Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Lenihan RIP *Mod Warning Post #1*

• 10-06-2011 9:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

Hi guys,
    I heard from a very reliable source that Brian Lenihan died this morning.
    Unlike the rumours that were circulating a few weeks ago, unfortunately it is actually true this time.
    RIP

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/brian-lenihan-dies-508495.html
    Former Finance Minister Brian Lenihan has passed away.

The 59-year-old lost his battle with illness early this morning.

He was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in 2009, and served as Finance Minister up until February of this year.

Folks, it's a condolence thread, not a "Let's bash the Government/ Politicians one". Innapropriate posts will be deleted on sight and bans/ infractions given where needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

Jaysus. Are you serious??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

http://twitter.com/#!/VCurrentAffairs/status/70478513894989824
    Apparently true.
    WHAT? RT @Lilimc: RIP Brian Lenihan. I for one was glad to have known you . A great man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭JuniorB

Sadly it's true. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭RTT

Yes unfortunately it is true this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Biggins wrote: »
    I doubt it. @Lilimc who was retweeted has since deleted her tweet. :)

seamus wrote: »
    I doubt it. @Lilimc who was retweeted has since deleted her tweet. :)

O' ...thats strange!
    We will have to wait and see so.
    An hour or two should bring clarification hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Rest in peace,

Spin 103.8 have confirmed it. Apparently there'll be official confirmation shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I dunno, should people be posting about the deaths of others unless it's confirmed? People who know the man could be in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

Rest In Peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭titanium feather

The Journal have also confirmed it. Statement expected at 11am.

http://twitter.com/#!/thejournal_ie

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

It's true

Dermot Looney, SDCC councillor appears to be the source on twitter:

http://twitter.com/#!/dlooney
    Have been getting a lot of tweets questioning my earlier post - sadly, it is true that Brian Lenihan has passed away. May he rest in peace.

Unless his account has been hacked, I imagine that's fairly rock solid. A politician wouldn't post this unless it was true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 aidog

anybody know the cause?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

confirmed on breaking news...........

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/brian-lenihan-dies-508495.html

Was one of the more respected politicos...

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Regardless of the political party he was involved with, it's a human life at the end of the day.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

What a shame, one of the few politicians I liked who had genuine intellect and ability.

May he rest in peace.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

OP updated.
    This is confirmed.
    RIP.

Posters please be respectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Sad to hear. He was one of the good ones.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Wow, he was always so composed and professional, I'd no idea he was so bad.

I always thought he seemed like a good guy.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

RIP Brian Lenihan

Aye, as possibly mentioned already, Breaking News and the Journal have confirmed.
    RTE should have confirmation by 6 tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

RIP

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

RIP, sympathies to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭BO-JANGLES

May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The fact that there were rumours previous to this (if this is accurate) shows what sick ***** some people are.
    Didn't realise he was 59.

Galway Advertiser has always confirmed it.

RIP - he must have gone through hell. At least he can rest now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

RIP Brian. He was far too young.

I had no idea he was that bad but pancreatic cancer is known for being a very agressive form of the disease so I've heard.

Every respect to him for keeping going as long as he did.

My sincere condolences to his family and friends.

Biggins wrote: »
    RTE should have confirmation by 6 tomorrow!
    They're having a high-level meeting to discuss who should update the website and whether they need a pay rise.
    The fact that there were rumours previous to this (if this is accurate) shows what sick ***** some people are.
    Actually I think the last time he was rushed into hospital on an emergency basis and someone jumped the gun in an attempt to be first with the news that he had "died".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

aidog wrote: »
    anybody know the cause?

Seriously ????:eek:

He's had pancreatic cancer since 2009. Its been public knowledge since TV3 shamefully leaked it over Christmas that year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭KingEnda

RIP
    An example to us all to keep going until the end, I dont remember the man once using his health as an excuse for anything
    No matter what he may or may not be responsible for he stuck to his guns and stayed focused.
    My thoughts are with his family and their loss

I am a Fine Gale man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Fair play to him for having the strength and determination to stick with his public office when battling terminal cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

There was a decency about him which was quite evident.

RIP.

I'm sad to hear this. He might (or might not) have made the wrong decisions re the banking guarantees, but he always came across as a committed and decent man. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I never realised that he was close to dying. Heard him on the radio only recently. He fought on despite his illness when he was diagnosed.

RIP Brian Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

It's always sad whenever anyone passes away before their time. He seemed like a decent fellow and always came across as a decent politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Tragic indeed. RIP and condolences to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Didn't realise he was 59.

no he was 52, that was an error, now edited

seamus wrote: »
    They're having a high-level meeting to discuss who should update the website and whether they need a pay rise.

Actually I think the last time he was rushed into hospital on an emergency basis and someone jumped the gun in an attempt to be first with the news that he had "died".

I'm not one to jump up and down on RTE, but listening to Pat Kenny now, and he's talking about schoolbooks- no interruption for breaking news. Bit ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭barryfitz

On breakingnews.ie 10 minutes ago. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

People here are saying that he seemed to be a decent guy and seemed nicer than most politicians. I agree. There was something about him that was inherently likeable about him.

Hope his family are ok.

RIP Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

RIP Brian Lenihan.

Very shocking to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Sad news.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Einhard wrote: »
    I'm not one to jump up and down on RTE, but listening to Pat Kenny now, and he's talking about schoolbooks- no interruption for breaking news. Bit ridiculous.

its just broken and perhaps RTE are confirming...there had been episodes of rumours of his passing before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Respect to the man for the dignity he carried himself with in his last few months. To think of all the stuff he went through with the public in the second half on 2010/earl 2011 when he should have been doing other things with the limited time he had left. R.I.P Brian, one of the honest ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Although I have no tome for his party, I was always very impressed with his obvious ability.

I remember him being quizzed by Matt Cooper on radio,who had asked a series of questions,and after answering all of them fluently and without bs
    he asked "...and you had another question?".Cooper didn't.

He was ambushed by the financial crisis,and whereas he maybe should have made different decisions in hindsight, he at least was decisive.

The fiasco over the IMF was also understandable. To try desperately to keep the markets from panicking he had to basically lie to insist that all was well and we didn't need a bailout.

Unfortunately,it will be his legacy that we lost our fiscal sovereignty on his watch.Many who were far more guilty will escape blame.That is his tragedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

Shocked at the news...The man gave his all, he was a rare and good man and politician. Will be hugely missed.

RIP Brian Lenihan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

I won't say I was an admirer of his as a Finance Minister, but as a human being he came across as a very decent man, and I would have to admire his courage and determination in taking on the weight of his job and fighting cancer at the same time. He lost that battle, all too young. Condolences to his family and may he rest in peace.