Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Confessing to a crime you didn't commit.

• 13-06-2011 9:01am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭

Say you wanted to go the prison for murder without murdering for whatever reason, what would happen if if you went to your local garda station and said you killed someone ten years ago. When they ask for the details you keep it vague and say you were drunk and can't remember the specifics. Or you could confess to an unsolved murder that took place nearby and again say you were drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭sleepyescapade

...what?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Try taking a lie detector test. Then you'll be arrested anyway for wasting their time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

evidence.................................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Sur give it a try and be sure to let us know how you got on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

evidence.................................

The fact that you confessed is evidence.

You could say you were walking along a pier one day about 10 years ago and you beat someone to death with a baseball bat and dumped the body in the sea. No one was around to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

so heres a pictire of a monley

A what? Ooooooooooooooh a MON-ley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Why confess to a crime you didnt committ? Makes no sense at all. Especially this early on a Monday morning. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Say you wanted to go the prison for murder without murdering for whatever reason, what would happen if if you went to your local garda station and said you killed someone ten years ago. When they ask for the details you keep it vague and say you were drunk and can't remember the specifics. Or you could confess to an unsolved murder that took place nearby and again say you were drunk.

You can be somebody's b!tch without going to prison,you know.

gavredking wrote: »
    Why confess to a crime you didnt committ? Makes no sense at all. Especially this early on a Monday morning. :confused:

because you want to go to prison.

so I'm assuming your next question is "why do you want to go to prison?"

Maybe this person is insane, maybe it's safer in prison, maybe they have a prison fetish. That's not the point of the thread though. can it be done is the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I'm almost 100% you can't be convicted solely on the basis of your confession. If you could, every high profile crime in this country would have dozens of random loolahs serving a sentence for it despite having nothing to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I'd say they'd look for more than just an admission about what happened - and possibly ask you to go for a psych evaluation.

Admission of guilt isn't evidence of guilt - you'd have to be able to tell them who died, how, when, etc and other evidence tie into that scenario...otherwise they'd just think you were bonkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

The guards only can charge you its up to the courts to convict and for that they will need evidence, I am sure everyday of the week people walk in to guard stations claiming they did this and that, its a waste of good garda time.

I'd say they'd look for more than just an admission about what happened - and possibly ask you to go for a psych evaluation.

Admission of guilt isn't evidence of guilt - you'd have to be able to tell them who died, how, when, etc and other evidence tie into that scenario...otherwise they'd just think you were bonkers.

Just say someone you knew drowned accidentally by falling into a local river. You could say you pushed them in and make up the details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

The fish would give evidence that he fell in himself. Fish can remember (apparently).

Just say someone you knew drowned accidentally by falling into a local river. You could say you pushed them in and make up the details.

Where was/is the body? Where is the missing persons report? Where is the forensic evidence you were at the scene? Where is the proof that you had anything to do with it?

There are loads of loolah's who would merrily claim to do all manner of crime but if there is nothing linking them to the scene/crime then it won't get beyond the investigation stage.

People don't get locked up for admissions, it triggers an investigation but it won't get very far without evidence that backs up those claims.

Where was/is the body? Where is the missing persons report? Where is the forensic evidence you were at the scene? Where is the proof that you had anything to do with it?

There are loads of loolah's who would merrily claim to do all manner of crime but if there is nothing linking them to the scene/crime then it won't get beyond the investigation stage.

People don't get locked up for admissions, it triggers an investigation but it won't get very far without evidence that backs up those claims.

The body is in the river because they really did accidentaly fall in. You could say you pushed them when in fact they tripped and fell in.

why would you do that? because youre crazy? the police wouldnt believe a crazy person. and you can say all you want, they still need evidence. confessionof a crazy person is not evidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭spoonface

Garda detectives are no dummies, you'd need to have your story straight in detail ahead of the detailed questions that would come at you. And have all the same answers the next time you're asked. So I don't think it's as simple as you'd like it to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Why would you not just murder someone? It would be less complicated.
    You could even start a thread on boards about who it should be.

why would you do that? because youre crazy? the police wouldnt believe a crazy person. and you can say all you want, they still need evidence. confessionof a crazy person is not evidence

You could simply have a weird cumpulsion to be in prison, everything else about you would be normal. All I'm interested in is how hard is it to do if one were so inclined. Surely in the above scenario they'd lock you up and not for being mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

I shot JFK

Ficheall wrote: »
    Why would you not just murder someone? It would be less complicated.
    You could even start a thread on boards about who it should be.

Because murder is against your morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

Didn't this happen recently. Two elderly ladies were murdered in a care home. A guy went into a Garda station and confessed. Despite having a history of mental problems he was convicted and later died of natural causes in prison.

However, the real killer was still free and ended up murdering again, this time a young Dublin couple living in Co Roscommon. His name was Nash or something. All big news back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

You could say you were walking along a pier one day about 10 years ago and you beat someone to death with a baseball bat and dumped the body in the sea. No one was around to see it.

See they'd know this isn't true because nobody in Ireland actually owns a baseball bat, we just see it as the default weapon of fictitious melee for some reason. :confused:

Still no evidence to back you up though - don't do it Scanlas, three meals a day and a big warm psycho to keep your bed warm at night - it just ain't worth it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

So you looking for free TV with Sky?

I'm getting the impression here that it's easy to get away with murder.

I wonder if it would be easier to get away with murder or to get away with faking a murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

One of the gangsters from Limerick got shot out in a rural area in Clare as I remember

Lots of T shirts around the next few weeks, those were his initials

Hope I've remembered this correctly

You could simply have a weird cumpulsion to be in prison, everything else about you would be normal. All I'm interested in is how hard is it to do if one were so inclined. Surely in the above scenario they'd lock you up and not for being mental.

no you need actual evidence. a confession doesnt cut it

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

I wonder if it would be easier to get away with murder or to get away with faking a murder.

Its not easy to get away with it, you just cant claim to have killed some one with no specific details, forensic evidence, eye witnesses or any other evidence other than your word.

The Gardaí probably wouldn't even charge you, because when you get to court the DPP will have to prove beyond all reasonable doubtthat you are guilty of the murder. Your word that you killed someone is not proof beyond all reasonable doubt.

Sorry OP, wont work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

High profile cases attract all the cranks and time wasters
    Gardai probably deal with this all the time but we never hear of it

Around 2005 a man confessed to the JonBenet Ramsey murder. Far more famous case then the McCanns ever was.
    Flown in with cameras waiting, nobody does a perp walk like the Americans. Before anyone is convicted they still drag you you in front of the cameras

Clear nutcase, he had nothing to do with the case but he got worldwide attention over it
    He needs help, not jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

No, it's easy to get away with not murdering someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

So this thread has nothing whatsoever to do with the A-Team?

Disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

Whats worrying is the title of your other thread.

Are you deciding which is worse, rape or murder, then confessing to which ever :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's simple really.

Stop smoking crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭niallam

You like prison food or dropping the soap???