Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Job you wanted as a child

• 14-06-2011 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

I'v always wanted too be a cop in the new york police department and I still. I can it slipping away from me. Why do think make it hard too pack up and just move over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

You might need English as a first language for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fire truck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Mod on boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Pilot. Still would love to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Actor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I wanted to be a soldier for years and years or a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

An English teacher.

Now, go write me 100 lines of:

I will not post like a mongo on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

Pilot...and a pothole filler..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

I just wanted to be taller! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Footballer.....think I've only got about a year or two left to achieve it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Theres quiet a few that want to be in the defence forces here. LOL I was one of them too, wanted to be a detective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

squod wrote: »
    You might need English as a first language for that.

Well American-English................pffft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Firefighter! probably from watching too many episodes of London's Burning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

Cop...well to be correct a member of An Garda Siochana. still do...come on recruitment! Or a member of nypd, or lapd! that will be the day...:-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I wanted to take over Christine's job as PA to Mr. McDermott in "Hotel".

http://www.dvdtalk.com/reviews/images/reviews/190/1248432516_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Bykobap

Papa
    Oscar
    Romeo
    November

Sierra
    Tango
    Alpha
    Romeo

Roger that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

Bykobap wrote: »
    Papa
    Oscar
    Romeo
    November

Sierra
    Tango
    Alpha
    Romeo

Roger that.

Over and out ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

amblance...amulance...amlance.....

hopital.....hopsital.....hotibal....

driver of big white truck wif swirly lights and stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Papa
    Oscar
    Romeo
    November

Sierra
    Tango
    Alpha
    Romeo

Roger that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Taoiseach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

I'v always wanted too be a cop in the new york police department and I still do. I can see it slipping away from me. Why do they make it so hard too pack up and just move over there.

fixed it. It won't let me edit it for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I wanted to be a dental nurse because we got these fliers in the primary schools about career choices. The salary listed on the dental nurse was astronamical :eek: (coulda been a misprint).

I was always a slave to the dolla :D

cena wrote: »
    I'v always wanted too be a cop in the new york police department and I still do. I can see it slipping away from me. Why do they make it so hard too pack up and just move over there.

fixed it. It won't let me edit it for some reason.

call 911

theyll sort ye out

oh,and be careful what you wish for.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

A binman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I'v always wanted too be a cop in the new york police department and I still. I can it slipping away from me. Why do think make it hard too pack up and just move over there.

You need to be a US citizen at time of being appointed to the NYPD. It's quite difficult to get to the stage of being accepted. There are a lot of tests and a lot wash out. You would also need to be under 35 by time of acceptance. So 5 years to become a citizen and maybe at least a year to try get legal permanent residence status if you won next years diversity lottery. So you'd be looking at a minimum of 6 years before you could become one. You'd wanna get cracking before being 29. Or see if you can join the US military. They usually fast track citizenship or legal status.

I always wanted to work with the FBI as a kid. I'm already a US citizen and i'm in the process of trying to get a job with them. Initially as an intelligence analyst and then try make the transition to field officer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Papa
    Oscar
    Romeo
    November

Sierra
    Tango
    Alpha
    Romeo

Roger that.

Reminds me of this vid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I wanted to be a lion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

The earliest job I can remember wanting as a kid was a bus driver with CIE. This was back when it was all one transport company.

The next jobs I wanted as I got progressively older were :
    any job in Cadburys
    Aer Lingus pilot
    Playboy photographer.

Last two were when I was a teenager.

Sadly, I never realised my dreams with any of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Astronaut. Being Irish is a distinct handicap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Pokemon trainer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Is maith liom caca mils

Forumla 1 driver, then a football player then a wrestler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

a rock star :D

when that fails - a mafioso...

when that fails.. dole scrounger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

You need to be a US citizen at time of being appointed to the NYPD. It's quite difficult to get to the stage of being accepted. There are a lot of tests and a lot wash out. You would also need to be under 35 by time of acceptance. So 5 years to become a citizen and maybe at least a year to try get legal permanent residence status if you won next years diversity lottery. So you'd be looking at a minimum of 6 years before you could become one. You'd wanna get cracking before being 29. Or see if you can join the US military. They usually fast track citizenship or legal status.

I always wanted to work with the FBI as a kid. I'm already a US citizen and i'm in the process of trying to get a job with them. Initially as an intelligence analyst and then try make the transition to field officer.

You can take the test. But you do alright have too be a citizen by the time you are hired etc. How do I join the US military. I do have a cousin husband in the amry. Not sure which one though he is in.

The fbi get 10,000 cv everyday so it must be hard too get a job with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Macgyver or a train driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭B_Fanatic

Astronaut. Being Irish is a distinct handicap.

As he clichéd as it is, being an Astronaut would be awesome.

I think mine was marine biologist or something... And now? I'm looking towards astro/theoretical physics or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Soldier/ builder/ Footballer/ F1 Driver.

You can take the test. But you do alright have too be a citizen by the time you are hired etc. How do I join the US military. I do have a cousin husband in the amry. Not sure which one though.

The fbi get 10,000 cv everyday so it must be hard too work for them

*backs away from thread as Im only back from a ban and there is far too much to comment on here*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

At various times: astronaut, fireman, pilot, cosmonaut, author, journalist, footballer.

B_Fanatic wrote: »
    As he clichéd as it is, being an Astronaut would be awesome.

I think mine was marine biologist or something... And now? I'm looking towards astro/theoretical physics or something

focus is good,hey just get a degree and work for tesco:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Poutbutton

Used to want to be an RTE1 Newsreader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Husk

Wanted to design the "waiting worlds" in theme parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Dr.Dre

Osama Bin Laden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Aurum

I wanted to be a lawyer. I still have a few of the wills and contracts that I drew up as a very odd seven year old. I actually did become a lawyer though, I've always been pretty single-minded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

A singer. Although I dont like singing in front of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Truck driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I wanted to be a Vet; reading James Herriot's books at an impressionable age will do that to you. I'm still keen on animals to this day, but a bit less keen on life with an arm up a cow's rectum ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Dr.Dre wrote: »
    Osama Bin Laden

There's a vacancy, you should shoot them your CV, set it out with lots of bullet points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

At a really young age, the football life appealed to me. By the time I reached ~10 that had become a primary school teacher. The latter seems more dramatic, don't you think? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Sweetshop keeper. Seemed ideal.

Later, journalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mickjg

Up until the age of 8 I wanted to be a pilot.
    From 8 onwards I wanted to be a film maker.

I'm in college for the latter and well on my to the top!

Would still love to be able to fly though...