Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 Under 21 Hurling championship

• 07-06-2011 8:36pm

Wexford under 21s beat Kilkenny tonight by a point. Well done to them after all the flak they have taken in the last year from critics and i include myself in that. They now play Laois in Leinster semi.

We were lucky to get through against Waterford last Wednesday night. Dublin v Carlow in Dr Cullen tomorrow night. I really hope Carlow can pull off a shock but its been a bad year for them and i cant see them stopping Dublin who are on the crest of a wave at the moment. Winners play Offaly. With respect to Offaly, Laois and Carlow it will probably be a Wexford/Dublin Leinster final.

Munster has Tipp v Cork in Thurles next round. The other semi has Limerick v Clare. I wouldn't like to write off anyone despite us having a strong team (So do Kilkenny as they won minor last year and in 08 as well as being runner up in 2009). Munster winners play Galway in semi this year. and Leinster winners play the ulster champions which is a huge incentive to win leinster this year all due respect to the ulster champions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Great win for Wexford, the lack of a back door and Kilkenny gone will give everyone who's left great hope indeed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great news for Wexford - delighted for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Great result for Wexford hurling, the hurlers are coming through there, they just have to be given a chance and the supporters have to be patient.

Alot of this Kilkenny team won minor medals in 2008 and were close runners up in 2009 so had a decent side out who i felt would have been one of the strong favourites this year alongside Tipp Cork, and Galway
    Its also fair to say conditions looked rough on Sportsfile but credit must go to Wexford.
    How many seniors do Cork or Clare have lining out for them at under 21 this year? Aidan Walsh would be a big plus for ye. Is Lorcan Mcloughlin still under 21?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Big disappointment for KK, getting knocked out early 2 years in a row.
    I know that a good few of the lads are doing their LC exams and couldn't play tonight but that could also be true for the Wexford U-21.
    Well done Wexford, a good result that was badly needed for them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Alot of this Kilkenny team won minor medals in 2008 and were close runners up in 2009 so had a decent side out who i felt would have been one of the strong favourites this year alongside Tipp Cork, and Galway
    Its also fair to say conditions looked rough on Sportsfile but credit must go to Wexford.
    How many seniors do Cork or Clare have lining out for them at under 21 this year? Aidan Walsh would be a big plus for ye. Is Lorcan Mcloughlin still under 21?

Cork have a host of injuries....... a few gone abroad..... 1 or 2 suspensions....a few concentrating on football...... no chance at all;)

Seriously though Cork have a fair team apparently this year - I don't think they are as good as last year, I really thought they would go all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Absolutely delighted with the win today was badly needed in the county and hopefully a sign of things to come in the next few years, Looking at the big picture we've a great chance of reaching an all-ireland final this year now :pac: (i'm allowed dream)

Hopefully a good omen for the weekend now i can't wait a double over the cats imagine! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

A great win for Wexford and a welcome boost for hurling in the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

great win for Wexford indeed, think they had 9 players who are playing or on panel of senior team.

I would fancy Clare's chances in this a lot once there are no injuries. No problem with the forwards but the full back line would be a bit dodgy imo just like last year to Tipperary in Munster final. Would expect a very tough opener for Clare v Limerick first day out with the youngsters Limerick have coming through.

Would expect Clare to line-up something like this: Senior panel in Bold
    1.K Brennan
    2.D. Nash
    3.B. Glynn
    4.P Flanagan
    5.S O'Holloran
    6.P O'Connor
    7.L Markham
    8.C. Chaplin
    9.K Ryan
    10.A Lynch
    11.S Golden
    12.C. McInerney
    13.D O'Holloran
    14.D.Honan
    15.C McGrath

Possability of Tony Kelly coming into midfield aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

great win for Wexford indeed, think they had 9 players who are playing or on panel of senior team.

I would fancy Clare's chances in this a lot once there are no injuries. No problem with the forwards but the full back line would be a bit dodgy imo just like last year to Tipperary in Munster final. Would expect a very tough opener for Clare v Limerick first day out with the youngsters Limerick have coming through.

Would expect Clare to line-up something like this: Senior panel in Bold
    1.K Brennan
    2.D. Nash
    3.B. Glynn
    4.P Flanagan
    5.S O'Holloran
    6.P O'Connor
    7.L Markham
    8.C. Chaplin
    9.K Ryan
    10.A Lynch
    11.S Golden
    12.C. McInerney
    13.D O'Holloran
    14.D.Honan
    15.C McGrath

Possability of Tony Kelly coming into midfield aswell.

Do you know when this match is on? As in, is it on after the leaving cert is over so that players like Dowling and Hannon can play??

I can't find any information on the U-21 Championship this year, any ideas?

baraca wrote: »
    Absolutely delighted with the win today was badly needed in the county and hopefully a sign of things to come in the next few years, Looking at the big picture we've a great chance of reaching an all-ireland final this year now :pac: (i'm allowed dream)

Hopefully a good omen for the weekend now i can't wait a double over the cats imagine!

Ah now they did beat ye in the junior football championship in all fairness :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Do you know when this match is on? As in, is it on after the leaving cert is over so that players like Dowling and Hannon can play??

On the munster gaa website the fixtures are one click from the homepage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Great win for Wexford last night - hopefully its a sign of things to come for the county. Nottrying to sound like a Sunday Game analyst here, but Hurling needs every strong county to be able to compete.

This result means that it won't end up a Tipp-KK final (which I thought is how it would go) and one of Dublin or Wexford will likely be playing an All-Ireland final in September.

Does anyone know where the AI final is set for this year? Will it turn into the same debacle as last year? I don't think it is set for Croker, or is it?

Kojak wrote: »
    Great win for Wexford last night - hopefully its a sign of things to come for the county. Nottrying to sound like a Sunday Game analyst here, but Hurling needs every strong county to be able to compete.

This result means that it won't end up a Tipp-KK final (which I thought is how it would go) and one of Dublin or Wexford will likely be playing an All-Ireland final in September.

Does anyone know where the AI final is set for this year? Will it turn into the same debacle as last year? I don't think it is set for Croker, or is it?

The venue is yet to be decided but to be honest it should be a neutral venue. Kilkenny is a front runner for that at the moment in my opinion as you said most likely Dublin or Wexford will be involved and its a perfect neutral venue if Galway or any of the Munster teams get through to final from the other side of the draw

Fireball07 wrote: »

its down for the 21st of July in Cusack park so unless those lads are going on holidays they will be able to play. Should be a cracking game imo. Great young talent will be on show.

Dublin cruising past Carlow at the moment on a scoreline of 4-10 to 10 points.

As expected Dublin won that one. Would hope Carlow can keep the chin up and keep plugging away in the future though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

As expected Dublin won that one. Would hope Carlow can keep the chin up and keep plugging away in the future though.

Definitely, not the horrible hammering they'd have gotten say 5 years ago by any means. In a county surrounded on all sides by hurling strongholds, the interest in the game is definitely there amongst youngsters.

Exactly, if they can keep their team together for a few years then they should be able to hold their own against other teams of that stature (i.e. Laois, Antrim, maybe even the likes of Clare or Limerick) I'm not running down the last 2, but it should be where Carolw should be aiming for.

I heard that the Dubs hit 11 wides in the first half alone last night. Like their seniors, if they had their shooting boots (or hurls :D) they would be serious opposition. IMO its time that Dublin win an underage AI title - maybe this year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

Does anyone know why Ste O'Connor went off early for Dublin. I think himself and Brennan are the stars of the team and would be a real concern if it was due to an injury. I know he was struggling with a hamstring earlier in the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Cork have a host of injuries....... a few gone abroad..... 1 or 2 suspensions....a few concentrating on football...... no chance at all;)

Seriously though Cork have a fair team apparently this year - I don't think they are as good as last year, I really thought they would go all the way.

...we have largely the same team as we had last year, plus Aidan Walsh, Ciaran Sheehan, Chris Joyce and Conor Lehane. As such we are much stronger this year then last.

Lorcan McLoughlin is overage. Think we have 6 U-21s on the current senior panel.

Orizio wrote: »
    ...we have largely the same team as we had last year, plus Aidan Walsh, Ciaran Sheehan, Chris Joyce and Conor Lehane. As such we are much stronger this year then last.

Will Walsh and Sheehan be allowed to play with the U-21 hurlers? I seem to remember last year Cork missing these two players when they played Tipp (eventual AI champions) because they were not allowed play on the orders of the football management. Or was it their own choice not to play?

Not sure what happened last year, but both Sheehan and Walsh have played hurling matches over the last while, and both have said they want to play against Tipp. Saw Sheehan play for CIT on Sunday night and looked in fine shape. So they will almost certainly be around for Tipp, probably Sheehan at full-forward and maybe Walsh somewhere in the half-forward line.

Wexford giving Laois an absolute tonking at the moment. 7-14 to 1-9. :eek:

Wexford must be a very serious outfit this year so. Beat Kilkenny and now hammering Laois.

finishes 7-18 to 2-10

That is another serious hammering for hurling in Laois.

Wexford must be a very serious outfit this year so. Beat Kilkenny and now hammering Laois.

finishes 7-18 to 2-10

Ah no, taking nothing away from Wexford i dont think tonights game will give them any indication of how good they are. Laois are dire, plain as.

They have 9 senior panelists on there team so i'd imagine they are a strong team this year regardless of the Laois result.

Oh don't get me wrong, Wexford will give Dublin or Offaly a run for it no doubt but this game wont do them any favours. It might give them a bit of shooting confidence but Wexford will be under no illusions that stiffer tests lie ahead.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    That is another serious hammering for hurling in Laois.

How can they be this bad? neither Cork at senior or Wexford at U-21 will win their respective AI's this year imo, and yet Laois are getting hammered out the gate.

Something seriously wrong in Laois at th moment. If they get many more beatings like this in the short to medium term, it could well signal the end of Laois as a competitive force in hurling. They will soon get overtaken by Westmeath and Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Not a good week to be a Laois hurling supporter alright. 17 goals in two games, ouchy.

You'd expect them to be giving Wexford a better game than that.

Wexford are very good tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Good win for Dublin this evening. Should be a good final.

corny wrote: »
    Good win for Dublin this evening. Should be a good final.

Anyone at this match, or hear a report on it. For a while it seemed like Offaly were in command, but Dublin then started racking up the points and pulled away easily. Is this right?

The Tipp v Cork semi is live on tg4 Friday night while tonight we have Dublin v Wexford in the leinster final also on tg4.

An u21 provincial double for 2011 at stake for Wexford while Dublin will be looking to add to whats been a productive 2011.

You'd feel that the winners tonight will have a leg in the All Ireland final as the winners play the ulster champions which is probably most likely Antrim.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Really looking forward to this game tonight.
    Sunny evening in the Park, and U21 games I feel are always really interesting, open and some great hurling.

This Wex team has some good, intelligent and experienced hurlers.

Whats the score in Wexford/Dublin match?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Whats the score in Wexford/Dublin match?

8-7 to Dublin at HT.

Very close game. Nothing in terms of skill between the 2 teams

The Cork U21 Hurling team to play Tipperary on Friday night will line out as follows:

1. Darren Mc Carthy
    Ballymartle

2. Christopher Joyce 3. Eddie Finn 4. Seamus Corry
    Na Piarsaigh Ballinhassig Ballymartle

5. James Nagle 6. William Egan 7. Mark Ellis
    Midleton Kilbrin Millstreet

8. Seamus O'Farrell 9. Daniel Roche
    Midleton Sarsfields

10. Dean Brosnan 11. Conor Lehane 12. Aidan Walsh
    Glen Rovers Midleton Kanturk

13. Luke O Farrell 14. Michael O'Sullivan 15. Jamie Coughlan
    Midleton Tracton Newtownshandrum

Subs:

16. Michael O'Neill Bishopstown
    17. Brendan Withers Banteer
    18. Brian Collins Killeagh
    19. Damien Cahalane St. Finbarrs
    20. Maurice Sexton Kilbrittain
    21. David Drake Carrigaline
    22. Eoin O'Sullivan Sarsfields
    23. Seamus Harnedy St. Itas
    24. Simon O'Brien Carrigaline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Wexford need to make a few changes. Dublin number 18 should have started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Wexford have totally lost their way. Were shooting from stupid angles and 2 men were going up for the one ball. Dublin dropped back and extra man in behind the half back line and Wexford pucked everything to him. 3 Points so far in the second half. Not good enough by a long way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Great win for our lads this evening and it was important for Dublin hurling to bounce back after the defeat to KK last Sunday week.

Think we have the Ulster champions in the semi final so with all due respects to whoever they may be, hopefully we'll be playing a hurling AI final in September!

Browney7 wrote: »
    Wexford have totally lost their way. Were shooting from stupid angles and 2 men were going up for the one ball. Dublin dropped back and extra man in behind the half back line and Wexford pucked everything to him. 3 Points so far in the second half. Not good enough by a long way

Would agree with you there. Everything Wexford were doing right in the first half they neglected to do in the second. The goal seemed to drain the life out of them. Well done to Dublin. Excellent 2nd half performance. Galway or the Munster champions will be wary on that showing. no 18 and no 20 were great subs.

Browney7 wrote: »
    Wexford need to make a few changes. Dublin number 18 should have started

Sometimes players make great impact subs but for some reason they do not make the same mark when they start the game. Pa Bourke for example.

Eamonn Dillon has been brilliant all year for Dublin, the management just choose to use him as an impact sub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Orizio wrote: »
    Eamonn Dillon has been brilliant all year for Dublin, the management just choose to use him as an impact sub.
    What Orizio said, a lot of Dublin suppporters wanted him to start but we knew that he'd be the first one in when a change needed to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

Trollier had been starting until then though and he showed why he should always start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Liam Rushe continues to impress me more and more. Also nice to hear his fluency in the native tongue, will come in handy when he lifts Liam in a few years!:D