Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8 cans of linden village and a box of amber leaf please

• 07-06-2011 6:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭

For me, this is my new version of the pre-recession:

"8 cans of bulmers and 20 benson please"

This is how the pinch has affected one of my spending habits, so

Like me, do you still enjoy the finer things in life, but without the fancy brand names?

What have you lot changed, but still do the same (if you get me)

Linden village is nicer than bulmers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Are Linden Village and Amber Leaf not brand names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

"I'll just have the handjob today please Mary"
    "What about your usual 'sneaky finger' Mr Fallon?"
    "Sorry Mary, there's a recession on, I just can't afford it.....btw can you put the baby oil on the tab til I get paid next Thursday?"
    "Certainly not, it's cash in hand for gash in hand round here these days, money upfront for all transactions, we don't do credit!"

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

kfallon wrote: »
    "I'll just have the handjob today please Mary"
    "What about your usual 'sneaky finger' Mr Fallon?"
    "Sorry Mary, there's a recession on, I just can't afford it.....btw can you put the baby oil on the tab til I get paid next Thursday?"
    "Certainly not, it's cash in hand for gash in hand round here these days, money upfront for all transactions, we don't do credit!"

:(

I'm reminded of that old adage; a hand in the bird is worth two in the bush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

NO!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I'm very lucky, I can still afford what I always could....except petrol. Petrol is worth more than heroin soaked in champagne stuffed in a hooker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheDukeOfEarl

This is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Never actually tried it; was gonna get it once out of curiosity before realising it has quite a low alcohol content. Decided it wasn't worth my while.

Now Druids, on the other hands, is the cider of kings. (Well, kings suffering due to the recession anyway...) 6% alcoholy goodness for hobo-friendly prices....what's not to like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Never actually tried it; was gonna get it once out of curiosity before realising it has quite a low alcohol content. Decided it wasn't worth my while.

Now Druids, on the other hands, is the cider of kings. (Well, kings suffering due to the recession anyway...) 6% alcoholy goodness for hobo-friendly prices....what's not to like?

Devils Bit is better

Amateurs... 3 liter bottle of White Lightning is where it's at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

sounds like the sh*ttest night ever op :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Linden is made by Bulmers,and for all the shit apples they put in Bulmers,the ones the put in Linden are worse.

But i grew up on flagons of cider so i cant really be saying much :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

For me, this is my new version of the pre-recession:

"8 cans of bulmers and 20 benson please"

This is how the pinch has affected one of my spending habits, so

Like me, do you still enjoy the finer things in life, but without the fancy brand names?

What have you lot changed, but still do the same (if you get me)

With a name like nasty boy, you sure are drinking a nasty girl drink.
    The only cider for blokes is Dickens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Cider is piss. Can't stand the stuff. Gimmee a Duval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Obligatory statement, "Good to see our taxes and your social welfare are being well spent."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

Devils Bit is better

*Flashbacks, shudders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

This is true.

Sure is :)

Linden comes in 6% too comes in silvery cans. The 4.5% is in yellow cans, both lovely though! Do try it, you wont regret it,

Druids is a madmans drink, I stopped drinking it a while back, makes me a proper asshole, and it gives me 2 day hangovers.
    Ghandee wrote: »
    With a name like nasty boy, you sure are drinking a nasty girl drink.
    The only cider for blokes is Dickens!

Dickens? never heard of it.. Is it nice?

BTW I'm nasty in a different sense of the word :D

Obligatory statement, "Good to see our taxes and your social welfare are being well spent."

If I was on the dole i'd be drinkin' bulmers :P

Naikon wrote: »
    Cider is piss. Can't stand the stuff. Gimmee a Duval.

Cider is the devils holy water.

Sure is :)

Linden comes is 6% too comes in silvery cans. The 4.5% is in yellow cans, both lovely though! Do try it, you wont regret it,

Druids is a madmans drink, I stopped drinking it a while back, makes me a proper asshole, and it gives me 2 day hangovers.

Dickens? never heard of it.. Is it nice?

BTW I'm nasty in a different sense of the word :D

Apparently so, my ex was very fond of a Dickens cider...........

The penny hasn't dropped yet!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Cider is the devils holy water.

Lunatic soup:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I get 6 tuborg and Amber Leaf. €10.20 :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Where have all the beer drinkers gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

gungun wrote: »
    *Flashbacks, shudders*

Flashbacks ? .... lucky you. I never remember a thing after drinking the stuff

Apparently so, my ex was very fond of Dicks...........

She loved mine ;)

Apparently so, my ex was very fond of a Dickens cider...........

It just did, never heard that one before :D

She loved mine ;)

My ex was a bloke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

ball wrote: »

Found one!
    Pauleta wrote: »
    I get 6 tuborg and Amber Leaf. €10.20 :cool:

My ex was a bloke.

:eek: No wonder she only done anal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

baz2009 wrote: »
    Found one!
    Wondering why I didn't see that. Posted at the same time as mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

ball wrote: »

Right here! No fecking Budweiser though, I'll try any beer except that stomach stripping sh1te, it has no business calling itself beer!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Right here! No fecking Budweiser though, I'll try any beer except that stomach stripping sh1te, it has no business calling itself beer!!!!

Bud is awful, tried it once and never again. Is it full of petrol, or formaldehyde, or donkey spúnk or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Linden comes in 6% too comes in silvery cans. The 4.5% is in yellow cans, both lovely though! Do try it, you wont regret it
    Ah I've only ever seen the yellow ones. Must keep an eye out for these silver ones so...
    Yes, but you grow to love all that after a while! :pac:
    Devils Bit is better
    That's the one that comes in two litre plastic bottles, yeah? I'm afraid that's just a bit too classy and fancy for me, now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I make my own cider. 5L is two weeks into a 4 week brew cycle. 9.3% too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Pre recession it was out to the pub for copious pints of Carlsberg. Nowadays its a 6 pack of Prazsky (beautiful yet cheap Czech beer) and maybe head out for 1 close to closing.

Bud is awful, tried it once and never again. Is it full of petrol, or formaldehyde, or donkey spúnk or something?

LOL. It truly is just god awful stuff! I've no idea what they do to it but jaysus... I'd rather not drink!

**Vai** wrote: »
    Pre recession it was out to the pub for copious pints of Carlsberg. Nowadays its a 6 pack of Prazsky (beautiful yet cheap Czech beer) and maybe head out for 1 close to closing.

Never had Prazsky, but I know the scenario well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Excelsior and amber leaf: A real recession session

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

**** and redtube are free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

it used to be 24 leffe and 10 monte christo no.4's

now im down to 12 carling and a pack of bensons ,

harsh times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Ive stopped drinking fine Bordeaux. Just stick to nice Italian Barolo now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Steodonn wrote: »
    Excelsior and amber leaf: A real recession session

Excelsior €3.06 for 4 cans in lidl, rough stuff but desperate times require desperate measures..

Edit: Hint I find if you put them in the freezer 45 mins before you want them they get that cold
    it kills the rough taste..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Confab wrote: »
    I make my own cider. 5L is two weeks into a 4 week brew cycle. 9.3% too.

Woohoo, Saturday night? Ill bring the cocaine and a few Russian hookers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

6 Prazsky, 1 nagin of High Commissioner and a pack of Amber leaf, 12.50 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

6 Prazsky, 1 nagin of High Commissioner and a pack of Amber leaf, 12.50 :D

Aren't you thrifty..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Ah Linden Village... brings me back to my student days. Cider was and still is my pint of choice. Used to drink some awful shite back then. There was one cider i used to drink that was spelt Cyder made in somerset or somewhere like that in England

I now only drink large bottles of Bulmers with ice. Yes,there is no recession round here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

All cider is piss and I don't smoke, so, in summary, you are talking absolute balderdash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Hate cider Stonehouse champagne cider Bavaria Green Black URGH knacker drinking days are well behind me recession or no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shiroki

Devils Bit is better
    This makes me sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Now I get Franziskaner instead of Paulaner or Erdinger.

And Aldi salt and vinegar sticks instead of Tayto chipsticks.

What a crazy life I lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Richarz

I don't care what anyone says. Dutch Gold is actually a better tasting and better made beer than Coors, Budweiser, Miller and Carlsberg.