Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banning street musician's and entertainers from using amps??

• 13-06-2011 2:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭

Guys, check this out. A local councillor here in Galway wants to ban the street entertainers and musicians from using amps (thinking they are too noisy.)

http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/featured/ban-the-busker/

What do you think about this? should street musicians be allowed to use amps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Makes sense....

Working in a city centre myself it becomes a bit annoying. can only imagine working in a shop and having to hear the same crap every day outside.

Or inside, if I worked in Carrolls. Wouldn't wanna be a fan of trad working in there. That'd be knocked outta ye quick style.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Hopefully in Dublin aswell, some of those "artists" make far too much noise, and it is classed as noise pollution when amplified, good on the counselor I say

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

I think it's a good idea. those who have amps drown out any artists nearby. If they all start using them the noise would be horrendous. I have to be honest, as much as I like pan pipes the guys who are often outside Eason on Shop street really bother me,it's far too loud. It really must be awful for people working locally having to listen to that for a long loud period of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

Bit unfair on the good solo guitarist guys that play in Dublin city, there's one fella who's brilliant (and doesn't blare it out on the amp).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

They should have to audition before they play like in most cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Can we not take the road of improving and supporting street performance in this country, instead of moaning and regulating the shíte out of it? Ever been to Covent Garden? Great performances and atmosphere, huge contribution to tourism and I'm sure there are more around the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I hate those peruvian pipe groups. The one that used to be in Galway just up near where HMV is were awful and they ruined the nice busking buzz that used to be around. The councillor's actions are probably purely a result of those twats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Guys, check this out. A local councillor here in Galway wants to ban the street entertainers and musicians from using amps (thinking they are too noisy.)

http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/featured/ban-the-busker/

What do you think about this? should street musicians be allowed to use amps?

This will be bad for the buskers that use smaller amps for electric guitars theres one busker in cork who an excellent player i'd hate to see the likes of him have their amps banned

The ones that have their amps right up i.e pan flute bands in cork and **** off with there noise pollution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    I hate those peruvian pipe groups. The one that used to be in Galway just up near where HMV is were awful and they ruined the nice busking buzz that used to be around. The councillor's actions are probably purely a result of those twats.

Only link I can find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Instead of banning Amps altogether they should require a permit for playing over X db.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There's a guy on Henry Street that plays his guitar at a nice level. I dont see a problem with that. Maybe some people are a bit loud but I dont get how councils see them as a problem and not the zombies that walk around city centre areas on heroin or the chuggers :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

chin_grin wrote: »

See the first time I watched that episode all those years ago, Galway sprang to mind immediately which is an awful shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Ban all buskers, living statues and "street performers". Or at least ban slack-jawed gombeens from taking up the whole street to form a semi-circle of misdirected awe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

I thought a law had already been implemented banning amps. Seem to remember a thread on it on boards before.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭Davekoolhill

ball wrote: »
    They should have to audition before they play like in most cities.

They do in paris as far as I know.

You have to pay about 16 euro to subscribe and then do audition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    I hate those peruvian pipe groups

There's a gang of Native American looking guys in Dublin in full cowboy and Indian movie costumes playing pipes with a massive sound system, drum machine, backing vocals etc... truly awful. Are these the same guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭lace

There's one busker in particular, plays on henry street a lot, with an electric guitar and an amp who actually ruins my shopping trips when he's playing. It's uncomfortably loud. Street musicians using amps is totally wrong, imho. If you haven't got the projection or technique to make your singing heard then don't sing on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

As already stated, I wouldn't agree with a blanket ban on amplifiers, as some instruments (electric basses and guitars, for example) need amplification, so you effectively restrict who can busk based on what they play. However, I would be in favour of either the decibel/volume cap mentioned earlier, or at the very least a cap on the wattage of amplifiers or PA systems that are permitted. Amplifiers in and of themselves are not necessarily a bad thing, and need not be turned up any higher than a couple of acoustic guitars would generate, but excessive amplification does my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Ban all buskers, living statues and "street performers". Or at least ban slack-jawed gombeens from taking up the whole street to form a semi-circle of misdirected awe.

Thank you! I thought I was the only one bothered by the circles of awe.i want to walk through the streets with some sort of ease,which is not possible with extremely wide circles taking up the whole street/path

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

yoyo wrote: »
    Hopefully in Dublin aswell, some of those "artists" make far too much noise, and it is classed as noise pollution when amplified, good on the counselor I say

Nick

there was a guy on grafton street last week playing the fiddle to a drumbeat through his amp, about 100 yards away from some fella playing the bodhran to some music through his amp. i was going to suggest something but then just turned up whatever i was listening to.

the one person that really needs to be banned is the fella who writes some long schpiel in chalk on the footpath beside the molly malone statue. either ban him or make him write it on a wall where no one has to walk around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Smell of comfy slippers, urine and Wether's Originals of this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

NTMK wrote: »
    This will be bad for the buskers that use smaller amps for electric guitars theres one busker in cork who an excellent player i'd hate to see the likes of him have their amps banned

The ones that have their amps right up i.e pan flute bands in cork and **** off with there noise pollution
    thats a point. i cant stand bands setting up and blaring at gig level. but say they made a rule of nothing bigger than a 5 or 10 watt amp. that'd do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

They shouldn't ban amps, they should be allowed for instruments that require an amp and then regulated to be below a certain decibel. Send a noise pollution guy around once to give warnings and let people know where the limit is on their equipment and then issue fines if they have to talk to them again.

Banning Amps could be seen as banning rock and roll or any modern form of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

lace wrote: »
    There's one busker in particular, plays on henry street a lot, with an electric guitar and an amp who actually ruins my shopping trips when he's playing. It's uncomfortably loud. Street musicians using amps is totally wrong, imho. If you haven't got the projection or technique to make your singing heard then don't sing on the street.

Every time i walk past him, hes playing the same ****ing song. I know it note for note at this stage. I really would love to just kick the ****ing speaker of his amp in one day.

do us a favour and do it but just make sure a mate is videoing the retaliation youll get.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

there was a guy on grafton street last week playing the fiddle to a drumbeat through his amp, about 100 yards away from some fella playing the bodhran to some music through his amp. i was going to suggest something but then just turned up whatever i was listening to.

the one person that really needs to be banned is the fella who writes some long schpiel in chalk on the footpath beside the molly malone statue. either ban him or make him write it on a wall where no one has to walk around it.

I hate walking down Grafton Street due to this and the crowds of people that manage to take up the entire street gathering around them. Some buskers even lay down some rope marking out a circle for people to stand behind! At the moment I'm living in Temple Bar (not for much longer now thankfully) and some of the buskers use excessive noise. Now I do not mind ones with a small amp with an electric guitar or ones which use no form of amplification, but with some of them I can forget about opening a window when they set up and cant watch tv/movie, listen to music etc due to the excessive noise and vibrations. The county council said that due to most amplifiers outputting decibel levels exceeding the limit that they are illegal and the Gardai do sometimes move them on, then they return :rolleyes:
    It unfortunately the inconsiderate a*sholes which ruin it for the less noisey buskers but I think it would be easier to police by just issuing a blanket ban on amplification.

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Just cut the strings on his guitar with a scissors...............or **** in his collection hat.

While we are on it can we also ban the sign holders too? Several times now on grafton street I have come close to losing an eye nearly bumping into these plebs. On Henry street a well know clinic had three of them outside the front door spread across the street advertising hair removal. Maybe if I pushed them at the fire juggler then all will be ok.....................skin graft lads??

frAg

frag420 wrote: »
    Just cut the strings on his guitar with a scissors...............or **** in his collection hat.

While we are on it can we also ban the sign holders too? Several times now on grafton street I have come close to losing an eye nearly bumping into these plebs. On Henry street a well know clinic had three of them outside the front door spread across the street advertising hair removal. Maybe if I pushed them at the fire juggler then all will be ok.....................skin graft lads??

frAg

frag420 wrote: »

frAg

easy solution. look where your going. Its not as if they arent holding a giant sign letting you know their location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

do us a favour and do it but just make sure a mate is videoing the retaliation youll get.

Whats the matter? Butthurt because your atheist argument failed? No need to follow me around with pathetic attempts at trolling cause you lost :D

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭2cool4school

defo think amps should be banned on the street

sick of hearing those grafton street chumps mangling hallelujah / imagine / wonderwall

although wonderwall doesnt need much mangling lol

worse though is those living statue pricks those wasters should be put breaking stones or digging the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

sick of hearing those grafton street chumps mangling hallelujah / imagine / wonderwall

although wonderwall doesnt need much mangling lol
    I hate wonderwall due to it's sing along popularity. There was a house party 4 doors down from me one night where one guitar and 10 people sang the chorus for wonderwall over and over again for 2 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I shot this in Temple Bar a few summers back, wouldn't be the same without the amps:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭2cool4school

ScumLord wrote: »
    I hate wonderwall due to it's sing along popularity. There was a house party 4 doors down from me one night where one guitar and 10 people sang the chorus for wonderwall over and over again for 2 hours.

dirtbags

four chord no talent scummers

sounds like a rough night you have my sympathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The should also ban accordions and saxaphones, these are also very loud, annoying and depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

easy solution. look where your going. Its not as if they arent holding a giant sign letting you know their location

easier said than done. As I am 6'4 these signs are at face height for me. Like I said it would be ok if there was one every so often along the street but they seem to gather in the same spot or like the guys on henry street who seem to move them over and back as there are arrows pointing in the direction of the shop. Like crap buskers there are far too many of them.

If we took your logic then why not cover our ears so we dont hear the buskers or better still walk down a different street??

Also can we ban the religious nutjobs too with the amps?? They are in one flew over the cuckoos nest territory!!

frAg

The amp probably works well for finger picking songs, they are cool to listen to. But if there are heavy strumming songs, it would be too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The amp probably works well for finger picking songs, they are cool to listen to. But if there are heavy strumming songs, it would be too much.
    Also depends on the amp, nothing worse than a cheap destorted amp clipping at any sort of volume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Clive Solas

It is a real bottleneck down there now with this junkie "poet". He's actually taking up about 9 square metres. I've walked over the edge of his work once or twice and he goes beserk, plus 2 or 3 of his mates seem to emerge from nowhere to give you grief. Who to complain to though, Gardai, City Council?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Funny this thread appears, just down a few houses from me some guy turned on his amp and is utterly butchering every song he's trying to play.

I at least feel like going over there and tuning the fùckin' thing for hiim! Smoke On The Water sounds like it's been played on a Sony Walkman with it's batteries draining and recharging rapidly and with the tone of a whaling, diseased cat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭unbeat

dun laoghaire harbour / port. used to be a nice peaceful place for a walk. cue douchebag musicians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

They do in paris as far as I know.

You have to pay about 16 euro to subscribe and then do audition.
    Not just Paris, in most major cities around the world you need to do an audition before you can go busking.
    This should be done in Dublin too.

Sure, it can be annoying if someone's amp is too loud, but it's a whole lot worse if they can't play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Speaking of Henry Street, which, I guess no-one was, a certain charity who sell little googly-eyed toys can f right off. Typically there's a gang of these over-excited teenagers pestering the good folks of the city centre. I've bought so many of these little buggers for your charity that I half expect to find I'm now the chairman and will soon be receiving dividends.

I spotted one of these basket-wielding cases outside an Aldi. Whatever about charity-grabbing outside of Centras and Spars etc, asking the patrons of Aldi for their spare cash is a bit lower. We can't afford to feed ourselves properly and you want us to feed your pets?

unbeat wrote: »
    dun laoghaire harbour / port. used to be a nice peaceful place for a walk. cue douchebag musicians

Your right, some places should definitely not allow music with amps. Dun Laoighaire pier being one example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

Amps should not be banned, it would affect the mood of our main streets if these artists were removed. Walking down shop street in Galway is a pleasure when there are a range of artists playing, it really feels like a cultural vibrant city during these sort of days. Turning them down is what should be done, the suggestion about having a max wattage is a good one.

Stop being such haters, people are just trying to earn a living in these hard times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

amps should be allowed but street musicians shouldnt be allowed on the likes of grafton street or any other street where a few people looking at them block the whole street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

That guy who plays the violin on Henry Street in Dublin needs to turn it down! I worked in one of the shops there for 6 months last year and went home every night with one of his three songs stuck in my head. He's actually quite good but, all day, he only plays Hotel California, Every Breath You Take and a third one that I don't know the name of but can hum along with every last note of. You can hear him from miles off :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I quite like ear bleeding versions of Sultan of Swing with all associated bum notes. I'll never get sick of people making a bollox of it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

the problem isnt the amps, its the quality of music being played.

i agree that there should be some sort of auditions, or at least a good idea would be that the more pedestrianised streets (grafton st. etc..) are reserved for the better ranked street performers. the other guys would have to earn their way to that level, which is obviously more profitable