Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Dating

• 09-06-2011 4:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭

Hi all

I did a search on this and couldn't find any posts after 2007, am considering going to one of these nights in the next couple of weeks, more for the craic than anything else!!
    Would be interested in hearing how any of ye ladies got on in the past :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

Hiya, I haven't done it either, but am also thinking about going to one, so would be interested in hearing how other people got on.

The only problem for me is that most of my friends are going out with people, and the ones who are single, I honestly don't think would be that interested in going to a speed dating night in the hopes of meeting a guy, so if I did go I could be going on my own. Is that usual or unusual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Steamer

Hi Ladies,

Well I went to one in Galway about two years ago and it was good fun. I found that most of the girls went in groups of two or three and had some fun whereas the lads seemed to take it more seriously and were all there on their own. It was fu though, didn't meet anyone like minded but I always wanted to give it a shot.

You have nothing to lose so give it a go. You will have fun regardless and maybe meet some friends out of it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Nervous Nellie

Hi Ladies,

I agree with Steamer, you've got nothing to lose and it's great craic.

Myself and the girls from work went a few years ago and it found it to be the best fun. The guys did seem to be more serious about finding someone than the girls so were all on their best behaviour and lovely.

I ended up getting a date out of it which was nice but "Fergus the Farmer" (as we nicknamed him - although he wasn't a farmer???) just didn't cut the mustard in the long run I'm afraid. :)

Generally though it was the all great fun and I'd recommend it for an interesting and throughly enjoyable night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭lily lou

My friend booked for a few of us to go speed dating in Dublin last year. We got dolled up and headed out very early (as it started at 7.30pm) when we got there we were told the speed dating had been cancelled and that everyone should have been informed. We seemed to be the only ones who hadn't been told. We were asked if we wanted to book in for the next night it was on, but the date didn't suit so they said the money would be put back on my friends credit card. That was a year ago and they have ignored every phone call and email we have sent since, we never got our money back.

We got chatting to some of the staff in the bar (we were there at 7.30 and the place was empty) we were told that there is always more women than men and that at least 3 women have to sit out each "date". The man we were talking to also told us that the women always make a really big effort, but that the majority of men aren't exactly romance material (his words not mine). Don't think I'd bother with it after that experience, but I'm sure there's plenty of people who really enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

I've been asked to go to one but not sure if it's my cupa T. I'm sure you will get a laugh out of it if anything:D

Lets us know how you get on ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

I did it with a group of mates years ago- it was a lot of fun because both the guys and girls were in teams of 3. You've a great laugh but I wouldn't expect to meet someone there to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

lily lou wrote: »
    they said the money would be put back on my friends credit card. That was a year ago and they have ignored every phone call and email we have sent since, we never got our money back.

Probably too late to pursue it now but you should have had the bank / credit card company do a charge back for the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭solovely

I went years ago (maybe 6 years ago) when it was a really new thing and I was in my mid 20s. It was this huge big event in the Alexander hotel and it was great craic, great buzz. I got a date out of it, any my friend ended up going out with a guy for 3 years from it. It was more like a big social event, loads of energy and buzz, and no stigma or sad single associations.

Roll on to about 18 months ago and I went again to the Dandelion, and it was such a cringy occasion. Twice as many women as men, the women all dolled up to the nines, all gorgeous, wish I could say as much for the men. Most of the men were serial speed daters, they go every month, have stock conversations they use to take up the 4 minutes. Unfortunately as there twice as many women as men, you had a blank 4 mins in between each date so I got to eavesdrop on my friend's conversation with a guy before he would have the exact same conversation with me!

It has definitely changed a lot over the years. Wasn't for me, but if you get somewhere that promises equal men and women and is in a lively, energetic location, it could be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Just came across this thread

My mate and I wanted to try it and have been looking at various sites to see whats going on. Most of them however are for 20-35's. We are both over 40 and cant seem to find an event - love the thoughts of the dinner dating one.

Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭liquoriceall

Hi Ive been speed dating in Limerick and in Dublin its a good enough laugh but no way serious, must say the most fun Ive had a 'singles event' was last Nov/Dec a singles party in Kerry for ages 25-35 it was excellent just a couple of hundred single people with drink, band dj etc one of the best nights Ive had in a long time am going again this year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭intouch44

So I bit the bullet and went to a speed dating night with a few of the girls, it was great craic because we didn't take it too seriously and the drinks were flowing!!! As stated by other posters there was more women than men and in all honesty the men were nothing special, it was a laugh and we went out after, it was an experience, not one I'd repeat anytime soon but for all those considering it, as long as you're not expecting too much and if you can drag a few friends along you're bound to have a laugh!!! :)