Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mobile phone law a farce if you ask me

• 07-06-2011 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭JayMul

Ok so I was driving talking on my mobile phone earlier and admittedly I'm breaking the law. Anyhow some loo lah drives up beside me and takes a photo using his mobile phone camera. Now maybe he's going to produce this to Gardai, but surely taking a photo of someone while driving is equally as illegal as what I was doing? If so then the won't the Gardai reprimand the two of us?

As per some radio ad I was hearing last year it's the talking part that distracts us can't do two things at once, then surely handsfree kits should be banned too?? Or hey maybe we shouldn't be talking to our fellow passengers while driving? That law is a farce if you ask me, texting is a million times worse.

Proof: Only recently I was lost in Dublin and getting directions on the phone, some gob****e broke a red light and stopped in my driving line, I managed to react and brake quick enough to stop inches short of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

JayMul wrote: »
    As per some radio ad I was hearing last year it's the talking part that distracts us can't do two things at once, then surely handsfree kits should be banned too

They can't ban things for being distracting. If they did, children wouldn't be allowed in cars, nor would wonderbra ads outside be. They ban the use of handheld phones, because you're without one of your limbs needed to control the car.

wonderbra.jpg

Some of you have read my post. Most are wondering what all that text around the pretty girl is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭JayMul

Sure but noone except for people going to their driving test drive consistently place two hands on the wheel. Also the RTA advertising knows this is a bollox excuse so comes up with radio ads like the aforementioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

The law is not the farce, it's the people that break it. I have a car kit and using this is probably safer than having someone in the car with you, as you tend to look at the other person now and then when talking and driving, not so with a car kit.
    Also the amount of clowns driving with the phone stuck to the ear while they are all over the road, and this is not a dig the OP, but probably getting directions over the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

Honestly, I see the point of not using a handheld phone, and I stick rigidly to that rule.
    Instead, I use speakerphone on my handset. This probably causes more distractions between hitting the speakerphone button, and shouting down towards the phone, but that's the way it is. I'm not comfortable with putting on a bluetooth headset every time I get into the car in case I get a call, nor do I want to have to invest in some installed in-car kit that will cost me a bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Sure but noone except for people going to their driving test drive consistently place two hands on the wheel. Also the RTA advertising knows this is a bollox excuse so comes up with radio ads like the aforementioned.

I drive with 2 hands on the wheel all the time. You'll find most track day drivers do it, and anyone who's done any advanced driving courses does it. One hand, while cool, does not equal control. It's not about the wheel anyway, it's about having a second hand there to change gear suddenly, or whip up the handbrake, or even do the simple things like indicate correctly.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

snappieT wrote: »
    Honestly, I see the point of not using a handheld phone, and I stick rigidly to that rule.
    Instead, I use speakerphone on my handset. This probably causes more distractions between hitting the speakerphone button, and shouting down towards the phone, but that's the way it is. I'm not comfortable with putting on a bluetooth headset every time I get into the car in case I get a call, nor do I want to have to invest in some installed in-car kit that will cost me a bomb.

Where does the handset go when you are using the speakerphone? I've seen folks using it "at arms length" which is frankly farcical, illegal, and dangerous too.

A useable bluetooth visor mounted unit costs very little and is easy to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That law is a farce if you ask me, texting is a million times worse.

Which is why texting is illegal. Whats the issue?

The law says you cant have a phone in your hand, that pretty much covers all theuses of the phone. It doesnt say you have to be actually talking on it.

What do you consider costing a bomb? The top end of installed car kits are only about €200 (plus installation if you that way incliced, but it's piss easy).

You could get standalone bluetooth speakers that power off the cigar lighter for anything from about €20 up.

I dont see why people look at carkits any differently to other safety features. Would you drive with bald tyres cos they cost too much to replace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

What bugs me is the apes both male and female kind who are willing to hold a phone in one hand whilst trying to drive a car at the same time. The amount of people who couldn't care less if they're caught using or not is the most worrying part.
    Oh and 4 penalty points plus 200 euro should be the fine if caught by he boys in blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

I'm always amused how people start thinking laws are a farce, just after they think they've been caught breaking them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

a lot of people can drive just fine with a phone next to their ear, but a lot cant, its another law like speeding or tinted front windows thats to save us from the minority of people who cant drive safely with these things, the amount of times ive seen people driving like theyre drunk with a phone attached to their ear is astounding , the sex that can supposedly multi task is the worst at it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

the sex that can supposedly multi task is the worst at it

Would you give over with these types of comments? Don't distract from your reasonable comments with unnecessary sexism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

-Chris- wrote: »
    Would you give over with these types of comments? Don't distract from your reasonable comments with unnecessary sexism.

sorry :( ill leave it out

Ok yeh fair enough comments, I wouldn't use it in a built up or busy traffic that's dangerous. Wrong as it still is I only do this cruising along long stretches and when the battery on my bluetooth headset isn't charged. But the rule is there to prevent people from being stupid I understand that. Ok here's the bit that bugged me (wasn't getting caught) it was that the guy who allegedly caught me took a pic with his camera while driving alongside me and not even looking in front of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Ok yeh fair enough comments, I wouldn't use it in a built up or busy traffic that's dangerous. Wrong as it still is I only do this cruising along long stretches and when the battery on my bluetooth headset isn't charged. But the rule is there to prevent people from being stupid I understand that. Ok here's the bit that bugged me (wasn't getting caught) it was that the guy who allegedly caught me took a pic with his camera while driving alongside me and not even looking in front of him.

I fail to see the issue. If you're that bothered report him!

I can't decide whether you're trolling or not.

but surely taking a photo of someone while driving is equally as illegal as what I was doing? If so then the won't the Gardai reprimand the two of us?

The offence is holding a mobile phone while driving so as you say taking a pic using one is the same offence as speaking into one.

Where does the handset go when you are using the speakerphone? I've seen folks using it "at arms length" which is frankly farcical, illegal, and dangerous too.

A useable bluetooth visor mounted unit costs very little and is easy to use.
    Frankly, I don't want to have to have bluetooth turned on on my phone, wasting away the battery all day long. And I'm certainly not going to consciously turn it on when I sit into my car.
    What do you consider costing a bomb? The top end of installed car kits are only about €200 (plus installation if you that way incliced, but it's piss easy).

You could get standalone bluetooth speakers that power off the cigar lighter for anything from about €20 up.
    Anything over €30 or so, and it stops being value for me. I probably get 2/3 calls a month in the car, and they're all over quickly. Anything more major, I pull over. I'm not going to spend €200 on 15 minutes of calls a year.
    (same issue as above with bluetooth power consumption, given how little I use it too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Proof: Only recently I was lost in Dublin and getting directions on the phone, some gob****e broke a red light and stopped in my driving line, I managed to react and brake quick enough to stop inches short of her.
    People tend to do some things a bit more often than they realise or care to admit.

Yeh you got me there, I do rarely do that though I was lost and late for this course, needed to get directions. But 99% of the time I won't use it in this situation.

No EPM I'm not trolling, I just dislike hypocrisy. If he does try and bring a case against me I'll return the favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Frankly, I don't want to have to have bluetooth turned on on my phone, wasting away the battery all day long. And I'm certainly not going to consciously turn it on when I sit into my car.

Why dont you use a wired headset so?

Most phones come with earphones now anyway so it wont cost you anything if it did.

a tenner on a car charger is the other option.
    a lot of people think they can drive just fine with a phone next to their ear,

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Damokc

what about the Sunday drivers that get the weekly 99 cone and precede to drive off licking as they go with head turned up to the headliner to stop it dripping on their pants!!!

think thats classed as dangerous driving now too is it/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

look, all you idiots that text/talk on a mobile phone while driving are not important at all so just leave your dumb-ass phones at home or you will end up killing someone.

I have seen crashes and dangerous driving with people talking or texting on their stupid phones so just use a hands free kit and watch the road or leave it at home as many an irish person is braindead when it comes to safety. what does it take to get you idiots to copon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭KingIsabella

Saw an armed response volvo pulled in today while your man was on the phone. Glad to see it too because honestly ive noticed alot lately that well over the majority of people i see (or take notice of) on the phone while driving are Guards. Obviously alot of people too but im noticing more and more guards lately. I know they're exempt certain laws while driving and im not sure if this is one of them and then there's the: "whos going to stop them anyway" but it kinda undercuts the whole law i think.

it's usually the gaurd in the passenger seat that uses the phone not the driver and i'm sick of people using this excuse that just because the gardai can use their phones people think they can, which is a dumb analogy to try and justify yourselves.

a vehicle is manufactured and made for the human body, it was not made to be using one hand to control it. and how the hell can you clearly focus on all obsticles if you are in deep conversation on a phone ?. maybe it will take a serious crash for some of you to understand why it is not safe to use a mobile phone while driving, in that case so be it and hopefully not injuring anyone else in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Saw an armed response volvo pulled in today while your man was on the phone. Glad to see it too because honestly ive noticed alot lately that well over the majority of people i see (or take notice of) on the phone while driving are Guards. Obviously alot of people too but im noticing more and more guards lately. I know they're exempt certain laws while driving and im not sure if this is one of them and then there's the: "whos going to stop them anyway" but it kinda undercuts the whole law i think.

They're exempt,and for good reason too.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Frankly, I don't want to have to have bluetooth turned on on my phone, wasting away the battery all day long. And I'm certainly not going to consciously turn it on when I sit into my car....

That's your choice - but I'd have thought turning on/off a speakerphone to take calls in car & then roaring at it to be heard would have been considerably more trouble.

You can always get an in car charger for very little.

Your phone battery will only last a couple of years with bluetooth on or off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

This is one of those road laws I've come to completely agree with over the years, I've seen some epically stupid driving maneuvers pulled off by people who I later found out were talking on the phone, straying into on coming lanes, driving in the over taking lane at 60kph completely oblivious to every other road user - currently in the process of under taking them, swerving between lanes on dual carrage ways. A lot of the time you can pick them out before you even see that they're talking on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

They're exempt,and for good reason too.

What is the good reason?
    Do they have specially designed cars that can be driven safely with one hand?

GreeBo wrote: »

Please don't try to belittle my post,they are exempt under certain circumstances.You honestly can't think why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Please don't try to belittle my post,they are exempt under certain circumstances.You honestly can't think why?

I'm not trying to belittle it, I can think of loads of reasons why they might want to be able to use a phone while driving.
    None of them reduce the danger of the act or increase the amount of control they have over a normal punter doing the same.
    You honestly cant see any issues with some people being able to use mobile phones while driving? You cant see that maybe if it was that important for them, that their cars would all be bluetooth or hands free enabled?

I'm not trying to belittle it, I can think of loads of reasons why they might want to be able to use a phone while driving.
    None of them reduce the danger of the act or increase the amount of control they have over a normal punter doing the same.
    You honestly cant see any issues with some people being able to use mobile phones while driving? You cant see that maybe if it was that important for them, that their cars would all be bluetooth or hands free enabled?

I never said it wasn't dangerous, I just said they're exempt for a good reason :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,714 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Anyone who regularly uses the phone while driving and doesn't get some phone of car kit is, quite frankly, an asshole. Visor bluetooth kits or earpieces can be picked up very cheaply new or for pennies or free second hand.

Couple of years ago a friend's girlfriend received a phone call from her sister who was driving at the time (no car kit). While talking on the phone she veered across the road, crashed and was killed - the sister heard it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Anyone who regularly uses the phone while driving and doesn't get some phone of car kit is, quite frankly, an asshole. Visor bluetooth kits or earpieces can be picked up very cheaply new or for pennies or free second hand.

Couple of years ago a friend's girlfriend received a phone call from her sister who was driving at the time (no car kit). While talking on the phone she veered across the road, crashed and was killed - the sister heard it all.

This is exactly the reason why all of snappies comments are ridiculous

Anything over €30 or so, and it stops being value for me. I probably get 2/3 calls a month in the car, and they're all over quickly. Anything more major, I pull over. I'm not going to spend €200 on 15 minutes of calls a year.
    (same issue as above with bluetooth power consumption, given how little I use it too)

Rubbish excuse number one, and rubbish excuse number two.

Bluetooth kit shuts off when you turn the car off. So thats crap. You are actually making calls, doesnt matter if its short or long. grabbing your phone and sticking it on your chin or your lap to press speakerphone is seconds enough to hit a child, or veer into the other lane.

You sir are crazy if you think otherwise, and all of your comments harp as someone who is too cheap to bother. Why not take your airbags out while your at it, sure you can hock them off for a few bob too. ( insert obvious rolls eyes )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Out on the bike 3-4 times a week, every time without fail notice drivers on the phone, I think I just don't pay as much notice when in the car. It's still at epidemic levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

What is the good reason?

The Gardai are exempt from all aspects of the Road Traffic Acts in the course of their duties. There is no specific exemption for mobile phone usage - it just falls under the same category as stopping at red lights and having to park properly.

One of the reasons that Gardai are seen using their phones so much is because their radios are not secured (yet). I guess there are more but I don't know what they are.

markpb wrote: »
    One of the reasons that Gardai are seen using their phones so much is because their radios are not secured (yet). I guess there are more but I don't know what they are.

the gardai have had secure radios now for the last year they use tetra digital and it is uncrackable. the real reason they won't use the radios is because of bad communications and some gardai won't use them because of the extreme high frequencies they use (probably afraid of getting cancer) according to sources.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

OP you should just do what most other people do, put you phone on speaker and then hold it in front of your mouth instead of up to your ear. It looks much safer and I'm sure it's perfectly legal.

stevenmu wrote: »
    OP you should just do what most other people do, put you phone on speaker and then hold it in front of your mouth instead of up to your ear. It looks much safer and I'm sure it's perfectly legal.

This is in jest I assume? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

That law is a farce if you ask me

Nobody did. Probably because you have no knowledge, qualifications, or experience in road safety, and so your opinion has little or no credibility. Thats why the rules of the road are written by those who are professionals in the area. Best just to leave it to them and take their advice. For your own safety.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

This is in jest I assume? :confused:
    Yes, very much so. And in frustration at a few idiots who've nearly hit me while doing this.

It irritates me to see people driving with a phone in their hand - nothing is so important you can't at least either wait or pull in somewhere (no, not the hard shoulder). Going to start reporting them, I swear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I moved to Dublin from working in Belfast last year.

It was immediatley noticeable to me that down here there is a serious issue with people driving while on the phone. I went from rarely seeing it up North to seeing it fecking everywhere down here.

Frankly, its a symptom of the attitude we have in this country. We have a unrealistic sense of entitlement. "I want to talk on the phone now and I am not going to wait. Who cares about any consequences."

I feel this attitude is prevelant in Irish drivers, and in my opinion, this is also reflected in the standard of driving, it is ****ing atrocious. There is a reason you lot need advertisments on TV showing people how to use roundabouts. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

Out on the bike 3-4 times a week, every time without fail notice drivers on the phone.

Cycling is dangerous enough without this carry on and I've seen it too while cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Was coming to the roundabout at Hills garage last week..noticed a Garda car coming onto the roundabout on the opposite side...decided to wait...The driver was a young blonde girl with a ponytail...she was taking the third exit (to her) so she came right around in front of me , no indicator ,struggling to turn the car as she had her right hand holding her phone up to her ear...and laughing..:rolleyes:...obviously not answering a serious crime call....
    But then again theyre trained to do this sort of thing in a safe manner...:rolleyes:
    How am I supposed to have respect for them...:confused:

Hope her super reads this....:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

I dont get the need to answer the phone in the car..i just let it go to voicemail.

But then it just shows how little drivers in the republic think of other road users when they purposely allow themselves to be distracted and make themselves a risk to others al because they "have to take this call".

Sids Not wrote: »
    ........But then again theyre trained to do this sort of thing in a safe manner...:rolleyes:...........

Most of them couldn't drive a nail.

markpb wrote: »
    The Gardai are exempt from all aspects of the Road Traffic Acts in the course of their duties. There is no specific exemption for mobile phone usage - it just falls under the same category as stopping at red lights and having to park properly.

There is a specific exemption: RTA 2006
    3.— (1) A person shall not while driving a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place hold a mobile phone.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to a member of the Garda Síochána, an ambulance service or a fire brigade of a fire authority (within the meaning of the Fire Services Act 1981 ) who is acting in the course of his or her duties and holding a mobile phone in relation to the performance of his or her duties.

It is also a defence for anyone using a phone while driving to call the emergency services on prescribed numbers (999 or 112 ) or in event of a genuine emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

On a serious note, I used to use my mobile occasionally when driving. I had a few near-misses as a direct result of trying to manage several operations (steering, gearchanging, indicating & phone-holding) at once and, having tried a bluetooth headset (and found it somewhat uncomfortable and never charged) I bought a second-hand stereo head unit with bluetooth and set it to auto-answer. It fits the bill perfectly for the very odd occasion when I need to receive a call while driving. And it only cost me €80. Its a no-brainer.

I switch my phone to silent or even off completely before I set off anywhere. No distractions from ring tones, no temptation. Any missed calls / texts get dealt with whenever I'm suitably parked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 conorby

The chances of getting caught are slim enough and the penalties aren't nearly severe enough. E60, should be at least three times that, maybe people would think twice about it. Typical Irish mentality too, no thought about road safety. Go abroad or UK very few on phone there.

listermint wrote: »
    Bluetooth kit shuts off when you turn the car off
    Not on the phone. It'll continue to run 24 hours a day, trying to pair with my car, which will be out of range 95% of the time. Perhaps getting a phone charger in the car would be best.

Anyone recommend a visor-style bluetooth yolk that's iPhone-compatible?
    Why dont you use a wired headset so?
    Most phones come with earphones now anyway so it wont cost you anything if it did.
    Same issue with having to consciously put this stuff in my ear before I start driving, on the (small) off-chance I get a call. You're not suggesting I fumble about with it while the phone rings, are you?