Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think your fellow boardsies look like?

• 13-06-2011 4:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I often find that the general attitude that a poster has, or his posting content, can shape how I imagine they would appear in real life.

Sometimes, I imagine these individuals as a variation of, or a replica of, their avatars. And sometimes as some completely unrelated, inexplicable image. Often they are individuals I rarely interact with, there just seems to be something about their name/ avatar that makes me see them in a particular light. Sometimes it will have been something the poster has said that causes this image to arise.

Some examples, from the top of my head -

Biggins - exactly as his avatar (do not know whether that is himself or not)
    Monty Burnz - as the name implies
    end_a kenny - ditto
    KeithAFC - like Darren from the Royle Family
    Lord Scutch - a ginger kid
    DeVore - Splinter from the Turtles
    Scofflaw - grey haired man, very very tall and thin, with reading glasses on
    nesf - a blue coloured man
    whiteonion - white onion on legs, of the little miss general appearance
    Dudess - marge simpson
    K-9 - that german shepherd from the kids TV show K9
    Gambiaman - milkman from the leaving cert debs ad
    Eliot Rosewater - Chico - one of the poacher boys from pokemon

Thats all I can think of for now, I could go on... but I am deliberately leaving out the bad ones (and I hope you do too). does anybody else have curious images of their fellow boardsies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

dont know,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

dont know,
    Bet your see through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

seanybiker wrote: »
    Bet your see through

Bet you're Chucky wearing leather on a Harley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I give all posters default good looks and stature and if the name/avatar is gender ambiguous I consider them male.

I have no idea why I do this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Kinda spooky that you should have started this thread OP because for the last two hours I've been picturing you as Oliver Twist in the work-house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

you left out "frada" the smug bastard. I can imagine what this person looks like lol. all in jest frada.

this i'd say might be the frada "smug bastard"

DSC02169.jpg?t=1242010024

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭melb

Kicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

I give all posters default good looks and stature and if the name/avatar is gender ambiguous I consider them male.

I have no idea why I do this.

I do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

later10 wrote: »

Antony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Well actually as you may know, Darren was a character from TRF as well (also starred as Kirk from Coronation Street). However, yes, I had meant Anthony.

It's the hair, I think, looks like hair a Keith would have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I think hondasam looks like, (pulls pants down,........... Faps.......... Sticks tongue out...........grunts............) Yeah, she looks like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Biggins - exactly as his avatar (do not know whether that is himself or not)=

Biggins are you a commander of a startship looking for the 13th tribe of humans ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dudess - Evan Rachel Wood (actress from my fav movie, The Wrestler).

And thats about it.

I'm not overly familiar with a lot of the AH posters, and on my regular forum's - Martial Arts, and Mixed Martial Arts, I'd know most of the regular's in person.

And thats about it.

I'm not overly familiar with a lot of the AH posters, and on my regular forum's - Martial Arts, and Mixed Martial Arts, I'd know most of the regular's in person.

Hmm... I'd say you are have long red hair. I don't know, it's hard to get a proper picture of you in my head.

Edited to add: (I of course am only messing, given that there is a profile picture beside your name)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

seanybiker wrote: »
    Bet your see through
    I am Cowgirl,
    I am Everything Everything,
    I'm invisible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

And thats about it.

I think Dudess is her,...

we all would want to be careful with this woman.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

It's fairly easy to determine what mods are like in real life. Most of the mods on here can be narrowed down into three categories:
    1. Overweight slobs who stay on the internet all day because they are unable to move out through the entrance to their parents basement.
    2. Lonely people who are rejected by society and are desperate to be accepted by someone.
    3. Repressed sadists who, unable to inflict their sadistic compulsion on people in the real world, let loose their desires in the virtual world. They view being a mod as akin to running their own ant farm, where every so often one ant is taken out and slaughtered or tortured; an example of what happens to people who don't obey.
    I think that my non-virtual persona fits well into one or two of these categories which is why I think I would be a good mod.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Biggins are you a commander of a startship looking for the 13th tribe of humans ????
    Drat, you found me out! :D
    I'm still looking too for intelligent life on Earth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

Hot Lips = Heather Trott

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I just picture them looking like their avatars which is an abject failure of imagination, really.

i dont really picture them that much
    its always fun to check out the picture threads like kyn or kyl though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I kinda picture people's avatars,

Reallyrose is a poptart cat, I'm certain of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I look exactly like my avatar. Does that help?

Everytime I see your username, I misread it as "Keith Duffy",
    So you are Keith Duffy, back in the 90's with Boyzone, wearing a white wife beater vest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Kiera wrote: »
    Antony.

Darren is Anthony's friend in the royal family,you know the skinhead fella :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

I cheat and look at the "know your so-and-so" threads.
    <retreats back to the bushes>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

if they've an avatar that is correct to their gender, then i'll go with what their avatar is. like dudess in my head is that girl that was / is always in her avatar, whatshername.. biggins i do assume you look like your avatar.

knowing this is what i do, and assuming this is what other people do, that's why i picked the avatar i have :)

Chris P you are a child to me; for some reason your avatar makes me think that.

though KeithM89, I'm quite attracted to you! :o

i imagine Kiera as having her tongue stuck out all the time.

and Petey just is Bruce Springsteen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

zenno wrote: »
    you left out "prada" the smug bastard. I can imagine what this person looks like lol. all in jest prada.

this i'd say might be the prada "smug bastard"

DSC02169.jpg?t=1242010024

Actually, I look more like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Swamp donkeys or moon pigs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Id say you're all mighty attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Id say you're all mighty attractive.

<suspicious look>
    Are you looking to borrow something or ask for the the loan of a fiver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I'd say most of ye look like
    this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

In case any of ye are in any doubt, this is me (not the horse btw):

http://i.thisislondon.co.uk/i/pix/2009/08/arcano1_415x614.jpg

Nah I look like a blue wolf, really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    this

yeah defo.

just add some hair, take away half the fat, get rid of the mouse, change gender, and that's exactly me.

GalKiefer wrote: »
    <suspicious look>
    Are you looking to borrow something or ask for the the loan of a fiver?

Well... If you have a fiver.....

And to save any confusion, i don't look like a cupcake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

this

Striking resemblance actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

as the name suggests i have sensible hair, shoes and tie

name may have been given to me ironically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

stovelid wrote: »
    I just picture them looking like their avatars which is an abject failure of imagination, really.

Wonderful.

this

The resembelence is............depressing.

wownerdsouthpark580.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Chris P you are a child to me; for some reason your avatar makes me think that.

The reason for my avatar is i used to watch the Flintstones when i was a child,im not a child anymore so i don't watch it,also Fred is always smiling like me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

I often find that the general attitude that a poster has, or his posting content, can shape how I imagine they would appear in real life.

Sometimes, I imagine these individuals as a variation of, or a replica of, their avatars. And sometimes as some completely unrelated, inexplicable image. Often they are individuals I rarely interact with, there just seems to be something about their name/ avatar that makes me see them in a particular light. Sometimes it will have been something the poster has said that causes this image to arise.

Some examples, from the top of my head -

Biggins - exactly as his avatar (do not know whether that is himself or not)
    Monty Burnz - as the name implies
    end_a kenny - ditto
    Lord Scutch - a ginger kid
    DeVore - Splinter from the Turtles
    Scofflaw - grey haired man, very very tall and thin, with reading glasses on
    nesf - a blue coloured man
    whiteonion - white onion on legs, of the little miss general appearance
    Dudess - marge simpson
    K-9 - that german shepherd from the kids TV show K9
    Gambiaman - milkman from the leaving cert debs ad
    Eliot Rosewater - Chico - one of the poacher boys from pokemon

Thats all I can think of for now, I could go on... but I am deliberately leaving out the bad ones (and I hope you do too). does anybody else have curious images of their fellow boardsies?

Funnily enough I think the same.

biggins' avatar is yer man from BSG...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I'd say we're all good looking...

except Uglybolloxface.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Matthew23

dont know how you could know from what i write , but im good looking but i dont have a avater

Mat23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

bluewolf wrote: »
    biggins' avatar is yer man from BSG...

He will always be Crockett and Tubbs boss from Miami Vice to some of us of a certain age!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I've met about 25 Boardsie regulars in real life and have seen photos of many others to and a few who have being posting for years but I have no idea what they look like .After that it's just a mix of avatars and mysterious usernames .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Corsendonk wrote: »
    He will always be Crockett and Tubbs boss from Miami Vice to some of us of a certain age!:D
    Aaa... the good old days of the white, sleeve folded up cool jackets. :pac:
    Roll on the theme tune from Jan Hammer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

i
    though KeithM89, I'm quite attracted to you! :o

i imagine Kiera as having her tongue stuck out all the time.

and Petey just is Bruce Springsteen.

:cool:

Its the eye patch that turns you on, isnt it?? :P

Keith looks like a pair of ladies shoes!