot at the weekends as he plays a lot of gigs around the country, he could be in Galway one night and Cork the next but I don't keep tabs on him. I might send the odd text asking is the night going well but that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

I'm living with my OH so every day! But I like it that way. We enjoy each others company and before we were going out we hung out quite a lot anyway (same group of friends/ worked together etc).

I still have my girly nights though and he's never questioned me on that and same goes the other way around. I've even gone away on a holiday without him and he still called me at night to see how I was getting on.

He's my best friend though too, definitely. Stuck like glue so we are! :D

Watch now I've jinxed myself - I'll get home and he'll dump me. Ha ha *nervous laugh* :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

Asphyxia wrote: »
    frustrating when I get the reply "I have to see what my boyfriend is doing first"

I'll admit that I do this. Well, I would tell him what I'm doing before telling my friends I'll go out with them first.

I do it just to make sure that he isn't expecting me home, so that he knows where I'm going and to see if he's interested if it's with our group of mates. It isn't for permission though. Man, he'd get a right clatter if he was expecting those sort of tabs. Ha ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

My boyfriend lives a few hours away so not often enough :( We see each other about every second weekend, for a night or 2. A few times we did 2 weekends in a row because we were both free, and a couple of times I made a midweek trip to Dublin for one night because I had something on, or he picked me up from the airport, or I went to see him. But we do try to make a good effort at every second weekend alright, for as long as we can. I work weekends so its difficult sometimes.

I would def see him more if we lived closer alright!

We do text pretty much all day everyday though.

My OH worked shifts and I was unemployed, we would spend two days together most weeks, sometimes a little longer, then maybe not see each other for two-three weeks. It felt nice to have him come down to my place and stay two days, didn't mind not seeing him the rest of the time. We live together now though.

My ex lived five minutes walk from me, and he came over every single day. That wasn't exactly healthy though, because if he decided he didn't want to come over, I'd throw a tantrum accusing him of not wanting to see me, and if I didn't want him to come over, he'd accuse me of doing stuff I "wasn't allowed to", and come over anyway. Because of the close proximity, it became very controlling on both sides, neither of us could so much as take a dump without the other finding out about it.... wasn't the best set up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

we talk every day on the phone and see each other 2-3 nights in a fortnight we live a 3 bus journey away from each other so only see each other when i have 2-3 days off work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭MiniSquish

My boyfriend and I live in the same city and we see each other 2-3 times in a good week and once in a bad week. I work but he doesn't so it's not always feasible to see each other every evening. Admittedly I would like to see him more often but I think he's one of those guys who's content with 2-3 times a week. When I was with my ex (when I was younger 15-18) we saw each other every day on the school bus in the morning, after school and we rang each other every night before bed. Bit extreme but that's young love :) I'd like a mixture of what I have now with my boyfriend and the kind of contact schedule I had with my ex, not every day but more than twice a week.

On the 'I'll see what my boyfriend's doing first' line, I think many single people can confuse permission with courtesy.

Of course I'm going to talk to the person I live with before making a decision on going away for the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

There seems to be a bit of a mixed opinion on it here, and I can see where some posters are coming from with every relationship being different :) In my own exp I just start to feel a bit smothered if it gets to the stage where we're meeting up everyday and then staying over nearly all weekend etc., and some people seem to find that hard to understand. That said, I've been in relationships where I've wished I could see more of the guy, but that's always been in a 'want what you can't have' scenario, where there were things preventing us meeting up regularly.

Wibbs, you mentioned wanting to have 'lots of contact' if you're in love with the person, and I'd definitely be like that too - but see when I think about 'contact' I don't necessarily think it has to be face to face. I mean, I'd definitely want to be texting/chatting on the phone daily, and to me that combined with meeting up 3/4 times a week is the perfect scenario :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

My boyfriend and I have tried all amounts of seeing each other (not in this order):
    - living together for six weeks while doing dissertation fieldwork
    - spending two weeks together on holiday
    - seeing each other every day in college and sometimes at weekends too
    - seeing each other a few times a week during the holidays
    - not seeing each other for a few months while one of us has spent the summer abroad
    - seeing each other every month or two when I'm in London and he's in Dublin
    - not seeing each other for up to six months while he's in Namibia

You just have to be able to adapt to the different amounts of seeing each other! We've always tried to keep our separate interests though, and not be one of those really coupley couples who merge into one identity. That was one advantage of being a couple in a small class I suppose, the others wouldn't have been very impressed if there had been constant PDAs, and we each had people in the class we were better friends with. We didn't always sit together in lectures and labs or eat our lunch together, and if one of us couldn't go to a party/night out the other would go anyway.

We're currently in a long-distance phase, so he doesn't always know what I'm doing and vice versa, for instance he was just on a training course in Chile and had no phone reception or internet up in the mountains so I didn't hear from him for six days. Some people would probably find that impossible, and it can be a bit of a pain, but it's just the way it is right now. Hopefully in the future when we do live in the same country again, we won't find it too difficult to adjust back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

I see my OH most evenings during the week and all weekend. In the past I used to always thing that this kind of thing would smother me, and in previous relationships, it probably would have, but this time it just works.
    We have a great laugh together and can sit in a room (on opposite sides even!) and read or chill out in complete comfortable silence.

As relationships progress, friend circles grow and now in our situation, they are inclusive of us both, as individuals. There is/are plenty of nights out where one of us can't go, isn't bothered about attending x,y, or z and it's fine. One of us heads out and doesnt hold back just because the other can't make it!

I have never ever expected any of my boyfriends to ever ask me for permission to go anywhere, and if they did ask I would deem it strange and completely un necessary.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I always seem to end up in long distance relationships with anything that lasts. I think this is the reason they last for me. I'm not into the whole oh lets see each other every day/every other day thing. Not for me. Couple of times a week will do, I like my space. No. I LOVE my space. Then when you do get to see them you look forward to it a lot more IME. Had an ex who worked in abroad but was from Ireland and would spend about 4 days a week here, asked me to move in with him after a couple of months. I laughed. He was being serious.:eek:

Weekends are the only time I get to see family/other friends as well so I'm not going to dedicate it to any one guy. I find the whole spending every second together/talking to each other constantly rather sad/weird.

Maybe it's different with the 'right' person...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

I currently live with my OH, so we see each other every day. This is the first time I've lived with someone, and I have to admit, I'm finding it a bit much :( I'm not sure if it's him, or it's me (I'm starting to dread giving him that cliché line however I fear it's true!), but he's really starting to grate on me. I just think I need more space to myself than living with a partner can offer. Sometimes I dread the prospect of coming home because I just wish the place was empty and I didn't have to interact with anyone.

I guess I'm just not ready to share my life in such a way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Seeing a new guy at the moment. It's been maybe 3 months. I suppose you could officially call him my boyfriend at this stage (he tricked it out of me the other day). He's doing a masters and I get home from work at about 21.30 most nights and get up at 6am every weekday morning so it's impossible to hang out weekdays. Saying that, I love my own space and that includes no friends either. Even if i had more time and as much as I like his company I'd only choose to see him a few times a week. I see him Friday night (late and I usually go out with my friends first and let him study and we meet up later), sometimes Saturday day, Saturday night and then hang out for half of Sunday before he goes home to study. I want to continue hanging out with my friends here and am conscious that if I don't make the effort, I'll lose touch and living in a foreign country, I don't want that. Spending everyday or even every second day with anyone would drive me nutty so this situation suits me. Hoping to hang out a bit more when we both get Summer holidays.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

For the first 6 months, we really only saw each other at weekends, because we lived in different towns, but then he moved in with a mate and I would go around most evenings, but there was always a clear understanding from the start that if he didnt invite me around, or I felt like having a night to myself, that it was only natural breathing space and that neither of us would take the hump. It worked out great.

We moved in after a year, and 6 years on, havent started throwing the plates yet! I putter away on boards, he watches telly. The odd night I have a girlie night, or he goes out with the lads, and wouldnt think to 'ask' each other. I might confirm that we dont have anything planned that I might have forgotton about with him or vice versa, but ask? pfft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Every day unless one or the other of us is away with work. (live together)
    For some reason that seems absolutely comfortable.
    In the past it was always every few days...there's something to be said for allowing yourselves to miss each other.

bronte wrote: »
    Every day unless one or the other of us is away with work. (live together)
    For some reason that seems absolutely comfortable.
    In the past it was always every few days...there's something to be said for allowing yourselves to miss each other.

That's a good point, and I should say we do spend at least a week or two apart every year, from 8am to 7pm we are working, weekend mornings we are training (apart), and we will usually be doing our own thing about one evening a week. I need my ME time and sometimes feel cheated if I don't get it! Living together doesn't necessarily mean spending all free time together. Sometimes I don't want to spend time with anyone.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

We live together so usually every day, sometimes I travel for work, then on a weekly basis he goes out with his mates twice, so I've two pleasant evenings to myself, I'll have work and social stuff that I'll do without him also.

I enjoy the nights he is out, it's my "downtime" so to speak, and the odd time they don't happen I find it unsettling.

Also he has children who are over at the weekends, so that's another time I will often zone out, or occasionally will be working if I have to prep for the week ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I always think once you get a certain point, and you're both independent but really like each other, this song is quite apt...

It's so true! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭unknowngirl!!

Not enough.. Went from seeing him everyday to about once every 10/12 weeks the past year after we both moved to different parts of Europe working. Its strange after pretty much living with each other for 2 years in university. The long distance has only made us closer and now I appreciate our relationship more than ever.. He's home on Friday for two days though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

I live with my OH, so I see him every day. I have a fairly easy relationship with him, I'll happily do my own thing and let him do his. Before we moved in together, in the early part of our relationship, we'd spend a few days together, a few apart, and most of the time it was him asking me when I was coming over. I do miss the daily texts though, he seems to feel that now he's snagged me he doesn't have to send those lovely cheeky flirty texts during the day :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

I see my girlfriend about once a week, always staying at least one night and sometimes (time permitting) for two.

I'm going abroad for work for about 13 weeks in September, I'm dreading not seeing her for so long. I spend a lot of time wondering how it'll affect our relationship, particularly as I'll be away for her birthday amongst other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Malari wrote: »
    I know what you mean OP, about the permission slip relationships. I know my boyfriend has a few friends who talking about being let out of the house, or booking time out, etc, and I think it's horrible.
    Malari wrote: »
    On the 'I'll see what my boyfriend's doing first' line, I think many single people can confuse permission with courtesy.

Of course I'm going to talk to the person I live with before making a decision on going away for the weekend.
    Neyite wrote: »
    I might confirm that we dont have anything planned that I might have forgotton about with him or vice versa, but ask? pfft!
    I think, as things move on and particularly when there are kids to deal with, it becomes necessary to ensure you can be free to go out etc. This removal of spontaneity starts to feel restrictive so it tends to be referred to in a negative 'need permission' sort of way...

cdaly_ wrote: »
    I think, as things move on and particularly when there are kids to deal with, it becomes necessary to ensure you can be free to go out etc. This removal of spontaneity starts to feel restrictive so it tends to be referred to in a negative 'need permission' sort of way...

Well, yes, when kids are involved it's different I suppose. But some of my boyfriend's friends can give the impression their wives are posessive dragons who have to be tricked or bribed into letting the partners leave the house.

In reality it's more like a "might meet the lads for a pint/go to that match/whatever" and she says "ok, but can you stay in Sat morning, as I'm going shopping with my mother/meeting friend for lunch". Yet it's portrayed as a victory of some sort, that they've managed to manipulate her. Drives me nuts :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭sleepyescapade

I am currently in a LDR for almost two years. We IM / call each other on Skype everyday, and I am heading over to him in a couple of months. In person the longest we've gone not seeing each other is a year and a half! :pac:

I do feel that space and having your own independence is important in a relationship. Compared to previous relationships, I think I have become more independent in this one because of the distance. Previous relationships, I would have seen them practically everyday or most days. I'm hoping things manage to stay together when we move in together :pac: We just went on holidays and had a great time with no problems, and I know moving in together is completely different altogether, but I think it will be ok. Can't wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

only seeing someone a little over a month but as she works in Dublin only see her at weekends or every other weekend, which is just fine at the mo. (although she took a sneaky week off last week ;) )

on the other hand, while we've already discussed being "exclusive" I still think of myself as single. I think I always would in a relationship that works this way. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭tomissex

I've been with my OH for over 6 years now so I'm sick of seeing him :p
    I don't get to see him enough though. He used to live around the corner from me so we'd see each other a lot but now, due to work, he lives in Clare. He can only come home on weekends and I work most of the weekend. It's pretty tough cause I'm so used to seeing him nearly every night but when we do get to see each other now, it feels more special. We share a lot of the same friends so we do end up on the same nights out and holidays etc but we're pretty independent and friends have said how cool it is that we kinda just ignore each other on nights out :p We'd do our own thing and then find each other later, check we're having a good night and part ways again. It's a good system :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

BF and I live together now so we see each other everyday obviously but up until we moved in together we were in an LDR and only saw each other once a month, maybe twice for 2 days at a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭SarahMs

Living together at the mo, but when I'm working in Dublin, it's usually fri eve-mon morn (6am!!!)

I love the excitement of packing on a thursday night. I think it keeps it a bit fresh.

We have been apart for 3/4/6 weeks at a time, and we always make sure we contact each other once a day and of course collect/drop off each other from the airport...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I'm single atm, but when I'm in a relationship I'm happy to see my OH maybe once a week or so. Having said that, I prefer to be in contact more often thatn that, texts, calls etc:)
    I lived with one of my ex's so for obvious reasons I would have seen him more often.
    I really love my own space and I can't stand to be in a relationship where I feel I can't hang out with my mates without having to ask my OH to come along.

SarahMs wrote: »
    Living together at the mo,

You need to text me about this!! I'm soo out of the loop!:) Happy for ya if it's what I think it is missy :)

Kya1976 wrote: »
    I'm single atm, but when I'm in a relationship I'm happy to see my OH maybe once a week or so. Having said that, I prefer to be in contact more often thatn that, texts, calls etc:)
    I lived with one of my ex's so for obvious reasons I would have seen him more often.
    I really love my own space and I can't stand to be in a relationship where I feel I can't hang out with my mates without having to ask my OH to come along.

I'd be the exact same, I'd have no prob at all with once a week but I know some people who thinks that's odd! The way I see it is I'm busy during the week, I have training after work, I meet friends some evenings, and some evenings I just want to chill out on my own! I like to fit my OH in around my life, rather than try fit my life around him - that never ends well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I live with my OH so I see him everyday, and if he's away or I'm away then we talk at least once a day. Before we lived together we probably saw each other almost every day as well.

The guy I went out with before that lived abroad, so saw each other once every 3/4 weeks. It was tough going but then the break up was much easier as he was out of sight (so slightly out of mind)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

G86 wrote: »
    I'd be the exact same, I'd have no prob at all with once a week but I know some people who thinks that's odd! The way I see it is I'm busy during the week, I have training after work, I meet friends some evenings, and some evenings I just want to chill out on my own! I like to fit my OH in around my life, rather than try fit my life around him - that never ends well.
    Nah it's not odd, you need your own space:)
    I agree, I'm the same, I have things that I'm not willing to give up. Like my dogs for instance, they do take up a lot of time.

But of course, if I'm in a relationship, I want to and I love spending time with my OH(just not too often), just so this doesn't come across the wrong way:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

imbroglio wrote: »
    We were together for 4.5 years and saw each other once a week (long distance thing) and when we moved in together it all fell apart! :eek: still not sure what the heck happened!

In future, I'd like to see someone more regularly, but I suppose every relationship is different!

ya i did the whole long distance thing for 4 years. as i knew for some reason it worked out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Couldnt do long distance, I need to physically see/touch my partner for it to be a relationship for me. I know it works for so many but I just couldnt.

My ex I saw 2-4 times a week, spent the night together once or twice every two weeks.

My current boyfriend I saw 3-4 times a week before we lived together, spending the night twice a week or so, and then moved in together after a year. See him pretty much every day because of this, but I never get sick of him and miss him when hes not there, but that said I definately wouldnt consider us co-dependant. I still have my girls nights out once a month or so (although less now to be honest because of money) and keep in regular contact with friends seperate to our mutual group. We met through friends so share our core group and they come over to our apartment regularly, sometimes I go out alone with them, sometimes he goes out alone with them-theres never obigation on either side. It does make me slightly concerned if we break up because our very best friends are all mutual, but I do have other goof friends-probably moreso than he would.

I still go on girls only hols-but rare enough, and he would go on footie weekends away occasionally. Its no bother and Im a firm believer in your own space-its just most of the time we would genuinely rather spend together than alone. I see my friends almost as often as I would when im single, its just now Im rarely alone and this suits me because I suit (good) company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Skintwin

I've been going out with my OH for nearly 4 months and when we were in college I saw him every day, which was great! Now we see each other anything between 4 times a week and everyday. I love it this way. I love spending time with him. We don't even have to do anything in particular, just sitting around watching the tv or going to town for lunch or a coffee. We always try to do different things too, like last weekend we went to England to a music festival and we're going swimming tonight. And next week he's going to cook me (proper, from scratch!) dinner. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Funky Kingston

I'm in a LDR for almost a year now, at first I was a little apprehensive but it turned out to work really well . He is in the UK and I'm here ...we see each other for a few of days every month and it's heaven when we're together ... when we are apart we text/email everyday and call about 5 nights a week . It's perfect really but I would like to see his lovely self more! I fly over to see him in seven more sleeps though ....I've recently been made redundant so I've booked a one way flight ,eeeee!!

With my Ex we saw each other all the time and that's what ruined it for us because we didn't have our independence, it wreaked both our heads in the end....

It's awful to say but as much as I was broken hearted when we broke up I can see now how it was a good idea and how different we were. My boy now is lush hehe!! (pass the bucket!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

What is also really annoying is when a guy says that his 'ball and chain' won't let him out when in reality he actually doesn't want to go out at all and will just use her as an excuse! Gives the girlfriend (and other women) such a bad name. My bf did it to me once and I explained to him that he needed to balls up and just say he didn't want to go out or else I would be seen as a total beyatch by his mates! He understood then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Not often enough tbh. Last time I saw my boyfriend was 9 days ago. It's kinda long distance - he's in Longford and I'm from Laois. It can be really hard not seeing him. On the other hand it does make us appreciate the time we do get. He may be coming to meet my parents next weekend though.. Nervous and excited!