Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things I hate about the PS3

• 13-06-2011 10:52pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Apologies for the embittered thread title, but working through the plethora of free games we've gotten recently (I should point out I'm not necessarily ungrateful, they are quote free unquote after all, once you discount all that data theft business) has reminded me of how broken the PS3 is as a console at times. Now don't get me wrong - I still love the Blu-Ray player, the first party exclusives, the lack of loud whirring etc... But, man, there's some stuff seriously wrong with the design of the console.

First problem is the downloads themselves. I hate the lack of background downloading on the PS3. On 360 (also note I don't intend to start a 360 vs PS3 flamewar here, as any serious gamer should own both!) I can switch on a DVD or even the occasional game while waiting for something to download without a need to go through hoops to get there. On the PS3, it's download, download in background, and then more than likely not going to download in the background while I watch a Blu-Ray. It seems to continue downloading when playing some PS1 games, but seems hit and miss tbh.

And when downloaded, install time. I don't think I need to elaborate on this.

Anyway, when finally installed, we move onto updates. Oh dear. If you've ever played a 360 game, you know the optional update tends to take approximately ten seconds. When I went to play Burnout Paradise the other day, it took maybe an hour on PS3 to download 5 updates. My precious bandwidth. It's inefficient, time consuming, and again you can do **** all while the console works away.

All in all, from the time a game downloads to the time you can finally play it can take upwards of an hour and a half. This is a serious flaw with a console, and retail releases aren't immune either (oh, the first time I put the LittleBigPlanet disc in!).

Whenever the PS4 comes along, or indeed the Vita, I really hope that Sony get their act together when it comes to just the basic design of the consoles. I tend to have little issue when the game actually starts, but the fact that it can be hours before I can get there is an increasingly frustrating flaw when its closest competitor takes seconds.

Oh, I just ranted didn't I? Sorry! Anyway, feel free to air any similar grievances you may have about the PS3. Get it off your chest! I know after hours of loading and installation bars this weekend I had to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

That's summed up most of what annoys me and I've said it elsewhere. What's really annoying though is how many updates they've brought out and new version numbers but it still takes ages to do anything and updates are a complete and utter pain. It's as though they started with a broken OS and have just been adding stuff it when they've had about 5 years to come up with something better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭MichealKenny

What I want in the PS3:

-Cross game chat
    -Background music

thats really all i want and thats usually all that annoys me, I LOVE automatic downloading with PS Plus, the PS3 turns on at 4 in the morning and downloads updates, then goes back to sleep, I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Regarding the Background downloading issue, I think whether it'll allow it is fairly sporadic/random. Sometimes it'll download while playing PS3 games, sometimes it wont. I think that, if the game uses/is currently using an online function, it'll give priority to the game, otherwise it'll allow downloading.

The MAIN annoyance I find is that you need to install it, separately, when BGDL'ing. It'll only install after downloading when you 'foreground download' it.

Lack of Cross-Game chat/custom soundtracks built-in, from what I hear, is EA's fault. The lazy SoBs won't allow sony to do it because they can't be bothered getting any games they've published working that break/get broken by the function. What's stupid is that PSV is getting it! Probably because it's supported from launch, and EA can't stop them when no games have been 100% finished for it, yet.

I don't get why patch downloading, for some games (the SOCOM beta), you download a patch, and THEN you have to download ANOTHER patch from the developer's server,, a patch that took ages! - what's the point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭tonydude

Im afraid to start up MGS4 at this stage , there was massive downloads at launch and i couldnt download them, that was a complete failure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

I can understand your problem with the download times but as a Plus member it's not really an issue anymore, except for as you say out of the box titles that need patching.

My biggest problem is, and I've said it so many times and it's already been mentioned above, is the lack of cross game chat.
    Can anybody please explain to me why this has not been implemented.
    It seems like such a fvcking no brainer!

Take MAG for example. In my experience it can take quite some time for a new game to start and in that time the only way you can communicate with your squad is through Text chat.

Text chat.....Really?

For a machine that is suppose to be at the pinnacle of console technology to be lacking something as basic as a feckin Skype program just boggles my mind.

And what really grinds my gears is that, you just know that when PS4 comes out it's going to be a standard feature.

I understand that there maybe some licensing issues with it, but surely there has to be a way around them.

Could it be that Sony just don't want to admit that they dropped the ball with this?

Does anyone know if there has ever been any sort of open letter or online petion to Sony regarding this?
    And if there was ever any sort of comment from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

LiamN wrote: »
    custom soundtracks built-in, from what I hear, is EA's fault. The lazy SoBs won't allow sony to do it because they can't be bothered getting any games they've published working that break/get broken by the function. What's stupid is that PSV is getting it! Probably because it's supported from launch, and EA can't stop them when no games have been 100% finished for it, yet.

There is a custom soundtracks system in place but is was never a requirement for the games, EA may or may not allow it in their own games but it is there to be used by developers.

Cross game chat was listed as a feature of the vita and some Sony employees said the same system was going to be added to the PS3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Do the devs still find it hard to develope for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Downloading isn't a problem for me, PS+ handles all that.

I do enjoy the custom soundtracks when it works ie Dead Nation

Cross Game chat is all that's missing for me.

And i agree that text chat is a pain....apart for the people that have USB keyboards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭macpac26

What Sony need to do is issue Delta updates so it only downloads and installs changes not the full firmware download.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

If I get an achievement on the 360, I hit the guide button, and brought straight to that section so I can see what I got.
    If I get a trophy on the PS3, I hit the guide button, I wait 10 seconds for the icons to load so I can see which is the trophy one, I go into that section, into the game I'm playing, and then scroll through all the trophies looking for the one I just got, at which stage, I may or may not have the icons for the trophies displayed and have probably forgotten what it was, since its taken so long.

PS controller is horrible for FPS. Recently finally got around to playing Killzone 2. Could only play for an hour or two before my hands would start cramping.

Trophies and your gamer card are not tied out very well.

Trophies do not auto synch (until you play that game again I think?).

Edit: And of course the annoying install times / download times already mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

eddhorse wrote: »
    Downloading isn't a problem for me, PS+ handles all that.

PS+ will download an update for a specific game?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    PS+ will download an update for a specific game?

It will,
    My PS3 wrote: »
    Downloads content such as game patches, system software update data and video items we recommend for you, automatically. This syster will start automatically at the scheduled time and will begin the download

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

mcgovern wrote: »

PS controller is horrible for FPS. Recently finally got around to playing Killzone 2. Could only play for an hour or two before my hands would start cramping.

I love the PS controller and hate the xbox, I get a similar situation. If i'm in the brothers playing BO on the 360 my hands start to cramp after a few minutes of playing.

It's just what you're used to really although I never liked the xbox controllers design, the analogues annoy me but as I said it's really what you're used too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,561 ✭✭✭✭Varik

macpac26 wrote: »
    What Sony need to do is issue Delta updates so it only downloads and installs changes not the full firmware download.

it has had that since 3.41

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

what free games have they given out~?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Feckin kids today – ye don’t know how good ye have it.
    I remember trying to load up games on a cassette player on a spectrum 48 and ye’re complaining about background downloads and lack of cross game chit-chat or somesuch tom-foolery.
    The PS3 is like a big box of magic that lives under the telly.
    It’s millions of times more powerful than the supercomputers of the 80’s.
    Spend half a decade trying to get Jet Set Willy up and running while dreaming of one day being able to upgrade to a Commodore 64 and then come back here and complain.

Go on – I dare ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Other than games where you want to go online there and then you can always not update when prompted and just update overnight. That's what I generally do.
    I remember trying to load up games on a cassette player on a spectrum 48 and ye’re complaining about background downloads and lack of cross game chit-chat or somesuch tom-foolery.
    Spend half a decade trying to get Jet Set Willy up and running while dreaming of one day being able to upgrade to a Commodore 64 and then come back here and complain.

Go on – I dare ye!

Amen, brother.

One of my favourite games on the C64 was Turbo Outrun but you'd have a 10 minute wait between levels to load it up. Then you'd die and have to wait ten minutes to have another go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

weiland79 wrote: »
    I can understand your problem with the download times but as a Plus member it's not really an issue anymore, except for as you say out of the box titles that need patching.

My biggest problem is, and I've said it so many times and it's already been mentioned above, is the lack of cross game chat.
    Can anybody please explain to me why this has not been implemented.
    It seems like such a fvcking no brainer!

Take MAG for example. In my experience it can take quite some time for a new game to start and in that time the only way you can communicate with your squad is through Text chat.

Text chat.....Really?

For a machine that is suppose to be at the pinnacle of console technology to be lacking something as basic as a feckin Skype program just boggles my mind.

And what really grinds my gears is that, you just know that when PS4 comes out it's going to be a standard feature.

I understand that there maybe some licensing issues with it, but surely there has to be a way around them.

Could it be that Sony just don't want to admit that they dropped the ball with this?

Does anyone know if there has ever been any sort of open letter or online petion to Sony regarding this?
    And if there was ever any sort of comment from them.

Cross game chat is workable on the PS3 they built it (it was leaked at some stage a few motnhs back) but they don't want to implement it as it leads to a ridiculous amount of cheating with people using it to for example being on your team in MAG but being friends with the enemy and telling them what your team is up to.

It doesn't have Skype but you can do video chats on it, it isnt great but it does work.

On the general thread point about the downloads, there is little the PS3 can do about game down loads that are big thats the developers, but for me the majority of downloads take a few seconds and i only have Vodaphone 8mb connection.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I only got a PS3 very recently and yeah I was quite taken aback by the amount of downloading and installing it does. It's not a huge deal for me, but everything does take noticeably longer compared to the 360. Aside from that I'm just loving how quiet it is. It's such a difference from the hair dryer-like noise that I have to listen to from my 360.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Beefy78 wrote: »
    One of my favourite games on the C64 was Turbo Outrun but you'd have a 10 minute wait between levels to load it up. Then you'd die and have to wait ten minutes to have another go.

Pain after pain that used to be, made you want to survive a lot more though !
    Originally Posted by black francis

Go on – I dare ye!

Haha best comment ever, its so true, big box of magic....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Desire.

Cross game chat is workable on the PS3 they built it (it was leaked at some stage a few motnhs back) but they don't want to implement it as it leads to a ridiculous amount of cheating with people using it to for example being on your team in MAG but being friends with the enemy and telling them what your team is up to.

If that was the reason then why are they implementing it on the Vita? Surely the same could be said for that.

I heard that it was because EA would not fix some of their games (I heard it was one of the Harry Potter games at the time) to make it compatible with the cross-game chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

First problem is the downloads themselves. I hate the lack of background downloading on the PS3. On 360 (also note I don't intend to start a 360 vs PS3 flamewar here, as any serious gamer should own both!) I can switch on a DVD or even the occasional game while waiting for something to download without a need to go through hoops to get there. On the PS3, it's download, download in background, and then more than likely not going to download in the background while I watch a Blu-Ray. It seems to continue downloading when playing some PS1 games, but seems hit and miss tbh.

And when downloaded, install time. I don't think I need to elaborate on this.

Anyway, when finally installed, we move onto updates. Oh dear. If you've ever played a 360 game, you know the optional update tends to take approximately ten seconds. When I went to play Burnout Paradise the other day, it took maybe an hour on PS3 to download 5 updates. My precious bandwidth. It's inefficient, time consuming, and again you can do **** all while the console works away.

All in all, from the time a game downloads to the time you can finally play it can take upwards of an hour and a half. This is a serious flaw with a console, and retail releases aren't immune either (oh, the first time I put the LittleBigPlanet disc in!).

Whenever the PS4 comes along, or indeed the Vita, I really hope that Sony get their act together when it comes to just the basic design of the consoles. I tend to have little issue when the game actually starts, but the fact that it can be hours before I can get there is an increasingly frustrating flaw when its closest competitor takes seconds.

This was me last night, got Burnout and then all the updates. Why oh why is it sooo slow and then the installing. I can get a 2Gb demo from XBL in 20mins tops and then just play it. Burnout on PSN, 2.5hr download on my 20meg UPC for 3.5Gb and then an hour of downloading patches and 15min install. What gives.

On the 360 you can download and do what ever you like in the meantime all while getting full download speeds. PSN is throttled badly.

Big Knox wrote: »
    I love the PS controller and hate the xbox, I get a similar situation. If i'm in the brothers playing BO on the 360 my hands start to cramp after a few minutes of playing.

It's just what you're used to really although I never liked the xbox controllers design, the analogues annoy me but as I said it's really what you're used too!!

Think it comes down to hand size. I had a PS1 from day one and the PS2. Then got the Xbox1 mid way through its life and the controller was the most comfortable thing ever. I took to it straight away. That was the big chunky one before the S controller which the 360 design is based on. It was very hard to go back to the PS pad after using the Xbox pad for just a day.

I was used to all the PS controllers for years so its not what you are used to at all, just what's more comfortable to use.

PS4 needs are new controller design, it's not 1995 anymore. The SNES and MegaDrive ones were better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Things that suck balls:

The browser. I'm using it right now since I don't have a computer anymore and too poor to get a new one or repair my current one. This is the worst thing ever made. It crashes whenever there's a thread on boards with an embedded youtube vid... it can't even load youtube without going to the lame youtube xl. Have to use the mobile version and that goes for facebook too. it's just a load of fecking balls... it gets sooo slow whenever there's any kind of activity on the page. For a console that I heard was being used to run military programmes, I thought it would have the power to be a stable browser ffs. So damn annoying.

XMB. It takes years to load just the basic options while you're on a game or HOME or something. Why does it even need to load the basic things that are ALWAYS there? Why would they ever not be pre-loaded. Another thing, why the hell did they even allow us to access the XMB in-game since you... oh nevermind. Text limit on the ps3 browser... can't type anymore. FML.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Go on – I dare ye!

I remember in the 90s I could turn on a console and be in a game within 7 seconds. Those really were the days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

AFAIK they are in the process of updating the webkit for the PS3 browser.
    It's a swine to use, esp for streaming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

I know people may complain about the XMB but it was ridiculous at launch. You had to quit the game you where playing to read even a simple text message from someone on your friends list :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

I've been saying it since i got PS3 after my 360 RROD, that if the two of them could go off and have a baby everything would be sorted. One of the things I really miss from the 360 is Live. Cross-game chat (and being able to hear each other), movie rentals in HD, Sky player, even just the layout and ease of the marketplace were great. But you couldn't rely on the thing, and the 360 destroyed most of my games beyond repair. If Sony got the finger out and actually did a bit to update their XMB and online issues, the whole experience would be so much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

I dont really have any bother with downloads and installs (Besides MGS4... that took ages !).

Cross chat is probably the biggest downside. Obviously makes up for it with everything else thats great about the PS3 tho.
    Think it comes down to hand size.

Its really not, I've very big hands (Im 6'5) and prefer the PS3 controller every day, i get cramp/sweaty hands on the Xbox controller tho..

IMO its just whatever your used to, if you play the xbox most of the time, you hands will be used to it and vice versa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,706 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

i hate the way they took the cup holder off the PS3, it was really handy on the PS2

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Actually one thing that really annoys me about the PS3 is the Blu-ray remote. If you touch any button on it the PS3 automatically starts up. And because it's bluetooth you don't even have to be pointing it at the screen. What's wrong with an on/off button?

Although I just discovered that I can operate the PS3 via the HDMI connection using my tv remote, so I didn't really need to get the Blu-ray remote.

Magill wrote: »
    Its really not, I've very big hands (Im 6'5) and prefer the PS3 controller every day, i get cramp/sweaty hands on the Xbox controller tho..

IMO its just whatever your used to, if you play the xbox most of the time, you hands will be used to it and vice versa.

So how did I take to the Xbox controller and prefare it after a few hours of gaming after using the PS controllers for 5 years. The PS pad is tiny and the buttons are too close to the palm grips as are the sticks. I have my thumbs bent at 90 degrees constantly to use it. If I move my hands so my thumbs are more natural, I'm hardly gripping any of the controller in my hands because it's too small. The 360 controller is fully supported in my hands and feels more positive with my thumbs nice and straight, due to stick positioning and bigger palm grips.

The Sega DC and Nintendo GC controller had very similar layouts so that must say something, Sony just won't change.

Also height has nothing to do with hand size generally. I have a friend the same height as me and he has, admittedly by himself, small girlish hands. His girlfriend has far bigger hand than him.

I have not know a person personally that after using any generation of PS and any generation of Xbox pad to prefare the PS controller. They all say the Xbox controller is by far more natural and comfortable in the hand. They would all be big gamers that have owned everything from the NES and Mega Drive up to today. Again anyone here may be able to line up another set of peeps that say the exact opposite.

What I'd love nothing more for the PS4 is for Sony to rip off the general shape and button layout of the Xbox pad as much as possible without getting sued. Shouldn't be too hard with all the after market controllers out there that are very similar as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I don't know.... I don't know many people who admit to preferring the XBox controller and it's the main reason why I've never bought one myself. I much prefer the PlayStation pad and hope that they don't change it any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I find the L2/R2 too squishy and easy to slip off when fully pressed. The analogue sticks annoying because they're convex rather than concave.

I prefer the 360 controller because it's heavier, better fits my hands, the left stick is better positioned, and the triggers are better designed.

So how did I take to the Xbox controller and prefare it after a few hours of gaming after using the PS controllers for 5 years. The PS pad is tiny and the buttons are too close to the palm grips as are the sticks. I have my thumbs bent at 90 degrees constantly to use it. If I move my hands so my thumbs are more natural, I'm hardly gripping any of the controller in my hands because it's too small. The 360 controller is fully supported in my hands and feels more positive with my thumbs nice and straight, due to stick positioning and bigger palm grips.

Its obviously all down to personal preference, i don't like the sticks on the 360, the grooves and battery pack just wreck my head and i get sweaty hands using it. And in general i prefer the layout of the PS3.
    The Sega DC and Nintendo GC controller had very similar layouts so that must say something, Sony just won't change.

GC controller was ****e imo, never played on the DC.
    Also height has nothing to do with hand size generally. I have a friend the same height as me and he has, admittedly by himself, small girlish hands. His girlfriend has far bigger hand than him.

I would imagine there is some correlation with height and handsize/shoesize(12)/peni..(10) :P Either way heres a photo of me holding a xbox pad.

handsxbox.th.jpg

I have not know a person personally that after using any generation of PS and any generation of Xbox pad to prefare the PS controller. They all say the Xbox controller is by far more natural and comfortable in the hand. They would all be big gamers that have owned everything from the NES and Mega Drive up to today. Again anyone here may be able to line up another set of peeps that say the exact opposite.

People that i know who play the PS3 most of the time, perfer the PS3 pad and vice versa.
    What I'd love nothing more for the PS4 is for Sony to rip off the general shape and button layout of the Xbox pad as much as possible without getting sued. Shouldn't be too hard with all the after market controllers out there that are very similar as is.

I really hope not :) because that would suck !

Like i've said there really isnt any best controller. Some prefer one and some prefer the other. Although most of those "Pro" CoD console players have said that the PS3 controller is superior for CoD... not that it means anything.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,395 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

- Crappy controller

- Mostly crappy third party ports

- The PSN shop seems really cheap, it's a website and doesn't feel as integrated as XBLA

- The handling and time it takes to update is terrible.

Oh and the Gamecube controller is commonly regarded as one of the best ever made and I have to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

SONY should just do an update where you can play the console with any damn controller from any console you want or at the very least sell alternative controllers that are pretty much rip-offs of other controllers.

Anyway, both controllers are decent imo. I think the 360 controller feels nicer but the D-PAD is the worst thing every created by man and I play fighting games so that is just a no go area for me.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    - Crappy controller

- Mostly crappy third party ports

- The PSN shop seems really cheap, it's a website and doesn't feel as integrated as XBLA

- The handling and time it takes to update is terrible.

Oh and the Gamecube controller is commonly regarded as one of the best ever made and I have to agree.

Yep, like i said.. personal preference and opinions, everyone is entitled to their own. I thought the gamecube controller was slightly horrible.. but thats just me... did you have a survey or something with regards to the GC Controller ? :P I've never heard anyone rave on about it being one of the best.

GCCont.jpg

Sony pretty much perfected the controller on the PS1 thats why it has never really changed and why Microsoft copied it for the 360. Its just a shame they didnt copy the Sony D-pad and went with what is a terrible D-pad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

The browser.
    Hate it, hate it, hate it.

How hard really to update it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Wait wait wait. People are criticising the Gamecube controller? It's one of the finest first party controllers ever made. The deliciously springy triggers on the GC pad make L2/R2 look like the pieces of crap they are. Also the analogue sticks that actually have eight way direction ridges for extra accuracy. Buttons that are laid out by their usefulness, much like a QWERTY keyboard. And it's purple. Purple is always great.

I honestly think the GC may be the most misunderstood console of all time. Sony can **** right off with their dualshock, give me a wavebird anyday of the week.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,395 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Magill wrote: »
    Yep, like i said.. personal preference and opinions, everyone is entitled to their own. I thought the gamecube controller was slightly horrible.. but thats just me... did you have a survey or something with regards to the GC Controller ? :P I've never heard anyone rave on about it being one of the best.
    Sony pretty much perfected the controller on the PS1 thats why it has never really changed and why Microsoft copied it for the 360. Its just a shame they didnt copy the Sony D-pad and went with what is a terrible D-pad.

I don't think you guys are old enough to remember but the PS1 pad was regarded as pretty terrible when it was released and the dualshock didn't go down too well either. The PS1 pad was also up against the sega saturn pad which is probably the best gamepad ever made which didn't do it any favours. The PS pad d-pad is horrible and only looks decent now because MS managed the impossible and actually made a worse d-pad. The gamecube pad was universally loved when it came out and it one of the most comfortable and ergonomic gamepads ever made. The analogue sticks are also probably the best ever on a gamepad due to what johnny ultimate mentioned, the octagate configuration around the base of it. It's a Nintendo patented design so Sony and MS can't use it and their circular gates mean their analogue sticks aren't as good, although far from terrible.

I know it comes down to personal opinion and all but it's wrong tosay that nobody regards the GC controller as good because if you search the game sites and even this forum for threads about it at the time of the PS2 and GC you'll see that the GC pad is widely regarded as a far better gamepad. The only reason the PS pad doesn't seem as bad as it was back in 1994 is because people have gotten used to it from using it for over 15 years. If Sony had dropped the dualshock 3 on us with the PS3 launch and we had been using controllers like the SNES, saturn or Gamecube controller in the interm there would be a big backlash against it just like in 1994.

Oh im old enough ;)

I don't think you guys are old enough to remember but the PS1 pad was regarded as pretty terrible when it was released and the dualshock didn't go down too well either. The PS1 pad was also up against the sega saturn pad which is probably the best gamepad ever made which didn't do it any favours. The PS pad d-pad is horrible and only looks decent now because MS managed the impossible and actually made a worse d-pad. The gamecube pad was universally loved when it came out and it one of the most comfortable and ergonomic gamepads ever made. The analogue sticks are also probably the best ever on a gamepad due to what johnny ultimate mentioned, the octagate configuration around the base of it. It's a Nintendo patented design so Sony and MS can't use it and their circular gates mean their analogue sticks aren't as good, although far from terrible.

I know it comes down to personal opinion and all but it's wrong tosay that nobody regards the GC controller as good because if you search the game sites and even this forum for threads about it at the time of the PS2 and GC you'll see that the GC pad is widely regarded as a far better gamepad. The only reason the PS pad doesn't seem as bad as it was back in 1994 is because people have gotten used to it from using it for over 15 years. If Sony had dropped the dualshock 3 on us with the PS3 launch and we had been using controllers like the SNES, saturn or Gamecube controller in the interm there would be a big backlash against it just like in 1994.

I was 8 or 9 when the PS was released, was more a n64 kid tho and never got a PS until.. the the last year or so. I wasn't really someone who followed everything like i would now and probably wouldn't notice any issues with the controllers etc. Im probably being slightly unfair when it comes to the gamecube because its a console I never really got into (I had one obviously) as it just didn't have anything on the PS2(Including chipped games :D.. only way a 15 year old could afford all the games coming out on it !).

The D-Pads aren't really used that much these days anyway, they act more as an extra set of buttons so its not really that much of a problem (With exceptions obviously) and the analogs on the DShock3 are the best imo.

P.S I didnt say no1 regarded the GC controller as one of the best, just that I didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

PS1 controller was essentially a SNES controller with extra grips. In truth the only company that is consistently innovative is Nintendo, everyone else just copies them.

NES - first ever gamepad
    SNES - improved ergonomics, introduces trigger buttons
    N64 - improved ergonomics, introduces analogue stick & vibration
    Gamecube - introduces first wireless controller (wavebird)
    Wii - Introduces first motion controller
    Wii U - Introduces first controller with built in touch screen

Sega had analogue buttons first and had the analogue stick out before nintendo, nintendo did show there's off first in fairness. There's also the VMU, a primitive version of the WiiU control if you think about it. Also the analogue stick was actually introduced on the Atari 5200.

Sony can be very poor for innovation but they have their moments. I bet Nintendo were fuming when Sony came up with the eyetoy which was a very Nintendo. Also they were the first with dual analogue even though it seems they stumbled upon it since for over a year Sony struggled to find a use for the second analogue stick since it was just bolted on in a 'ours is better, we have two!' manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Sega had analogue buttons first and had the analogue stick out before nintendo, nintendo did show there's off first in fairness. There's also the VMU, a primitive version of the WiiU control if you think about it. Also the analogue stick was actually introduced on the Atari 5200.

Sony can be very poor for innovation but they have their moments. I bet Nintendo were fuming when Sony came up with the eyetoy which was a very Nintendo. Also they were the first with dual analogue even though it seems they stumbled upon it since for over a year Sony struggled to find a use for the second analogue stick since it was just bolted on in a 'ours is better, we have two!' manner.

Oh God that Atari stick was totally terrible. It used to kill my thumb, enough that I hacked it off to be able to use the d pad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

I've owned a PS3 for 2 and a half years now (I think) and I've yet to buy a single game for it because the controller is absoloutely appauling. It just doesn't sit right in my hands (the shape is too angular, its as if its NOT designed for human hands), it feels really flimsy and the left analogue stick and d-pad locations should be reversed. And the sticks feel too..tall or something. It's just all around awful. Basically needs to be more like a 360 controller :pac:

Shame as there are a few games on it i'd like to play. It's been nothing but a great blu ray player the whole time i've owned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭macpac26

The only thing that needs changing on the dualshock is the L2/R2 buttons. There's no way they should go down the 360 route that controller is awful! Terrible analogue sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

I've owned a PS3 for 2 and a half years now (I think) and I've yet to buy a single game for it because the controller is absoloutely appauling. It just doesn't sit right in my hands (the shape is too angular, its as if its NOT designed for human hands), it feels really flimsy and the left analogue stick and d-pad locations should be reversed. And the sticks feel too..tall or something. It's just all around awful. Basically needs to be more like a 360 controller :pac:

Shame as there are a few games on it i'd like to play. It's been nothing but a great blu ray player the whole time i've owned it.

Why not try something like this:

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/9251427/c_1/1|category_root|Video+games|14419738/c_2/3|19780877|PS3|14419785/c_3/4|cat_14419785|PS3+accessories|14419800.htm