Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Been to court Lately for trivia??

• 10-06-2011 8:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭

Missus had to go to court today for a parking violation(as it happens she paid the fixed penalty notice straight away, but the co.co never cashed the cheque, just issued a summons, so nothing new there then) As she had to wait around all morning she watched what was going on, and pretty much it appeared to be ordinary people getting hammered with very large fines for very trivial offenses, way higher amounts being imposed than in the past and far more cases being heard that could be simply described as revenue generating rather than justice serving.
    The general attitude of the court was very rude, dismissive and aggressive to pretty much ordinary people who had not paid parking tickets, missed tax on car or had no tv licence.
    So, been to court lately? Gotten a big fine? Felt they treated you like sh1te? Loved the experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i have a big willy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Yeah, we lost a table quiz in a pub, so we thrashed the place, before setting the bar alight. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

snyper wrote: »
    i have a big willy

Fail at trying to be the first-reply guy with the witty remark fishing for thanks. Better luck next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

i have a big willy

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

i have a big willy

good man, who told you so?(he was probably lying to make you feel better)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I went to court and asked the judge which of these languages is spoken by the larger number of people worldwide: French, German, or Japanese?

he gave me 3 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Was in court a couple of months ago for urinating in public. The Garda didnt turn up and i got away scot free :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

Ye tv license. I got off because I should never have been there in the first place. Had to sit through all the other cases. the judge didnt give people a chance to speak just dished out €500-800 fines as if it was just a small sum of money. Yes I agree with paying the license fee but also respect for other people doesnt come at much of a cost

Absurdum wrote: »
    I went to court and asked the judge which of these languages is spoken by the larger number of people worldwide: French, German, or Japanese?

he gave me 3 months

sorry to hear that, but you should probably see a doctor for a second opinion. How long ago was that? Have you made a will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

welcome to ireland

Pauleta wrote: »
    Was in court a couple of months ago for urinating in public. The Garda didnt turn up and i got away scot free :D
    Thats just taking the pi55. You should at least have got a wee fine or somthing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 ArseBook

Yeah I've been not long ago. Got a few hours community service, no fine or anything. It was my first (and last) time there and it was an intruiging experience. I think a lot of what happens depends on the judge and whether or not your solicitor is on the ball. The judge was very tough on motoring offences. He also didn't seem to like people applying for legal aid and refused several applications. He threw the book at a guy for a repeat drunk driving offence, sent him to prison for 5 months and suspended his license for 25 years. It was funny to hear the "oohs and ahhs" of the people when a tough sentence was handed out.

He did seem like an eccentric character but was fair overall in my opinion. I got the impression that if it was a different judge, the day would have been different and that the personality of the judge on the particular sitting has a dominant influence on the whole process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ummm, aren't you a girl?

Didnt think something like that would end up in court..

sonic85 wrote: »
    welcome to ireland

Yup, seems the courts have just become another branch of the dept of finance. An awful lot of people got the probation act for really what was just civil crappy stuff like parking on yellow lines. WTF??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

+1000 man points if true. :D

OP asked if I had been to court for trivia yo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

i have a big willy

trivial

YFlyer wrote: »
    trivial

It puts the food on the table :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Einhard wrote: »
    Ummm, aren't you a girl?

Nope
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pauleta
    Didnt think something like that would end up in court..

Neither did i. It wasnt like it was in the middle of the street, it was in some bushes :mad: Complete waste of a day and the time of our liberal courts.

There is some lad that uses his willy to paint pictures. Very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

No, but I nearly was. I contended a littering fine after it was claimed that I discarded a top-up voucher on a beach. The litter warden/council traced the phone to which the voucher was linked to, and concluded that I had littered.

The only reason that I didn't allow it to go to court was that I was already broke at the time and couldn't afford a solicitor. I'd say I would have won though.

It's amazing some of the crap they'll allow to go as far as court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Pissing in public?
    A friend was fined a fiver back in the 90's.

Half of these fines boil down to Gardaí with big egos and members of the general public being complere arseholes in drink.

YFlyer wrote: »
    There is some lad that uses his willy to paint pictures. Very funny

Vincent Van Cock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I had to go to court and got my driving licence suspended for the week before court appearance because I "failed to produce insurance".

When in reality, this is what happened-

Insurance disc not in car but at home.
    Guard told me to bring it into her within the week.
    I did.
    She was on sick leave.
    Other guard photo copied and left it in her file.

Few months later, I have a court summons for nothing.
    And no licence until hearing.

Had to take public transport for the week with my two kids.

At the hearing, the guard didn't even show, and the judge dismissed the case immediately.

Fcuking ridiculous!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

A plate would be much more convenient and sanitary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Half of these fines boil down to Gardaí with big egos and members of the general public being complere arseholes in drink.

You are half right. Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I had to go to court and got my driving licence suspended for the week before court appearance because I "failed to produce insurance".

When in reality, this is what happened-

Insurance disc not in car but at home.
    Guard told me to bring it into her within the week.
    I did.
    She was on sick leave.
    Other guard photo copied and left it in her file.

Few months later, I have a court summons for nothing.
    And no licence until hearing.

Had to take public transport for the week with my two kids.

At the hearing, the guard didn't even show, and the judge dismissed the case immediately.

Fcuking ridiculous!!!
    I had a similar experience was stopped at a check-point once, tax was out of date so I got a fine, I deserved it so I paid the €60 fixed penalty notice, about a month later I got a court summons in the post for, wait for it "driving without a license", I went into the Guarda Station and asked the Guard why I had got this he takes my license goes off for 10 minutes comes back says "sorry about that, my mistake, I ticked the wrong box", stupid fcuking idiot did'nt even have the decency to apologise! Dozy muppet!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

says "sorry about that, my mistake, I ticked the wrong box", stupid fcuking idiot did'nt even have the decency to apologise! Dozy muppet!
    "sorry about that"

one muppet litter warden summonsed an entire estate for littering (on the 30th of the 10th 2010). Nobody in the court put 2 and 2 together and discovered that was bonfire night for about 30 mins and he was then told to get back in his box. Less funny, one poor sod was up for no insurance, cos he was driving a company van when stopped and they had forgotten to add the new guy to the company policy. Unfunnily the poor 20 somthing sod was banned for 2 years, fined 2k. Thats him fecked for a while for no good reason. 300 people were summonsed to appear at 10.30, no doubt because they all had nothing else to do except wait around like spanners while the court raised a few quid to keep the lights on.

so thats how you keep so trim snyp:D

"sorry about that"
    Oops he didnt actually say that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Veles wrote: »
    Been to Naas today then?;)
    where is this naas you speak of Veles?;):D

I had a similar experience was stopped at a check-point once, tax was out of date so I got a fine, I deserved it so I paid the €60 fixed penalty notice, about a month later I got a court summons in the post for, wait for it "driving without a license", I went into the Guarda Station and asked the Guard why I had got this he takes my license goes off for 10 minutes comes back says "sorry about that, my mistake, I ticked the wrong box", stupid fcuking idiot did'nt even have the decency to apologise! Dozy muppet!

Sounds like an apology to me.
    Solnskaya wrote: »
    Missus had to go to court today for a parking violation(as it happens she paid the fixed penalty notice straight away, but the co.co never cashed the cheque, just issued a summons, so nothing new there then) As she had to wait around all morning she watched what was going on, and pretty much it appeared to be ordinary people getting hammered with very large fines for very trivial offenses, way higher amounts being imposed than in the past and far more cases being heard that could be simply described as revenue generating rather than justice serving.
    The general attitude of the court was very rude, dismissive and aggressive to pretty much ordinary people who had not paid parking tickets, missed tax on car or had no tv licence.
    So, been to court lately? Gotten a big fine? Felt they treated you like sh1te? Loved the experience?

How often are you and the missus in court then? Serial offenders?
    Solnskaya wrote: »
    one muppet litter warden summonsed an entire estate for littering (on the 30th of the 10th 2010). Nobody in the court put 2 and 2 together and discovered that was bonfire night for about 30 mins and he was then told to get back in his box. Less funny, one poor sod was up for no insurance, cos he was driving a company van when stopped and they had forgotten to add the new guy to the company policy. Unfunnily the poor 20 somthing sod was banned for 2 years, fined 2k. Thats him fecked for a while for no good reason. 300 people were summonsed to appear at 10.30, no doubt because they all had nothing else to do except wait around like spanners while the court raised a few quid to keep the lights on.

It's the drivers responsibility to make sure they are entitled to drive. Nobody else's. And if he was banned then I would say there was no insurance or good lawful reason for not having it on the day and possibly previous convictions.

Veles wrote: »
    He had one previous for no insurance and two for non display of an insurance disc afaik

And that's why he got the ban.

foreign wrote: »

How often are you and the missus in court then? Serial offenders?

No Guard, first time actually. Thats why I was so surprised by the trivial sh1te that occupies their time. As I already said, Guard sir, I paid the fine straight away me lord, but being money grubbing pedantic incompetent time wasting shower of cnuts that they possibly are, they preferred to waste their time and ours by dragging a trivial civil "oh you bad girl, you parked on some lines some gimp painted on a bit of tarmac because they liked the idea of getting money for nothing" matter into a farce of it becoming a court case. My real point is that it would appear that not alone are the govt deciding to tax the people out of existance through their wage packets and sneak taxes, but they have decided to use the courts to become another scource of revenue out of all proportion. I had the pleasure today of watching one of Irelands biggest(reputed)Drug barons out enjoying himself on the roads on a non-mechanically propelled vehicle, and funnily enough, It appeared that he went about this use of the public roads without fear of or regard to any Garda stopping him or asking him for any penalty whatsoever despite the dogs in the street knowing what he does for a living and the absence of any little bits of paper on the harnesses. It pretty much makes a farce of being law-abiding and straight in life. BTW, guard, I pay road tax and insurance on 6 vehicles and am so law abiding it hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

No, but I nearly was. I contended a littering fine after it was claimed that I discarded a top-up voucher on a beach. The litter warden/council traced the phone to which the voucher was linked to, and concluded that I had littered.

The only reason that I didn't allow it to go to court was that I was already broke at the time and couldn't afford a solicitor. I'd say I would have won though.

It's amazing some of the crap they'll allow to go as far as court.

Which County Council? ..suprised really, I was under the impression with those vouchers they (the councils) had been given legal advice not to prosecute, as there was too much of a risk of the things blowing out of bins etc.

Joe Duffy covered that very specific littering offence a while back, it turned out that Dunnes Stores are the only Supermarket that readily hand over information to councils, related to any receipt\voucher littering etc.. outside of a legal request. Shameful.

Agent Oso wrote: »
    Got summonsed after producing my tax 3times, the guard was there with notes etc and gave his account of things apparently I showed up a month and a
    ......and a what??? don't leave us hanging.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

this thread will be adjourned until september..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Agent Oso

Sorry don't know what happend there! anywho apparently i showed up a month and a half after i was stopped I said judge that's incorrect I was asked to prove it,the guard said I came in at 7pm on July 7th.. My daughter was born at 6.19 on July 7th. When I got the summons I rang they said it was struck out to be sure I rang the day before and was told the date time etc so was sure to bring birth cert and hospital band with time of birth:)

this thread will be adjourned until september..
    Jasus Geese, I asked you not to post that, just because the judge said that, doesn't mean you can tell everyone.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Was in court a while ago for not producing/having a license got struck out because i had just couldn't find it in time. Summons for half 10 think it struck out at half 3 such a waste of a day.

Howvever i suppose it wasn't a total waste the pure entertainment provided on the day was brilliant. I'd nearly go back and just sit there for the day sometime just listening to the cases its a lot better than day time TV

jdooley28 wrote: »
    Was in court a while ago for not producing/having a license got struck out because i had just couldn't find it in time. Summons for half 10 think it struck out at half 3 such a waste of a day.

Howvever i suppose it wasn't a total waste the pure entertainment provided on the day was brilliant. I'd nearly go back and just sit there for the day sometime just listening to the cases its a lot better than day time TV
    Was thinking the same myself one day i was there for no tax, was there from 10 a.m until 3 p.m, was worth it though, there was this one guy in hand cuffs looking for legal aid, judge said no, que a 20 min shouting match from his family and friends and the judge, was dying to laugh but I had to hold it in as my case had'nt been heard at this stage, eventually my turn came, low and behold the Guard did'nt turn up so it was dismissed!

Twas a good day:D

I'd reccomend everybody go to court at least once, do'nt mean murder anyone, maybe piss in the middle of O' Connell street and you will get a summons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Fail at trying to be the first-reply guy with the witty remark fishing for thanks. Better luck next time.

Your post is tedious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

TV licence
    The judge asked if I had anything to say and I didn't so "nothing to say Judge". Got a €120 fine, fair enough

However......
    There were others there with me pleading on about being single and off drugs or their partner left them or going back to college and a lot of other reasons why they didn't pay the licence.
    They got something called the probation act, no fine at all.
    Why do they got off and I get fined :confused:
    And I wasn't taking up the courts time!

A load of no shows. The judge took that as an insult to his court and they got fined €400 or so.
    Certainly not the 1K you see on the TV ads

One girl had her father talk for her and he was talking about her depression. Seemed genuine, I felt sorry for her. All the same, I'd rather pay the fine then tell a room full of strangers about my personal issues.

It was pretty damn efficient however. It's like a conveyor belt, the inspector gives the date and time under oath, judge asks what you want to say and the lawyers for An Post add their piece.
    Must have blitzed through a person every two to three minutes or less on average

At least yousaved €40,is'nt the TV License €160?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Yes, yes I did
    As I got away with it for 15 months so paying the fine was less then the cost of licence

Crime pays :cool: