Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pyjama spotting

• 11-06-2011 7:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Any recent sights of people wearing their pjs in public?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Constantly in the doctors around here theres always a gang of them.
    As far as I see it if i aint allowed wear my PJs out your not either get dressed you manky whores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Yeah every time i visit my home town :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I often see them around Thomas St in Dublin city centre for some reason. I rarely see them anywhere else except there. Pajama town :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

It's become fairly common, to the point where I don't even register it at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Fair City...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Seen two bananas in pyjamas earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Stop watching kids tv..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭McGarnagle92

ballybough daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

I seen some weird looking guy jumping on the 16 bus the other day... He looked rather funny in his pyjamas. After worrying the whole bus, the bus driver wet himself and the guards and army were called with machine guns and they soon sorted him out after the guy saw the doctor and ran straight to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭feels2gd2btrue

yes in penneys buying more pyjamas.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Constantly in the doctors around here theres always a gang of them.
    As far as I see it if i aint allowed wear my PJs out your not either get dressed you manky whores.

Handy Sandie? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

see them regularly in rathmines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

Cruising round citaaaay today so I was when I pulled up across from a bus stop in traffic. Three young ones there, 18-20 that way so I had a right gawk. Two were busy chatting to each other in an over animated "hey! look at me I'm 18-20 and talking about stuff in an overly animated manner so that ruggedly good looking guy in the car will think we're cool" sort of manner and the other one locked eyes with me.

Just at that moment when our eyes met, I could see she was saying to herself "Yea, I'm wearing my pyjamas in public, I feel slightly ashamed about myself now that you're staring at me with your condescending but yet beautiful deep blue eyes"

Seriously like, py f**kin jama's. They weren't dirty scangers either, they looked like upper middle class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The guy from the Boomtown Rats used to run around with pjama bottoms which looked remarkably like jewish concentration camp trousers and nobody ever remarked .:confused: (until now )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

Im a country person so this 'phenomenon' was new to me, we went on a weekend break to dublin and stayed in Aberley apartments in tallaght, opposite the square, so for the craic i went over in pj's one night and bought some cans of Dutch Gold..no one even batted an eyelid!
    Coming out saw a few more people stolling about in pj's too..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Latchy wrote: »
    The guy from the Boomtown Rats used to run around with pjama bottoms which looked remarkably like jewish concentration camp trousers and nobody ever remarked .:confused: (until now )

That was probably an attempt at a fashion statement. Not the grosse laziness or lack of self respect being discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

wild_cat wrote: »
    That was probably an attempt at a fashion statement. Not the grosse laziness or lack of self respect being discussed.
    That was me laughing at the idea of somebody running around in pajamas which look like concentration canp trousers .That is all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Andromeda_111

Was is Tesco's in Clarehall the other day and saw a gang in their pyjamas :eek: I travel in and out of the city centre every day and it's not uncommon to see some gals walking around them. Madness I tell ya :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

OasisGirl wrote: »
    Was is Tesco's in Clarehall the other day and saw a gang in their pyjamas :eek: I travel in and out of the city centre every day and it's not uncommon to see some gals walking around them. Madness I tell ya :(

I live opposite it and I agree, once heard a conversation at the bus stop "Juz goin up ti NaaartSiyid ti ge me nu go'in ou pijaaamiz".

But I am from Darndale so I see it every day.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I dont know about outside of Dublin, But in certain parts of Dublin its a common occurance, a lot of them will even put on fresh clean pyjamas before leaving the house, couldnt be wearing the same ones they slept in:rolleyes:.

do you get it happening outside of Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

ItsNoAlias wrote: »
    I live opposite it and I agree, once heard a conversation at the bus stop "Juz goin up ti NaaartSiyid ti ge me nu go'in ou pijaaamiz".

But I am from Darndale so I see it every day.:rolleyes:

I understand people saying how nasty it might be people wearing pyjamas night and day and not bother changing. If they wear pyjamas during the day that they never actually sleep in then I don't see what people's problem is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭celj

Driving through Mayfield in Cork,couple of girls walking around in PJ's.
    Mentioned it to friends who say it's quite common in Mayfield apparently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

double GG wrote: »
    I seen some weird looking guy jumping on the 16 bus the other day... He looked rather funny in his pyjamas. After worrying the whole bus, the bus driver wet himself and the guards and army were called with machine guns and they soon sorted him out after the guy saw the doctor and ran straight to him.

If only we had the innocence of a child though. Wouldn't have been half the panic I'd say.

dsmythy wrote: »
    I understand people saying how nasty it might be people wearing pyjamas night and day and not bother changing. If they wear pyjamas during the day that they never actually sleep in then I don't see what people's problem is.

Its not a problem just an opinion. Expressed to many girls I know on various occasions (when asked my opinion).

ItsNoAlias wrote: »
    Its not a problem just an opinion. Expressed to many girls I know on various occasions (when asked my opinion).

Fair enough, everyone has their own style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭LJD10

I understand people saying how nasty it might be people wearing pyjamas night and day and not bother changing. If they wear pyjamas during the day that they never actually sleep in then I don't see what people's problem is.[/QUOTE

ah cmon get real... Wearing your perjaaaamers in public is just ridiculous. Citywest shopping centre is full of skobie yungwaaans throwing shapes in the flannel pjs all the time...whhhhhyyyyyyy :confused:

Fair enough, everyone has their own style.

Exactly, I don't expect everyone to like what I wear, but you are of course allowed to have an opinion, as long as you keep it to yourself until asked... or you are in a position, like this thread, whereby you can express your opinion in a public manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

LJD10 wrote: »
    ah cmon get real... Wearing your perjaaaamers in public is just ridiculous. Citywest shopping centre is full of skobie yungwaaans throwing shapes in the flannel pjs all the time...whhhhhyyyyyyy :confused:

Because that kip fortunestown is beside it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

All the time!! drives me nuts

I understand people saying how nasty it might be people wearing pyjamas night and day and not bother changing. If they wear pyjamas during the day that they never actually sleep in then I don't see what people's problem is.[/QUOTE

Well it could be an inherited ideal from China, when the west first began actively trading with China, a new fashion arose whereby certain Chinese people would wear their pj's in public as a sign of wealth.

It showed that you could afford separate clothes for sleeping and you were not using old clothes as sleepwear. It was mainly prominent in the middle classes...

I highly doubt that is the reason though.

Why not? Because it's not in fashion in your neck of the woods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

I dont know about outside of Dublin, But in certain parts of Dublin its a common occurance, a lot of them will even put on fresh clean pyjamas before leaving the house, couldnt be wearing the same ones they slept in:rolleyes:.

do you get it happening outside of Dublin?

Its rampent here in Limerick.

No its because it a sure sign of lazyness and guess what, 9 times out 10 the fcukers wearing them are exactly that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

How could pajamas ever be considered fashion? They just make people look really lazy and sloppy, I would find it hard to take someone seriously if they work pajamas 24 hours a day. I don't care what people wear but I think wearing pajamas in public is just completely ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,059 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

BengaLover wrote: »
    Im a country person so this 'phenomenon' was new to me, we went on a weekend break to dublin and stayed in Aberley apartments in tallaght, opposite the square, so for the craic i went over in pj's one night and bought some cans of Dutch Gold..no one even batted an eyelid!
    Coming out saw a few more people stolling about in pj's too..

Yeah right. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

BengaLover wrote: »
    Im a country person s..... for the craic i went over in pj's one night and bought some cans of Dutch Gold

There can be no room for sentiment.

You're one of THEM now.

If we see you we blow your brains out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I would say who gives a f*ck what you think of what someone else is wearing aesthetically its not everyones job to look pleasing to others..

but I would feel like sh*te staying in pjs

and the attitude of most of the jung ones is what really annoys me

ok what if you walked into a bank or a even your doctors and they were sitting there in the pjs, would you not find it a bit uncomfortable or akward ?

Also why is it only a fashion associated with jobless young ones from council areas ? Are they trying to prove something like "My life is so great on the dole that I don't have to get dressed in the morning"

My friend is a probation officer and one turned up for their meeting in a pair of snoopy pjs.

cruiser178 wrote: »
    No its because it a sure sign of lazyness and guess what, 9 times out 10 the fcukers wearing them are exactly that.

Even those who have daytime pyjamas they wear doing small errands, going to friends etc? How do you know an individual wearing pyjamas outside is lazy in other aspects?
    danslevent wrote: »
    How could pajamas ever be considered fashion? They just make people look really lazy and sloppy, I would find it hard to take someone seriously if they work pajamas 24 hours a day. I don't care what people wear but I think wearing pajamas in public is just completely ridiculous.

You could look at a lot of styles and ask how on earth are people wearing it. If you don't care what people are wearing then why does pyjamas take you up the wrong way? Are we just socially conditioned to see pyjamas as indoor wear? If it became popular enough will your conditioning wear off too?

Pyjamas are outerwear, not underwear, for the most part. Fashion changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Lippy C

They are everywhere saw a couple girls today hair done make up on and in their pyjamas.. why? Lazy sods

Even those who have daytime pyjamas they wear doing small errands, going to friends etc? How do you know an individual wearing pyjamas outside is lazy in other aspects?

Because they didn't change the cloths they slept in :confused: jesus wept.

How do you know. Did you give them a sniff? They put on new pyjamas after they get up in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

Lippy C wrote: »
    They are everywhere saw a couple girls today hair done make up on and in their pyjamas.. why? Lazy sods

I, for one, am looking forward to the next step in sartorial elegance, when they're so lazy that they skip the pyjamas altogether and walk around naked.

How do you know. Did you give them a sniff? They put on new pyjamas after they get up in the morning.

and how do you know that they did? did you take a sniff off them to make sure there was a fresh scent of lenor. maybe its just an age difference between me and you (im 37) to me it's utter lazyness and mank, nobody i know comes home from work, slips into a nice fresh pair of pj's and goes off visiting friends or running errands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

Saw someone wearing pyjamas in Tesco where I live onceand they just looked so awkward when they realised that no one does that here :P

It's so pointless anyway. Pyjamas are one of the least flattering things you could wear, why would anyone wear them in public?

and how do you know that they did? did you take a sniff off them to make sure there was a fresh scent of lenor. maybe its just an age difference between me and you (im 37) to me it's utter lazyness and mank, nobody i know comes home from work, slips into a nice fresh pair of pj's and goes off visiting friends or running errands.

Maybe a minority just never bother changing and on that yeah I don't think it's pleasant if they are in them a few days and it is very noticeable. Then again the day time fresh pyjama wearers would probably look at them unfavourably also.

It's a fashion trend in some areas of Ireland and the UK too. Usually areas people see as 'low income'. Tracksuits are the other item of clothing sneered at. Is tracksuit wearing a sign of laziness also? Or is all this people's pre-emptive thoughts that trends coming from certain areas must be bad?

I dont believe that people think, just because the people wearing the pyjammas are from low income areas that its a bad fashion. I am originally from the a low income area and my reason is purely that iits ridiclous. I mean what if people started wearing swimsuits or wedding dresses out in public? There are certain items of clothing that are just not socially acceptable for every day public appearences. This is the way society has been for centuries. Anway I dont believe these people are wearing them for fashion reasons I believe they are doing it to portray a kind of "I dont give a sh*t about life " image. I hear girls that drop the kids off to school in them are now known as "Slummy Mummies".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

danslevent wrote: »
    I don't care what people wear but I think wearing pajamas in public is just completely ridiculous.

Er...so you do care what people wear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I don't see it very often, but when I do, I find it offensive. It's almost an "in your face" celebration of chavdom. I am sure it could be easily eradicated by banning them on public transport, shops, shopping centres etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I saw a butch lesbian riding a harley the other day wearing green polka dot PJs.

Although where I live, stuff like this is normal.

One time I saw a child skateboarding down the street holding a live python.

And on the same day as the lesbo biker I saw a man in his thirties cycling down the street with a boombox strapped to the back of the bike blaring out the theme from Mario Brothers on a loop for some reason.

Good times.