Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway V Dublin L.S.H s/f

• 13-06-2011 8:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭

Okay suppose its time to get this one going as a Galway man i am very woried about this game i just think that we are not good enough in the air up front and the ball just keeps cumming back on the defense way to quick if our forwards can win 40 % of the ball that comes in i think we will win but if not we will be beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

So you reckon if you take 2 out of every 5 chances, you'll win.

That's not worry if you ask me. That's a little bit of cockiness if I'm being honest.

Galway favourites for this one with most bookies and pundits, suits us down to the ground.

Can't call it though. Hopefully Tomás Brady will be starting come Saturday night.

dcr22B wrote: »
    So you reckon if you take 2 out of every 5 chances, you'll win.

That's not worry if you ask me. That's a little bit of cockiness if I'm being honest.

Galway favourites for this one with most bookies and pundits, suits us down to the ground.

Can't call it though. Hopefully Tomás Brady will be starting come Saturday night.

Bit of a difference between saying ''40% of the ball that comes in'' and ''40% of the chances they get''. Since when did winning ball amount to shots at goal :confused:

We haven't a hope of winning this anyway, Dublin are League champions and Conal Keaney is the best player in the country :pac:

Well I'm even more confused now, you're saying that if the forwards win 40% of the balls in, they'll create less than 40% of the chances they have. You can't possibly win a game of hurling from that kind of meagre possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Bit of a difference between saying ''40% of the ball that comes in'' and ''40% of the chances they get''. Since when did winning ball amount to shots at goal :confused:

We haven't a hope of winning this anyway, Dublin are League champions and Conal Keaney is the best player in the country :pac:

i was just about to reply but your post covers exactly what i was going to say

Well I'm even more confused now, you're saying that if the forwards win 40% of the balls in, they'll create less than 40% of the chances they have. You can't possibly win a game of hurling from that kind of meagre possession.

I never mentioned anything about them taking less then 40% of the chances they have.

Why do you find it so hard to understand basic posts?

The main point the lad clearly made was that if our forwards win even 40%(4 from 10) of the ball that comes in he thinks we'll win.

Again... I'll add winning ball doesn't have to amount to a shot. Taking scores and winning ball are two separate things

The main point the lad clearly made was that if our forwards win even 40%(4 from 10) of the ball that comes in he thinks we'll win.
    The point I'm making is that there's no way you can win a hurling match winning 4 out of every 10 balls that comes into your forward line. It just doesn't stack up.

ok so how many balls would you need to win 50% i think you will find that defenses will nearly always do slightly better than 50% but as i have said if we do win 4 out of every 10 balls in the forwards we will win

Yes you can if your players are good enough with it.

We've been fairly competitive the past few years considering the ball keeps coming back at our defence every time it goes into the HF line.
    If we could come even close to 50/50 there you'd have to think that we could up it another level then previous years(where we lost by 1 point to W'Ford/Tipp having previous mentioned ball winning stats in that line)

And it's not the ''forward line'' full stop, it's the HF line which is just one of 4(or 5 with midfield) just because they come up short doesn't mean the other lines will.

We'll agree to disagree on that one and you'll be doing well to break even with our HB line as they've probably been our most consistent line in the league this year.

Great news for us is that we'll have Tomás Brady back at 3 to hopefully take care of Mr Canning.

What's the injury situation with Tony Óg Regand and Iarla Tannian? Our only injury doubts are the afforementionned Brady and Joey Boland (very doubtful starter).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I don't see us (Galway) winning this one. As a team imo we have regressed over the last 2 years. Most of our forwards now seem unable to take a shot for a point, nevermind go for the jugular. Our midfield has never been as unsettled, while their is still no full-back or centre-forward. Also we seem to be messing with our goalkeeping position again. I also have my serious doubts about Regan at number 6 - the lad wasn't good enough for the last 4 or 5 years, what has suddenly changed that makes him the best centre-back in the county?

Dublin have realised that to compete with KK and Tipp, you need big, strong players who can catch the ball in the air. This is why the have developed a very big, physical team whereas Galway are terrible at catching the ball in the air, and thus have one of the lowest averages for winning their own puck-outs among the Liam McCarthy teams. Also, Dublin's 1/2 back line has been their most impressive line imo to date - so that doesn't look good for the supply of ball into the full-forward line. Galway also persist with using far too many small, light players who can never win their own ball which puts more pressure on the backline as the ball is constantly raining down attack after attack on them.

Galway are still to reliant on Joe Canning, many of the other forwards rarely score much more than 2 or 3 points maximum and always hope to off-load it to Canning so that they won't get the blame if they hit it wide. This is a wider problem than reliance on Canning - it is a sign that many of the forwards are not up to the standard of inter-county hurling.

Prediction: Dublin by 4 or more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bren2001

Okay suppose its time to get this one going as a Galway man i am very woried about this game i just think that we are not good enough in the air up front and the ball just keeps cumming back on the defense way to quick if our forwards can win 40 % of the ball that comes in i think we will win but if not we will be beaten

As a Dublin fan I am incredibly offended by that comment. To show Dublin that little respect is just shocking. Yes, yous won in Parnel Park in the league. It was a good game. Yous deserved it. Yes, yous are favourites to win it and have imo the best player in the country in Canning but to disregard Dublin league crown and fighting spirit to think if you convert 40% of chances you will win. It wont be that easy. I expect a Galway win, by 2 or 3 points.

bren2001 wrote: »
    As a Dublin fan I am incredibly offended by that comment. To show Dublin that little respect is just shocking. Yes, yous won in Parnel Park in the league. It was a good game. Yous deserved it. Yes, yous are favourites to win it and have imo the best player in the country in Canning but to disregard Dublin league crown and fighting spirit to think if you convert 40% of chances you will win. It wont be that easy. I expect a Galway win, by 2 or 3 points.

Do ye learn English in a different way in Dublin where do you see anything about us taking 40% of our chances as you say Galway beat Dublin in the league {very luckily} wining even less than 40% of the ball that went into our forwards but on that day ye had probably the greatest selection of wides iv ever seen

Kojak wrote: »
    As a team imo we have regressed over the last 2 years.

Not True, we have stagnated but we haven't regressed.
    Most of our forwards now seem unable to take a shot for a point, nevermind go for the jugular.

Again I disagree, the problem isn't lack of confidence, it's lack of ability. We hit plenty of wides last year in the Offaly, Wexford and most of the league games.

They all shoot, just miss too much.
    Our midfield has never been as unsettled, while their is still no full-back or centre-forward. Also we seem to be messing with our goalkeeping position again. I also have my serious doubts about Regan at number 6 - the lad wasn't good enough for the last 4 or 5 years, what has suddenly changed that makes him the best centre-back in the county?

Our midfield is more settled then it has been for years, Burke is established and Farragher somewhat

Whats with the Regan bashing?... so what if he wasn't good enough 4 or 5 years ago, daft statement considering he was one of the top performers last year.

He received an All-Star nominee last season and rightly so. That comment held water before the league last season, but he came back since and had a solid year so it's a stupid thing to say now IMO, he has done nothing wrong for it to be an issue.
    Dublin have realised that to compete with KK and Tipp, you need big, strong players who can catch the ball in the air. This is why the have developed a very big, physical team whereas Galway are terrible at catching the ball in the air, and thus have one of the lowest averages for winning their own puck-outs among the Liam McCarthy teams.Galway also persist with using far too many small, light players who can never win their own ball .

You have a myth in there, where are these small, light forwards?
    I don't see any small lads bar Hayes and he's well able to look after himself.
    That comment hasn't held water for a few years now.

Dublin didn't develop any sort of team, they use what they believe to be their best 15, one of their best players is smaller then anything we have(Rushe).
    If you want to throw a stat in for Dublin, they prob have the highest wide count from any team in the LMcC.

Weren't you also the poster that said we wouldn't win an All-Ireland for TEN years?.... basically dismissing players who haven't even played Minor yet?.

Not True, we have stagnated but we haven't regressed.

Ok, we have stagnated but does that all the other teams have stagnated as well - of course not. Which means that our prospects of an AI victory have become more remote - thus regression.
    Again I disagree, the problem isn't lack of confidence, it's lack of ability. We hit plenty of wides last year in the Offaly, Wexford and most of the league games.

They all shoot, just miss too much.

This I agree with you - some of our forwards don't seem to be able to take a shot while under pressure. Maybe because they are not used to at county training??

Our midfield is more settled then it has been for years, Burke is established and Farragher somewhat.

farragher is injured far too often for my liking tbh. Now if the management were to go with Daly and Burke, then I could see that working. But why still be experimenting at this stage of the year. I know Daly was away with Clarinbridge, but it could have been tried out a few more times since then. Even the last day against Westmeath
    Whats with the Regan bashing?... so what if he wasn't good enough 4 or 5 years ago, daft statement considering he was one of the top performers last year.

He received an All-Star nominee last season and rightly so. That comment held water before the league last season, but he came back since and had a solid year so it's a stupid thing to say now IMO, he has done nothing wrong for it to be an issue.

Its not Regan bashing as such - its just that he is extremely loose, and in a pivotal position of number 6, you can't afford to be giving the opposition a clear path to goal. You wouldn't see Brick Walsh or Brian Hogan leaving open a channel, would you??

You have a myth in there, where are these small, light forwards?
    I don't see any small lads bar Hayes and he's well able to look after himself.
    That comment hasn't held water for a few years now.

Well then, what about Ryan, Daly if he is in the forwards, Johnny Coen, Wade - if he is still on the panel. Now I'm not saying all of these players will start at the one time, but if you have them on a panel, you would be expecting to use them at some stage.
    Dublin didn't develop any sort of team, they use what they believe to be their best 15, one of their best players is smaller then anything we have(Rushe).
    If you want to throw a stat in for Dublin, they prob have the highest wide count from any team in the LMcC.

Your probably right, but at least it shows that they are creating the chances - we seem to have even stopped doing that.

Weren't you also the poster that said we wouldn't win an All-Ireland for TEN years?.... basically dismissing players who haven't even played Minor yet?.

Yes, and I stand by that remark. There has been nothing done over the last few years at county level to suggest to me that we will win Liam anytime soon. We just seem to be making the same mistakes over and over again with regard to player development and general tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I also have my serious doubts about Regan at number 6 - the lad wasn't good enough for the last 4 or 5 years, what has suddenly changed that makes him the best centre-back in the county?

Talking through your hat now. Regan was one of our best performers last year.

Dublin have realised that to compete with KK and Tipp, you need big, strong players who can catch the ball in the air. This is why the have developed a very big, physical team whereas Galway are terrible at catching the ball in the air, and thus have one of the lowest averages for winning their own puck-outs among the Liam McCarthy teams.

You have a point here in fairness. Galway are very poor at winning primary possession.
    Galway are still to reliant on Joe Canning, many of the other forwards rarely score much more than 2 or 3 points maximum

If the other 5 forwards all scored 2/3 pts each that would be 10-15 pts, I'd settle for that to be honest.

and always hope to off-load it to Canning so that they won't get the blame if they hit it wide. This is a wider problem than reliance on Canning - it is a sign that many of the forwards are not up to the standard of inter-county hurling.

So you're saying that the likes of Aoungus Callinan and Iarla Tannian aren't up to intercounty standard? I think they are, and I think Galway will beat Dublin on Saturday. Galway have better players than Dublin, full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

It will be a tough game no doubt, but I think Galway have the strength to pull it off. Every year there's people saying Galway have flourished too soon, this year there hasn't been much fear of that although they were still fairly competitive in the league. They didn't do much against Westmeath either but they didn't have to, once the final whistle sounds the scoreline doesn't really matter. That skelp at the hands of Tipperary might have done them wonders and put them in their place, my biggest fear is they'll play for an hour and then ease up, they've a bad habit of doing that and they can't seem to learn that lesson.

I don't have any high aspirations for them this summer, I'll reserve judgement on that until after the match on Saturday. We might be all singing a very different tune about Galway next week... one way or the other.

One thing is for sure they'll need to show some sort of performance if they're to beat Dublin and that's no harm at all, cause they won't be still here in September if they've nothing to show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

There's an eternal depression in Galway hurling. We seem to have very little confidence in our chances almost in an "expect as bad a result as possible and you'll never be disappointed" attitude. I think Dublin fans are expecting a lot this year on the back of a League Title which after their defeat to Antrim last year is suprising to me. I've heard people predicting them to be able to beat KK this year. Only Tipp have that caliber this year.

I personally am expecting a 2 point defeat for Galway but that's me being pessimistic. Whoever wins will take a hiding in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Galway have better players than Dublin, full stop.

Thats a very bold statement without any real evidence either in my opinion, at a stretch you might argue Galway may have better individual players but as a team Im not convinced and I think Daly has the edge over McIntyre.

This game is a real headscratcher and quite literally anything could happen, I certainly wont be putting any of my hard earned cash down, I have a slight preference for Dublin if they dont freeze and are a little bit more economical in front of goal, Galway have had problems in goals and fullback since as I long as I can remember and Ollie Canning is a massive masssive loss, that said Galway have a few forwards who if on song could destroy any team, should be a very informative encounter.

I agree it's very close but Dublin have more to lose in this match. Galway are going in with very little expectation whereas a defeat for Dublin could really knock their confidence. I think Galway would be better in the qualifiers this year and I'm unsure of Dublin really. We all should base the year ahead for the two sides on this match instead of the League. If we take the League into consideration (which a lot Dublin fans are basing their chances off) Galway did beat Dublin already this year.

With all that said Daly will bring Dublin a lot further than McIntyre has brought Galway . He is a great manager and should take a lot of credit for this Dublin side. This year is McIntyre's last lifeline for success and I hope he grabs it.

I agree it's very close but Dublin have more to lose in this match. Galway are going in with very little expectation whereas a defeat for Dublin could really knock their confidence.
    Are you John McIntyre in disguise? :rolleyes:

Galway have as much to lose if not more from Saturday night given that they've underachieved in recent years. Yes, a defeat for us would set us back but I don't think we can raise our game much more from the heights we reached in the league whereas the seasoned campaigners (Waterford, Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway and Cork) always seem to be able to up their performances come Championship. This is something that I hope we discover this summer.

Are you John McIntyre in disguise? :rolleyes:
    Nope. If you read the rest of the post you'd probably see that.
    Galway have as much to lose if not more from Saturday night given that they've underachieved in recent years. Yes, a defeat for us would set us back but I don't think we can raise our game much more from the heights we reached in the league whereas the seasoned campaigners (Waterford, Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway and Cork) always seem to be able to up their performances come Championship. This is something that I hope we discover this summer.
    You are the form team in the eyes of everybody. You won the League and overcame Offaly which is something Galway had huge difficulty doing last year. We struggled to beat Westmeath. If Galway lose we can get in through the backdoor. If Dublin lose it would be difficult to build up that same confidence against the likes of Cork.

It should be a great match and here's hoping it won't be a draw.

You are the form team in the eyes of everybody.

Depends on what way you want to look at it, it has been said here repeatedly that the League is very nice to win but largely irrelevant, so if you base it on championship Dublin were beaten by Antrim and were very fortunate to beat 14 man division 2 Offaly, whereas Galway were unlucky against Tipp last year and were always going to just do enough to beat Westmeath.

Just playing devils advocate here btw, my point being that this game has so many variables and unknowns it really is a wait and see.

The point I'm making though is there is a big step up from League to Championship and we didn't exactly blow Offaly out of the water.

Both sides will come into the game knowing they have to lift it massively from their respective openers and then the winner will have to worry about a bloody resuregnt Cats side (how good are they really though as Wexford weren't up to much).

All said, I think it's going to be a humdinger of a game against two sides who have massive potential but really need to nail it in the summer!

You beat Offaly in one match. We couldn't do that. I agree the winner is in big trouble for the KK match but far more possible to beat than last year IMO.

Don't think either will get to the semis for the AI unless they have relatively easy draws.

Thats a very bold statement without any real evidence either in my opinion, at a stretch you might argue Galway may have better individual players but as a team Im not convinced and I think Daly has the edge over McIntyre.

That's pretty much what I meant, that Galway have better individuals. Whether that will translate into them being a better team though is another matter. If Galway play to their potential I think they'll win, but that's always a big if with this Galway team. It's an interesting one for sure.

And I don't subscribe to the view that Kilkenny will whip the winners of this game. They beat Wexford easily enough and there's no doubt they're alot better than they showed in the league final, but Wexford were poor and so I wouldn't be reading too much into that game.

Thats true and either of Dublin or Galways full forward lines would have taken much bigger advantage of what I must admit was the worst performance from a KK full back line I have seen in years, they were all over the place and only for bad luck, wastefull shooting and an inspired Herrity it would have been a damn sight closer against Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bren2001

Depends on what way you want to look at it, it has been said here repeatedly that the League is very nice to win but largely irrelevant, so if you base it on championship Dublin were beaten by Antrim and were very fortunate to beat 14 man division 2 Offaly, whereas Galway were unlucky against Tipp last year and were always going to just do enough to beat Westmeath.

Just playing devils advocate here btw, my point being that this game has so many variables and unknowns it really is a wait and see.

I don't understand why people say the League is irrelevant. I agree its nothing on the championship but its worth something to a team like Dublin. It gives them the winning mentality and the belief they can beat any team. It inspires great confidence in every player. It was a huge step for Dublin to win it but I accept for a team like KK or Tipp its largely irrelevant.

You are only as good as your last game, you can't look at last years championship. Dublin were very unfortunate to go out to Antrim, we were all over them then Daly started making a ridiculous amount of changes. Every team has been poor in the first round of nearly every championship. We were expected to hammer Offaly and we got through it. That will stand to us against Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,174 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I just want to share my opinion as a Dublin hurling fan on how th teams is progressing. I feel we just need to quash the overelaboration in the middle third and be more direct. We have the forwards who on their day can score 20 points most days of asking. Our front six for Saturday should be Plunkett-O'Dwyer-Keaney-Ryan-O'Callaghan-Treacy. If RO'D can produce what hes capable of, this sextet will be a ferocious handful. We also have a strong bench.

In terms of our championship hopes and with the game aginst Galway, the x factor will be the effect on the back eight of injury to Joey Boland and Stephen Hiney. However, with Liam Rushe going well at midfield John McCaffrey will surely now go centre-back, which might be getting towards the last few pieces of the jigsaw. Which would mean: Maguire-Corcoran-Brady-Gough-Kelly-McCaffrey-Durkan-McCrabbe-Rushe. On the sideline: Lambert, McCormack, O'Brien, Schutte et al. I'm not sure at all about Niall Corcoran but we shall see.

I expect Dublin to win by four or five points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

is this match going to be on rte ?

Joekers wrote: »
    is this match going to be on rte ?

It sure is

Galway have named a pretty decent looking team depsite the injuries to Farragher and Tannian.

James Skehill
    (Cappataggle)

Damien Joyce (Capt) David Collins Fergal Moore
    (Cappataggle) (Liam Mellows) (Turloughmore

Shane Kavanagh Tony Og Regan Adrian Cullinane
    (Kinvara) (Rahoon-Newcastle) (Craughwell)

Barry Daly David Burke
    (Clarenbridge) (St. Thomas)

Eanna Ryan Cyril Donnellan Joe Gantley
    (Killimordaly) (Padraig Pearses) (Beagh)

Damien Hayes Joe Canning Aonghus Callanan
    (Portumna) (Portumna) (Liam Mellows)

Galway have named a pretty decent looking team depsite the injuries to Farragher and Tannian.

James Skehill
    (Cappataggle)

Damien Joyce (Capt) David Collins Fergal Moore
    (Cappataggle) (Liam Mellows) (Turloughmore

Shane Kavanagh Tony Og Regan Adrian Cullinane
    (Kinvara) (Rahoon-Newcastle) (Craughwell)

Barry Daly David Burke
    (Clarenbridge) (St. Thomas)

Eanna Ryan Cyril Donnellan Joe Gantley
    (Killimordaly) (Padraig Pearses) (Beagh)

Damien Hayes Joe Canning Aonghus Callanan
    (Portumna) (Portumna) (Liam Mellows)

I like the look of the midfield, wouldn't expect them to be catching many puck-outs from the sky, but still I think its the best midfield we have got. If Daly can reproduce what he did for Clarinbridge, he has the makings of a fine, industrious midfielder - sort of in the mould of Cha Fitzpatrick.

I'm not sure about Collins at full-back. I think he is wasted there - maybe a switch between himself and Kavanagh would be a better option as I thought that Kavanagh was a bit unlucky not to pick up an All-Star at number 3 last year.

Gantly at wing forward is interesting - maybe put there for ball winning ability. The one forward of the 6 that I would want to see more of is Callanan. He got a few goals early on in the league, but then faded badly (a lot like the team in general).

Its probably as good a team as could be put out, given a few injuries and people leaving the panel. Interesting to see how they shape up on Saturday night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

I like the look of the midfield, wouldn't expect them to be catching many puck-outs from the sky, but still I think its the best midfield we have got. If Daly can reproduce what he did for Clarinbridge, he has the makings of a fine, industrious midfielder - sort of in the mould of Cha Fitzpatrick.

I'm not sure about Collins at full-back. I think he is wasted there - maybe a switch between himself and Kavanagh would be a better option as I thought that Kavanagh was a bit unlucky not to pick up an All-Star at number 3 last year.

Gantly at wing forward is interesting - maybe put there for ball winning ability. The one forward of the 6 that I would want to see more of is Callanan. He got a few goals early on in the league, but then faded badly (a lot like the team in general).

Its probably as good a team as could be put out, given a few injuries and people leaving the panel. Interesting to see how they shape up on Saturday night...

Interesting is not what I'd call Gantley in the HF line, nor the line in general; sadly, one of the worst I've ever seen in maroon jerseys. Very few replacements for the forwards on the bench - who is there really? Alan Kerins looks about the best of them. Shame Wade was injured as soon as he was added to the panel. Bet Niall Healy is sorry he pulled out now.

MfMan wrote: »
    Interesting is not what I'd call Gantley in the HF line, nor the line in general; sadly, one of the worst I've ever seen in maroon jerseys. Very few replacements for the forwards on the bench - who is there really? Alan Kerins looks about the best of them. Shame Wade was injured as soon as he was added to the panel. Bet Niall Healy is sorry he pulled out now.

Hold on is Keril Wade back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Irish Rail have a special train going to Galway after the match, but no equivalent special train going to Dublin.

Hold on is Keril Wade back?

He was called back into the panel after the league, but AFAIK had to be released again as he was injured nearly all of the time and couldn't train.

penexpers wrote: »
    Irish Rail have a special train going to Galway after the match, but no equivalent special train going to Dublin.
    Not true, there is a train for Dublin supporters there will be a 21.55 Tullamore to Dublin arriving Heuston at 23.04. A day return fare is only €19 from Heuston Station to Tullamore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Not true, there is a train for Dublin supporters there will be a 21.55 Tullamore to Dublin arriving Heuston at 23.04. A day return fare is only €19 from Heuston Station to Tullamore.

Interesting, thanks for letting me know.

penexpers wrote: »
    Interesting, thanks for letting me know.
    No hassle, I think it was announced later than the time that the Galway train was announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I'm really looking forward to this match, it's very hard to call who is going to win.
    It could come down to how much/little wayward shooting there is from the Dublin forwards and how much/little scores comes from Joe Canning.

If Dublin can stop the erratic shooting and keep Joe Canning quiet, then they might win.
    If Joe Canning can get a couple of goals and keep tacking on points, while Dublin rack up alot of wides, then Galway might win.

Nonetheless, it should be a cracking game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

I'm really looking forward to this match, it's very hard to call who is going to win.
    It could come down to how much/little wayward shooting there is from the Dublin forwards and how much/little scores comes from Joe Canning.

If Dublin can stop the erratic shooting and keep Joe Canning quiet, then they might win.
    If Joe Canning can get a couple of goals and keep tacking on points, while Dublin rack up alot of wides, then Galway might win.

Nonetheless, it should be a cracking game :)

If this happens, Galway will win by double scores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Wouldnt be surprised to see a swap between Gantley & Callanan here to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

have to make a late decision on whether I can go to this match or not. Is it a sell out or would there be tickets on sale at the gate?

http://www.hill16.ie/index.php?/home/comments/hurlers-make-two-changes-for-crunch-clash-with-tribe/

Dublin team named

Tomás Brady in for Maurice O'Brien (as expected)

&

Peadar Carton in for Daire Plunkett

Surprised at the 2nd change but we will need goals to beat Galway and Peadar is a better target man from that perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

http://www.hill16.ie/index.php?/home/comments/hurlers-make-two-changes-for-crunch-clash-with-tribe/

Dublin team named

Tomás Brady in for Maurice O'Brien (as expected)

&

Peadar Carton in for Daire Plunkett

Surprised at the 2nd change but we will need goals to beat Galway and Peadar is a better target man from that perspective.

Carton did very well when he came on against Offaly but I think he's better suited as an impact sub. Ideally, I'd like to see a fully fit Treacy in the full forward line or Dotsy in the corner with possibly Declan/Ryan O'Dwyer at ff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Trappers Son

:eek::eek:C'mon the Dubs! Gonna back them along withh Luis OOOZZZZZZIsteinzen and another long short for a cheeky trixie?! What u reckon?

Can't make the match :mad:

At least it's on the box (I know that's scant consolation).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 thehill

Really hard one to call keep Canning quiet might be enough,Dublin look to have a much stronger midfield.Its all to play for

Up The Dubs:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Should be a cracker but the forwards of Galway look to have a better balance to them than dublins - Galway to win by 6.